If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Pennywise345

As like a few posters above I think these were the best of what I saw. They are fast and have good hurling and have stood out some outshone county players and teammates. Now granted I missed plenty of games.

Billy O'Neill

Brian Coady

Paul Cody

Brian Kavanagh

Rory Garrett

Rory Glynn

Ireland Wall

Kevin Sweeney

Adam Croke

On senior final I think OLG might do a job on Ballyhale if they get their match ups spot on. They are faster and slicker but Ballyhale are still Ballyhale. I feel OLG are primed to explode and rack up big scores.

Hard to look past Village this weekend but it will be tight.

Andys comments regards Kilkenny are way off but god we have bad refs in Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I don't disagree with anything you've said there, but it's totally unrelated to my point that Andy comerford gets an easy ride where he goes unchallenged.

Nicky brennan would be far better to grill him because he wouldn't be intimidated by andys abrasive style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Dunnadude

In all honesty it doesnt really matter what you or I think because I didnt see any senior county management or selectors at any of our games until we got to Nowlan Park. So it would be very hard for them to know how any of our players played since they werent at games. I only mention that because a few of our players have been mentioned on lists posted above. Last year as far as I know there was no club players brought in from Intermediate or Junior teams (when I say club players I am not including lads that were on under age county teams). I find it hard to understand how there is no club player from across the intermediate or junior grade that doesnt deserve a chance. I find it amusing aswell that alot of players mentioned in lists above have been dropped by Senior Management since they took over or given very little chance to prove themselves.

I think if our senior management team is serious about developing Kilkenny senior team long term they should be out looking at all grades since August the same should be said for Minor and U20 managment. I go to as much of my clubs matches and underage grades as I can and I havent seen any county management at any games I was at. It not good enough to just sit in Nowlan Park watching games because you are only getting to see a very low percentage of club players. When Brian Cody was in charge you could see Brian Cody at any club game or if not him someone from his management or backroom team. I understand it is a time commitment to go to games but if you sign up for the job surely that is part of the job description.

I rarely post on this forum but enjoy reading posts. I am sure I will get plenty of backlash from the people who seem to have our county boards backs. I will admit I am not a fan of Derek Lyng and I gave him the benefit of the doubt for his first and even second year but after last year I really thought the county board would bring in someone elso someone who was prepared to go back to the grass roots and see if there was any club players out there deserving of a chance. Lots of people on this forum seems to think there is. Maybe I am wrong and he will bring in players from across all grades for a chance but I am highly doubtful but hopefully I am wrong.

I completely agree with you. There is good hurlers in all grades and having seen junior games there is definitely some gems there. There is lads hurling junior and intermediate who are flying and last year I saw some stand outs playing intermediate and junior.

Also there is a big number on the coaching ticket who I welcome but is there too many egos now? Eddie sees himself as a manager definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Village87

Eddie would want to do better than his last stint with Kilkenny losing against Westmeath under 21 with a good team. Still unforgivable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,460 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Senior camogie final on clubber and kclr on saturday.

Inter final on clubber.

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Good idea to have a match on in the park before the Intermediate final. An Under 21 Roinn A Quarter Final should be competitive game to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Ian OB

If I'm not mistaken, when those teams met at minor a couple of years earlier KK won by a point. Why not just give credit to Westmeath for having a good bunch of players at that time?

You are 100% correct. Am I right that Derek Lyng himself was from either an intermediate or Junior club (can’t remember what grade Emeralds were at that time) during his senior hurling career. He wouldn’t have had much of a career if things were then as they seem to be now

Great win for Westmeath. Love to see the weaker counties to do well. I remember at the time some of the decisions in the build up and on the day left a bit to be desired. Then going on social media and bashing his own team was a bit over the top.

Personally would have preferred to watch the senior camoige final before the intermediate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭KK36

Some of those are very young and weak and in reality are only middling hurlers with their own club. Adam Franks couldn't make the minor panel last year so his first job is to make the u20 in the next two years. He's miles off the senior panel at the moment.

