Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

F1 2022 thread - see post 1 for rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,153 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I think you're exaggerating Vettel's return to form. He's been better than last year but last year he barely distinguished himself from Stroll. This year is nothing special. Beating Stroll is nothing to be particularly proud of.

The comparison between Ric and Vettel is with vettel at Ferrari. He was being trounced by his relatively inexperienced teammate. Funny enough, AM is probably Ric's beat chance of a way out of his problems like it was for Vettel. Beating stroll is a nice palate cleanser for struggling drivers, it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,007 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Let them do a swap then. Vettel to Mclaren and Ricciardo to Aston Martin. It probably will never happen but would be interesting to see.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

You seem to have an interesting definition of "destroying".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Mark Hughes from The Race and Motorsport Magazine thinks Ricciardo is going to leave F1 at end of the year:

He also said it in The Race's podcast review of the Monaco GP that he thinks he'll retire. They mentioned in the podcast that their understanding is that the ball is in Ricciardo's court as to whether he comes back next year or not, but their view is that if he's still performing this way later in the year, he'll definitely want to leave...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭quokula

You seem to forget that Stroll was regularly competitive with the guy who just won the Monaco GP, while he's been nowhere near as close to Vettel as he was to him.

Also to say Vettel was trounced at Ferrari is an utter joke. When he joined them he helped turn around the team and put on a competitive title challenge in a car that was much slower than the Mercedes he was fighting. There was only one real season with Leclerc as teammates which was 2019 where he beat Charles 9-7 in races where both cars finished, that's pretty far from being "trounced". In 2020 he already had both feet out the door before the season started after the disgraceful behaviour of Binotto during contract negotiations and obviously he wasn't able to produce his best that year after being mistreated, given a dog of a car, and often left to figure out his own strategy as the team gave zero support. After that he then moved on to Aston Martin where he's scored a couple of podiums in a car no other driver would have put up there and comfortably got the absolute maximum out of a poor car.

If he was in the Ferrari this year instead of Sainz it'd be nip and tuck between him and Leclerc just like it was last time, and he could easily be winning the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭McFly85

I could 100% see Ricciardo having a crack at IndyCar if he’s not on the grid next season. He seems a very popular figure in the states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

The guy who just won the Monaco Grand prix... oh you mean the guy who was out-qualified by his team mate last year 20 - 2, and out-raced 19 - 3?

Let's take a look at Perez - Stroll stats vs Vettel - Stroll.

2019 Quali: 18 - 3 to Perez. 2019 Races: 16 - 5 to Perez.

2020 Quali: 10 - 4 to Perez. 2020 Races: 8 - 5 to Perez.

2021 Quali: 14 - 8 to Vettel. 2020 Races: 10 - 12 to Stroll.

To say that Stroll is nowhere near as close to Vettel as he was to Perez is objectively a load of crap. And even if it were true, it still doesn't mean Vettel's performance is anything special considering Stroll is consistently one of the poorest drivers on the grid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Joeface

All the below is just thinking out loud ........No one near me follows F1 so ...yeah ye can suffer this or ignore it :D

There will or should be a few seats available next year or at least up for discussion , we are only 7 races in so there is time for people to turn it around ,

Ricciardo is one seat that is up for grabs,Just never got to terms with the car and Norris has gone from strength to strenght. There is not much else to say really

Latifif is another , the money he brings may not be enough anymore ,he has been better than Albon the last 2 weekends but better with out points doesnt mean anything really

Mick Schumacher , For me he is kinda a pay driver . I believe he is part of the HAAS deal for engines , but he should have been in the points at this stage , the car is good enough to be there this season,And he has even Qualified in the top ten . It is disappointing but for me he has become a little expensive. Two big write offs to a budget tight team. That has to hurt . Everyone would have him above Stroll , but even Stroll has put the tractor of an Aston in the points twice . Mick Needs a couple of points finishes in a row

Vettel if he chooses to go Opens up one Aston seat which would arguably be a decent seat to get given where aston want to go as team and the money is been put in to try make it a contender ...but do you want to deal with Stroll Sr .

This is a bit of a reach by me , I admit. Alonso well below par this season compared to Ocon even with qualifing better than him the results havent come. also Renualt /Apline haven't really provided him with the car to challange like he wanted so does he want to risk this again next year . Would Gasly go for this seat ...French team , 2 French Drivers ??

and on Gasly , he won't be going up to Redbull again ..well I cannot it see it . Whats he going to do stay at the B team again .

It is very early 1/3 of the season done , in 4 races time we will be 1/2way so thats when internal decisions will start to be made.

It would be nice if Team number 11 were to Join , thats even more seats

Post edited by Joeface on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Yeah I was referring to post mid-2018 vettel at Ferrari. He was trounced by Leclerc (leclerc in his second and third seasons in F1. Even beaten overall be Leclerc in Leclerc first season at Ferrari.

