If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 nippy corner foward

Gowran as said were game but needed a good start to have any chance and the complete opposite. They might have over thought this but starting mikey full back was as strange as ive seen in a while and it wasn't till they threw off the shackles and even pushed mikey up did they have a real cut off the vilage. Their strongest line all year was their half back line but they changed that around for the biggest match. Young langton and phelan that came on were very good but they lacked a few fowards. Scary the village had lehoff only coming on after disciplinary reasons but no brassil or macdermot. Seamus farrell if that goal had of gone in a few village lads would of being nervous but they never really looked like losing. Danesfort although also missing a few like whitty and paddy hickey will hit them as hard but that is the test the village needed. Danesfort wont change their half back line like gowran did. I was dissapointed with dunnamaggin i know paddy hogan was very good when called on but i expected more. Joe fitz looked dangerous but was starved of possession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Any white smoke from Nowlan park last night as regards the minor management team or the accademy manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Nedflanders02

No county board meeting last night, I'd imagine he'll be ratified next week at the October meeting. If it is Gordan Byrne getting the job best of luck to him, a good coach and an even sounder man! From what I've heard the process of hiring a replacement for Mick Fennelly has began, as this this is hiring of an employee there's more red tape involved than headhunting someone, from what I hear they are awaiting approval from Croke Park to formally advertise the role (I heard this a couple of weeks ago, so it may have happened since), Mick Fennelly is still in the role until the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Mick Fennellys job was definetly advertised on some of the well known job sites up until recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I think I remember seeing that head of development job advertised on KK GAA and on Leinster GAA very shortly after Mick was announced to be leaving? 

On the proposed Minor manager, I don't know the man at all and I'm sure he's a nice fella and fair play for giving his time, but I'm sure I'm not the only person extremely underwhelmed with this appointment by the Co Board? Especially for such a crucially important role and considering where we are at underage at the minute. For example in contrast I see Karl Lacey appointed manger of Donegal minors last night. 

To be fair, I can't say I'm familiar with GB but does anyone know what he has achieved in coaching or playing to merit the position? I understand he's been through the development squads but mostly at B level?

Perhaps he'll have a loaded backroom team with plenty of proven experience and substance at high levels of the game, but if that's not the case, then you have to wonder where we are going, and if the powers that be realise the situation we are in. 

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Dont know anything about gordon but he was involved in the underage set up. I remember him hurling alright. I heard the backroom team. Lacey from ballyragget,jackman from callan. I cant remember the others. No high profile people anyway but i wish them luck. It isnt the strongest group but apparently we had two good minor teams the last 2 years and couldnt win the all ireland. As far as I know lads like tommy walsh declined. Kk seniors desperately need an injection of youth. Could do worse than bring in barcoe from clara or lacey from the boro and have them in around the set up. Lacey is a classy hurler. Really impressed with batemans workrate the other day from the village

It very well could have been, that was just the last update I had, if they've already gone that far that's great and hopefully we'll have someone in place soon.

On the minor management I can understand the sentiment about been underwhelmed when you see the U20 set up and I'll be the first to say I'm probably biased in knowing Gordan fairly well but being high profile doesn't always guarantee success and plenty of high profile managers have come into jobs without having success and had very little substance behind them other than the big profile. Gordan has served his time with the squads over the last number of years and from anything I've heard about him as a manager/coach has been very positive, obviously he'll be judged on results but I'd be encouraged and optimistic that he'll be a success. It'll be interesting to see who is named in his backroom team is.

With a bit of talk here recently I decided to have a look at all the players who have played championship games for Kilkenny since we have last won an All-Ireland. The below are what I have found, just to say the data found on players played have been taken from teamed listed in news reports I could find online. I have just taken players who have started or come on as a sub in these games. The figures are also slightly distorted by the Wexford game this year where most of the panellists were given game time, for example 4 Thomastown players played their only game for Kilkenny in this game. But I do think some of the results are interesting, have a read and see what you think.

