Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society (Final) Mount Juliet Estate (24th Sep 1120 -1240 hrs)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,472 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Well I comfortably lost the battle in MJ, but did just enough to win the war!

Felt like I actually played a lot of solid nice golf at the weekend, even if the scorecard doesn't show it. Parred all the par 3s and got the driver going very well on the back 9 which gave me a solid platform. But the reality is 3 shots over 18 holes is beyond me at this point. I have the utmost repecr for r1986 and Alanm to be able to play such consistent golf off that number. Last time we played in MJ, when Big Easy pipped me at the post with a countback on a miserable 42 points, I shot 78 strokes. I would have had 33 points with the same number of strokes on Saturday, which wouldn't have broken the top 10. Congrats to Big Easy on an exceptional repeat performance. To hear him talk about his pre round prep was amazing. The fact he was about 2 minutes from missing his tee time was about the perfect start to a Big Easy round and keeps well with some traditions!

The day started off well, got down to the TopTracer with CharlieIRL and got going with the LD from the past. Were a few nervy looking faces picking up the club, but some cracking shots hit. Was great to see the look of happiness on the faces of some of the lads when they caught it out of the middle.

Got over to the chipping area and watched CharlieIRL knock pretty much every chip, from every angle Stiff. Was an ominous sign.

Proceeded to the range where I watched CharlieIRL continue to hit super shots. It's fantastic to see his game come on so much this year. Being able to put some more time into his golf this year is paying dividends.

His form didn't carry on to the course. We could really feel his frustration, but such is the nature of our friendships that everyone just tried to help get his head clear so he could get some enjoyment from his golf.

Roadrunner similarly has been on an outrageous run of form. He's an amazing power player, but has added real finesse to his game too. I never really paid much attention to his hands through his swing before. But I did notice that he is quite wristy through the ball. It gives him that extra power and release, but also adds that spin in the short game. Maybe a bit too much wrist in the putting stroke too which might be what causes that occasional nerviness over short ones? He's a class golfer though, who had a bad day on the course. We all do, but it didn't take away from his enjoyment of the round and weekend which shows a great attitude. Was a little too wild off the tee in MJ which was expensive in the end.

Slave1 has all the elements to go low and he genuinely had me nervous on that back 9. He's improvement his distance off the tee. His mid irons and wedges are dialled in. Had a tidy short game and is a very good putter. If he could add a consistent 200 yard club to the back, he really wouldn't have a gap in his game and I think has single figures in range for him.

I was on live scoring duty, and after 9 holes, it looked like the GOTY was in the bag for me. Was some great scoring on there and I knew Slave needed a top 5. He turned in a fantastic back 9, and standing on the 18th, I'd figured that a par would have won GOTY (can't switch the numbers off in my brain). He hit a lovely drive, but ultimately the hole was too long and the water cost him. It shows the exceptional consistency of his game to have pushed me that close without having won a single outing (does that feel like a backhanded compliment 😆)

So, after a serious year of golf for me I was really proud to have gotten it over the line. Have now got the Snowman and the Seve OB trophy sitting at home.

I remember Fix taking a fair bit of convincing in Enniscrone last year to take on the Captains role, but he really has excelled at it and grown into the role. He can look back on it now, I thinks, with a feeling of content and say to himself that it was a job well done.

Great to see and chat to so many new faces over the year and the weekend. The enthusiasm of the new members is superb. A great mix of familiar and new faces on the jug team. Let's get the job done lads and sign off Fix's year in style

Post edited by spacecoyote on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Where to start?! At the end I guess. Lipped out on the last from 5 feet for a five and said to myself aloud "hope that doesn't cost me". To which AlanM cheerfully responded: "no, you would've lost on countback anyway". Damn livescoring, sorry Golfgraffix!

Gutted, I knew I'd scored well but didn't know what I had as myself and Seve were at pains to avoid Fix's live updates. Conducting on course interviews while playing his own round, two under after two, holding the whole of the clubhouse captive for hours on end, what a man, waddaplaya (come back to that later).

Had been feeling a little unwell, as my son is teething a lot and had a cough, so sleep was at a premium the last few weeks. Was still groggy after the round, so lost my playing partner in the carpark, then strolled in to the clubhouse starving, more interested in food at this point, when BallyK said have you a card for me, I did but not my own, so then went frantically searching for BohToffee, even ventured into the showers and shouted *real name* are you in there? "Yeah, it's me came back as the answer?"

Relieved, I sat down in the changing room to look through the card, had just put my score in the marker's section and not my points as I always know my score too well and am always thinking holes in advance what I need to be shooting and it never helps, so today I said I wasn't doing that, had a run of pars in the back 9 and the same mind worm came in with 3 to play, if you bogey these three you might have done enough, caught the thought quickly enough and came back to the moment to play one shot at a time like I had been up to that point.

Anyway looking through my card I counted up the strokes and saw I has 43 each side for 86, half knowing I'd 22 on the front, I thought I must have 22 on the back too and 44 I think is good enough. BohToffee came out of the shower to be revealed as SeveOB, to whom I said "it's you!", to which he replied, "I know".

Now thinking I've won, but I still can't find my playing partner and the winning card. Found him and spotted the discrepancy, he'd put me down for a 7 on 7, when I had three putted for a 5. Ts crossed and Is dotted, I was now pretty sure I was the winner. Proper buzzing to again at MJ 8 years after winning CharlieIRL's Captain's in 2014. That day was previously my best day on the golf course and probably still is. I was rereading the thread to remeber the two holes I had birdied that time on the way to pipping Space on countback, no shortage of drama that year either! Didn't find that out but rather unhelpfully as it turned out, discover that Fix was 2 under through 7 that day before a less than stellar back 9.

Didn't think I'd jinx him after 2, sorry Fix, still think it was more the wait on the 3rd tee that was the culprit! That brings me to my lovely prize, the third hole immortalised in the setting sun by Kevin Markham, thanks Fix and thanks Kevin. It will take pride of place somewhere in the house, if I'm allowed, I joke, but displaying the trophy, my picture and my framed post may be a bridge too far!

When I first unwrapped it to see what it was, my first thought was, now I'm even more gutted about pulling my 52 into the water left! My next thought was I have to play here again and at least hit the green if not birdie it, can't remember how I played it in 2014. Even though I pulled it into the water, it was probably still a key hole in my victory. I gave myself a horrible drop, buried in the rough, playing across the water with not much green between me and the pin, which I duly duffed in front of myself. I then got up and down miraculously, hit a lovely pitch past the hole to maybe 12 or 15 foot and proceed to roll in a lovely putt straight down the slope, dying of exhaustion on the front lip.

That point kept the whole show on the road and I two putted for par on the index 2 4th straight after. Played the 5th poorly but again scraped a point with a 7. Then hit a lovely 5wood into a strong wind on 6. It still climbed into wind though and stalled on the fringe. Short game has been a real struggle for me this year and has led to me drifting out and again and not being a threat on boards outings. Have been trying to back to basics with a more foolproof chipping action. Although it wasn't looking good on the chipping green earlier. Actually cleared the place once I stepped into the practice bunker! Benn working with less loft too, decided the 52 was a safe bet here, carried it slightly more than halfway, which I didn't want, asked it to "hit it" to which it kindly acquiesced and disappeared into the cup for my only birdie of the day.

