Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭Allinall

zackory wrote: »
    100%, and you sense some people are desperate for it to continue, ifs wfh or being on pup or whatever....but it suits them.

No idea where you got that view.

Any examples of people desperate for restrictions to continue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭shockframe

You can be sure of one thing. When the bill for this nonsense is eventually totted up and presented to the Irish taxpayer, the architects of this will be long gone and sitting-pretty with golden pensions.

This is shameful what is being done, absolutely shameful.

Following the Science will be trotted out like the 'It was the Lehman Brothers" excuse after 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Delay in outdoor hospitality a done deal I'd say

Only question is for how long?

"New laws allowing for alcohol to be served outside restaurants and bars are to be approved to by ministers at a hastily arranged meeting this evening.

Independent.ie understands Taoiseach Micheál Martin has summoned the Cabinet to an incorporeal (remote) meeting at 4.30pm

Justice Minister Heather Humphreys will seek approval for what sources described as a “short piece” of legislation that will offer clarity to premises currently serving alcohol outdoors.."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/reopening-ireland-new-laws-allowing-for-alcohol-to-be-served-outside-to-be-approved-this-evening-40586623.html

Why the major rush unless they were delaying indoor hospitality?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

KrustyUCC wrote: »

"New laws allowing for alcohol to be served outside restaurants and bars are to be approved to by ministers at a hastily arranged meeting this evening.

Independent.ie understands Taoiseach Micheál Martin has summoned the Cabinet to an incorporeal (remote) meeting at 4.30pm

Justice Minister Heather Humphreys will seek approval for what sources described as a “short piece” of legislation that will offer clarity to premises currently serving alcohol outdoors.."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/reopening-ireland-new-laws-allowing-for-alcohol-to-be-served-outside-to-be-approved-this-evening-40586623.html

Cos it is still illegal for pubs and restaurants to serve outside spaces not part of their licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

if delayed I can't see them opening the weekend of the Bank Holiday so it will be interesting if they will delay it say 2 wks up to mid July or after the August Bank Holiday.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

zackory wrote: »
    Your post shows how pathethic you are TBH.

Threadbanned seeing as you want to ignore the previous warning given to you

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=117525092&postcount=8781

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

I wonder what ritual he will use to summon them.

I have some books on witchcraft but they are written in Old East Slavic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

I assume you'll have no problem at all providing sources for all of those claims?

Rte posted just this very afternoon that even 1 dose of Az actually gives plenty of protection....

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0628/1231790-coronavirus-vaccine-astrazeneca/

I'm hoping this is good news for reopening. Rtes two lead covid stories are 1) we have no money left and 2) even one dose of Az is loads of protection.

Heres hoping they are teeing up for reopening and personal responsibility for anyone who remains worried.

Not a word about Tony's "concern" to be seen

Who’ll be first to leak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Allinall wrote: »
    No idea where you got that view.

Any examples of people desperate for restrictions to continue?
    • Many businesses (especially those looking for part-time, seasonal or zero-hour staff) have reported issues getting people back to fill the roles
    • Recent surveys have shown that the majority of people want to retain WFH or flexible working to significant extents. This is at the same time as city centre businesses are calling for a return to the office to sustain their trade which has been decimated
    • Household saving rates are significantly increased in the last year

Stands to reason then that anyone working comfortably from home on the same wage and saving money on commuting, childcare and other work-related expenses, or those people on minimum wage with uncertain contracts now getting a guaranteed weekly income that may be more than they were making at work would have a significant interest in the restrictions and the effects they're having on their employment conditions continuing as long as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Stheno wrote: »
    Cos it is still illegal for pubs and restaurants to serve outside spaces not part of their licence?

Yes it needed to get sorted but this is just arse covering

The rush now is because they know they won't be reopening indoor and it stops people saying sure we can't do outdoor properly either

Apparently Q102 if the post earlier about the ad detailing the delay till the 19th is accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

growleaves wrote: »
    I wonder what ritual he will use to summon them.

I have some books on witchcraft but they are written in Old East Slavic.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,444 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Leo texting his buddies in the media as we speak I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Apparently Q102 if the post earlier about the ad detailing the delay till the 19th is accurate.

I heard that myself on todayfm this morning.

giphy.gif

I was picturing more this...

There's even a teacher in there!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    I heard that myself on todayfm this morning.

The same ad? Saying indoor dining July 19, indoor sports in pods of six and confirmations and communions dependant on local levels of the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,442 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Why the major rush ? Well because currently it's illegal and they've the Gardai turning a blind eye, needs to be sorted regardless as businesses will keep the outdoor element that they've invested in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

It's estimated that we can have the second dose astra zenecas done in three weeks. After that we should be good to go.