A total of 79 Players were selected to represent Kilkenny during the reporting period from 2016 to 2025, drawn from 22 different clubs. This figure of 22 clubs represents 56%  of the total hurling clubs in the county, of the 22 clubs represented 50% have provided 2 players or less during this period.The breakdown of the figures shows the following:

• The average number of players per club was approximately 3.5, but 10 of the clubs who provided players have provided more than the average amount.
    • The largest single contribution came from Shamrocks, who supplied 11 players, reflecting the club’s consistent development of top-tier talent. OLG with 8, Thomastown with 7 and Dicksboro with 6 are the next best in providing the county with players.
    • In contrast, 7 clubs contributed a single player each.
    • 44 players have played in the forwards during time with 20 clubs represented. Unsurprisingly Shamrocks lead the way with 7, with OLG, Thomastown, Tullaroan and James Stephens providing 4 each. But when this is broken down to appearances made, Shamrocks players have played a total of 140 games, with OLG 20, Thomastown 60, Tullaroan 56 and James Stephens 16, when all these are added together it represents almost 57% of total forwards used.
    • When looking at defenders, only 32 have been used with 16 clubs represented. Bennettsbridge, OLG and Shamrocks have provided 4 players each, with Clara and Erins Own providing 3 players each. Of the 32 defenders used, the total appearances for these were 408, with Bennettsbridge 43, OLG 111, Shamrocks 50, Clara 7 and Erins Own 25, these clubs have provided 58% of the defenders used.
    • 24 midfielders have been used in the period with 13 clubs represented. Shamrocks have provided the highest number of players in this position with 7. Conor Fogarty 31, Cian Kenny 22, James Maher 14 and Alan Murphy & Richie Leahy (both 10) have the highest number of appearances in midfield.
    • Only 3 goalkeepers have been used during this period, them being - Eoin Murphy 55, Darren Brennan 4 and Aidan Tallis 2.
    • TJ Reid recorded the highest number of appearances with 57, followed closely by Eoin Murphy (55), John Donnelly (48), Paddy Deegan (47), Billy Ryan (45) and Padraig Walsh (45).
    • The average number of players used per year was 26, with 2025 showing the highest number of players used (33) and 2016 the lowest (21).
    • On average 15 clubs were represented every year with players on the senior county team, this figure was consistent with all of the years under review.

As stated already that only 22 clubs (56%) have had players representing Kilkenny during this period but when looking at the average amounts every year, roughly, only 15 clubs are being represented each year. Of the clubs with no players picked to represent the county they all appear to be clubs on the extremities of the county be it north, south, east or west. Mullinavat are a prime example of this, senior for very year over this period but have not had one player play a championship game for the county. The question which I think needs to be looked at here is, are these clubs to blame for not producing players or are they being let down by the system, I'd imagine that it may be a bit of both but surely the county board need to be doing more to help these clubs produce players capable of playing for Kilkenny. Also, I don't think that it's a coincidence that these clubs all appear to be on the extremities of the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭KK36

I'd say Lacey's first job will be to get on the u20 panel. Remember he was a sub on last year's U17 panel so thinking he might be up to senior standard a little over 12 months later might be stretching it a bit. There's no doubt he's good but at least let the chap take one step at a time. He could be an option in 4/5 years time for the seniors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭WibblyWobblyWonderman

Just on the issue of what clubs these players are being drawn from. My own viewpoint is that there’s definitely some “snobbery” in regards to selecting players from intermediate and junior clubs, even some senior clubs. There are absolutely fantastic hurlers that have never been given a real chance at county level, or a similar chance to what a player in another club has gotten. Sometimes there’s the view that there’s a big difference between senior hurling and the lower grades, which there is, but that doesn’t mean some of these players can’t rise to the occasion with a bit of patience. Other counties seem to do this well, but we don’t. Heneberry from Mooncoin, Denis Walsh from Dunnamaggin or Brian Cody from St. Martins are examples of lads I’ve watched a lot of this year in intermediate who have a lot of ability. Maybe it’s too late for them now, but why don’t we seem to give these lads a real shot. I don’t want to name names of lads giving their all for the county, but there’s several in there on training teams and panels who have been given multiple chances and haven’t seemed to cut it. That’s just my opinion, but not enough is being done to bring lads in and give them a chance

Edit: Sorry, I also just want to point out I know some of the names I mentioned there have been in. But I think throw away challenges or meaningless games at the start of the year isn’t a proper go

He'll be on the 20 panel alright you'd think, and in fairness to him at Minor I think he picked up a bad injury that year, but had been starting before that.

