Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Site is a graveyard - How can boards save itself? [Threadbanned users in 1st post]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Haha, good one. Wait, you’re not serious, are you?

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

There’s a “motoring and transport” moderator posting in the “attack oh motorists” thread and is clearly anti-car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,994 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

What hatred? Those banging the edgy perma-victim drum have zero credibility.

I cant imagine any family member of Gemma's disagreeing with the sentiment tbh.

Sometimes people are actually just a big auld bag of cùnt. Granted its harsh but in some cases its just an actual fact and said bag has brought it completely upon themselves so sympathy will be in incredibly minute supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,100 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Fair

Have just seen warnings that myself and others have gotten and neither of us would’ve thought the other warranted a warning (saying stuff like ‘you’ve lost the plot’), but it’s ok to call other people lunatics etc then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,266 ✭✭✭con747

If it's the mod I think you mean they don't moderate on motoring, they moderate on aviation and similar. A list of who mods what here.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,364 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There is a different standard if you are addressing another poster versus commenting on a public figure.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,026 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I'm not suggesting that everything CA would become unavailable unless you requested access.

Rather, I am suggesting there is a space created to allow a particular type of conversation to happen without it impacting the rest of the site.

Take for example the topic of the conflict in Gaza. That is a discussion that evokes very strong feelings, and I feel that sometimes with threads like that on here, those feelings are unnecessarily curtailed because of the moderation that exists. And the moderators would say that the moderation that exists is absolutely necessary (which I dispute) to keep the site pleasant for most users.

A consequence of this is a lot of displeasure about the moderation around these threads (this thread = exhibit A). So its to help deal with that I am proposing a members only type corner of Boards. I'm not suggesting personal abuse that crosses a line or genuinely inappropriate stuff, but that line is not as restricting as it currently is.

Take for the example that was given on here yesterday of someone who feels that Moderation on a CA thread was excessive. They say they were accused of being racist, but that they weren't. I disagree with their view, strongly, but I'd be ok with letting them say what they said and being called out on it on thread.

I was warned and then banned for saying something was an idiotic statement with the mod justifying this saying 'It was the same as calling the poster an idiot'. I'm in my mid 40's discussing a highly contentious public current affairs topic and being treated like a kid. That interaction was one of the straws that broke the camels back for me in walking away from the site.

So this is a proposal to create an environment where mods don't feel the need to moderate as they are doing so because of the fear of the impact that that is having on areas of the site with heavy traffic.

Say this area of CA was set up, threads could exist within it that exist in the open area of CA (or AH or wherever) as well as the members only area. In the same way as threads that exist in CA and Politics. But the level of contribution is expected to be different in the two areas, and the moderation is also.

I feel this could allow more 'real world' (non problematic) debates on these topics, and would result in less acrimony towards the Mods who attract such acrimony at the moment with their particular style/influence in these spaces.

Its not acceptable to call another forum member having lost the plot. It falls under the basic civility rules.

Doesn’t seem right. Was healthy discussion with me and another poster and warnings just completely sucked the life out of things then. I think he even got a thread ban for harmless stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,026 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

See my post just before yours in this respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I'm genuinely baffled. Surely one the very first duties of a moderator on this site is to protect it against libel??

Your words above that this person 'Gemma IS a hateful lunatic' along with Capall's slurs are just very ill advised. Do you think before you hit Post?

I wouldn't be a great fan exactly of the proposed Hate Speech bill but if it addresses this sort of language directly used against an individual, well maybe it's needed.

If I used language like this against a named individual, I'd expect to be banned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭soap1978

Boards is done ,they ruined it a few years ago when they change the site,no app either ,the man utd chat use to be very busy has gone now because of the new way of doing things

ah Jesus man it’s like you’re taking the mick? Gemma o Doherty, the same one who’s been arrested and in court tomorrow for harassing a woman who’s son died, falsely claiming he died as a result of Covid vaccines and you’re worried one of her family members might see?

Look, I think it’s safe to say Gemma’s family is well aware of craic. Does it strike you at all as maybe a bit weird you never hear of her family being in support, to my knowledge they didn’t attend court yesterday for instance. I doubt they’ll be there tomorrow either.

Tell me this if I warned you for calling O’Doherty a lunatic would you accept that or take it to DRP? Seriously?

• Administrators Posts: 55,019 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

You were soapboxing that patent thread. You kept making the same point over and over and over again, and when it is explained to you over and over and over again you are ignoring the explanation.

It concerns me that you don't realise that you're soapboxing this thread, given your recent DRP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

There is no liable, only defamation. Insults are not defamation. Hate speech does not include insults🙄

furze, genuine question for you.

What do you call someone who harasses the mother of a young man who died, posting lies in their newspaper about his cause of death and trying to link it to covid vaccines in order to suggest they are dangerous?

Or about someone who thinks Hitler was a right lad and the Jews invented the holocaust?

Or about someone who harasses members of the public and Gardai both on and off camera?

Do you think that’s a well put together individual?

I don’t think it’s fair to blame boards for united fans going quiet. It’s fairly well known that a, rather, large chunk of Irish united fans no longer “support” the club.

They have moved on and now have, either, stopped following soccer, altogether, or they’ve started following League of Ireland, specifically Bohs and Shamrock Rovers.

While this is great for LoI, you would have to fear for their attendance should United start winning leagues again. The fickle, fair weather, ex-United fans would leave them just as quick.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

It wouldn’t get to that point. I wouldn’t be calling someone a known person outside of boards as a ‘lunatic’ on a public forum

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,554 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Lads can we get back to the feedback please. It has been said on multiple occasions specific comments or threads will not be discussed in this thread.

You don’t call her anything. You don’t refer to her as a personal insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,102 ✭✭✭This is it

You can call GO'D what you like, you can't call Bidan "sleepy Joe", and in Soccer you can't use nicknames for managers/players. Wouldn't it be better to just have a "no abuse" rule rather than picking and choosing from thread to thread?

FWIW, I do think she's a lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

It appears that the thread has just become another mod bashing thread, as well as a place for posters to post whatever they feel like about other posters, with no repercussions.

That has nothing to do with hate speech. That is libal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Interested now to see if the mods can see what the rest of us can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,093 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

As expected, it's gone into a loop with certain posters just repeating themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,829 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Took two posts to make some sort of apology for the offhand comment which I politely called out in the first instance . Thanks for that but its not to me but all

of us here who are making an effort to contribute to this thread .

You could have just said you didn't rate every post but have been reading them . You said " every post wasn't worth reading " 😕

I am glad you and the other Mods are taking on some of the feedback (that's what I am sure most of us posting here would hope ) and whether you adjust your style or not, it is good that consideration is being given to it , at least.

Edit to add ..just read all of the posts about stuff on another thread and totally get what you mean now about "quality " !

Post edited by Goldengirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,640 ✭✭✭Xander10

But when you rightly call out some footballers on the soccer forum, for assults on women, the Mods card you.

WHere is the consistency?