Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

OwenM wrote: »
    But they rename the song "R"

R 0.6 - 0.9 rather than R One.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Penfailed wrote: »
    Childish? I'd call it highlighting the farcical nature of some of the posts in this thread. We aren't living in a police state, we aren't living under house arrest and we don't live in a banana republic. It doesn't stop people repeating this same nonsense over and over and over in this thread. Hysterical nonsense.

The most oppressed are those that don't realise they are oppressed. And we do live in a banana republic, we don't admit it or we pretend we don't but Geldof was right then and now.

Maurice McCabe.
    US Multinationals booking billions in profit and paying zero tax.
    Anglo.
    Kerry babies.

I could sit here all day and add to this list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

MOR316 wrote: »
    I have this fear that the next time I go to a U2 gig, Bono is going to bring NPHET out on stage and they'll all start singing "One"

Ronan Glynn, going around confiscating the microphones for sanitizing.
    Philip Nolan, deeply concerned about the amount of people in the arena.
    Tony Holohan, legging it away from Zara King and her wedding questions...

What sort of hell is this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭richardkeiths

paw patrol wrote: »
    I get your point. I don't agree but thanks it was a decent post with a pleasantly put argument , it's rare to get one countering my view.

I'm of the other view.
    Covid is here and it's not going .We need to actually live with it. People who are worried need to look after themselves, those who aren't or think that isolation is too high a price deserve to live their lives. The cost on society is way too much than the cost of covid. We could have pumped those resources spent into actually protecting the vulnerable.

People die all the time from illnesses , many illness are passed person to person and will kill others but we've never had this collective guilt and hysteria about it before. why is that? Why this time?

As I said months ago on this thread, if you are meeting your granny or a sick person , then take a test or dont go to the pub. A person meeting their granny shouldn't impact my life.
    Did anybody actually ask the grannies/grandads their opinion, the ones I know are sick of all this and adamant it's not in their names.

The route we have taken as a country is a lazy ham fisted approach to place onus on population rather than make the state actually work.

At some stage , society needs to accept the risk. For me that was last summer for other (you I'll assume) that may not be yet.

Yes, in case there is any doubt. I'd open everything tomorrow.
    even the niteclubs? especially the niteclubs.

The sickner is that once Martin or Leo open the pubs/restaurants the same gung-ho more lockdown crowd (the 40% from the IT poll) will be down there. Proud as punch after doing their bit to save humanity.. completely unaware that covid isn't gone cos the government said so.

utter ****e!

People spread the virus.

Irish people cant be told, they just proved this at xmas with totally irresponsible behavior.

I see it every day! People touching their mask, not sanitising.

Where a nation of gob****es! We need extra restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Asked to stay at home. Not required.

Reasonable excuse is basically - dont be a dick when asked where you going. Citizens info is guidance too not law

And fined if a Guard doesn't like the reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭richardkeiths

OwenM wrote: »
    And fined if a Guard doesn't like the reason.

probably because youre taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,348 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Really?

I know the exceptions make that effectively meaningless but technically speaking yes the order is 'stay at home'. It even says it on your telly there top right corner every time you turn the thing on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,348 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

utter ****e!

People spread the virus.

Irish people cant be told, they just proved this at xmas with totally irresponsible behavior.

We're not a nation of gob****es, we're just people. The good the bad the smart and the thick and everything in between. Beating us with a bigger stick is not going to change that.

If you complain about the above I think you just dont understand people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭Russman

Yes, in case there is any doubt. I'd open everything tomorrow.
    even the niteclubs? especially the niteclubs.

If you were in charge, what would your policy be a few weeks later when the hospital system was completely overrun and non COVID patients couldn't access care ?

I may be putting two and two together and getting five, but, respectfully, it sounds from your post that you'd likely tell them "though sh1t, I had my fun and that's all that matters". And now I can't get that image of Brendan Grace out of my head !:D

Are we a society or a collection of individuals ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,637 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Russman wrote: »
    If you were in charge, what would your policy be a few weeks later when the hospital system was completely overrun and non COVID patients couldn't access care ?