Agree it's very hard to see any U19 in Kilkenny making an impression with Kilkenny seniors, even doing so at U20 at inter county is a stretch these days, apart from one or 2 notable exceptions.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I'm sure Gordon is a grand fella, and a good coach, and I genuinely wish him all the best assuming he gets the job. You're 100% right as well that big names don't guarantee success, we can pick out any amount of examples to prove that point. Just to be clear, this isn't about GB at all, it's about expectation and standards, and how the county board are managing and even funding these appointments.

I suppose what I'm trying to say is the bar for managing one of Kilkennys flagship representative sides, should be far higher than a decent coach who's been in development squads for a few years. There are any amount of those. You'd at the very least be hoping for an accomplished and well known coach that has won something at a reasonably high level in club hurling, like a Noel Doherty. Or a serious retired inter county player of substance, who has experience of seeing first hand how a top quality inter county coach operates. (see James O'Connor with Waterford last year, or James Woodlock, Liam Cahill with Tipp)

Minor inter county hurling at the level we should be playing at, is not a place to cut your teeth as a coach. It's far too important for both the grade and competition itself, but equally as importantly, the development of the players.

As far as I'm aware, neither of the men I saw mentioned above as part of his backroom team, from Ballyragget and Callan, have the required experience either, at any level. I stand to be corrected on that though.

Look hopefully they'll be a huge success, and like all Kilkenny coaches he'll have my support. I'd be very fearful though, that the county board are making a rod for their own backs on this one, yet again. Hopefully I'll be proved wrong.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Jim Conlon of young irelands was talked up on the radio last night by Andy comerford. Is he still u20? Definitely has potential.

Conor drennan is also an excellent hurler and arguably has more of the qualities needed to make it a higher level than his brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Village87

Conor Drennan has been around a while he must be 28

Hardly that old. Thought he played fitzgibbon a couple of years ago. Not sure tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 kilkenny123456

He played for the CBS in 2018 so should be around 25 now

I heard last week that Gordon Byrne, manager, Liam Smith, Liam Lacey, Billy Quinn, Stephen Morgan and probably two more that I can’t think of right now.All of the above were mixed and matched in some way with the underage last year, I know Gordon was manager of the Celtic challenge team who I think were beaten in the semi final against Tipp but Tipp played a lot of their minor squad so it wouldn’t have been a bad result.i had that info last week but because I was banned I couldn’t post it up. I managed to get hold of the Cait og programme that sets out the players and the management teams for the upcoming year. If I can get somebody to download it for me,I will. Personally I think not alone are they forming a panel of hurlers for the future but also management teams which I think could be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Skeheenlad

https://kilkennygaa.ie/na-cait-oga-kilkenny-gaa-academy/na-cait-oga-coaching/

Maroooned I can see the logic of squads being a vehicle for preparing management/coaches as well as players, but I sincerely doubt that's their intention. But even if we agree that it is, and obviously in the absence of prior experience at a high level, there's no way it should be a gateway straight to Kilkenny inter county management.

Marc O Se appointed Kerry minor manager I see.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I see st kieran's were beaten by enniscorthy cbs in junior hurling. I know it's only league and players involved in various club competitions, but that would be a big result for enniscorthy who would be traditionally a b' team.

