Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Coverage

• Registered Users Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

It’s a huge issue, and hopefully something can be done. It does detract a lot from the experience of watching a game on TV.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Is the minor hurling final not on at all? 😐️

• Registered Users Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

A question for someone with a GAAGO sub.

If there are 2 games on, can you simocast them, like on a split screen or anything? Would be useful for the end of group games that throw in at the same time. Is it that sophisticated?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭zetecescort

• Registered Users Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I think the best you can do is watch one live match on your mobile app and at the same time watch the other live match on another device, e.g., a laptop.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

• Registered Users Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Wouldnt think so, can only use one device at a time

Friday 2 June

Munster MFC final

Cork v Kerry, Austin Stack Park, 7.30pm – TG4

Saturday 3 June

All-Ireland SFC round 2

Cork v Kerry, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, 3pm – GAAGO

Kildare v Dublin, UPMC Nowlan Park, 5pm – GAAGO

Tyrone v Armagh, O’Neills Healy Park, 7pm – RTÉ2

Tailteann Cup round 3

Meath v Down, Parnell Park, 1pm – GAAGO

Christy Ring Cup final

Derry v Meath, Croke Park, 5pm – Sport TG4

Nickey Rackard Cup final

Donegal v Wicklow, Croke Park, 3pm – Sport TG4

Lory Meagher Cup final

Monaghan v Lancashire, Croke Park, 1pm – Sport TG4

Sunday 4 June

All-Ireland SFC round 2

Mayo v Louth, Hastings MacHale Park, 2pm – RTÉ2

Roscommon v Sligo, Dr Hyde Park, 3pm – GAAGO

Donegal v Derry, Ballybofey, 4pm – RTÉ2

• Registered Users Posts: 19,113 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Anyone know what games Fitzmaurice is covering this weekend………so I can avoid?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

The three Saturday games look very tasty. The radio will suffice for the first two. Will watch Tyrone v Armagh live and catch up with the Saturday Game tomorrow night.

Sunday doesn't look as good. Mayo will be far too strong at home to Louth i'll give that a swerve but Donegal v Derry should be interesting.

With all the football action i think the biggest crowd this weekend will be at Thurles on Sunday for the underage hurling double and i'll be tuned into both games live on TG4.

€25 is a bit steep for the football games, mad pricing imo. A sunny bank holiday Sunday with the game live on TV, could see Mayo's first sub 10k attendance for some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Yeah, I'm humming and hawing over it tbh. Will probably still go but the cost of it is definitely making me think about it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭roadmaster

By the look of the size of the crowd in parnell park, Meath & Down would of being better of playin in Innskeen

Bad form from Canavan there in the warm up.

Belly aching about Morgan getting the black card and inferring, without having the balls to come out and say it, that the referee didn't card Morgan for abuse and that he changed his story after the event.

Referees get plenty of abuse, deserve some of it, but pundits shouldn't be allowed free reign to call their character into question like that when the refs have no real right to reply at the time.

A debate very poorly chaired by Joanne.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭TinaTiernan

Cantwell: "Derry made a fool of me"

Cavanagh: "That wouldn't be hard Joanne".

Legend! 😃

No live football at all on Terrestrial TV this weekend.

Pretty poor form in the middle of the championship, with knock out games FINALLY appearing, albeit at Tailteann Cup level.

One would imagine there could have been one game on this evening, and build the highlights of the other 3 games into the show as a way to launch the competition properly and maybe engrain it into people's consciousness, maybe engage some casual fans.

Was a good opportunity to promote the competition, it would worry me about both GAA and RTEs interest in the competition in the future.

I agree.

I wonder could tg4 do the Tailteann cup?

I know they've got all the minor 1/4 finalz on the app, fair play to them for that.

Coverage at Dr Cullen Pk is real amateur stuff.

Apart from having to listen to fvckkn Eamonn O'Hara sh1tein on, there is only 1 camera, and zero efforts at replays.

Not good enough frankly.... During the lock down we saw lots of clubs and Co boards free streaming games and many had decent setups, including a simple replay function of scores and major incidents. We even had the camera man with the rag out wiping the rain off the camera...

