Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Munster vs Connacht, Fri 14th May 6pm; Eir Sport

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Akrasia wrote: »
    Wooten was anting the maggot too, he deliberately relayed touching the ball down until the last second

When JOD went for that ball lit was in play

Wooton was perfectly within his rights to delay touching the ball down

leakyboots wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. Dived for the ball.

"Sliding tackle", give over

Dived for the ball knee first you mean

Jesus I think that's harsh. Can't see how it's clear that it was DeAllende that knocked it on and it wasn't kicked by one of the players clearing out.

Beirne knocked it on. He went to pick it up with one hand and dropped it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,601 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Wooton was perfectly within his rights to delay touching the ball down

And JOD was perfectly within his rights to go for that ball until it was touched down.

Never said he wasn't within his rights to go for it. Just the whole Wooton was acting the maggot line is utter BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

But not by sliding in with his knees first. There's no spin that makes that a legal challenge.

Like, he never had any hope of getting to the ball first, but he was so wound up that he went on a 50 metre sprint just to put himself about.

It was dangerous play, he was very lucky not to have been pulled up for it and if Wootton had been more cynical and stayed down, the TMO would have looked at it.

On the 29th minute there should have been a penalty try and a yellow card. Tom Daley tripped Craig Casey while off his feet. That is not a legitimate rugby tackle and Casey was going to score if he wasn’t stopped

Law 14.
    “ Other players must: Not play the ball or attempt to tackle an opponent while on the ground near the tackle.”

Tom Daley had just tackled a Munster player and before getting back to his feet he deliberately moved to get in the way of Craig Casey and ended up tripping him

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Law 14.
    “ Other players must: Not play the ball or attempt to tackle an opponent while on the ground near the tackle.”

Tom Daley had just tackled a Munster player and before getting back to his feet he deliberately moved to get in the way of Craig Casey and ended up tripping him

You are contradicting yourself in your own post. If he was getting back to his feet, then he’s not on the ground.

stephen_n wrote: »
    You are contradicting yourself in your own post. If he was getting back to his feet, then he’s not on the ground.

It was before getting back to his feet, how is that a contradiction?
    In rugby you’re off your feet if any body part other than your feet are on the ground. Daley moved to trip Casey in a deliberate movement while off his feet. If the TMO reviewed that it would have been a YC and a penalty try

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭VayNiice

On the 29th minute there should have been a penalty try and a yellow card. Tom Daley tripped Craig Casey while off his feet. That is not a legitimate rugby tackle and Casey was going to score if he wasn’t stopped

Law 14.

Not a chance. There were two connacht players ahead of Casey even if he had of got through. In no world is that a penalty try. Also Daly didn't go for him at all, he was standing up and Casey ran over him.

Added to that, the offload before went about a metre forward and wasn't called.

You're grasping at straws here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭OldRio

Wooten was anting the maggot too, he deliberately relayed touching the ball down until the last second

Are you being serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Law 14.

I'm not sure he's still "near the tackle" when he follows up on Casey. There's a good two or three metres of a gap from the first tackle area.

If he's moved away from the tackle then it's play on.

553215.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭theVersatile

I'm not sure he's still "near the tackle" when he follows up on Casey. There's a good two or three metres of a gap from the first tackle area.

If he's moved away from the tackle then it's play on.

553215.jpg

That's a very literal interpretation of the laws. It's also interesting now that you point it out considering Law 13.3 provides that

A player on the ground without the ball is out of the game and must:
    a. Allow opponents who are not on the ground to play or gain possession of
    the ball.
    b. Not play the ball.
    c. Not tackle or attempt to tackle an opponent.

No mention of being near the tackle area. Interesting quirk.

That being said, I'm not quite sure Casey didn't just run into Daly and collide with him. If you look at it in real time it'd be very hard to conclude that Daly purposefully went to tackle Casey having just spun out of the previous tackle and been flung backwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Shaka Hislop

There has to be a coming together of clubs and referee's to sit down and watch games together...to have clear and open dialogue between both sides and for input from players taken on-board..and for the reasons behind decisions to be acknowledged by players.
    It'll benefit both sides immensely imo

There has to be a coming together of clubs and referee's to sit down and watch games together...to have clear and open dialogue between both sides and for input from players taken on-board..and for the reasons behind decisions to be acknowledged by players.