We've seen so many people make excuses for Vettel’s performance at Ferrari vs leclerc and the contract negotiations were not complicated. Ferrari said he'd need to take a big pay cut. Vettel said he wasn't interested in that and Ferrari said "ok", negotiating over. You call it being treated "disgracefully" but i think it was a very quick negotiation. The fact that vettel threw his toys out of the pram and couldn't perform is an indictment of his temperament. It's not an excuse for anything.

Perez was booted out of the team to make way for vettel and was arguably treated very poorly. He still performed well. That's a testament to his temperament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,781 ✭✭✭weisses

I think this car suits Checo better than last years... He is much closer to Verstappen in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I could actually see Vettel drive for McLaren next year.

The Formula E team.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Retire? From motorsport?

You could scarcely have predicted Ricciardo’s struggles after his 2018 win in Monaco, when he out-qualified Verstappen and held him off despite car troubles (albeit that passing at Monaco is near-impossible). Even at Renault he was comfortably beating his teammates.

He was/is widely regarded as being among the handful of best drivers not named Hamilton and Verstappen. What a sad way for his career to end if he were to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭McFly85

Right now, there’s no case to say he’s any better than Max, Lewis, Russell, Leclerc, Norris & maybe Sainz.

Since RB he’s been chasing a car that he’d be competitive in while being considered the number 1 driver, but all other competitive teams(even the one he’s in) has a better driver.

Hes a good driver but he’s not a great one, and he’s expensive too. Could easily see him not having any seat next year.

Ms

After that he then moved on to Aston Martin where he's scored a couple of podiums in a car no other driver would have put up there and comfortably got the absolute maximum out of a poor car.

I disagree with that. There is at least one other driver that would have managed it. I would say Alonso would have managed to put it into the points.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

No other driver would ahead got up there? We're gone past speculation into expressing wishes here.

His podium in Baku last year relied on a number of drivers in front of him retiring and some good luck with an opportune red flag and fresher tyres than the cars ahead. And that's fine. Most of the unusual wins and podiums rely on a lot of luck. The last 2 winners in Monza relied on a lot of luck for their wins too. And fair play to them, but they weren't the fastest cars on the day and they weren't the only drivers who could have won the races. Same with Vettel's podiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Checo signed extension at Red Bull until end of 2024 season. What now for Gasly? I'd say replace Vettel at Aston Martin. That team will come good in a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I'd say replace Ricciardo at McLaren, or dare I say it, Mick Schumacher at Haas.

This too shall pass.

Yeah they're the best options. Small chance of replacing alonso after next season. Mclaren is the pick of that bunch. Haas is a client not Ferrari and that's OK now even Ferrari is flying high. But Ferrairnis the worst value for money team on the grid so chances are their fortunes will change again.

Mclaren is a solid team. Engine troubles aside, they've been pretty solid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

From having one foot out of the sport at the end of 2020, fair play to Checo.

Echoing above, the obvious destination for Gasly is McLaren, either at the end of this year or next year (you could see a scenario where Ricciardo hangs on for one more year, but definitely not two).

Ms

Delighted for Sergio.

As for Gasly I woukd like to see him at Alpine but if not then Mclaren or Haas.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Gasly had to be on the move now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Didnt realise Monaco's contract with F1 hasnt been renewed. Would be a shame to see it replaced with something like Miami

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Hijpo

I guess it's up to Monaco and how much they want to retain the race.

It's a difficult negotiation because Bernoe gave Monaco the race almost for free. Last signed 10 years ago. But now tracks pay $30m to host a race. So they'll want Monaco to pay up.

It would be great for the sport have have a new, modern flagship race. Much better than the outdated Monaco race. Then Monaco could go down in folklore as a brilliant race from the past and we'd forget what it was actually like to sit through the procession (occasional wet race excluded) and it could go down in history as a good event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭This is it

Is there no chance to update Monaco? I know it's a street circuit but if they could widen some parts to allow more passing possibilities it could do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

Gasly to McLaren is a good shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,690 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

No brainer for RedBull to keep Checo, RedBull want the constructors and Checo is probably their best chance of getting that if he can consistently pick up podiums. I don't think Gasly was ever going to get a chance at RB again. Wouldn't be surprised to see Tsunoda in the RedBull eventually, he has a lot of talent but a bit reckless. Reminds me of Verstappen the first few years at RB

Ah, they've always talked about doing something with the track. Widening this corner and even extending the harbour. But it's an idle threat from what i can see. I'd saynif they went about getting permission to alter it, it would open a can of worms regarding safety and so on. Its a totally unsuitable track.

I'd say the traditionalist would complain about it if they altered it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭guyfo

It's been altered numerous times so I don't see why it can't be done again.

To me it seems simple to cut out Anthony Nodes (why the hell did they put it in in the first place???) and tighten up t1 for a start. There are a lot of roads that could be tried out around Portier, why the hell they decided to build a massive development right beside that corner and not think "you know what we could improve the GP circuit while we are at it" is beyond me.

mareterra-monaco.jpeg

A minimum of 2 pit stops could be brought in for the race too, we all know its a 1 stop in the dry, at least with 2 it could leady to some different strategies.