I have to give partial credit to my win to Golfsidekick on YouTube. Being indoors a lot with my son the last while, I've started watching his channel and I've founded it very helpful as regards course management and not hitting stupid shots. I think I only tried one hero/stupid shot on Saturday when my average is 5-6 a round. The only stupid shot did come off as I hit a 5iron from 190 pin high left on 13. Made 5 there and then parred the next 4 before lipping out on the last and all the ensuing drama (mostly taking place in my own head).

Finished with 1 birdie, 6 pars, 7 bogies and 4 doubles, waddaplaya! Golf sidekick has a breaking 80 target thing, that is 6 GIRs, 6 up and downs, then 6 other. Had 4 up and downs and 4 GIRs, so a little way to go, but I'll keep trying!

Lastly, but most importantly want to thank everyone in the committee and the society for keeping everything going and making the society bigger and stronger each year. It's a lot of work, but it all pays off on great days and nights like that! I told the Captain what I think of him in my acceptance speech and I think it touched him, much like how he has touched me in the past.........

Seriously @FixdePitchmark is a great forum member with some of the best contributions on here that I've ever read, so doubly delighted to win his Captain's Prize.

PS: I'll collect my best legs prize at the next outing!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭boccy23

Lads, this will probably be said again and again, but another fantastic day with Boards. It was a true pleasure to be there on Saturday. Fixed posted eloquently about his gold journey and feeling on the “inside” now thanks to this society and I can 100% concur with that feeling. I only joined last year when I made a conscious effort to get back into golf after many a years absence and was looking for variety. The Boards Society ticked all the boxes I had and I certainly look back at jumping into the society as a great decision. As a cack-handed golfer who can be up and down, I am always self-conscious when playing with people that I don’t know. But from day 1 in this society, I never felt anything but very comfortable. The first day was in Kilkea with Concerned and Tiger and I struggled to break 20 points. But it didn’t dawn on me to not come back. There is absolutely Zero judgement within the members, which I think is what makes this Society unique.

Arrived to Mount Juliet in Saturday and even on the drive up, you know this place is different class. The craic around the Long Drive from the past was great and an excellent tone setter for the day. Delighted that I could hit it at all! Some practice on the short game area and was happy with that. Took to the putting green and that was a mistake! Frightened by the speed and slopes. Should have stayed away.

Playing with three gents in @SEORG , @spuddy4711 and @bobster453 who made the day a real pleasure. As Bobster said on 16, “I have never had a bad day with this society” and it is so true. Seorg is a lovely golfer. So consistent, great game off the tee, good irons, lovely short game and if a few more putts had dropped, he would have been there or thereabouts. 18 summed him up. Drive on the fairway, a worldie of a 3W into the wind onto the front of the green but then proceeded to take 3 putts. Spuddy drove the ball so well that he deserved to score better. Struggle on the greens was his undoing, but at least he won the “Most golf” prize! And Bobster was equally decent off the tee, but as many of us, struggled to convert with the blade. Highlight was the 3rd where he pitched about 5 inches from the hole – we were nearly at the base celebrating! – but then missed the birdie. A few more putts holed and again, Bobster could well have gone close.

For myself, I was just revelling in the beauty or MJ, the great weather and great company. Found the bunker on 1, but had a 6 foot putt for par which I missed. Still, would take 5. Lovely drive on 2. 110 yds looking straight down the green at the flag. Made a mess of it and walked off with a 6. Mad! Took a 9i to clear the water on 3 and didn’t connect so never had a chance to make the carry. Reteed and hit it harder, 20 feet right of the pin. Proceeded to roll in the “birdie” putt, so out of jail with a 4. Great drive on 4, front of the green and 2 putts. I think Fixed said it, but we were down on the 4th green, no breeze, could hear the bees or wasps and it was idyllic. Nowhere better. Continued well on the front 9 and turned with 17 points. Happy out! Had some fun with Bob who was enjoying the ham & cheese sandwich but was being tormented by the crows, so he started crowing back at them. How could you not enjoy this society when there are characters like that.

Highlights came over the nest few holes. Found the back bunker on 10 and couldn’t get out in 1 so only got a point. Then hit a 9i to the back of the green on 11 and proceeded to roll the putt from just off the green, hoping that it would stop somewhere close to get a par. On and on it rolled and then dropped straight in for a 2. Second time I have birdied that hole. Greenside bunker again on 12 and a scratch (is it only English golfers who say “blob” – never heard anyone hear say anything other than scratch??). Then on 13 drove into the right round. Had about 160 yards to go over the water but the lie was “ok”. Took a 6i and hit it as hard as I could, waited with baited breath and it bounced! Ended up on left hand side of the green. Again, I took the putter, rolled it down, and like on 11 in she popped. A birdie on the index 1. Happy days. Struggled home from there and ended up with 14 points on back 9 for 31. Never a day for me to contend properly, but not 1 bit upset by it. The day itself, the company, the place and the craic more than made up for any issues over the scoring.

Another long post I know, but I could actually go on for a lot longer. Finally a huge thanks to all involved in organising the society and days like these. It is much appreciated for all your efforts and commitment. @FixdePitchmark Congrats on your year as captain. You can sit back and be very satisfied with a job very well done. MJ capped it off perfectly for you.

So on to a few more qualifying comps before 2022 draws to a close. Will 100% be back next year and provided the body (back) holds up, will be there for as many boards outings as I can.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭Snackbox20

"The pidgeon among the cats" by Snackbox20 🏌️

Just in the middle of a small break between making a sure my 6 month old neice falls asleep and then have the weekly Monday night bingo run coming up at 7:30 while the head is fresh, I am going to try and recall on what was one of the best weekends of golf and socialising I have ever been a part of.

My golf journey didn't start at a club, not many of my family had an interest in it, but there was a pro-am that took place at Clonmel golf club in 1989 and my dad took us up to see what all the fuss was about, at 8 years of age I don't remember any of the golf but reefed the back of my leg off a knot in a fence near the 18th and got photos taken with both Niall Quinn and Nicky English, my golf didn't start until I was much older and mam got me a starter set from Champion Sports in Cork for a Christmas.

As I tried to get to grips with the game and between various memberships, it's only in the last 6/7 years that I am serious about Golf and as a long time lurker on boards being a previous subscriber to some hilarious topics and posts on After Hours, I finally took the courage to join this society, and I am so delighted that I joined and have never looked back. I remember being asked by @spacecoyote on his first outing as Captain, he said "hello there, yes this boards.ie golf society, what's your name?" I said "real name" @spacecoyote laughed and said "sorry no, your username, welcome 😁" and so it has been scenes like this, comradiary and so much more that I thoroughly enjoy in this group.

Mount Juliet 24/09/22 what a day of golf. I got up at 6:00 that morning to bring my brother in law to work, only to be told, not needed, he sorted another lift, I only had 4/5 hours the night before as I had been sensible at my friend's wedding. (Interrupt by the bingo run 😜, we're back) so I'm there getting ready and all yesterday and that morning was, "this is it" , "I'm playing golf today, no hero shots, I'll be happy with a top 10 finish" That drove me on. It was my tiger Sunday red and new pair of Padraig pants, but I don't know was it too much Heineken zero or too many veggies, the pants didn't fit 😯, they do now.