I take it Munster lost?

OldRio wrote: »
    I take it Munster lost?

Yes, does that lessen the point in some way?

It makes my point

And what exactly is your point, Mr Cryptic?

It makes my point

You didn't make a point, you just went for a glib shot....no bother about that but ....we have seen an overall deterioration of refereeing standards in the Pro 14...there has to be something done about it.

Yes because the narrative is always to micro analyse ref decisions that didn't go Munster's way.

Even a senior Munster player is now pushing that narrative in the media.

Yes because the narrative is always to micro analyse ref decisions that didn't go Munster's way.

Even a senior Munster player is now pushing that narrative in the media.

It's not about micro analysis...it's about trying to raise standards.....and if an international player is thinking there is an issue, then you should probably listen, for a change :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

The poor standard of refereeing in the Pro14 is well known about and discussed regularly across many threads. Yet when a Munster fan mentions it they're accused of only bringing up to as an excuse for the loss. Pathetic really from the usuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭Shelflife

It's not about micro analysis...it's about trying to raise standards.....and if an international player is thinking there is an issue, then you should probably listen, for a change :D

You're making the very dangerous assumption that the International player knows the laws better than a professional referee.

Just because he doesn't like the decisions doesn't make them wrong !

Casey is being made out to be the new saviour but I felt he was poor at times. Got bounced like a rag doll a couple of times, particularly with his attempted tackle on Arnold who is no man-mountain.

Also seemed slower getting the ball away, similar to Murray.

That's a very literal interpretation of the laws. It's also interesting now that you point it out considering Law 13.3 provides that

A player on the ground without the ball is out of the game and must:
    a. Allow opponents who are not on the ground to play or gain possession of
    the ball.
    b. Not play the ball.
    c. Not tackle or attempt to tackle an opponent.

No mention of being near the tackle area. Interesting quirk.

That being said, I'm not quite sure Casey didn't just run into Daly and collide with him. If you look at it in real time it'd be very hard to conclude that Daly purposefully went to tackle Casey having just spun out of the previous tackle and been flung backwards.
    If you watch it back Daly had his eyes on Casey while making the tackle and moved deliberately towards Casey after the tackle and tripped him while off his feet.

but the narrative from Stander is the ref is biased.

Neither did 23 penalties shared almost evenly but CJ Stander fumed at the performance of the referee Dan Jones afterwards when he told eir Sport that it had felt like “playing against more than 15 men”, adding “I can say it now I’m done but it’s difficult for both sides.”

Plenty of calls went Munsters way too.

If you watch it back Daly had his eyes on Casey while making the tackle and moved deliberately towards Casey after the tackle and tripped him while off his feet.

thats the sort of dark arts we are told POM is great at.

but the narrative from Stander is the ref is biased.

This was the point raised by Shaka Hislop.

Where does "bias against Munster" come into it? All you're doing is trying to drag down the conversation and rope a few lads into an argument. Maybe address the point made instead of peddling nonsense?

Get over it mate, there was a forward pass before that incident anyway and two connacht players ahead of him.

This was the point raised by Shaka Hislop.

Where does "bias against Munster" come into it? All you're doing is trying to drag down the conversation and rope a few lads into an argument. Maybe address the point made instead of peddling nonsense?

the international player in question - his issue is he believes the ref is biased against his team with his "we are playing against more then 15" comment, they arent.

And in what way is that related to Shaka's proposal for an open dialogue between refs and squads for greater understanding of rules? Exactly, none. Stop changing the goalposts. We know you don't like Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Great weather today. Some of ye should go enjoy it.

More great examples in this thread of the fact a Munster player has never, ever committed an act of foul play.

"Acting the maggot" for not touching the ball down, how on earth did you come up with that garbage?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,626 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Ah lads.... Does anyone have that Grandpa Simpson meme handy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,157 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Teams work with refs/ref manager all the time where its explained why certain decisions were made. Been happening for quite some time.
    The poor standard of refereeing in the Pro14 is well known about and discussed regularly across many threads. Yet when a Munster fan mentions it they're accused of only bringing up to as an excuse for the loss. Pathetic really from the usuals.

Yet vritually nobody has ever came up with a proposal of how to improve the ref standards...

