He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
"local gossip" is deemed as a reliable source?
Wasn't it local lies that got him stitched up for it?
Wow- wonder will the Gardai issue any kind of statement in the coming weeks around the investigation they’ve been working on
Very sad, the man was innocent until proved guilty beyond reasonable doubt in a court. His life was ruined by incompetent Gardai, I don't suppose the killer will ever be found, it would be convenient to wind up the investigation now.
I wonder if the truth will come out about who actually committed the murder?
I was never able to decide if he was guilty as **** or just an idiot who was in the wrong place at the wrong time and a convenient patsy for the incompetent Shades.
He was a mature student studying law in UCC when I was there as an undergrad in the late 2000's. Saw him around the place a few times and a very odd looking character he was.
If and its a big if that he did do it, he might be the type to leave a posthumous confession.
I don't think he killed her
RIP
Rip.
A strange character in the nicest wat and someone I would have loved to meet.
Based on the timelines given, it was near impossible for him to be guilty unless he had super powers and ran like an olympic athlete over barren ground in the dark of night.
I think he initially enjoyed the notoriety and possibly expected the real murderer would be caught quickly. But he did not calculate the utter incompetence of local gardai.
Id imagine sophies kilker will never be revealed now.
Sad.
Given the evidence against him was fabricated by the guards, it would probably have as much weight as any other.
Unfortunately much if the evidence was lost in a tidying up at the station, as it does.
Did he do it, who knows. Probably not but the Guards veered from incompetent to much more serious than that in the investigation so we will never know.
Did they genuinely believe he did it and start from there or did they genuinely believe he didn't and start from there?
🫣🫣
Evidence like scrapes all over his face in the days after the murder?. . . which he supposedly accounted for with it caused by needles from a Christmas tree. Gimme a break.
...but the DPP have said that they are satisfied there was nothing of any evidential value against Bailey! But you obviously have more info than the DPP?
He got those climbing up pine trees to catch turkeys
That was after a drinking session and an all nighter writing up a news article
You'd need a bit more than that.
Gardai were absolutely imcompetent.
Whether he murdered her or not, he was a violent woman-beating scumbag and is not worthy of sympathy
Bit harsh, anyone could lose a gate.
Rest in Peace and let God be his Judge . All the opinions are meaningless because there was no evidence to prove he was the killer and thus he is innocent .
A wife beater at the very least.
I think that's plausible. The act of the Guards disposing the bloodstained gate in itself raises suspicions there are forces at play.
I’m convinced he was just an attention seeker. With the passage of time, this murder will never be solved. The killer and anyone else who knows may already be dead.
When I saw the headline, I thought ‘that’s it! The papers can print what they want now!’ Then I remembered that he’d already lost a major libel action 20 years ago and another slander action against a market trader. I don’t think the newspaper’s barristers were sweating too much when an Ian Bailey article went to print.
'If' he was innocent, it didn't help his case that he was a total oddball and attention seeker - he almost seemed to love the media attention and notoriety, rather than shy away from it.
Depends on the circumstances.
He gossipped twice himself that he did it.
I don't think it'll affect the search for the killer as it had nothing to do with Bailey anyway, zero chance it was him imo.
He was a narcissist who beat up his partner though so I doubt there'll be too many tears for him
Zero chance the person who confessed to the murder did it ?
Absolutely incompetent is one explanation.
There was enough reasons to have the entire thing investigated for more nefarious things than incompetence.
The authorities hounded him...he was found not guilty and that should have been that.......another shadow that hangs over this shite country
Very true, except he wasn't found not guilty.
"Let God be his judge"
Don't forget @Gusser09 that god loves a wife beater.
lost evidence, fabricated evidence and conclusive proof the Gardai were leaking certain information to the media to suit a certain narrative
….