So onto to Mount Juliet and was buzzing so was my phone, the Glendine Inn group were all arranging breakfast from the craic on Friday, I met one of my playing partners for a coffee @banie01@bakerbhoy , had a chat and started to see more fellow golfers arrive. The weather was perfect, I was itching to get some swings in. So before I took on the hickory challenge which was great craic by the way, I was asked if I was upstanding for the new king as I was scene putting a band around my torso, I have been using this in my practice to stop the chicken wing which led me to some dose of the armitages. Took a few chips but did not test the putting green. I was very happy with my carry on the past driver challenge, I hit them straight but did not generate enough power and did not get near 200, I adapted this in my game on the course too, at one stage I said to the young lads in our four-ball go ahead tiger and Rory, I'm going to play like Monty.

And that really helped my golf Saturday, on the first hole with a 1 pointer I tried to hit my hybrid out of the ground by the left tree only to top and think, ok recover, after putting out, I had a very minimal idea of the pace of the green, but my course management kicked in on hole 2. I had the pleasure of playing alongside 2 monster hitters in @ciano15 and @scotty_golf9 plus as mentioned earlier @bakerbhoy , I really enjoyed the company on the round and congrats to @ciano15 for making the jug team. My game was going nice along, I used 3w on the 2nd and bogey was happy and on the third I put an 8i on the back of the hole downhill 2 putt. I was using my handicap and making the best decisions on the course. The two young lads are some boys to launch a golf ball, the writing was on the wall when Scotty said on the 1st tee-box "234 yards carry on the long drive boy!!!" He also drove the 14th green. A massive thanks to @bakerbhoy too, he was our man looking after Livescore and it didn't really cross my mind until going to 17th, I thought kaput when it went towards red stakes only to roll on into middle of fairway and complete a bogey. Baker told me on 18th you have your 2 shots on this index and a 5 will do ya, driver down to some other crowds LD marker, 5i to right side of fairway to leave my reliable 6 to the green. I struck it well and was a long putt from left side in. This was it, long putt, which I so happy with my putting all day, don't leave it short, I walked both sides of the hole, clunk, it felt so good but it started to die about a foot and a half to the hole, "can I finish out lads?" Yep, go ahead, plinkity plop "ah boy snackbox!!!!!" From the group ahead. @FixdePitchmark came over and recorded a commentary voxpop and "you look like a winner, jaysus you could be in with a shout, how was it" "my best golf out there"

In the clubhouse there was congratulations and murmurings that I had, but I was still in shock that I played so well and did not melt, it was a bit surreal, I was just finishing the last of the veggie curry and @bobster shows me Livescore and says "you were pipped, a wrong score put down on an earlier hole" it wasn't to be but still I am over the moon that i played so well that day, finished well beyond my expectations from a top 10 to a 2nd. I even ended up sharing a room in the Glendine with the winner @Thebigeasy , and huge congratulations on your win, and a sound bloke, a sound winner too. Thanks again to my playing partners @bakerbhoy , @ciano15 , and @scotty_golf9 for such an enjoyable round.

So it has been an essay and such a long article, i'm back again to say how much I love this group, and a huge thanks go to Captain @FixdePitchmark , when you were announced as @Break80 successor in Enniscrone, I was still getting to know the members and I did not have an opportunity to play with you and did not know that well but over the course of your captaincy, I had some laugh and exchanged great banter with you and do many others in this society, you have played an absolute blinder this year and all those ideas you envisaged in your speech in Enniscrone, really came off and we all enjoyed it so much. Great craic was also had in the night out after, but that's a different chapter, that's for the autobiography. Well done captain fix on a hugely successful tenure as Captain, best of luck to the incoming captain Randy"@RoadRunner "Santel, who has great public speaking skills, a great golfer, is also a possible world satellite dish sized pizza eating championship.

I think I have wrote enough, looking forward to next year, best of luck to this year's Ryder Jug team, and continued success to this society.

Thank you to you all for making me so welcome here and I love it here.

Snackbox

may have to change my name next year to plantbased20 🤔@ciano

Ciano your name was a typo at the end, apologies and I have no idea how we had a 5th member of a four-ball in banie🤔🤔🤦🤦

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭paulos53

It certainly sounds like it was a great weekend. I have played very little society golf over the past few years but reading all the posts over the past day or two (and the whole season in fact) has me itching to return next year.

Congrats to Fix on a fantastic year as captain and best of luck to the team in the upcoming Ryder Jug.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,816 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

@Snackbox20 - class post - It was people like you that made the year a joy. As I entered the year - I had this fear of people giving out - complaining about things , me getting into fights with people.

But no - people were so positive and encouraging. It was really heart warming.

Now there are a few theories on this.

1) One person said, Fix - I think they are just afraid of you (LOL)

2) I personally think - post covid, people are way more appreciative of any sort of day out - a bit of escape and banter.

3) The use of the app was a massive improvement in life for everyone. It meant the day was about the golf - on your terms.

4) The members were so helpful getting decent rates and great courses.

5) We were very lucky with the weather except the Carton disaster.

6) Pace of play was much improved - helped by forward tees (IMO) - But I know that is a controversial topic.

7) People generally played well on courses that were set up on the easier side.

8) Whilst it is hard to get numbers on a Friday - the social side was a big help to mix with people and get to know them.

9) Our sponsors were just ridiculously generous - amazing. This made life so much easier for us.

10) The committee were unbelievable for me - particularly as I'm a "drama queen" - quote end quote

Now I'm not a completely head in sand clown either - nothing is perfect and a few issues remain outstanding.

1) Forum participation needs to go up more by the members - we are not just a normal golf society.

2) Pace of play remains a big issue (IMO)

But I'll be passing all that on to the next captain - I'm really looking forward to next year and see what new ideas Roadrunner will bring to the show.

Above just flowed - and probably for another space and time. Thanks again for the great most golf prize - I would have loved to win it.

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Macker1

@FixdePitchmark I just want to say congratulations on your year as Captain. It certainly was a great success based on what I read after each of the outings by so many society members both new and old. The introduction of the new elements was a masterstroke and I'm sure there will be more unique ideas to come by the incoming Captain @RoadRunner who has big shoes to fill next year but I have no doubt that 2023 will be a success.

Hopefully a win in the upcoming Jug will cap off the year in style.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Manhatton

Thanks Captain and Boards GS for a great weekend. Couldn't ask for better. Super super course, great playing partners in Linoritchie, a post punk and blue note. All good golfers well capable of knocking a few shots off their handicaps. Great weather for this time of year and mighty craic afterwards, a sound bunch. Looking forward to next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭Break80

NOW HIS WATCH HAS ENDED,

Firstly, I must congratulate Fix on an incredible year as Captain. So many new innovations, Fairway Finder, Friday Social round, Clubnet.

It was a year that will stand the test of time without a doubt and given me some memories that will stay with me forever.

For a fella we had to fill up to the brim with Guinness before he accepted the post of Captain, we all agree you made a great job of it. WELL, DONE.

Our year kicked off with a once in a lifetime trip to Florida in January, the strangest mixture of personalities you could imagine, real quiet guys, some real smart guys,

a few loud guys, 1 guy who had a built in SAT/NAV and 1 fella with lousy taste in music, but all with a shared obsession for this crazy game of golf.

On to Portmarnock on February with our new Clubnet booking APP in place. The best complement I can pay this is even I could use it which says something if you know my understanding of Tech. It's something to be very proud of John. WELL, DONE.

Portmarnock beat me up as usual golf wise, but I love it every year.

Carlton House in March and I only went and won it the day after my birthday, stayed in the hotel with my good lady wife and felt THE ONLY WAY IS UP.