Theres nothing to stop any team from asking a referee to meet with them and go through any queries that they have and clarify any issues that they have.

And in what way is that related to Shaka's proposal for an open dialogue between refs and squads for greater understanding of rules? Exactly, none. Stop changing the goalposts. We know you don't like Munster.

That open dialogue goes on all the time.

Stander's comments are accusing the ref on bias. There is none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Jerry Attrick

But that's been the norm ever since Neil Back helped the dawdling Peter Stringer to feed a scrum in the Millennium Stadium way back in 2003!

Yerra, it's a lovely day, I'll sun my broken leg and let the interlopers do their normal whataboutery .. peace :)

That open dialogue goes on all the time.

Assuming you knew this when the conversation started, and aren't just piggybacking off of Lost Ormond's comment - then please just lead with that next time instead of making a false equivalence in order to push the anti-Munster agenda. You'll save us all a lot of bother.
    Yet virtually nobody has ever came up with a proposal of how to improve the ref standards...

What would you propose? There are obviously some form of directives and guidelines in place to ensure that the refereeing of some aspects of the game is relatively consistent (see Head Contact Process, and other World Rugby guidelines viewable here https://www.world.rugby/the-game/laws/guidelines/15) - yet there remains many areas of the game where refereeing can be anywhere from "strict" to "lenient".

You seem fairly well placed to discuss refereeing standards, so would you say there's a lot done to align the thought process of refs with decisions regarding say the breakdown? Or the scrum? It seems like, from an outsider perspective, the only time there's any consistency in this regard is just after new interpretations/laws are introduced (the "pulling action" required for jackalling, for example). There needs to be some form of "one size fits all" approach which will make refereeing certain parts of the game a lot easier (obviously one size fits all isn't applicable everywhere, there is a certain level of subjectivity always).

Take scrummaging for example - it's an area some refs simply do not understand. I saw a comment online about Nick Berry in the SH saying how scrums are basically a free for all when he's refereeing. Surely there can be some video education to show refs what good and bad pictures are? TH boring in, LH swinging out, short binds, etc are all usually straight forward enough to spot and could, IMO anyways, be refereed to near perfect consistency if the education is done.

Same with the breakdown, it should be easy enough to show referees pictures which are good compared to pictures which are bad (hands/elbows beyond ball and onto the grass/shoulders below hips/taking off v landing).

Once this education is conducted, there needs to be accountability as well. Reflection, analysis, external review. I'm sure this does occur on a fairly regular basis, and it should lead to referees learning from their mistakes and becoming more consistent. However, it doesn't seem to happen - to the point where teams can analyse areas where referees are deficient and take more risks in those areas. That shouldn't in a perfect world, be able to happen.

Maybe re-affirmation and re-education on a consistent basis is required - none of this "forgetting to apply new interpretations after four weeks because eh" that tends to happen (crooked feeds a prime example, jackalling slowly returning to old norm of "surviving the clearout"). There needs to be constant communication of "this is a bad picture, penalise it"; ongoing all the time. Obviously, again, this is a perfect world situation, there's always going to be some element of subjectivity - and that's okay; but the inconsistency shouldn't be to the point where in an important 6N game, a referee doesn't know what a knock on is.

I realise that none of this is exactly revolutionary, and is probably already implemented. Which poses the question - why doesn't it work? Maybe it's implemented poorly, or maybe the buy in isn't there from the refs to improve their game. As the All Blacks say, "if you can't change the man, change the man". I wouldn't consider myself familiar enough with the systems in place to
    definitively comment - maybe you would.

There are 21 Law headings in the rule book, of which about 15 aren't formalities such as equipment, the field of play, regulatory stuff. It shouldn't be hugely difficult to produce some form of alignment document and/or video(s) which shows the aforementioned "good and bad pictures" for these 15 areas of the game, and produce a decent level of consistency for the majority of decisions.

Would love your thoughts.

All of that happens already even at amateur level !

Professional refs are reviewed and assessed after each game, they will be given work ons and add ons to their games and performances.

This is ongoing throughout the season.

The main problems are.

Its a game of moving parts, each ruck is different, each scrum is different what each team want in a scrum will be different depending on where they are on the pitch what their proposed tactic is and that could all change even after a reset.

