Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strong policing on the streets of Dublin tonight (24/11) - **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I think it was you that mentioned the isolated Gardai previously as I did too - it’s worth highlighting again though as it reflected just how unsupported our Gardai are right now with idiots in senior Garda positions

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

Again this paints the picture that the only problem is in the inner city, the estates in our suburbs feature anti-social behaviour, open air drug dealing, fly tipping, scramblers on a large scale than what's going on in city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

It would be interesting to see a graph that shows the number of guards per person in ireland over the past 20 years.

We have increased rapidly in population, but the frontline guard numbers have not kept pace.

To ask a broader question, have any public service roles kept pace with population growth? Teachers, Doctors, Nurses, Council workers etc.

It is true that other larger cities than Dublin dont have these same issues in the city centre. Look at London or Paris as examples.

Sure they have crime, but its pushed out of the central areas for the most part.

Accomodation in the centre of their cities is very expensive and that helps keep the centre safe and inviting for people.

I think D1 struggles from the legacy of irelands past, when it was a poor country.

The North City Centre Vs South City Centre is like night and day.

It may as well be two different cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Underground

Maybe it’s worth a separate thread but I do wonder is it worth investigating the effect that lobbying has had on this country.

Why is Mcentee so intent on pushing through a hate speech bill that nobody has asked for? Who presented it to her or gave her the idea? Why has she spent most of her time as Minister discussing hate speech when under her tenure we have seen some of the most high profile crimes and seen Dublin City devolve further and further into a dangerous kip?

We were paying welfare to Ukrainian refugees at a level well over and above the EU average, why?

The front pages of all of the mainstream media papers on Monday morning had an article about the rise of the far right, then Thursdays events unfolded as they did.

I keep landing on the same rationale for all of this madness. NGO lobbyists cosying up to Leo and Helen et al and promising cushy NGO jobs for them in exchange for pushing through their agenda. It sounds tinfoil hat like but why else would they do it? We are suffering as a country because the Taoiseach and Minister for Justice want to secure their long term future for when they are inevitably turfed out of their current posts.

Post edited by Underground on

I read recently a figure for teachers- something like 800 positions vacant - it was 1200 back in August - I couldn’t believe it. I imagine the majority are Dublin and the reason they’re not filled is house prices and accommodation shortage.

Considering there was a recent campaign to attract medical staff to Ireland you can take it there’s significant shortages there too. Guards, Nurses, Teachers all wonderful careers except for the fact cost of living has gone way beyond what we’re prepared to pay for these skills these days - it will take one hell of an imaginative and radical scheme to change that - maybe something like government funded accommodation built specifically to house these professions or a mega tax break on mortgage or rent for those professions - I know that might sound daft but the maths of their salaries Vs what it costs to live in large cities near the schools and hospitals crying out for staff doesn’t add up at all .

• Registered Users Posts: 15,848 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I was listening to a journalist yesterday who said that, after the stabbing, it was obvious that something else was going on. She said that the crowd slowly built & she could hear people phoning others & telling them to get to the centre as something was kicking off. Why didn't the Guards know & react to this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,121 ✭✭✭prunudo

And there lies the problem, all about making money and protecting the imagine of a great little country. The quintessential outta mind outta sight policy which we are so good at.

The only way to solve this is by addressing the issues both through extra and proper policing, but also through community groups. The labeling of needs to stop and they need to be listened to, giving them hope and belief in their futures.

Totally agree and thats the reason the govt should be enabling mixed housing developments.

The govt will rent a new apartment block and then use all the units for social housing.

But teachers, nurses etc do not qualify for that housing, because they earn too much - but not enough to privately rent in Dublin.

A mixed development of 100 apartments could have 30% for social housing - low and no income.

50% for private renters, subsidised by the state (nurses and teachers can then afford these apartments) and 20% for private sale - to allow some folks to purchase homes and settle long term in the area.

You can play around with the percentage split, but the fundamental is enabling a mixed development and allowing our public and private sector workers, on average incomes, to actually live in the city, whilst at the same time stopping ghettos forming in 100% social housing complexes.

One of the problems is that the govt does not have targets to house teachers and nurses, or middle income employees.