I presume the bulk of the Kieran's junior team is made up from Boro and Village who contest the 16A final so unlikely any of them featured. Probably not a huge surprise in that context.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Probably a bad sign for Kilkenny minors next year

Very disappointing result for Emeralds the weekend. I was hoping Killian Doyle would dominate for his club in Junior ranks this year, he has plenty of good hurlers around him, but not to make semi final is very disappointing for a Kilkenny point of view. The 3 players i was really hoping would stand up at club level and maybe be senior inter county level next year were, Killian Doyle, Marty Murphy and Ed Lahouf.

Lahouf is a sub on the Village team, Marty Murphy was poor and Kilian Doyle is not performing at club level in junior.

Post edited by Village87 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Let's not talk up young players and then knock them if all doesn't go right for them.

We have a bad habit of over hyping our young players.

Likewise let's not get too bothered about schools hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jamesbond2022

A bad sign for the minors would be a squad dominated by players from Kieran’s again lads shouldn’t be on a minor panel just because of the school they go to and history and tradition it should be based on your ability

Not because someone’s father brother or mother went to a certain school and did the same before them

Part of the reason our underage is how it is the net hasn’t been cast wide enough and there’s way to much bias towards certain clubs and schools

It has improved over the last few years but still could be better

The days of hurling for Kieran’s and automatically playing minor for Kilkenny should be long gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭neverbet

We haven't confirmed our minor backroom team as yet. If it's those mentioned in posts here, delighted. All hugely involved in the game for years. Irrespective of the clubs they are from or school they attend I would trust management to pick the best panel for the County. Unlike the 20s not much excitement about or expectation on next years 17s, so really looking forward to them surprising one or two. The minor finals last Saturday were outstanding , all four teams and it bodes well for the future.

Agreed. 2 Very high quality games. If it's an indication of the strength of underage hurling in the county it bodes well.

Watched the junior matches on clubber. While the camera work isnt exactly box office its hard to knock it because its a great service. Really disappointed with billy drennan and killian doyle. These lads should be standing out head and shoulders but they dont. If you never watched a hurling match before and watched a few matches last weekend you could pick out kevin kelly,james bergin,geoff brennan,paul murphy and cian kenny who absolutely lorded it for the village.For a county panelist 3 years Billy drennans workrate is deplorable. So much potential but looks like he needs to go back to the start again. Conor looked a much better hurler last weekend. Jack kelly looked good for the paulstown men altho heavily strapped. They have a young team and themselves and galmoy will be delighted with fixrure. Emeralds were chasing the game in normal time and extra time and i thought with conor martin back and a senior panelist and queally they would be stronger. Penalties are a lottery but these 3 missed.The other semi final should be a good match. Ballyragget rested alot of important players during the year and look to have timed their run well. Olg play before the senior so wont loose anyone from last weekend and these were the team fancied before a ball was struck.The senior semis sunday could be closer than people think. Vegas were very hurt with last years performance and will be anxious to perform this wknd. Oisin knox is a big loss he was hurling so well up to that injury.butler will probably pick up john walsh. Someone on about not picking enough southern men and its hard to disagree with that. Vegas are senior 10 or 12 years and a very solid senior club surely a few of them are worth a look. One of the dempseys,willie o connor son and oisin knox are definitely worth a look. Mooncoin won the club all ireland a few years ago and couldn't get anyone either. The county panel needs a shake up. The shamrocks will have to get themselves back up for the boro which might not be as straight forward but no better team than the shamrocks. Intrestingly the move of corcoran to 6 and cody to 11has benefitted both players. Cody was too easily bottled up in the corner and kk management were very slow to recognize this. Good test for moylan Clifford and liam moore who have being hurling well. Liam moore has bags of ability but isnt intrested in the county. If the boro can stay in the game they have a couple of young lads who could do harm coming on.

Well Village, these statements keep cropping up as regards Boro players either they are too soft or not interested . First of all nobody could know if the person isn’t interested , they cannot be all not interested and secondly I know all the Boro players and I wouldn’t think any of them were soft maybe they do not retaliate and sometimes this is seen as a sign of weakness,now switch it back to your own side and I could name ten village lads that would be deemed soft for the same reasons I’m not pulling on you Village ,just think about it.

You