Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Coverage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

We can blame Tubs, Marty etc ‘bleeding’ RTE dry to line their own pockets leaving the station with no money to invest in latest tech/cameras etc….!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

There is nothing wrong with my eyesight or that of my family and the equipment/tv sets are high end Plasmas and Oleds, which have had the settings tweaked.

I also have a multi position satellite system so I know what a good HD feed should look like and what RTE have been outputting this season falls well short.

I must try that feed on 16E today and see if it is any better.

Watched the game on the bbc iPlayer and the picture was perfect.

How big was the screen you watched it on ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Not a comoige fan, but have to snigger at eh half time chatter with yer wan talking about the teams going 'Man on man' and players getting caught in 'no man's land'!

Fair play to that lady for not ba5tardising the language, cant help think that one of the lads would be jumping through hoops to avoid these terms.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You said in previous posts that it is very difficult for you to see the sliotar. And that the picture quality is "diabolical". It is pointless to discuss what you are seeing, or what other posters are seeing, as I cannot see through your or their eyes. I am looking at a 50 inch LG OLED, and everthing is good to my eyes. The resolution on the satellite picture from BBC is 1920 x 1080, as against 1440 x 1080 on terrestrial from RTE. But switching between them, and without being able to do a side by side comparison, they look the same.

Probably very few people in the country could claim to have eyesight that has nothing wrong. Have you been to an optician for a test to prove that?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,063 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Don’t put all the blame on them….blame the management who let them “bleed RTE dry”.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Only saw this now and it ends tomorrow.

Public consultation on free to air sports on TV

Under consideration are the All Ireland senior football and hurling quarter finals.

Get your spake in.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,014 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I only heard the ad today on Newstalk around midday and that's why I'm here now. The ad ends by saying the public consultation ends 27th February(and having checked the link, it's 5pm today). The ₱®1¢#$ in government trying to pull another fast one, by including 9 sports that the vast majority of the country couldn't care less about.

What the absolute F###!?

I didn't even get to see or answer a single question.

My reading of it is that none of the current designated events are going to be lost. The consulatation is to establish which new events could be added. As regards what some majority wants, the majority are probably out shopping when Mens All Ireland Finals are on.

Current List of Designated Events (year designated)

Live:

• The All-Ireland Senior Ladies’ Football Final (2017)

• The All-Ireland Senior Camogie Final (2017)

• The Summer Olympics (2003)

• The All-Ireland Senior Inter-County Football & Hurling Finals (2003)

• Ireland's home and away qualifying games in the European Football Championship & the FIFA World Cup Tournaments (2003)

• Ireland's games in the European Football Championship Finals Tournament and the FIFA World Cup Finals Tournament (2003)

• The opening games, the semi-finals and final of the European Football Championship Finals and the FIFA World Cup Finals Tournament (2003)

• Ireland's games in the Rugby World Cup Finals Tournament (2003)

• The Irish Grand National and the Irish Derby (2003)

• The Nations Cup at the Dublin Horse Show (2003)

Deferred:

Ireland's games in the Six Nations Rugby Football Championship (2003)

Following consideration of the feedback from the previous public consultation and taking into account Government policy on the promotion of women’s sporting events, the Minister has now decided to progress to the next phase and put the events detailed below for further detailed consideration for a designation.

The events for further consideration are:

• The quarter and semi-finals of the All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship

• The finals of the Provincial Camogie Championship

• The quarter and semi-finals of the All-Ireland Senior Ladies’ Football Championship

• The finals of the Senior Ladies’ Provincial Football Championship

• Ireland’s home and away qualifying games in, the opening games, Ireland’s games, and the semi-finals and final of, the FIFA Women’s World Cup Tournament

• Ireland’s home and away qualifying games in, the opening games, Ireland’s games, the semi-finals and final of the UEFA European Women’s Football Championship

• Ireland’s games in the Women’s Rugby World Cup Finals Tournament

• Ireland's games in the Women’s Six Nations Rugby Football Championship

• Ireland’s games in the UEFA Nations League

• Ireland’s games in the UEFA Women’s Nations League

• The quarter and semi-finals of the All-Ireland Senior Football and Senior Hurling Championships

• The finals of the Senior Football and Hurling Provincial Championship

• The final of the European Rugby Champions Cup should an Irish provincial team be represented (there is no equivalent women’s competition)

• Ireland’s games in the Six Nation’s Rugby Championship to be designated as live from its current deferred status

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Genuine question - what's the problem with including those extra events as having to be free to air? True, they might not currently have massive audiences but unless I'm mistaken, all this does is prevent those events from going behing a paywall,, right?