I may be putting two and two together and getting five, but, respectfully, it sounds from your post that you'd likely tell them "though sh1t, I had my fun and that's all that matters". And now I can't get that image of Brendan Grace out of my head !:D

Are we a society or a collection of individuals ?

Right now we aren't overrun and non-covid patients still cant access care :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

utter ****e!

People spread the virus.

Ahhh nothing like a bit of self flagellation first thing in the morning!

Do other countries have this weird guilt/misery complex also where theres this compulsion.

Its funny how other countries have had numerous instances of protests, riots, burning of test centres etc yet the worst we have had really is a lot of complaining on boards and twitter yet we seem obsessed with ourselves and how e need to be punished further.

Its like a weird hang up form 1950's catholic ireland or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

We're not a nation of gob****es, we're just people. The good the bad the smart and the thick and everything in between. Beating us with a bigger stick is not going to change that.

If you complain about the above I think you just dont understand people.

The beatings will continue until morale improves.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

the kelt wrote: »
    Ahhh nothing like a bit of self flagellation first thing in the morning!

Do other countries have this weird guilt/misery complex also where theres this compulsion.

Its funny how other countries have had numerous instances of protests, riots, burning of test centres etc yet the worst we have had really is a lot of complaining on boards and twitter yet we seem obsessed with ourselves and how e need to be punished further.

Its like a weird hang up form 1950's catholic ireland or something.

Don't think you'll be getting a reply. Looks like the OP's brief but glorious Boards stint is all ready over.

Though the fact that the OP's post actually got likes concerns me a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

utter ****e!

People spread the virus.

Oh Jaysus, another one.

Punish us Tony, we're weak and sinful.

Punish us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭arctictree

Went into town yesterday afternoon. Big groups of kids (and some adults) playing in green areas. So that seems to be allowed now is it? Well my kids are finishing their lockdown today anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

timmyntc wrote: »
    Right now we aren't overrun and non-covid patients still cant access care :rolleyes:

Well that is just blatantly false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭duffman13

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-strong-support-for-reopening-society-as-soon-as-possible-1.4495298

Interesting poll in the Irish Times, no huge desire to reopen a lot of things like pubs or non essential retail however construction and schools should be allowed back. Interestingly 31% said restrictions too tight and 41% said just right.

I had thought there was beginning to be a swing towards reopening quicker from listening to others but not according to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

duffman13 wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-strong-support-for-reopening-society-as-soon-as-possible-1.4495298

Interesting poll in the Irish Times, no huge desire to reopen a lot of things like pubs or non essential retail however construction and schools should be allowed back. Interestingly 31% said restrictions too tight and 41% said just right.

I had thought there was beginning to be a swing towards reopening quicker from listening to others but not according to that

Nearly 70% want to reopen society when elderly and vulnerable are vaccinated before summer. That is good enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

ShyMets wrote: »
    Don't think you'll be getting a reply. Looks like the OP's brief but glorious Boards stint is all ready over.

Though the fact that the OP's post actually got likes concerns me a little

Yes and one of people that thanked that post is an elderly lady living on her own on an island off the west coast. I’ll wager lockdown doesn’t effect her life hugely if at all but we all need MORE restrictions to keep her safe! Ludicrous mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

arctictree wrote: »
    Went into town yesterday afternoon. Big groups of kids (and some adults) playing in green areas. So that seems to be allowed now is it? Well my kids are finishing their lockdown today anyway.

“Allowed”? That’s people trying to live some semblance of a life. Fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭d161

Akesh wrote: »
    The Irish Independent is beyond saving at this point. They didn't like feedback from readers so shut down all their comment sections. I don't know why anyone pays attention to that rag. Far too cosy with the government too.

The Indo keeps getting better and better,. What a piece of investigative journalism getting the guards to shut down the building work that some poor familly were doing on their house.

"On Wednesday, the Irish Independent contacted Mr Lahart and An Garda Síochána about the letter. Within hours gardaí told the house owners to inform the builders to cease the work after it was deemed non-essential. No penalty was issued."
    and
    the neighbour who made a complaint to gardaí claimed the family moved out of the house at the beginning of the building project and have not lived in it for a period of months.

Anybody who has ever had to move out of their house during building will understand the stress and expense that this poor family are going through.
    I hope the Indo aren't going to let these people get away without penal punishment.

