Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

That is a very long, but excellent post.

In essence, what you are saying is that in order to get into government, Sinn Fein, to be appealing to the likes of Fianna Fail as a coalition party, or, in the longer term, to command a sufficiently large vote to lead a coalition, will need to ditch the rhetoric of the past, the adoration of the past and actually come up with some workable policies etc.

It is a reasonable point and I think you are correct.

Has anyone yet been able to figure out how Sinn Fein are going to build more houses? At the moment, with Labour promising millions of houses out of thin air, it seems that the opposition parties can't think straight at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,952 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Mark, if McGuinness and the top structures of the IRA were so riddled with informers and agents, how critical are you of the British state for allowing it to continue.

#Deleted cause of mod telling us to move on….

I thought it was clear.

McAuley murdering a serving Garda doing his duty was ok and indeed was somewhat respected and praised for the act in Republican circles.

But beating up his wife was not OK.

Go figure.

This is SF logic we are trying to untangle.

I think FG are playing a bit of a blinder here in retrospect.

It was clear that Leo was bored, and out of energy (cant really blame him) and him moving on gives them a chance to redefine themselves.

And let's be clear, FG shouldn't be and won't be in the next government, but what it does is put Simon Harris with

a) Experience as Taoiseach

b) Main opposition leader, ready to take strips of any would-be SF-led government.

c) At only 37 he will be 42 at the next-next election, where he can lead a revitalised FG into government with bigger numbers

d) IF its SF-FF-others, there will be no alternative but him, and people will see how useless SF really are.

SF will be lucky to get 30% of the vote in the next GE and will be about the mid-high 20's I think, so will need FF and others to go into government.

SF, FF, SD, Labour, Indos?

Hmm, not that stable and FF will extract a very very high price for doing a deal.

And the mere fact that SF numbers are falling so rapidly when they have not had 1 day in office running the ship speaks volumes of them getting found out after years and years of sitting on a ditch and having no opinion or conviction on anything.

It worked for a while, but they started to treat the electorate like fools. They have been given notice and even I noticed a shift on social media over the last year, where SF could do no wrong circa 2020-2023, now the online treatment is very different. They are seen just as establishment as Labour, FF, FG, Greens and so on, and SF has always prided themselves as anti-Establishment.

So what are they really? What is their vision of change for Ireland?

Shouting and roaring on the airwaves and in the Dail? People have gotten very tired of that same ol cheap trick. They want solutions, not the same faces shouting and roaring.

FF are another worry, but oddly Michael Martin is their best asset but he isn't that well-liked by the party of their core vote.

The locals will tell a lot and it could be panic stations.

FG have made their move, what will FF do?

Could SF move MLMD out? She has been off it the past year or so. Peaked too early.

• Registered Users Posts: 66,899 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Another masterclass by a party that is down 10 TD's and counting?
    It's all a cunning plan led by Simon Harris?

Does not compute really.

Sinn Fein's vote could be anything from 15% to 32%, hard to tell this far out. If they get their fairytale promises right, with some credible numbers behind them, then it is possible.

But every month another 1,000 young people buy a house and move away from Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭standardg60

Superb post.

The reality is that SF are two distinct parties North and South, pandering to two distinct electorates and consequently having two distinct policies, Republican in one and socialist in the other.

Absolutely laughable that their supporters would accuse people who are happy with the status quo of the two states of being partitionist, when they are the biggest partitionists going.

There is zero chance that in pursuit of forming a government before or after the next GE that a UI will be front and central in their policies.

Nobody is 'accusing'. If you actively seek to maintain partition, are happy that partition happened then you are a partitionist. Basic English.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭pureza

Or you just don't believe or are disinterested in unity ,low down in priorities etc

I think thats sad but Why must we always label,it's the wrong kind of engagement needed to persuade the disinterested

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭jh79

British SF actively maintain partition on a daily basis as part of a proxy British government, therefore they are partitionist. Basic English.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

no they came out and said it shouldn’t of happened….
    better off leaving the others links with him in the history books

• Registered Users Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

What we see online is just a tired old run book been rehashed for years now, at this stage it’s very easy to spot and it hasn’t changed.
    Calling people “partionist” and “westbrit” etc is just a form of online abuse. We have “boot licker” as well now which the SF supporters have figured out boards will allow so gets used all the time

As I posted already this is used to attack a poster, if the poster reacts they run to mods to get them banned.
    It’s another example of how pathetic the Sinn Fein online supporters group are, ignore them. If they had any cop on they would realise the party they support is the worst at trying to put people into brackets and then making fun of them

then they talk about a United Ireladn? They are the biggest reason Ireland will never be United. Incompetent party from top to bottom.