April, May, June, July, August. I WAS WRONG. Played absolute muck but really enjoyed the new courses. Nenagh, Greystones and Tullamore. Loved the social Friday in Greystones, great crack watching a serious putting comp at 10pm with a drone flying overhead.

On to Captain's Prize in September, Golf Wise could feel little green shoots on the way as I took the usual side bet from Tiger and Benny but I am probably in the red to them from the rest of the year so no great boast there.

Loved the course and great company in Doublecross, Benny and Kieran. The crack the night before and after was epic as usual. Some great personalities, put them all together in weird and wacky pubs, fill them full of booze, great night great fun.

Well done to Big Easy on a great win. Congrats to Space on a deserved GOTY.

Welcome to the fold Roadrunner. You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave. To quote a popular Eagles hit.

Roll On Next Year.

Can't wait.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Went down early to see this long drive from the past, nice bit of craic, I'm not into practicing before a round so just waited and then hit a few putts.

Knocked down drive on 1, "recovery" went right and blocked by trees so had to chip back to fairway and then wedge in and got the ~15ft putt for an all too unnecessary bogey, sloppy golf then followed with another knock down drive on 4 and a scratch from nowhere after a series of horrible shots.

Our group really started badly and we thought we would be way behind but were actually right behind the group ahead so others must be ball searching also...

Parred the first par 5, birdie putt slipped by, v happy with bogey on the next after a chunked wedge "approach" (it was a par 3). Finally got a good drive on the next and hit the fairway with perfect line in only to manufacture a pressure 10ft putt for a double, FFS. Long par 5 next and managed to push my long first putt off the green and eventually another double.

The impact of our combined play at this stage was no one in the group apart from me could take GOTY off Space and his score was not going to improve.

Had a nice sandy up and down on 9 then a stupid double on 10. There after something clicked and I had a nice run of pars, a good up and down on Index 1 for a double (I had a lot of 1 pointers) and a long putt on 15 for a birdie. Another sandy recovery on 16 and I felt the round was turned and I needed strong finish on 17/18. I skimmed the birdie putt on 17 going for it so went a good bit by, didn't get the putt back but I was not bothered as you can't get them all especially when you're "going for it".

Space let me know a par on 18 would have me in 5th and sneak GOTY, I've no time for pressure so just played as normal, nice drive but 18 a long way and I was not going to get home in 2. "Laying up" my second the wind took it and it caught water, that was it so, I had been aggressive for all of the back nine and eventually the luck runs out. Had a monster bogey putt and then sunk the follow on for a well earned double bogey.

I'm at the end of my golfing year now, I don't do the cold so very happy with the weather we got in MJ, my game was deplorable from 4 through 10 but such is life, my score was only held together by a 28 putt round including 7 over 10ft "one putts" and three sandy up and downs, take even half of then away and I would have been in the 20's scoring.

Onto my playing partners, they suffered as it was quite simply one of those days and they never got going with early scratches effectively wiping a scoring round out. Always a pleasure though and looking forward to a similar 4ball next year.

Well done to Easy on his impressive score and unlucky Snackbox for what would surely have won most other days.

Captain Fix played a blinder all year (supported by strong committee) following Break80's difficult tenure through COVID, something new is always worth trying out and he was not afraid to change things up, in golfing terms he Eagled the year.

Final task is to take back the Jug!

In conclusion, words for incoming Captain RR, good luck dude, big shoes to fill!!!! no better man

Post edited by slave1 on

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. outdoor furniture, roof box and EDDI

My Active Ads (adverts.ie)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Am still finding it hard to put into words what went wrong for me last Saturday in Mount Juliet, I had been on a great run of form, my chipping, driving & putting practice was going really well but it all just fell apart on the day. I hadn’t told anyone, especially Fix, that as of last Friday night I was on the brink of pulling out due to family issues – a chat for another day. My wife convinced me to go on Saturday and said to forget everything and just enjoy my day and night, at worst I was only 2 hours away so I packed the car and off I went.

Got on the road very early to clear my head and when I got to the course, I temporarily managed to forget all and go enjoy the morning. The crack was great outside the clubhouse and myself and Fix got the old wooden clubs, few tokens from the pro shop and off down to the range for the “Drive from the Past” competition – another excellent new idea Fix brought to the Society this year. Trackman set up, lads sheepishly started coming down to try hit the old wood, not an easy task as a few will testify. Some absolutely brilliant shots with it too though, very impressed guys, well done.

Once that was finished, I set off to the chipping green, like my past few weeks practice – I was able to chip and land the ball where I wanted to, over and over. I practiced from down in the hollow to up beside the green to chipping from the upslope etc, all shots need on the majestical Mount Juliet course. Off to the range and was pinging drives, 3 woods, hybrids and even a few short irons, it felt good. Even had time to do an interview with our Captain!! Spent a while on the putting green with our fourball, Slave, Roadrunner and Spacecoyote. As RR said previously, it was great to know the GOTY winner was one of the 4 of us. Nice feeling heading off to the first tee.

I won’t lie, I was nervous on the first, but hit a decent drive down to the left of the fairway leaving me 85m to the centre of the green. As the rough looked thick, I took an extra club to make sure I got to the green only to get a flyer and land in the trees behind the green, my first mistake. Dropped a “provisional” knowing in my head it was my ball in play and landed on the green. One thing I wanted to avoid in MJ was not to 3-putt and what did I do on the first hole, 3-putt for a 7. Scratch #1 and the first of many.

Second hole I took out my 3 wood to play safe, nope hit it straight into the trees on the LHS of the fairway so had to take an unplayable. Made a mess of my chip out and next shot resulting in Scratch #2

On the next Par 3, I actually got nervous over my tee shot, I couldn’t even get the ball on the tee, apologies to my playing partners for my delay. What did I do only put my ball into the water. My next wasn’t much better as I hit it over the green and to the left. OK, I’ve practiced this chip - and I got the ball onto the green but 2 putted for Scratch #3.

It was now I started getting into my own head, I started thinking why didn’t I stay at home and help my wife with our daughters issues. I never said anything to my playing partners (or anyone on the day) about what was bothering me throughout our round as all of them were in contention for GOTY.

I ploughed on, frustrating myself and hopefully didn’t upset the lads from their games but I have a feeling I did as none of us were playing spectacularly – well except for Slave, he was tipping along nicely.

I managed to relax a bit by the time I got to the 13th - I was out of the 12th hole after 2 erratic drives so to keep the pace of play up, I left the fairway and sat on the mound heading to the 13th tee box leaving the lads to finish out. After taking a few minutes to admire the lads approach and putts on the 12th we all regrouped and off the the tee box. I hit a nice 3 wood well down the fairway but in the rough on the right, thinking of the flyer on the first, I took out one less club to approach the downhill green and what did I do? Popped it into the water!! Sums up my day!!

Hit a nice tee shot on the next that barely held the green, a decent chip (at last!!) 2 putts and a bogie, it was like I won the lotto – 2 points!!

I started to play golf from here on home, birdied the next after a great 3 wood from the tee and a nice 9 iron to leave me a few foot for birdie from pin high. Should have had a par on the next but got made bogie and was the same for the last 2 holes to play the last 5 with a bit of credibility.