My other favourite was the editor of the Indo in an opinion piece last March or April advising people that the best way to stay informed about Covid was to take out a subscription to the Independent.

Perhaps the Indo could better spend their time investigating the actual risks from Covid to people under the age of 70 without serious health conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

everlast75 wrote: »
    I think (and I could be wrong here) is that if everyone was socially responsible, the government methods would not need to be so strict. Am I right?

if so, I respectfully say that you have countered your own argument. How many people took a test before going to a shebeen? At 200e a pop I can guarantee no one.

they are 200 a pop now cos the are privately run. state run could be cheaper.
    Or they could just not go if they are seeing vuneralble people.
    I don't see anybody who doesn't accept my risk appetite for covid - I am honest about it.
    At some stage people need to start accepting risk or we will be hunkered down like gobsh1te for years if not decades as variant after variant attacks us.

I've given a year to this and so have us all and our kids. At some stage we need to say , we've better things to do than let this virus stop us.

Also factor in I don't buy the message of the plague that is spread on this.

resources can be better spent on hygenie and programs to isolate the vunerable. Like the cash mountain spent on PUP could have been pumped into better treatments
    Then another poster mentioned the funeral, another a mosque. These are shining examples that while there may be decent people in the country and society as a whole, there are others who don't give 2 sh1ts about you or anyone else. And with a virus as highly transmissible as this, one person's actions can have a huge effect.

transmissible , yes I don't deny. The black death I argue not.
    It isn't going away, we are going to be exposed to it.
    Why waste your time?

PS - if I had time, I could list literally dozens of things the government has ****ed up on, and maybe if they had not have, we would be in a better place.

common ground. Hooray! Progress :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

Meanwhile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭arctictree

“Allowed”? That’s people trying to live some semblance of a life. Fair play to them.

Yes, agreed, I just don't get it though. If you live in a town, you can just head out to the park and interact with people. But rurally, you cant invite people to your garden. Doesnt really make any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Meanwhile...

Comparing Boston’s reopening on March 3rd to our dithering joke “plan” is both embarrassing and sad.

It’s an absolute scandal that Irish construction is all but shut atm and not a mention from gov about a firm date of reopening it. Sure what housing crisis exists if you close your eyes and ears shut.

What’s the danger in playing tennis / golf in Ireland right now . It’s outdoors and distancing can be observed. When were these sports indicators of infection spread deserving their closure at the end of December.

I guess at this stage we will have to wait till the mob extremists quieten down b4 we can get any semblance of normality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Ah lads I can’t believe it’s not even March and I possibly can’t get a haircut until May/June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,183 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

they are 200 a pop now cos the are privately run. state run could be cheaper.

100% agreement on this point. why antigen testing hasn't been rolled out when it was recommended in Nov IIRC baffles me.
    Or they could just not go if they are seeing vuneralble people.
    I don't see anybody who doesn't accept my risk appetite for covid - I am honest about it.

Well, again, you are saying that only vulnerable people need worry about this. In my opinion, that is wrong. It spreading increases the chances of it mutating and presenting further difficulties. Also, long covid is real and the full extent is unknown.

And if you or someone else goes to a "pub" and catches it, it will place a strain on the health service which is already in tatters (the reasons for that is another discussion). If everyone did it, it would collapse.
    At some stage people need to start accepting risk or we will be hunkered down like gobsh1te for years if not decades as variant after variant attacks us.

That's not true. The vaccine is extremely effective and will work if it is given another 6 months according to most. I get that you are fatigued, despondent, angry, frustrated. So am I, but the end game is near.
    I've given a year to this and so have us all and our kids. At some stage we need to say , we've better things to do than let this virus stop us.

And hopefully you and yours have remained safe. Why throw that away when the end is so near.
    Also factor in I don't buy the message of the plague that is spread on this.
    The amount of people that died is real. 500,000 in the US. Other countries have done better, but also worse.
    resources can be better spent on hygenie and programs to isolate the vulnerable. Like the cash mountain spent on PUP could have been pumped into better treatments

Agreed - but when they aren't unfortunately we have to put up with the what is left. It is certainly far less than what should be done by the government, but IMHO to act as one cares is throwing the baby out with the bath water.

transmissible , yes I don't deny. The black death I argue not.