We don't need super d dooper production values like the NFL or anything, but for it should be better than this, especially when there is a decent cost to accessing it.

T

Why does Ger Canning insist on using the word 'ever ' when describing how many times a player has played or scored. For instance, 'he's scored his 21st ever championship', or "he's making his 77th ever championship appearance.". It's most odd, I've never heard anyone else use that term as often -maybe of something has happened for the first time ever then you'd use the term, but it's completely superfluous once it's past the first or second 'ever'.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,113 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Made a lot of errors in the Leinster Final game.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Mistakes are fine but doesn't correct himself when it's obvious he called the wrong player. Don't get me started on Marty Morrissey and his "DNA"...🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I taught Shane Dowling made an ass of himself today ,he was fidgiting all trough the analysis and starting blowing trough his hole at the end about Limerick being mighty team for winning the last couple of games by a point .IF right was right Clare should have had that free at the death of the match and Limerick also had the rub of the green against Cork!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭MattressRick

He's terrible. He's not able to analyse. And a headwrecker. Jesus that dance after the match, playing to the Limerick gallery just shows he's as blatantly biased as people have said. He's afraid of walking down the street in Limerick and getting criticised for being critical of Limerick.

Did he say something too before the match about Limerick needing to nail Tony Kelly. Idiotic thing for a so called pundit to say, but Dowling imagines he's holding court in a beer garden down the Ennis road and needs to keep his people happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,551 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The picture quality on RTE was very poor again today for both matches.

It seems to be getting worse.

I thought the analysis of the Munster final last night was very poor. Limerick won by a point 1-23 to 1-22 but to see the focus from the analysts you'd think it was a far more convincing victory. As in all games that tight it came down to luck, it would have gone to extra time but for a very poor mistake by the referee in the last seconds. Really poor insight into the game from the analysts, they were trying to explain the result by pointing to superiority of Limerick, even though they weren't superior. A strong bias based on the result was evident.

Then Marty was on with a load of soft talk with supporters and an utterly useless tribute/interview with Kiely. When other less fawning journalists interviewed Kiely he made interesting comments, for example he said Clare weren't due a free at the end. But no fear were RTE going to ask him serious questions that might shed some more light on the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭spakman

The Sunday Game is terrible for that - whoever wins a 1 point game is lauded and the flaws of the loser are highlighted, but never a balanced analysis. It's lazy really.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,551 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The show is very poor now, poor pundits, bland format.

There seems to be a serious love in for Limerick too, they can do no wrong it seems.

The format of the Sunday game is all wrong IMHO.

It pines back to the days when there was only 1 game to cover, Michael Lyster talking for ages to Enda Colleran about the game. Now we have live coverage plus so called analysis in the afternoon, followed by highlights and more bland analysis of the same games in the evening.

Un many cases, there is more talk than action shown in the evening, especially when there are a lot of games. The audience doesn't want detailed analysis on the Sunday evening show, in many cases the viewer is a casual observer who isn't interested in the nuances,juat the bit of craoc and who won "man o the match (I know, player of the match)

More action less chatter I'd say. Get a few lads or lassies to just comment quickly, maybe with a bit of humor, and move on quickly with the next game. Detailed over analysis is available on many many pods and radio shows. The SG is not the place for it.

I thought it was pretty poor last night. One team was not significantly better than the other. The defining moment of the match was when no free was awarded in the last five seconds. It would have been a draw only for that blunder. If they were honest about it they'd have said it was a very even game and Limerick got the breaks. It is true about the Sunday Game in general. They were explaining why Derry were better than Armagh a few weeks ago. Even though the match had gone to penalties!

It's a bit unnecessary to spend a few minutes lauding Limerick every time. Like the praise for Kiely last night, the exact same thing was said after the All Ireland last year, no need to rehash it. Of course Limerick are a great team with a great manager, but we knew that two years ago.

They also seem to want to make everything about tactics rather than individuals. Talking about Conlan playing further out and that putting pressure on Nolan. Not exactly untrue, but somewhat offset by the work Cathal Malone was doing. Also Conlan didn't play deeper when Adam Nolan went off, Morey (the sub) steadied matters. It's the kind of analysis that sounds clever and detailed, but is actually hugely flawed.