No, this is more woke BS. Put them behind a paywall? 🤣 And who in their right mind would pay for some of that $h1+€? Yes, some of these events are fine. But it's like the nonsense Lidl women's football ad about smashing inequality. You can't force people to care about something they've no interest in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

You can't force people to have an interest, but interest might increase if they are actually easily viewable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭MacDanger

You can't force people to care about something they've no interest in

3 posts here and a failed submission attempt, they seem to have achieved that very thing with you 🤣

Keep fighting the good fight though 👍️

Funny the timing eh of this released report?

Inclusivity report recommends more women's sport on TV

Just as the public consultation closes on the matter that they(I include government and media) did their best keep from the general public.

2,120 things that they never told you about.

https://www.gov.ie/en/consultations/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Mod hat on.

This is the GAA forum and this thread is going offtopic somewhat as well as having a few reported posts, lets bring the conversation back to GAA related topics only.

Why it how is Cavanagh allowed to display his companies logo and advertise it on national TV? Is he paying for it (I doubt it)?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

https://x.com/ourgamehq/status/1773384430821802271?s=46

TG4 want to show more games

• Registered Users Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Brian017

Hearing Michéal O’Domhnaill speaking as Bearla is discombobulating!

There’s no reason why TG4 couldn’t have the excess MHC and LHC and the excess football championship matches. They obviously think they have the resources, technology and manpower to do so. The GAAs greed going down the subscription route sounds like that is the only thing preventing them

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭C4000

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Are TG4 showing the under age championships? U20 football has started

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭TsuDhoNimh

….

No reason apart from the GAA protecting their product. Don't get me wrong, I love TG4, and they do good coverage certainly, but it's not the GAA's job or role to provide free content, or to give away content to any station for nothing. How would they look to get a better deal from the other TV companies if they give TG4 the excess games?

I don't k ow what the answer is, but I'm not aware of any sport in the world that allows unfettered FTA tv access to its games. The great pity is the 3 broadcasting companies don't work together with the GAA and trash out some collective agreement for the coverage, buy that's not gonna happen, especially with Virgin having zero interest in Irish, and want to continue to relay itv content.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,063 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

GAA would need to be careful as to who does their games for TV especially hurling

I watched a bit of the Tipp- Clare game and you couldn’t see the ball most of the time.

Mostly distance shots ….not a good way to broadcast a game .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

From a football pov it's a downright terrible set of fixtures that RTE have been assigned.

As per last year it includes all 4 provincial finals. These can be great occasions but no longer particularly matter in the structure of the Championship as a whole - both teams qualify for the next stage with no advantage other than the uber-marginal #1/#2 seed thing (plus the caveat that Munster and Leinster finals can be horribly one-sided affairs)

When it comes to the knockout part of the AI Championship the fixtures are bleak. After two games in Round 3 of the groups (16th June) there is nothing televised until the first semi-final on 13th July. So no games in the last 12 - 2nd in group v 3rd in group. And no AI quarter-finals on RTE at all.

From RTE's pov I've suggested before that someone should take the nuclear option and say 'No - we aren't going to sign this contract and won't show anything at all unless the offer is better' (that's obviously complicated by them having a stake in GAA Go). From the GAA's pov it's a terrible bit of marketing for their new championship structure - if this new L12 round followed by 1/4 finals concept is to gain traction it really needs televising on the national stage. The entire package is just bizarrely bad.

Here are the fixtures in written form by the way, perhaps easier to read than the pic above. https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2024/0329/1440759-monaghan-cavan-to-start-rtes-gaa-championship-coverage/

Where are those 2 rounds of knock out games gone then, to the GAAGO?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

And no AI quarter-finals on RTE at all.

That's feckin bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭C4000

That's surely a mistake? There will be some ructions if RTE have no preliminary quarter finals and no quarter finals.....that's two rounds with 8 of the most significant knock out games of the year...