Absolutely no one is saying it is like the black death.
    It isn't going away, we are going to be exposed to it. Why waste your time?
    To save lives.
    common ground. Hooray! Progress :)
    I completely understand your point of view. I just have a different one. No reason why discussions cannot be respectful :)

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Added myself to the list of people who have given up on following restrictions where I can help it. My wife gave birth to our second child last October and she's only seen her grandparents and aunts and uncles once in her life. My wife had chronic sickness for the first 4 months of her pregnancy which meant that I had to look after my other daughter (creches were closed at the time) and also somehow do a full days work at home. It was exceptionally tough and my days generally started around 5am and finished around 10pm - 11pm depending on when I got my work done.
    But I got through it. I got more time to spend with my daughter than I ever would have gotten and she was at the age where Mammy and Daddy were her best friends. And the whole "we're all in this together" mularkey kept me going.

But this time it's different and I've really struggled, especially since Christmas. My wife has post-natal depression which I'm convinced has been brought on by the lack of ability to see any of our families or friends. She has good days and bad and on her bad days, I've to look after our youngest to give her breaks. Thankfully our eldest is back in creche but her creche was closed for two weeks in January which made things 10 times more difficult. Our eldest is also now old enough that she's questioning why she can't see her grannies or grandads or aunts and uncles except on the tablet but not quite old enough to understand the reason. Not being able to tell her when she'd be able to see her relatives again was heartbreaking.

So after MM's speech the other day both my wife and I made the decision that we'd meet whoever was up for meeting with us. I travelled 60-70km to help my friend who's remodelling a new house they bought before Covid. They're expecting their first child this year and it's been exceptionally slow work as they've been doing it all on their own for a lot of it. And the days manual labour worked wonders for me. My wife has visited her parents and one of her sisters with our daughters. She was able to leave them for a few hours and go out and about on her own for once. Unfortunately for me, my family are entrenched in lockdown mode and won't budge and we're respecting that, but for the sake of our mental health and for the good of our children, we're not abiding by the restrictions any further. I've had it with the constant moving of the goalposts and treating us like children by the powers that be who have not once had to deal with the struggles and isolation ordinary people have dealt with for the past year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Ah lads I can’t believe it’s not even March and I possibly can’t get a haircut until May/June

I’d say it’ll be mid-late June for Irish hairdressers
    Meanwhile. Betters to move to any of these rational alternative countries for a short back and sides

Germany
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thelocal.de/20210210/hair-salons-in-germany-to-reopen-again-march-1st/%3famp

Israel
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/live/2021/feb/10/coronavirus-live-news-annual-vaccine-may-be-needed-says-jj-chief-spain-tops-3m-cases

UK open hairdressers in 4-5 weeks
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/graziadaily.co.uk/amp/beauty-hair/hair/coronavirus-hairdressers-closed-how-long/

Live to plan or plan to live.
    Which one are we choosing atm.
    Btw it’s a rhetorical question

100% agreement on this point. why antigen testing hasn't been rolled out when it was recommended in Nov IIRC baffles me.

Well, again, you are saying that only vulnerable people need worry about this. In my opinion, that is wrong. It spreading increases the chances of it mutating and presenting further difficulties. Also, long covid is real and the full extent is unknown.

And if you or someone else goes to a "pub" and catches it, it will place a strain on the health service which is already in tatters (the reasons for that is another discussion). If everyone did it, it would collapse.

That's not true. The vaccine is extremely effective and will work if it is given another 6 months according to most. I get that you are fatigued, despondent, angry, frustrated. So am I, but the end game is near.

And hopefully you and yours have remained safe. Why throw that away when the end is so near.

The amount of people that died is real. 500,000 in the US. Other countries have done better, but also worse.

Agreed - but when they aren't unfortunately we have to put up with the what is left. It is certainly far less than what should be done by the government, but IMHO to act as one cares is throwing the baby out with the bath water.

Absolutely no one is saying it is like the black death.

To save lives.

I completely understand your point of view. I just have a different one. No reason why discussions cannot be respectful :)

Yes, because there is a proven effective treatment for black death:P