Brian Cody, Paddy Langton and Denis Walsh are the most realistic from that list in truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I was disappointed with the team of the week, no Boro man were we that far behind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Town legend

Type

Agree with you marooned. Hard to see how one team could have 5 or 6 and the team they narrowly beat had none. Cillian Hackett for one should have been on it

Beggars belief Franks couldn't make the squad at the very least, considering his form this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 NJoyKkGAA

I would disagree with a lot of this post. From what I have seen and heard the management team have been at plenty games at club level, at all grades. With at least 18 matches played every weekend over the course of the league championship, I doubt it is possible and unrealistic to attend every single match. I’m sure even the great Brian Cody could only be in one place at any one time. Just because you don’t see them at matches you attend, doesn’t mean to say that players performances are not being watched and noted. Considering the senior management have brought the team to the business end of the AI series for two years in a row, indicates they are doing a lot right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 NJoyKkGAA

I disagree. People are too quick to write off the current setup, that there are hidden gems all over junior and intermediate. The truth is the step up to county is massive, it’s not just hurling well for your club. County level is different in terms of fitness, speed and consistency. There’s a reason most of the lads who make it have been in development squads for years and are conditioned for it. On the coaching and management front, the whole “too many egos” thing is a lazy argument. These lads have achieved a lot and that’s exactly the experience wanted around a team. Eddie Brennan clearly wants to add value to the set up, as I’m sure all of them do. It is not great to have to listen to negativity before the first sliotar of the season has even been thrown in! At least wait till then to judge!

Of course we are at the business end. Our first real match last 3/4 years is the All Ireland semi final where we meet the Munster boys. Leinster is very poor at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Agree with this. The idea that there are a large number of fellas not getting a run with the Kilkenny senior team, that should be, is fanciful stuff. Outside of lads already in there, or that have already been tried, there is probably a very small number of players maybe, that with the right development MIGHT make a senior inter county panel at the very top level. Some of the lads named here though are completely off the wall altogether, particularly the younger lads mentioned. And some of the older lads have had chances but for one reason or another it hasn't worked out.

From what I know, the senior management have people at the majority of club games over any given weekend. Obviously they can't attend all games themselves. The step up from being a decent senior club player to being effective at inter county top level, is huge. For intermediate and junior players it's colossal. Derek Lyng more than anyone wants to have the best possible players in with the senior panel and I've no doubt that any lad in the county that is actually good enough and has the right attributes to benefit the panel, won't be overlooked. It's in the managements interests more than anybody, to have the best players in there.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Formosa

Ah that's grand then, we'll stick with the Deegans, Richies Reids and the likes and not give anyone new a chance. It's served us so well after all…

Has John Walsh been asked in by the current management? I know he's 28/29 but he's consistently one of the best forwards in the senior championship over the last 4 or 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Actual team selection is a completely different argument of course, which I presume you're aware of. We're talking hurlers good enough to cut it at top level inter county.

Both of those players were still in the top 35 players in Kilkenny this year, in terms of being equipped for senior inter county hurling. Anybody attending club games could not objectively deny that fact.
    Whether they should still have been starting for Kilkenny this year, or next, is a completely separate matter obviously.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Surely Darragh Corcoran is streets ahead of Paddy Deegan, much more hurling, a lot more mobile, great at carrying the ball out of the backs, he is the best centre back in Kilkenny club hurling imo at the moment and he was dropped off the panel. We cant go back to another year of Deegan in the backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I think you need to let the whole paddy deegan thing go everyone knows your not a fan of him on here

That is votes is it not? Probably friends family voting so wouldn't read into it. Crazy all the same no Hackett etc

I wouldn't say I am judging, I am merely pointing out it is like having 2 managers now and a head coach in Corcoran whilst Donovan is there and Rice. But look it could all gel seamlessly and here is hoping.

We are talking about this that and the other, county board, players, managers, facilities, but we are not going to win big matches until we can replace some of our older players who have been poor in the knock out stages on a constant basis