Fair play to my playing partners and friends and I must apologies again for my rants and shocking performance. These are 3 gentlemen and I didn’t deserve to be in their company on Saturday. After all our poor-ish starts, Roadrunner (I think) came out with a very funny statement – “to think lads, we are the top 4 golfers this year and look at us so far?” Was very funny.

Well done to Saturdays winner The Big Easy – to win in MJ again, what a feat and one a lot are envious of. Super golf and I am genuinely delighted for you.

Massive congratulations to Spacecoyote for bringing it home, a deserved winner and hard luck to Slave for the close run……..again!! Always the bridesmaid!! Delighted to have Roadrunner as captain for 2023 – its going to sound awesome!!! Looking forward to it already.

A huge congratulations and thanks to Fix for his fantastic year, one to be remembered for a long time in the society. From all the novel new ideas, to his meticulous preparation and his desire to make the society social again, take a bow. It’s going to be a tough act to follow! To Space and Seve, many thanks for all your hard work behind the scenes, it does not go unnoticed and we are forever in your debt.

I’m not going to make excuses for my poor performance on Saturday, I just played crap but I will fix it, I have before and will again. Back to the practice ranges for me and another lesson to keep my handicap cuts coming and get back enjoying the rounds.  Looking forward to Arklow and the Ryder Jug – I’m bringing home a point this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Well it's been quite a busy year for me and I missed a few outings. Captains weekend (sorry Fix, it will always be Captains no matter how hard you try to call it something else) was also thrown into jeopardy when my missus announced a few months ago that she had booked a few days away with her friends, this very weekend. I was determined not to miss it though as already said, Mount Juliet is a very special place to me and the course is one of my favourites. Thankfully my mum was able to juggle some things and stepped up to mind the kids, but it meant that I was only able to make it down Saturday morning. Of course with all the running around as kids can be very demanding with classes, training and parties I was late getting my stuff together, (I had told Fix I was sponsoring the water and chocolate for the round and then nearly left it behind) and was late getting on the road.

Anyway, got there shortly after 10 and was great to see everything was running smoothly. Fix brought a new element with his notes on the cards this year, class touch. I am not normally one to have the luxury to warm up before a round as it's generally jump from the car straight up onto the box. So a few stretches and a crack at the LD from the past. I used to sport a very similar Christy O'Connor 3 wood in my own bag for may years so it brought back some nice memories. Lads were taking a fair few shots to get it to register their 2 qualifiers, so I was expecting the same. But no, I flushed the first 2 and got decent results, not winning, but decent. Then I hit a third and got a 240 carry... but it didn't count ☹️ typical lol

If I'm honest I wasn't really sure what to expect from my round. I didn't put that much into my game this year and my scores and increase in handicap shows it. Last Saturday I played with my old man in Greystones, parred 6 of the front 9, 2 bogeys and a triple..... and oddly it probably should have been 2 shots better. However the back 9 brought me back down to earth. But there were signs that I had a bit of form, knowing the course very well and with the increased handicap I knew there could be a chance of posting a number.

So I had a few chips and a little time putting before heading over to the 1st tee. There was only 3 of us... where the hell is Easy? I rang him a few times, texted, no answer. 1 minute to tee time, he is spotted 100 yards away running. The first two lads hit, my turn...... knocked it down and was lucky to make it over the water 😬 Easy makes it just in time to join us for the round. 😨 As usual it was a pleasure to play alongside himself, Captain Fix and a new member for me in Bohtoffee. A very enjoyable round, great craic, banter, some fabulous golf, some shocking stuff and lots of good fun.

So, there is my ball sitting ok but not great in the rough, I hadn't even made the fairway. My 5 wood is good at cutting through long stuff and a very reliable club to have in my bag. I flushed it, as good as I could and probably even better. I found the green and found myself with a 20 foot putt. I wasn't greedy, took 2 and walked off with par. As we walked to the second tee I told the guys that it's probably a harder hole from the forward tees, especially if you hit the ball long. Fix took driver and was lucky he went right of centre where he had a bit more room to run out, but he was still a bit blocked out and yet managed to play a fabulous shot into about 10 foot and make the birdie to go -2 through 2! I played a 3 iron off the tee to the centre of the fairway but pushed a 9 iron out right. Played a good chip over the bunker and made the putt for another par.

Whilst waiting on the 3rd tee, Easy figured it was time to throw the jinks at Captain and informed him that he had read through the last MJ thread and should be aware that he was also -2 through 7 holes.... but he went on to finish the round like an aul one 😂. Of course there was only one place Fix was hitting the ball, actually three of the lads found the water. I stuck a wedge to about 8-9 foot... and missed my only real birdie chance of the day. Still, another par.

The third and fourth holes together form my favourite stretch in golf. Isolated from the rest of the world in a little tree lined valley, picturesque water features and a tough and demanding tee shot on the 4th. It was time for the 3 iron again to the centre of the fairway but this time my 9 iron came up a bit short. I somehow managed to 2 putt from 5 yards short of the green though. Hello.... 4 in a row. The 5th hole can be reached in 2, but not Saturday with the wind in our face. I did get close though and only had 50 yards to the pin with my 3rd, which I just didn't follow through on and was lucky to make it over the bunker. Still, only 12 foot from the hole and 5 pars in a row is without question the best start I've ever had on a golf course. The 6th was a beast of a par 3 on Saturday and it took all of my really well hit 5 wood with a little draw (I won't lie, I thought for a minute it was bunker bound) till captain shouts "in the hole". He can get a bit carried away can Fix😂 but I was dead online all be it a bit short of the hole. 24 foot away and a lot closer than the 53 foot marked previously by Golfgraffix (I think). A shocking putt followed though and I was lucky to hold my nerve over a 5 footer to make yet another par. I was obviously delighted with my start, but it might have also been a contributing factor to my downfall. I had rode my luck a bit over the first 6 holes and made a few clutch pars. If it was to continue, Lady luck would have to spend the day with me or I would have to up my game. On the 7th tee, I just couldn't set myself. It was the theme for the rest of the round, normally so comfortable with the driver and probably my most reliable club of late, I just couldn't feel it on Saturday and a slice into the trees meant I had to knock out sideways, and not finding the fairway left the approach much harder. However PIN high but left and off the green with a slippy downhill putt that could be easily de-greened. Thankfully I judged it perfect and a tap in for my first bogey of the day. But the driver was broken and another slice on 8 caused even more trouble as yet again I couldn't find the fairway with my recovery shot. Still I managed to give myself a (long) putt at the par, but a rush of blood to the head and it was a disaster 3 putt for a double.

Oddly, I was comfortable over most of the fairway shots and the 2 provisionals I hit on 7 & 8 were just.... well perfect! Thankfully I stood over my drive on the 9th and even though I was standing in a divot hole, I felt the shot, so didn't move and hit my best drive so far to set up my 7th par. +3 for the front 9 and an embarrassing 24 points.

Captain said to me that I wouldn't be able to do the cards as I would be in the mix, but I reminded him that there was a lot of golf to play. I Know Golfgraffix is excellent to us with the ClubNet app, but I'm a traditionalist and personally don't like the live scoring. I think scores should not be divulged until the results are read. Never happens now though does it!

