Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Bailey RIP - threadbans in OP

• 21-01-2024 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭dublincc2

He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.

Threadbans:

Rows Grower

Tibruit

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

"local gossip" is deemed as a reliable source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Wasn't it local lies that got him stitched up for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Wow- wonder will the Gardai issue any kind of statement in the coming weeks around the investigation they’ve been working on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭pauly58

Very sad, the man was innocent until proved guilty beyond reasonable doubt in a court. His life was ruined by incompetent Gardai, I don't suppose the killer will ever be found, it would be convenient to wind up the investigation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I wonder if the truth will come out about who actually committed the murder?

• I was never able to decide if he was guilty as **** or just an idiot who was in the wrong place at the wrong time and a convenient patsy for the incompetent Shades.

He was a mature student studying law in UCC when I was there as an undergrad in the late 2000's. Saw him around the place a few times and a very odd looking character he was.

If and its a big if that he did do it, he might be the type to leave a posthumous confession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I don't think he killed her

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭JVince

Rip.

A strange character in the nicest wat and someone I would have loved to meet.

Based on the timelines given, it was near impossible for him to be guilty unless he had super powers and ran like an olympic athlete over barren ground in the dark of night.

I think he initially enjoyed the notoriety and possibly expected the real murderer would be caught quickly. But he did not calculate the utter incompetence of local gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,042 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Id imagine sophies kilker will never be revealed now.

Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Given the evidence against him was fabricated by the guards, it would probably have as much weight as any other.

Unfortunately much if the evidence was lost in a tidying up at the station, as it does.

Did he do it, who knows. Probably not but the Guards veered from incompetent to much more serious than that in the investigation so we will never know.

Did they genuinely believe he did it and start from there or did they genuinely believe he didn't and start from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭Be right back

🫣🫣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Evidence like scrapes all over his face in the days after the murder?. . . which he supposedly accounted for with it caused by needles from a Christmas tree. Gimme a break.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

...but the DPP have said that they are satisfied there was nothing of any evidential value against Bailey! But you obviously have more info than the DPP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

He got those climbing up pine trees to catch turkeys

That was after a drinking session and an all nighter writing up a news article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

You'd need a bit more than that.

Gardai were absolutely imcompetent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Whether he murdered her or not, he was a violent woman-beating scumbag and is not worthy of sympathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭quartz1

Rest in Peace and let God be his Judge . All the opinions are meaningless because there was no evidence to prove he was the killer and thus he is innocent .

A wife beater at the very least.

• I think that's plausible. The act of the Guards disposing the bloodstained gate in itself raises suspicions there are forces at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I’m convinced he was just an attention seeker. With the passage of time, this murder will never be solved. The killer and anyone else who knows may already be dead.

When I saw the headline, I thought ‘that’s it! The papers can print what they want now!’ Then I remembered that he’d already lost a major libel action 20 years ago and another slander action against a market trader. I don’t think the newspaper’s barristers were sweating too much when an Ian Bailey article went to print.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,653 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

'If' he was innocent, it didn't help his case that he was a total oddball and attention seeker - he almost seemed to love the media attention and notoriety, rather than shy away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Depends on the circumstances.

He gossipped twice himself that he did it.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭MacDanger

RIP

I don't think it'll affect the search for the killer as it had nothing to do with Bailey anyway, zero chance it was him imo.

He was a narcissist who beat up his partner though so I doubt there'll be too many tears for him

Zero chance the person who confessed to the murder did it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Absolutely incompetent is one explanation.

There was enough reasons to have the entire thing investigated for more nefarious things than incompetence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

The authorities hounded him...he was found not guilty and that should have been that.......another shadow that hangs over this shite country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,225 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

lost evidence, fabricated evidence and conclusive proof the Gardai were leaking certain information to the media to suit a certain narrative

….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭prunudo

Between this, and Kerry babies case, they didn't shine themselves in any glory down that neck of the woods.

Due to their dislike of him, tried to frame the odd English lad who could have been done for other crimes but tried to pin the murder on him.

RIP, although, as others have said, I think he relished the attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭mykrodot

he was either the best conman/slippery eel in the last 30 years or he suffered a huge miscarriage of justice. Either way RIP..... for some reason I felt a tinge of sadness when I heard, for him in case he was innocent all this time (never proven guilty) and for Sophie who will probably now never get justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Crakepottle?

He fed off the attention and publicity engendered by his own eccentricity . His raison d'etre for the remainder of his life. A narcissistic and bizarre human being, but, in my opinion, not a murderer. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

What miscarriage of justice? You’re talking out your proverbial! He was never even charged with anything.

He was questioned twice and that was it.

The rest of it was all his own doing. He could have kept his head down and been forgotten about quickly. But he loved and courted the media attention.

He’d have just be another person like that poor bastard arrested incorrectly for the Aisling Murphy murder. One or two articles and then never heard from again.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Local gossip eh?

Also Barry George wasn't "framed".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭mykrodot

what I mean was hounded for his entire life since the murder of Sophie, I know he was never charged! While he courted publicity, his life was never the same and for the rest of his life his name was synonymous with her murder.

Maybe he did it, but that was never proven so he was innocent in the eyes of the law . I always thought he played the media at their own game, maybe he wasn't the brightest... I don't know, despite watching the 2 documentaries on Ian Bailey I still never knew what to make of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

The fact that the Gardai were incompetent doesn't absolve Bailey of being the prime suspect.

There is no evidence that put Bailey in the frame as prime suspect. Even the assumed motive isn't plausible (he drunkenly wandered several kms at night thinking he might get his hole and when he was turned down, he killed her and left no evidence (DNA or otherwise) at the scene)?

She knew her killer which is why she had her boots on when she left her house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Manc-Red_

No matter what ya think of him, the guards made a pigs ear of the whole case from the beginning.

RIP though.

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

RIP

The French can stand down now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭EdHoven

I can't help feeling Ian was hounded to an early grave by the dysfunctional Gardai. Hopefully Sinn Féin will disband them and return to the ideal of a people's police force, not the RIC II it became.

Whatever issues may exist within AGS, having SF dismantle the force in order to create a force of their choosing is not going to benefit the people of Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Wasn't he interviewed twice and that's the sum of his interactions with AGS or is there more

Likely also targetted for drink and drug driving tests

That in itself wouldn't amount to being hounded for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If he didn't do it I wonder will her real killer be getting a bit nervous now that Bailey is dead.

He was fairly active on tiktok, ianbailey66 if anyone is interested in having a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭mikethecop

lol the most shinnerbot comment that has ever been 🤐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

On the six o clock news this evening he was still being described by the newscaster as the prime suspect in the case . Why the media would continue with this line after his death when he cannot possibly defend himself is itself strange.

I could be wrong but was he not arrested for drunk driving and then no charges were ever brought . Were they just deliberately making life awkward for him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Not a good man, good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

He was Irelands answer to OJ Simpson

People saying rip do realise he bet women to a pulp multiple times.