But then we need to wait another 10 days or so for the effect of those last vaccines to kick in. So let's make it 5 weeks I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    • Many businesses (especially those looking for part-time, seasonal or zero-hour staff) have reported issues getting people back to fill the roles
    • Recent surveys have shown that the majority of people want to retain WFH or flexible working to significant extents. This is at the same time as city centre businesses are calling for a return to the office to sustain their trade which has been decimated
    • Household saving rates are significantly increased in the last year

Stands to reason then that anyone working comfortably from home on the same wage and saving money on commuting, childcare and other work-related expenses, or those people on minimum wage with uncertain contracts now getting a guaranteed weekly income that may be more than they were making at work would have a significant interest in the restrictions and the effects they're having on their employment conditions continuing as long as possible.

It's not difficult for legislation to be drafted to make a certain percentage of working from home compulsory

The responsibility for the spread of the Delta variant is down to our govts poor planning, not adding India to our MHQ list is really backfiring on us now, don't be giving them a pass by blaming the people doing well out of this

But then we need to wait another 10 days or so for the effect of those last vaccines to kick in. So let's make it 5 weeks I guess.

Its 15 days for max protection so 6 weeks if that approach is taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Henry... wrote: »
    How much longer is this going on

It's the greatest load of nonsense in the history of science

And in a perverse twist they call it 'following the science'.

It is not my intention of doing a Goodwin here. It just happens to be the case that those guys coined the phrase first. The Big Lie.

From Wikipedia:
    The German expression was coined by Adolf Hitler, when he dictated his 1925 book Mein Kampf, to describe the use of a lie so "colossal" that no one would believe that someone "could have the impudence to distort the truth so infamously."

UK health Secretary has come out this evening saying they will not postpone full reopening past July 19th

It's not difficult for legislation to be drafted to make a certain percentage of working from home compulsory

The responsibility for the spread of the Delta variant is down to our govts poor planning, not adding India to our MHQ list is really backfiring on us now, don't be giving them a pass by blaming the people doing well out of this

Oh they're not getting a pass by any stretch (at least not by many of the public - but then the public have no real say, so...) , but there are definitely many others out there who are doing quite well and quite content with the current arrangements.

This whole Delta variant guff is more overblown nonsense. It spreads more, fine .. but it's no more dangerous than the already not-dangerous-to-the-overwhelming-majority variants, the vaccines are effective against it, and those who are actually at only POTENTIAL significant risk are already vaccinated or should take precautions until they are.

It's more likely to be...

- Tony H - who it's very clear likes the authority that Leo and then Micheal have abdicated to him and who does NOT like being challenged or even questioned - refusing to step back

- a weak Taoiseach in Micheal Martin (not that Leo is any better, he just has a better media image.. notice how Micheal is all over twitter lately with the "awww" tweets of him playing footie with kids etc?) who won't make a decision without having "plausible deniability" first

- a Government rapidly realising the costs of all this and now urgently trying to justify the measures amid reports of just how much the bill is going to be. This latter point I expect will be the substance of enquiries and tribunals for years to come

... but it has very, VERY little to do with public health at this point considering the numbers actually significantly ill are tiny and the hospitals are at no danger whatsoever of being overwhelmed with cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Its 15 days for max protection so 6 weeks if that approach is taken

So if we open on say 16th August that'll leave 2 weeks of peak summer trade. Summer's not lost yet*

* yes this is sarcasm

So if we open on say 16th August that'll leave 2 weeks of peak summer trade. Summer's not lost yet*

* yes this is sarcasm

I know

Its desperate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

UK health Secretary has come out this evening saying they will not postpone full reopening past July 19th

Grand.

Though remember that on June 4th Michael Gove said he would "bet money" that the June 21st reopening would go ahead.

A month is an eternity in terms of re-opening. By the time July 19th rolls around they could be saying anything.

The official position changes monthly - weekly - daily - and sometimes hourly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

The same ad? Saying indoor dining July 19, indoor sports in pods of six and confirmations and communions dependant on local levels of the virus?

Yeah the 19 of July stood out to me. It was one of the government produced ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A bit of this is about pubs but I feel ultimately it's about vaccine uptake. Every country gets to a point where the enthusiastic have been vaccinated and you get to the "Don't knows" and the "Not a chances". The UK got to this point and there were large outbreaks in areas that would be vaccine skeptical.

If you release everyone from all restrictions with just say 60-70% vaccinated. The "don't knows" will most likely say they will leave it and chance their arm. The "No"'s will stay no but would have likely stayed no anyway.

There comes a point where government's have to herd the "don't knows" into vaccine booths. If there is no incentive, they won't go.

Restriction lifting is a subconscious carrot on the stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

MM already played his part in destroying the country once.

No sympathy for anyone who voted for FF in the last GE.