Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

5km restriction to “prevent evictions”, is there really no other way to deal with that if they have to or they are seriously that lazy/stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Ah Jaysus, why does he have to be in a state of undress :eek:

Dont kink-shame the relaxation of restrictors.

So how many countries actually have travel restrictions in place?

I’d imagine very few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

uli84 wrote: »
    5km restriction to “prevent evictions”, is there really no other way to deal with that if they have to or they are seriously that lazy/stupid?

Where did this particular brain fart come from? If I were to guess Leo, would I be correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Pepsirebel wrote: »
    10km doesn't really make that much difference to be honest, county wide would be better...none at all really but county would be fair & give people hope that we're heading the right direction

Thats alright for eg MM living in the largest county in Ireland
    For someone in eg Longford or Louth it doesn't provide much relief

There would be a huge increase in movement uf it was opened up to county travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

pjohnson wrote: »
    Dont kink-shame the relaxation of restrictors.

Personally kink is the one area in which I'm completely fine with restrictions, the tighter the better :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

It will be hilarious to watch the lockdown-cheerleaders scramble when we actually have to start paying back all this 'free-money'.

€50bn added to our public debt over the last year - once new taxes are introduced we shall see what the public sentiment is to the restrictions - expect a lot of lads to claim they were never in favour of them.

Hilarious? There's nothing funny about any of this.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

The teachers are on an extended, full-pay holiday...

Ah...no.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

I have little sympathy for anyone who would willingly go to a U2 gig.

I'd be up for any gig in the summer...even U2.

I’d imagine very few.

Some might have county/district travel restrictions which in any case in any other country would mean hundreds of kilometres but to be honest I am not aware of any country having them.

I’d imagine very few.

I'd imagine you are correct. The 5km thing is a balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Penfailed wrote: »

It certainly appears more draconian and less productive with every passing day.

That!

And also click&collect forbidden is ridiculous , like - shops are opened all over Europe and I cannot bloody click & collect. Often buying small/single items online and the postage charges really add up but sure what do they care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

*mod snip - discussing mod actions*
    Childish? I'd call it highlighting the farcical nature of some of the posts in this thread. We aren't living in a police state, we aren't living under house arrest and we don't live in a banana republic. It doesn't stop people repeating this same nonsense over and over and over in this thread. Hysterical nonsense.

we are under house arrest - you aren't allowed leave your house unless you have a valid reason. The validity of that reason is determined by the state (the gardai).

If that isn't house arrest , please tell me what is?

sure we aren't being beaten (yet!) by the gardai.
    But break those rules - like balbriggan or the shebeen at the back of swords (knocksedan) and watch the gardai show up mob handed...armed ****ing response to the shebeen.

I don't know why you can't see there is something inherently wrong in that from a so called free democracy .
    It most surely is house arrest.

This will end it, not cos it's morally correct or the realisation that covid19 was all (maybe the ultimate ever) loss of collective reason but cos the back benchers are afraid of their seats.

the more things change, the more they stay the same :rolleyes:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/fianna-fail-turns-on-micheal-martin-over-handling-of-pandemic-as-support-for-party-plummets-40133355.html

But fcuk it , i'll take it.

paw patrol wrote: »

we are under house arrest - you aren't allowed leave your house unless you have a valid reason. The validity of that reason is determined by the state (the gardai).

But break those rules - like balbriggan or the shebeen at the back of swords (knocksedan) and watch the gardai show up mob handed...armed ****ing response to the shebeen.

I don't know why you can't see there is something inherently wrong in that from a so called free democracy .

Really?

Personally kink is the one area in which I'm completely fine with restrictions, the tighter the better :pac:

Well played :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Childish? I'd call it highlighting the farcical nature of some of the posts in this thread. We aren't living in a police state, we aren't living under house arrest and we don't live in a banana republic. It doesn't stop people repeating this same nonsense over and over and over in this thread. Hysterical nonsense.

Can you explain how it’s not any of the above?

At least anyone who makes the claims references how it appears it does currently fit the definition of said claims.

The Gardaí are currently handing out fines for hill walking despite all science alluding to outdoor activities not being a source of transmission. So that’s one democratic right now impeded for no valid reason.

You on the other hand incessantly make one liner refutes that proves fcuk all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,176 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Look, I understand completely why you disagree with the policies of the government. Frankly, i think they have made a complete balls of a number of things.