The govt only have targets to house social welfare tenants and homeless people.

There should be targets for all groups, because the squeezed middle simply cannot afford Dublin.

And Dublin cannot afford to be without them.

There was a lot of taunting of established media journalists around Parnell square throughout the afternoon- that was strange in itself considering the crime that had been committed ie- children attacked- it didn’t make sense to me at the time.

Twitter and book face were awash with people calling on others to get into the city and essentially kill certain people - seriously, I saw one video advocating that. So yes, if I saw that activity (I couldn’t be classed as even a regular user of social media no less a prolific user) then the guards definitely knew about it.

I think senior management were asleep at the wheel and have become too complacent and reliant on computer models and data to do their policing for them - their senses have been dulled and they have shown their inexperience simply because we just don’t have the same type of riots and protests that we used to have in the 70s and 80s- the experience to deal with those situations has long gone and they’re left with theory and staring at computer screens

You can do both.

You can provide services and supports to disadvantaged areas, without plonking them in the city centre.

You can integrate those disadvantaged areas, within advantaged areas, and create mixed developments.

The City Centre should be prioritised as a space for people across the country to enjoy and it should act as an economic powerhouse for the economy.

What we have currently is an overgrown social housing project in the north city centre and the north city centre will never recover, unless that mould is broken.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

They were all adults and no media outlet photographed them either. Sickening

All free legal aid

Some were told to stay away from Dublin 1 (so it’s ok to torch Dublin 2 in judge land)

Plenty of money for FFG’s legal eagle friends and another result of FFG running of law and order seeing as they appoint the judges

12 years of FG government and you are blaming SF for a riot sparked by the anti-Shinner racists?

People like you are enablers and are the cause of the low standards in quality of life of people working in Dublin

Was rather odd he didn’t draw or have a baton or pepper spray.

In fact he seemed to swing his hat.

He was a foot taller than the attacker, should really be capable of loading a teenager instead

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭hamburgham

What exactly are they deprived of? Expensive runners and the latest iPhone? It is about values not cash. You see immigrants coming here with nothing except a work ethic and a belief in education and they get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,371 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Lots of Gardai by Grafton Street, TCD and St Stephen Green but some look barely out of nappies

• Registered Users Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Some of them were pictured in the Indo tbf

RTE News last night also had footage of some of them leaving the court

I suppose that’s something, but if it was the UK, the press would be outside their house and pictures plastered everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Some great posts and many of you have said what I wanted to say.

One thing about Dublin being a housing project and the need for gentrification etc. mentioned by a pp. I know there are some who believe that would be unjust to the suburbs to which the clearout tenants would be sent. However, who travels to a suburb to shop, socialise, go to the theatre, art galleries etc. etc.? So on that basis, and the fact that we are talking about the capital city I would agree with the clearout option. Put massive resources into the suburban areas and use the income generated by a liveable, pleasant well policed city to fund it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,121 ✭✭✭prunudo

Thing is, we know this doesn't happen. The more money the government take in, the less seems to be spent on services. Or maybe not spent wisely and in the right ways would be more correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

There's not really much point in even discussing this, they're hardly going to tell people in social housing blocks and flats in Dublin city centre that they're being moved out to the suburbs. It would never be allowed happen.

As ling as this happens in the city centre, Dublin and Limerick county and away from Slane, the midlands and south Dublin - I doubt the government care

• Registered Users Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well it happened to my parents back in the 60s. Their flat complex was being knocked so out to Kimmage they went. They were delighted. Then they bought that lovely little house, sold it years later and moved on to ahem greater things. That worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Be right back

And if she goes, hopefully her hate law gets put on the wayside.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I would imagine that's because a lot of those places were falling down and in an awful state and they would have been delighted with getting a new corpo house with a garden etc. They are rebuilding the likes of Dominic St flats, and putting locals into private apartments in the city centre too. My ex lived in Mayor Square in the IFSC and many of her neighbours were locals who were given apartments there, really nice ones too! So yeah we wont have townies out of town any time soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Cyclonius

I remember reading how one South American country dealt with low school attendance by a particular ethnic group, which was by tying their version of children's allowance/child benefit to the child actually attending school. School attendance massively shot up in a very short period of time.