Or you just don't believe or are disinterested in unity ,low down in priorities etc

I don't describe those people as 'partitionist'. If you care to notice I only describe some people here as partitionist. Those people who are actively looking for ways and reasons to maintain partition and those who express 'happiness' that partition is maintained. Like 'republican' 'nationalist' 'communist' 'unionist' it is a description of a stance.

I think strategy wise SF will seek to take the heat out of the immigration issue and re-focus on the perennial crisis's in housing and health. It's noticeable on SM anyway that immigration is not causing as much a furore now as it was. Maybe only be a temporary respite, remains to be seen.

It's a natural thing. They have been in government for 13 years, going on 14 years.

For them, it will be time to regroup and reorganise.

I think strategy wise SF will seek to take the heat out of the immigration issue and re-focus on the perennial crisis's in housing and health.

By ignoring the issue of immigration? Worked wonders for SF the past year… lol

Health and housing are the tried and trusted issues SF have targetted by this close to an election, people will want to see a) practical solutions b) confidence that they can deliever.

I believe SF has neither of these.

The more people here of O'Broins plans on housing the more they get turned off on it.

On the flip side, the state has built more social and affordable homes than anytime in the last 45 years. Progress is being made, so will people risk it just to change the captain just when it appears the situation is turning?

This is not 2020-2023 anymore.

That all remains to be seen.
    But I still think that is where the re-focus will be.

Stop trying to present a sudden and surprising (to FG members and TD's most of all) resignation is all part of a 'plan'.

They may be reacting with a 'plan' but it was certainly not voluntary.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

They dont focus on anything because they have no policies.

Thats the whole issue with SF. There is no focus on anything outside of populist soundbites.

SF do not have a plan for Immigration, Housing or Health, so what is your point?

Clearly you missed the point. They may not be meeting your requirements but they are currently attracting the most support in polls that any political party is attracting. Read the post again:

I think strategy wise SF will seek to take the heat out of the immigration issue and re-focus on the perennial crisis's in housing and health. It's noticeable on SM anyway that immigration is not causing as much a furore now as it was. Maybe only be a temporary respite, remains to be seen.

1. What evidence of focus on the perennials is there? There is no plan.
    2. Immigration has never caused so much objection in the history of the state! I am not sure what planet you are on if you think its a background issue for the electorate.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭jh79

Jeffrey Donaldson has resigned

Just an opinion based on what they are posting and saying.
    I said I think the 'heat' is coming off the immigration issue. Again that is an observation based on what was happening a month ago to what is happening now.

I wouldnt share that observation.

I'd say the heat is firmly ramping up on immigration, especially since O'Gormans plan ammounted to little more than "as you were" & kicking the can down the road.

A month ago, twitter was awash with it. Not so much now.
    You may be right, I don't know. Just making the observation.

The main poster responsible for this has admitted later in the thread that he only directs it at certain posters. Clearly a planned policy to target others. As you say, best to ignore them.

Even viewed at its most benign, it is another sinister attempt to force a particular identity on others whether they agree or not.

'Admitted'? 😁

I describe a few posters here as partitionists as their entire posting history on the matter is to find ways of blocking a UI and they want to maintain partition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

It doesn’t look likely that any of the psychopaths who took part in the abduction, torture and murder of Paul Quinn have the conscience to speak to the police about it. Hopefully someone within the SF organisation has the moral rectitude to not create more trauma and upset for the family by removing the flags.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,660 ✭✭✭✭maccored

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭beeker1

Populists , trying to see which way the wind is blowing , there's a generation who've grown up thankfully unaware of sectarian violence headlining the news ,My 20 something youngone never heard of Maria Cahill or Paul Quinn ! And since her generation is all "environmental " , Slab Murphy whom Mary lou described as a good republican paid for all those Donegal holiday homes laundering fuel while poisoning the land ! Mac tries to put an acceptable face on by visiting palo alto but it's the shadows in Belfast who ultimately steer the course , by all means vote SF , MI6 have published the name of a TD whose had a hand "allegedly " in over 50 murders ! SF are the rock that this country will perish on ! Don't be deceived !