But the reality is just because you or others think you should be able to open your business if you feel like it, or attend a shebeen if you want to have a few pints, doesn't mean it is in the Country's interests to allow that to happen.

Your actions have ramifications for others. That is the problem.

This is the problem with COVID, and particularly the UK variant. It is more transmissible. It may not be as severe as the Spanish variant, but the problem is that the more people that catch it, the more change it has of mutating.

That is a real danger.

What harm can it be to go to a shebeen? Well, your actions can cause others to catch it, someone who may have an underlying condition.

To me, if I believed that I caused someone else severe difficulties because I wanted a pint it would ruin me.

And so because there are people out there who believe they can do what they want, the government, who were rightfully elected to deal with government matters, are in charge. Now you can vote them out at the next opportunity if you wish (and I certainly do) but if everyone takes the law into their own hands I genuinely believe we would all be ****ed.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

everlast75 wrote: »
    Look, I understand completely why you disagree with the policies of the government. Frankly, i think they have made a complete balls of a number of things.

But the reality is just because you or others think you should be able to open your business if you feel like it, or attend a shebeen if you want to have a few pints, doesn't mean it is in the Country's interests to allow that to happen.

This is the problem with COVID, and particularly the UK variant. It is more transmissible. It may not be as severe as the Spanish variant, but the problem is that the more people that catch it, the more change it has of mutating.

That is a real danger.

What harm can it be to go to a shebeen? Well, your actions can cause others to catch it, someone who may have an underlying condition.

To me, if I believed that I caused someone else severe difficulties because I wanted a pint it would ruin me.

And so because there are people out there who believe they can do what they want, the government, who were rightfully elected to deal with government matters, are in charge. Now you can vote them out at the next opportunity if you wish (and I certainly do) but if everyone takes the law into their own hands I genuinely believe we would all be ****ed.

The basic idea of "actions have consequences" has no place here. A large number of the regulars here took issue when a "businesswoman" was arrested, after she ignored a warning telling her not to open up or she would be arrested.

Really?

just this once

Gov.ie
    At Level 5, the public health risk means that you will be asked to stay at home, except for travel for work, education or other essential purposes, or to take exercise within 5km of home.

There is more defining which work is permitted etc...

citizens info
    You cannot have visitors to your home. Some people who may be at risk of isolation can nominate another household to mix with. This is called a support bubble.

You can meet with one other household outside your home for exercise.

Only essential workers should travel to work. You should work from home unless you are providing an essential service and need to be physically present.

In addition:

You should only leave your home if you have a 'reasonable excuse' for doing so.

who defines the "reasonable excuse" why indeed it's the organs of the state.

But you knew all that already and just want a lazy snipe without offering anything as an actual rebuttal. I posted this only to help those that may think you had a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

pjohnson wrote: »
    The basic idea of "actions have consequences" has no place here. A large number of the regulars here took issue when a "businesswoman" was arrested, after she ignored a warning telling her not to open up or she would be arrested.

Meanwhile a funeral in a county in the West that took place at the same time went completely without infraction from the law enforcement in this country.

You seem to have a grudge against the working class from what I’ve seen with your posts

just this once

Gov.ie

There is more defining which work is permitted etc...

citizens info

who defines the "reasonable excuse" why indeed it's the organs of the state.

But you knew all that already and just want a lazy snipe without offering anything as an actual rebuttal. I posted this only to help those that may think you had a point.

Asked to stay at home. Not required.

Reasonable excuse is basically - dont be a dick when asked where you going. Citizens info is guidance too not law

Meanwhile a funeral in a county in the West that took place at the same time went completely without infraction from the law enforcement in this country.

You seem to have a grudge against the working class from what I’ve seen with your posts

Just because there should have been enforcement at that funeral and wasn't doesn't mean it is okay for any business to open up if it feels like it.

If one business opens without a response, then all will.

There won't be more funerals tomorrow because people were able to get together.

PS - again, restrictions should absolutely be enforced at funerals.

Nothing against working class. Unless you are trying to imply that working class = irresponsible. I'm against irresponsible eejits being thick basically.

Where did I say the funeral shouldn't have had the same treatment? And the mosque gathering for that matter. They both should be plus any house party gombeens that caused spreads in Limerick and Galway..... anyone who breaks deserves the consequences no one should be exempt.

The only difference appears to be they didnt announce their intentions to break the rules 24 hours earlier which the "businesswoman" did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

in the uk they have a 5 mile restriction about 7.5k old boy I know whos live in york he had his over 65 jab 2 wks ago and the are not allowed leave the country but that will be gone in april

those who stay in ireland will be so beaten down with others who now know how to circumvent.