What you see in the "classroom" will rarely be the same thing you see on the pitch, you wont get a chance to see it a second time on the pitch and you wont have players in your ear in the classroom.

Materiality

A prop who finds himself 40m away from play and is a foot offside is technically offside, should we penalise him ? if he hasn't affected play then no !

If a player in a ruck doesn't support his body weight but doesn't stop anyone playing the ball, your not going to penalise that either.

It depends on whether or not an illegal action has affected a teams ability to play or defend the ball as they would wish.

Laws

Most people don't know the laws, they shout for what they want, not for what is the correct option, supporters do it, coaches do it and players do it, they express dissatisfaction with the ref even when they know that they are in the wrong. Ive had players swear on their mothers grave that they got the ball down when Ive been right beside them to see that it clearly wasnt.

This leads to the rest of the players believing that the ref made a huge mistake and this feeds back to the coaches and the fans who know all believe that the ref is against them and then obviously the ref is incompetent when in fact its the player thats in the wrong.

The international players comments that they were playing against more than 15 is just plain wrong and out of order, it calls the refs integrity into question and that is unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,556 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Awful lot of fuss for a fairly meaningless game lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Very enjoyable game (for the neutral). Thought Dan Jones did well and didn't merit the criticism . Really hope CJ apologises both publically and personally.

Would any captain or senior player make such disparaging remarks about a team mate whose actions had directly caused their team to lose ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I read this article from David Corkery giving Munster both barrels about the backchat this morning (and more positive about the rest of their game). It seems relevant to the conversation over the past few pages.

Assuming you knew this when the conversation started, and aren't just piggybacking off of Lost Ormond's comment - then please just lead with that next time instead of making a false equivalence in order to push the anti-Munster agenda. You'll save us all a lot of bother.

False equivalence?

The poster said stander highlighted an officiating standard's issue. He didn't. Stander was accusing the ref on Friday and in previous Munster defeats of bias against them. That is utter BS.

It's widely known that refs get reviewed and coaches are able to deal with competition organisers regarding refs decisions.

‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    2019 RWC - October 01 2019 08:49 AM
    Ireland have received confirmation from World Rugby that referee Angus Gardner got three key penalty decisions wrong in their shock defeat to Japan last Saturday according to Joe Schmidt.
    The head coach, who was keen to reiterate his praise for the hosts after naming his team for Thursday's clash with Russia, voiced his concern about the Australian official in the build-up to last weekend's game and, as is the norm, submitted a detailed dossier on the refereeing in the aftermath.

‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐

More recently

A clearly annoyed Dan McFarland could scarcely conceal his disappointment with some of the decisions made by referee Frank Murphy and his officials in the loss to Leinster, particularly the red card given to Andrew Warwick.

While the Ulster head coach was “really proud of the effort”, he added: “I thought in the context of the way the game unfolded, the things that we could control, we did a pretty good job. There was a little bit of indiscipline in the first-half that allowed them back into the game and then after that things were out of our control, either through the intensity that Leinster played with when we were down numbers or us falling foul of the referee.

“Stuff around the key decision-making in the game is something I’m going to have to discuss with Greg Garner the referees’ manager,” said McFarland whose team lost the penalty count 17-10..

‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐
    ‐‐
    ‐--‐----

So its widely known there is some form of communication.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

The best part is that the same lads were whinging when anyone so much as commented on the Lá Rochelle game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭phog

Very disappointing game from a Munster pov, we opted to kick long range kicks and refused ones under the posts then we had a few decisions from the officials that were head scratchers and we gift Connacht 2 trys from very silly errors. Hard to win games when you add all that together in one game.

The best part is that the same lads were whinging when anyone so much as commented on the Lá Rochelle game.

I don't think many had a problem with the la rochelle loss. It's was a tough loss but I didn't hear any whinging. Most leinster fans accepted the better team won.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

VayNiice wrote: »
    I don't think many had a problem with the la rochelle loss. It's was a tough loss but I didn't hear any whinging. Most leinster fans accepted the better team won.

The whinging was directed at anyone who said they were happy for ROG.

Being happy seeing an Irish province lose to a French team full of imports will always stir some mixed emotions.

It's very different to moaning about referees having a bias against munster if you don't like the result of a match.