We had lost a little time on the 7th & 8th holes looking for balls, but the guys in front were only leaving the 9th green as we walked off the tee box so we were back on track. I think when the ranger asked us (politely) to pick up the pace as we walked to the 10th tee kind of annoyed me because we really had been waiting on most shots. Of course I sliced 2 into the trees and nearly took the head off a lovely couple who were only out walking their dog.... but they knew where my first ball was. I couldn't recover and walked off with a 9 and my first scratch. I basically slapped at my tee shot on 11 and came up short, but then I airmailed the green.... 5 🙄

Get your act together Seve. Best drive of the day followed and finally I'm back on track.... Eh no you're not, 3 putts. Another 3 putt bogey followed on 13. I thought, feck it, 2 points is not bad. I'll take bogey golf home. and it will get me to 39 points. This was the worst thing I could have decided. Played the wrong club on 14 looking for the middle of the green and a little push found the bunker. 2 shots there and then missed a 2 footer! 15 is another hole where experience can come into play so a 4 iron off the tee left me with a 9 iron in. Another great look at birdie from about 12 foot, but a pathetic attempt meant just par. OK, so back on track for 39.

A lack of confidence with the driver meant 4 iron was the play off the 16th tee. At this stage, the week had caught up with me. I was shattered. It probably kicked in when we made the turn, but I was really feeling it now. A weak attempt meant I had an awkward stance with one foot in the bunker and had no chance of making the green, then I just duffed a chip and followed with a 3 putt for another double.

OK so now I need a par bogey finish for 39. At this stage, with the course playing the way it was, I didn't think 39 would win, I knew it would be in the mix, but I was chasing something else. Ryder Jug points and the Past Captains Cup. So 34 points through 16 wasn't the end of the world. But yet again I sliced my drive. Thankfully it went a long way and even though I was under a tree, I had a shot. No hero stuff, a 5 iron to the middle of the fairway, but it just ran out into the rough (nearly lost it!) 70 yards to the pin and I hit a beauty, but I knew, I was about 1 foot right of the hole when it pitched and my course experience knew I needed to be about 1 meter left. So yea, it ran right off and left me a tricky pitch, but I opted to putt and rolled it up close..... guess what, I missed the 2 footer.

Finally the 18th tee. Another wait. A visit to the hedge and as I walked back I looked at my ball sitting on the tee and thought to myself that I hadn't lost a ball all day long. Then I thought to myself, Oh Oh, I shouldn't have thought that 🤣 A pretty weak hit drive followed, but of course you all know that this time it was not a slice but instead a little pull and she took 2 bounces and went straight into the water. My 3rd found the bunker and they weren't kind to me on Saturday. So I finished with a scratch and a very disappointing 36 points.

Throughout the round, I wasn't really paying attention to The Big Easy. I knew he had started well, but after he wobbled on the 3rd and even after his chip in birdie on 6, I didn't think he was doing so well. Alanm told him on the 18th green that he had come up short. But it wasn't till after I had my shower and sat down with the cards that I realised he had 44 points. 👏

In 2013 I ventured down to Portarlington for my first Boards event, not knowing a sinner. If I'm not mistaken it was also the first event for Fix & Big Easy. I recall seeing, well lets just say, an interesting looking character trundle through the car park with long hair and a set of clubs that looked like they could have been from 1970. Of course I met said individual on the first tee. I thought to myself, what have I let myself in for 🤣. A few things stuck with me from that day. The Boards Society was a great way to play golf in different courses that I never would normally play, Portarlington was a hidden gem, Big Easy was not a great golfer, but had glimpses of brilliance as he holed out at least twice from ridiculous lies and finally to never Judge a book by it's cover haha 🤣😂 I've gotten to know The Big Easy quite well since that day and have seen his golf improve dramatically to become a really solid player, who will, like a good wine, get better with age. As I know everyone else here will attest to, he is one of the nicest, most genuinely loveable guys anyone could ever care to meet. It's an honour to call him a friend and I was truly delighted to see him crowned champion golfer for the second time and take home the Claret Jug (oddly for the first time). Well done Easy.

Fix came into inner sanctum of the society this time last year and was determined to lay down his mark. That he did, with some considerable style. Well done on a great year as Captain and thanks for keeping the rest of us on our toes. Delighted to welcome Roadrunner as our captain for 2023. It will be epic.

Lastly because I've probably said more than enough for now 😲 I would like to thank each and every one of the players who came out with us this year. It is great to see the society grow year on year. It's very nature will see people come and people go, but there are a great bunch of lads who we just can't get rid of. We have grown from a gathering of wierdo strangers who met on the internet to a bunch of great like minded friends who have travelled the world to play golf, drink pints, sing songs and save lives together.

If I have one regret this year, it's not getting out enough with the society and as a result not getting to know a good few of the newer lads so it was nice to at least have a chin wag with a few of them over creamy pints on Saturday night. Manhatton (to be renamed Shatton again as he promised on Saturday night a Boards.ie name change would soon be requested 🤣) thanked me for letting his crew join the society. I was offended, it's just as much your society Manhatton as It is mine. It's everyone's society. It's the Boards Society and it's the best Golf Society.

Roll on the Jug

Amazing posts guys - lovely to see even comments from some of the old crew we would love to come back.

Space - your win was absolutely amazing - off such a low handicap with savage cuts. You kept my head for me this year - and always gave good advice.

Manhatton - and Lino - the two of you were a breath of fresh air - ye seem to get it from day one - and were smiling and laughing and up for the craic. Ye were a fresh set of eyes - often reminding me, how good the society was conceptually - fair play the two of ye. You always need new eyes and fresh faces.

Break 80 - I said it already , but thanks for somehow getting me to do it - the craic we had Friday and Saturday will not be forgotten

Boccy - that is a lovely post and your another who just got it from day 1 - hopefully you can take part more next year

Slave - thanks for the dig out over the year with the threads - and small things like getting me the cards for Tullamore - can be a big thing for me. Your posting after rounds have been outstanding. As for you getting to the top again - no doubt , you've as serious all round game. Your a big loss to the jug team - but thanks so much for the early info on that.

Charlie - sorry didn't know anything and had you running around for me - catch you off line. You know , I probably wouldn't be around the society and forum at all if it wasn't for you - Then forcing you into a Fix monologue interview "live from the range".

Seve - another epic post - was delighted to be in a group where both you and Dan could take it all day. Your start was the golfer I know you are. I was perplexed by your dip after about the 7th. Laughed at saving lives line 😂 - a story for next years social , whatever RR gets up to - or maybe he doesn't want a social aspect - just bombs.

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

• Registered Users Posts: 29 scotty_golf9

What a summer ive had for golf!! It was my first year in the society and all i can is wow. After getting hounded around by @benny79 to join the society, i gave it a shot and what a shot it was (Probably my best shot this year regarding my golf😂). I got to meet and play with so many different golfers over the last few months, around so many different golf courses. Mount Julient was the icing on the cake as it was such an experience to play a top course with 3 top lads. @ciano15 @Snackbox20 and @bakerbhoy. I didnt play my best golf on saturday but there were a few prizes won which you can never give out about, besides @pakman taking the glory on the longest drive, even though i was out of breath from walking from his drive to mine😉. All in all, i had such a wonderful time meeting with so many sound golfers, hopefully i can do it all again next year. Thanks again to @FixdePitchmark for being a class act to my first year on boards and all the best to @RoadRunner as next years captain👍🏼 Hope to see everyone again soon

Class post Scotty - I was afraid you were going to walk away with every prize going. We would love to have the two of ye back - and be a team of the future on the Jug team. You were probably just one event short of making it.

@scotty_golf9 - what a strike on the old club. What did you think of it and the feel of the strike ?

