Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Why did NPHET release a statement today ?

The Media will dig out something negative tomorrow don't worry

What statement?

Will they yeah? Or is this your psychic side coming through again? Your predictions are 0 for 499, might as well make it an even 500.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Not quite addressing my question though.

I expect it to change as things improve, I'm happy with that as I think are most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,770 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

PintOfView wrote: »
    Do you not see any value in quarantine for people arriving into Ireland?
    If we had done this last April do you not think it would have made a difference?

(Just read that article there, and it would probably make sense for there to be discretion for such cases)

You just made a counter point against yourself

Last year it might have had some value. Doing it now is a nonsense and is only to appear to be doing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Penfailed

can people now travel within 20 km of their home by car? or it is just for physical exercise?

Exercise and recreation.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Are we there yet?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Its just for exercise. But that can be to exercise further away than 5km. So if you live 15km from a beach or forest park for example, you could not drive to it, go for your walk or jog, and then drive home. But from tomorrow you can do that. Note that the drive plus the exercise still has to stay within the 20km.

It's not just for exercise and you've got 20km or the county, whichever is greater. Simply going for a drive could be considered to be recreation.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

I was delighted when I first seen this

Then I remembered I’m delighted been told I can drive across my county and 20km into the next one without being asked for my papers at a checkpoint.

Im obviously suffering some weird form of Stockholm syndrome

In the year or so since restrictions began, I've been stopped countless times by the guards. Not one single time was I asked for 'my papers'. Not once. So...yes, it's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,137 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Penfailed wrote:
    In the year or so since restrictions began, I've been stopped countless times by the guards. Not one single time was I asked for 'my papers'. Not once. So...yes, it's weird.

Surely most journeys have alternative routes, to try avoid these check points, I don't think I've been stopped once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭prunudo

Penfailed wrote: »
    It's not just for exercise and you've got 20km or the county, whichever is greater. Simply going for a drive could be considered to be recreation.

But we're still in level 5, does that not mean essential journeys only. Basically the same criteria as yesterday only now we can travel a bit further for our exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,285 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

prunudo wrote: »
    But we're still in level 5, does that not mean essential journeys only. Basically the same criteria as yesterday only now we can travel a bit further for our exercise.

Nope, as others said above you can travel within your county or 20km from your home (including over county lines), as well as further than that if you have an "essential" reason.

Don't mind the level numbers. That was torn up the same week as it was announced last year with the level 2/3.something nonsense.

The only real thing holding back country wide travel is whether the Gardai will still be manning checkpoints and fining/turning people around. As soon as that ends, people will travel where they like, just as happened last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Enjoy the beach dellybelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Penfailed wrote: »

I think the weird he’s referring to is the fact that you can actually be asked for your papers to travel in our country in the first place.

What’s even weirder is in Ireland in 2021 with 200 people in hospital with a disease people see travelling within their own county only along with never been asked to show my papers so don’t see the big deal as a positive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Oh Lordy Lordy Lordy !!!

This is from April 6th I might have seen it here but forgot to comment.... but only got to it now, and i assume its paywalled

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=549899&stc=1&d=1618211627

1st it was 4 weeks to flatten the curve.
    Then it was until the vulnerable were vaccinated ...
    Then it was till everyone was vaccinated.

Now apparently restrictions continue even when there is full vaccine rollout.

Just read that again.

Do you remember when that was a crazy conspiracy ?

We are in serious trouble as a society (I know this is the telepgraph UK based etc .... but still applies) , personally I think as a society we have become addicted to restrictions.

edit - removed image embed as it's huge ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Enjoy the beach dellybelly

Thank you.. I'm actually just back. Got there this morning at 6.30. So grateful that we are finally allowed to travel over the 5km..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭prunudo

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Nope, as others said above you can travel within your county or 20km from your home (including over county lines), as well as further than that if you have an "essential" reason.

Don't mind the level numbers. That was torn up the same week as it was announced last year with the level 2/3.something nonsense.

The only real thing holding back country wide travel is whether the Gardai will still be manning checkpoints and fining/turning people around. As soon as that ends, people will travel where they like, just as happened last year.

Okay, anything I've seen isn't very clear on the actual wording of the new restrictions. Not that it matters, I've been cycling beyond the 5km for weeks and haven't seen a checkpoint or been stopped by a passing garda car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Thank you.. I'm actually just back. Got there this morning at 6.30. So grateful that we are finally allowed to travel over the 5km..

I'm happy for you pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

prunudo wrote: »
    Okay, anything I've seen isn't very clear on the actual wording of the new restrictions. Not that it matters, I've been cycling beyond the 5km for weeks and haven't seen a checkpoint or been stopped by a passing garda car.

They’ve been a disaster with communication and so foggy with the wording of things no one really knows what’s what!!

I bet if you took 5 TD’s and asked what was allowed you’d get 5 different answers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Great to see Cherrywood construction in full flight this morning, the size of the site and the lack of people working on it has looked dreadful, never thought I would be pleased to hear cranes at 08:00 in the morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Great to see Cherrywood construction in full flight this morning, the size of the site and the lack of people working on it has looked dreadful, never thought I would be pleased to hear cranes at 08:00 in the morning!!

That site must have been outside the perimeter of boggles daily canter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Christ let's not set that off again. I don't think I could handle another half dozen pages of claims that construction is actually open.
    There is no lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Does anyone know if Weddings will be back to normal by the end of August?
    Been invited to one and just for planning purposes it'd be good to know what the chances of it going ahead are, thanks.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭Seweryn

TomSweeney wrote: »
    This is from April 6th I might have seen it here but forgot to comment.... but only got to it now, and i assume its paywalled

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=549899&stc=1&d=1618211627

Is anyone surprised actually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭growleaves

There is no lockdown

IMG_1783-300x209.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

Oh Lordy Lordy Lordy !!!

Just read that again.

We are in serious trouble as a society (I know this is the telepgraph UK based etc .... but still applies) , personally I think as a society we have become addicted to restrictions.

To be honest, I remember that The Daily Telegraph had an exceptionally negative headline compared to all the other newspapers on the 6th. Just look at this https://www.tomorrowspapers.co.uk/newspaper-archive/?_date_filter=2021-04-06

Even the article itself is not that negative, it's just the headline to sell more papers. https://www.pressreader.com/uk/the-daily-telegraph/20210406/281483574186775

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Chivito550 wrote: »

Yea saw that this morning. Just shows what the priorities of theses clowns are.. In the middle of this so called pandemic Donnelly is more worried about he is perceived in the public eye. He's as bad as varadkar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

Oh Lordy Lordy Lordy !!!

Just read that again.

It's nice that you berate RTE, but will happily lap up something published in the Telegraph :pac::pac:

Looking forward to a pint in the beer garden after some shopping later I must say, Boris is doing something right for once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I would have thought it important that he is kept abreast of any health related social media posts, no? I'm not on Twitter, but isn't that the reason people mention other accounts so that they get notified and read the tweet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Lads this is bat **** crazy stuff

These goons are deciding how and when I can leave the house and also overseeing the destruction of our economic future

His main concern is how many likes his picture has on Twitter and why didn’t his friends say it was nice

Maddening sh#t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Will Boris have a "pint at his lips" later on ?