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭a post punk

Only getting time to post now and what a great read the above posts are.Some detailed,some brief!!

Firstly well done to The big Easy on the big win and big scoring on a big course,couldn't have happened to a sounder lad.Well done to Space on GOTY solid shooting all year.Well done to all who made the jug,very solid team this year of consistent golfers."Bring it home".

Now for the weekend,we started in Castlecomer on the Friday .....a small but dedicated bunch of golfers eager for practice for the big day ,but really an extension to the weekends social side of the event.Played with Kieran and Tiger and we had a great round with plenty of chat and equal amounts of good and bad shots for all of us.Tigers driver was on fire and he was even using it on par 3's when he couldn't be arsed walking back to his bag with the rain!hits a driver for a 150 yard shot onto the green and nearly made the birdie putt afterwards😁

Now we wont go into the night activities afterwards but lets just say the captains organising skills were as good for the nights entertainment as the golf,the bad eggs know how great and random it was😁😁

Anyway Saturday at mount Juliet was glorious weatherwise and the 4ball was super company in Bluenote,linorichie and manhatton.We had our own sidebet going along with the comp which Bluenote and I took with a few holes to go I think.Bluenote has an exceptional game with massive driving power and very steady golf elsewhere.Linorichie the same and manhatton but just didnt convert on the day.

I started really well and was leading the live scoring at 1 stage with 21 points on the front 9,I hit the worst drive in the group on the first but recovered well with a 7 iron over the green and took a 5 to start.I think that gave me a boost as i was just trying to keep the head all day and play safe.I played Athlone GC recently and had been adding an extra club to hit into greens there which I did Saturday so really helped my scoring for errant shots.

Once we hit hole 10 ,i couldnt wait to play this hole all year from watching it at the Irish open its just a class approach!!first topped drive of the day and had to hit a recovery just up past the fairway bunker but left me an awful shot in,bad shot again and was under the trees.Anyway finished with an 8 I think and was disappointed after how I started.

Played the next few holes reasonably well but when we got to the Index 1 we all had similar drives into the righthand rough,I had a 5 iron in my hand but put it away when linorichie flew his shot over the green(I should have stuck with it ,I hit a 6 iron into the water just before the wall)Alan M was marshalling the next green due to a forced injury pullout ( pity on such a nice course fairplay for sticking with it) and he saw my great tee shot that went 80 yards id say😀 hit a nice 2nd but it bounced left into the sand! i parred 15 and knew then my score was going good,hit an okay drive on 16 but hit a few silly daisy cutters after that.

Walking onto 17 i had 33 and knowing the scores from the live updates,i said id be more than happy to clinch the past Captains trophy.I hit 2 great shots on 17 to about 45 yards off the green but proceeded to duff a chip shot and blade the next through the green ended up only getting 1 point there.Onto 18 hit a good drive again (best my driver has behaved all year through the whole round),got to the ball and i pulled out my 2 wood thinking ill go for it.....Linorichie just stopped me and said nicely would you not just hit 2 irons and guarantee 2 points!!Anyway great advice but i ony got 1 point out of it from a nervy finish i think but a very respectable score of 35 points on the day.

The Craic was mighty at the presentation afterwards and the whole night.Fix has done a super job all year and the Captains prize weekend was up there with the best of them.

Best of luck to Roadrunner for the year ahead ,you wont regret taking the post.

Talk soon

PP

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Only getting to write this up, after a mad few days in work.

Another weekend, another great day out with the boards crowd. Was lokoing forward to this one, as i'd heard its a fantastic course, and was proven true. Some really interesting holes, that make you think quite a bit (too much at times, in my case). Greens were fantastic, with dips that you can barely see unless you look around it from every angle.

As always, had a great time with my playing partners. Was out with @r1986, @eireyiddo and @pakman.

@r1986 definitely one of the best players i've had the pleasure of watching in person. Very solid off the tee, but his approach play is a thing of beauty. Only real blip was that 3 putt on the index 1 10th. Comfortably the best gross score as well, and well deserved.

@pakman i've played with a few times before, and he's only gotten better from a few years back. Driving was great, and while he started off slowly enough, it really came together. Few amazing shots, but the drive and then 3 wood on the last hole to about 10 feet was exceptional.

@eireyiddo i've not played with before, but was a gent to play with. Didn't realise he was a Spurs fan till after the round (not sure how i missed it with that name). but still had plenty to talk about. He had a tough enough day, with some issues with the driving and finding tough positions. The below image just about sums up his day 😂

My game was actually quite good until towards the end. As i'm still really struggling with my driving, i decided to stop fighting against the bit push and just aim down the left of most fairways (or even further left). It worked, to some success, but i still ended up in some rotten positions and had to play out. Got some really bad luck as well, with me finding some bunkers i should have avoided, and a few putts that just would not sink. Was my own worst enemy at 15 though, where i took too long thinking about what to do, then picked the absolute worst choice, putting it into the trees on the right and scratching the hole. Followed that up with a single pointer, and just limped over the line with 35 points.

The live scoring is great, but not when you are top of the table for around 14/18 holes, based solely on starting position...pressure got to me 😂

Was disappointed to miss out on the jug team, but after my poor showing in Tullamore, a club i was a member of and knew really well, i knew i needed probably a top 3 finish to make it, and i just didn't do enough. Sure there's always next year.

Fair play to Fix and the committee for another fantastic year of golf, and i've no doubt that Roadrunner will step into the Captain role just as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭kev_s88

After a lot of reviewing of my golf from Saturday I've decided I'm not going to talk about it. The golf was poor, and that's enough said.

On the other hand it was a great day all round down in MJ. I was absolutely bricking it stepping up for the long drive from the past. I only really took up golf in the last 6 or 7 years and had never even had one of those old drivers in my hands. I had no idea if I should swing it different, change the weight and the stance. But I said f*ck it and just hit it. Should have taken it with me for the round as I hit it dead straight with around 190 carry 😂

Played with Tiger, Rally and BallyK. None of us were at our best and I know I was certainly happy to walk off the 18th. As always though, there was good conversation and laughs had throughout the round. A real bunch of gents.

It was my first year in the society and to be honest, I wasn't sure I'd make it past the first outing in Portmarnock. I'm a demon for trying something new and then giving up on it straight away. But I'm glad I stuck it out for the full season. Met a lot of great golfers and people, and tied the year off with making the Jug team (a big shout out to my missus for letting me meet her in London on the Sunday morning after the Jug match, instead of flying out with her on the Saturday 😂). Here's hoping we can bring the Jug back and end the season on a high.

Cheers to @FixdePitchmark for all the hard work throughout the year along with the rest of the committee. I think if it hadn't been so well organised with Clubnet etc I probably would have drifted away from some of the events.

Onwards and upwards as they say, looking forward to the Jug and hopefully a lot more years in the society

@kev_s88 your partner is a class act.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 ciano15

What a first year in boards society, starting off in the wrong portmarnock no wins on the board for me this season hopefully can grab a couple next year, all the courses were new to me which was great and got to meet some nice people along the way too which always makes the round that bit more enjoyable even when your playing dirt missed out on greystones due to work and tullamore because i was basking in the portugese sun, short game hasnt been as good since i came back will have to get it right before the jug match

mount Juliet was class way to finish out the year, most things were good from tee to green for me just couldnt get my short game going was sitting 9th in the overall table for goty i knew if i had a steady round my spot in the jug team should be good but that didnt happen ended up being one of the captains picks which i was chuffed about so there definitely will be one more outing for me with the boys from boards this year, there was a good score going in our group from snackbox which was good to see someone playing some nice golf

We finished our round and the skys had cleared up a nice bit and the sun had broke through got a class picture over looking 17 and 18

Into the clubhouse the atmosphere was great coversations flowing only thing i was missing was a creamy pint of the black stuff in my hand, all the outings went smoothly throughout the year, id like to thank pat and the committee for a savage first year in boards and class selection of courses and best of luck to roadrunner as captain next year

Hopefully we get the jug win it will be the cherry on top

@FixdePitchmark What a solid strike it was. No warm up what so ever so when i had the club in my hand i new it would be a sore one, with the chilly morning if i didnt strike it. The first hit was a typical slice to start the day, but when i got that second ball on the tee i said to myself “smash that thing as fast as possible”. This led to one of the best shots all day as it took off straight down the middle of the range. What a feeling it was, especially on the steel shaft and wooden head. I got it right on the screws and the ball pinged off it like a slingshot. To be honest, it felt better than what i thought it was going to be, i thought it would of being a lot harder on the hands. @benny79 your lucky the smash factor wasnt turned on😉

Scotty and Ciano thanks a million for joining us this year and benny for the idea.

Was lovely to get some new members and new great golfers in the society.

Your arrival at Portmarnock was legendary and my first role as captain was to direct a car into a car space of a 4/5 star resort. I was like one of them lads in town in the 80s/90s directing cars into a car space with an Evening Herald...

I don't want to talk about age in this day and age...but I'm delighted what you two have done in your golf life so early on.

Would be fantastic if ye come back , I love how ye are backing yourselves from the off...A sign of the new Ireland we live in.

Fair play Benny, a great coup....

I dont think were going to forget portmarnock anytime soon @ciano15

• Registered Users Posts: 11 ciano15

Not a hope was a distaster of a day ahahaha, will defo be joining again next year enjoyed it too much this year to not do it again

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭eireyiddo

Big cheers @FixdePitchmark and all the committee involved thoughout all d thankless things that was done ontop of all the great venues. I really can't say thanks enough I had only been in MJ for the Irish open. Delighted when it was announced so much that I nearly missed getin out by missing the timesheet. In by the skin of me head

I was never a golfer, and most of u know im still not 😂 only joined golf club since covid and my son's keeness to play it. I was always able to hit a ball but never had gui and about 3 or 4 years ago started giving it a good go. It's been great seeing progress. Mad sometimes with it that I can get worse from playin more. From playin snooker and football all my life competitively this was alien to me. The more practice the better u are in both them sports. Once u put the work in, you get better .Can't think of another sport that's like that. No wonder it intrigues us all 😂

I was delighted to get out on new courses and meeting other keen golfers, enjoyed every event in its own way! We got a great run with the weather this year. Has to be said. Portmarnock was only wet venue I got to. Thanks to the weather god's on that

So the 1st year if the society. What a way to experience it, thanks to everyone who played wit me this year, helped me out no bounds. Everyone willing to help each other out, no slow play, and seeing some great golf skills to try and craft, heading out wit @r1986 your always gonna see class Some of the quality of golf been played by Richie is as good as you will see. Approach play that would only be seen by zalatoris on tv. No exaggeration, anyone thats been out will agree. His bad shots are good. Sign of a master at work. Ridiculous skills he's got wit a golf club in his hand.

I think my favourite round was actually MJ. Bar the 4 scratches. 2 been par3s was very strange. Bunker and water cost me a hole. It was some good golf been played.

Least fav was portmarnock. Think I'd 7 scratches there. I'd love play it again tho. I'd stay away from the rough and maybe just bring 5 and 6 iron. Leave 10 clubs in the van

Greystones was a great track too. Would loved play it again following day as I didn't play me best stuff on the day, overshot alot beautiful compact little course. In great setting too. Loved driving up thru the houses to the clubhouse.

Nenagh strangely my highest scoring week, bar my long drive I taught I played poor at times. Greens were mental too. Just kept the scratches off. Maybe 1

Missed dundrun and carton sadly

My new aims gonna be to tidy up them scratch holes and nick a point or 2. A few sneaky reconnaissance missions down the previous week to a course or 2 might help me out maybe. Or can you not tell people if u do that😂

I'm happy where me game is all considered. Didnt get near me target of 12 handicap by now but my son did laugh at me when I told him so maybe it was a tad unrealistic. He did manage knock 24 shots of his handicap just to rub it in. Wit a bit of luck I'll get him out as visitor next year talking of youth. 9 year old that would teach us all a thing or 2. Looking forward to where his game goes so I'll be in this for the long haul with him showing great signs of progression

So where do I sign up for next year?

Thanks lads and to plenty more

Can't remove this lad. Was @ing fix earlier in the post 😕

@fixd-computer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭benny79

What to say! First off I really hate this time of year! As the Society is over and winter is coming 😥 It flew by though, it feels like only yesterday a few of us trying to persuade @FixdePitchmark to be Captain in a pub down in Sligo after another great Captains weekend in the middle of a pandemic! Some dodgy bets were make that night hey Captain 🤨🙈🤣

My Golf - started off in the states on playing a course that I never taught in a million years I would ever get to play! I'll never forget that feeling driving up to the huge club house I was just in awe.. I actually think I struggled to speak! I will always remember the feeling I had standing on that first TEE at 9.05 drew still in the grass that early morning feeling when playing early but this was different.. @Golfgraffix I can never repay you for making a dream come true but I will forever be in your death. Thank you 🙏 For those that dont know it was TPC Sawgrass - I have so many memories and half the Pro Shop 😂

My golf this year was very disappointing! Although I have gotten to the lowest I ever have been and shooting a PB of 78 gross at the start of Feb I never really kicked on and MJ was my worse scored this year but it was so more disappointing because of the amount of work I put in leading up to the Captains! I really taught I'd play well! I nailed an absolute peach of a 3w into a gale on the Par 3 NP, as we all looked on intensely as it was tracking towards the back pin only for it to bounce of a sprinkler head at the side of the green, up and off sailing into the far bunker! Somes up my year! 🙄 and to Top it off not making the team hurts put the points dont lie! Sometimes in life you have to go backwards to go forwards and I feel next year is going to be a special golfing year for me so watch out!

To @FixdePitchmark who ever taught me dragging you back into the fold in my year would have you Captain a couple of years later! Thanks for the laughs, the memories and an incredible year! This Society is definitely special. Cheers to being the second best Captain of all time 🍻😂😎

To @Break80 & @Tiger20 Thanks for all the Fivers throughout the year even though you's both got the last laugh!

To all the winners through out the year congratulations! winning a boards event is not easy so 🍻 Especially to @The Big Easy great stuff my man and to do it 8 years ago makes it even more special! @spacecoyote what an achievement hats of to you 👏 outstanding year and not just with boards what an investment them new clubs are turning out to be! Super stuff Em.

To incoming Captain @RoadRunner no better man for the job! Looking forward to it already..

To all the new members welcome to the greatest show on Earth! Those's that didnt stay over on Captains day make sure you do next year as the nights out are Epic!

and to are new little babies @ciano15 & @scotty_golf9 your welcome! Oh and Scotty your smash factor was turned on kid 😉 💪

B.

Post edited by benny79 on