Have a mate who works rep in the off trade when garda stop they just say we need you off you go

5k or more "up to you" i'd imagine the garda overtime will be in full swing this weekend

everlast75 wrote: »

That is a real danger.

I get your point. I don't agree but thanks it was a decent post with a pleasantly put argument , it's rare to get one countering my view.

I'm of the other view.
    Covid is here and it's not going .We need to actually live with it. People who are worried need to look after themselves, those who aren't or think that isolation is too high a price deserve to live their lives. The cost on society is way too much than the cost of covid. We could have pumped those resources spent into actually protecting the vulnerable.

People die all the time from illnesses , many illness are passed person to person and will kill others but we've never had this collective guilt and hysteria about it before. why is that? Why this time?

As I said months ago on this thread, if you are meeting your granny or a sick person , then take a test or dont go to the pub. A person meeting their granny shouldn't impact my life.
    Did anybody actually ask the grannies/grandads their opinion, the ones I know are sick of all this and adamant it's not in their names.

The route we have taken as a country is a lazy ham fisted approach to place onus on population rather than make the state actually work.

At some stage , society needs to accept the risk. For me that was last summer for other (you I'll assume) that may not be yet.

Yes, in case there is any doubt. I'd open everything tomorrow.
    even the niteclubs? especially the niteclubs.

The sickner is that once Martin or Leo open the pubs/restaurants the same gung-ho more lockdown crowd (the 40% from the IT poll) will be down there. Proud as punch after doing their bit to save humanity.. completely unaware that covid isn't gone cos the government said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

MOR316 wrote: »
    I have this fear that the next time I go to a U2 gig, Bono is going to bring NPHET out on stage and they'll all start singing "One"

Ronan Glynn, going around confiscating the microphones for sanitizing.
    Philip Nolan, deeply concerned about the amount of people in the arena.
    Tony Holohan, legging it away from Zara King and her wedding questions...

But they rename the song "R"

I get your point. I don't agree but thanks it was a decent post with a pleasantly put argument , it's rare to get one countering my view.

I'm of the other view.
    Covid is here and it's not going .We need to actually live with it. People who are worried need to look after themselves, those who aren't or think that isolation is too high a price deserve to live their lives. The cost on society is way too much than the cost of covid. We could have pumped those resources spent into actually protecting the vulnerable.

People die all the time from illnesses , many illness are passed person to person and will kill others but we've never had this collective guilt and hysteria about it before. why is that? Why this time?

As I said months ago on this thread, if you are meeting your granny or a sick person , then take a test or dont go to the pub. A person meeting their granny shouldn't impact my life.
    Did anybody actually ask the grannies/grandads their opinion, the ones I know are sick of all this and adamant it's not in their names.

The route we have taken as a country is a lazy ham fisted approach to place onus on population rather than make the state actually work.

At some stage , society needs to accept the risk. For me that was last summer for other (you I'll assume) that may not be yet.

Yes, in case there is any doubt. I'd open everything tomorrow.
    even the niteclubs? especially the niteclubs.

The sickner is that once Martin or Leo open the pubs/restaurants the same gung-ho more lockdown crowd (the 40% from the IT poll) will be down there. Proud as punch after doing their bit to save humanity.. completely unaware that covid isn't gone cos the government said so.

I think (and I could be wrong here) is that if everyone was socially responsible, the government methods would not need to be so strict. Am I right?

if so, I respectfully say that you have countered your own argument. How many people took a test before going to a shebeen? At 200e a pop I can guarantee no one.

Then another poster mentioned the funeral, another a mosque. These are shining examples that while there may be decent people in the country and society as a whole, there are others who don't give 2 sh1ts about you or anyone else. And with a virus as highly transmissible as this, one person's actions can have a huge effect.

So, in an ideal world, I would agree that a more personal responsibility approach should be used, but there are two many examples of me feiners out there to show that this won't work.

PS - if I had time, I could list literally dozens of things the government has ****ed up on, and maybe if they had not have, we would be in a better place.

Asked to stay at home. Not required.

Reasonable excuse is basically - dont be a dick when asked where you going. Citizens info is guidance too not law

the truth is the garda will send you home if they don't validate your excuse.
    Thats the facts.

Has happened to many within their 5k - many posts on here about that.
    My wife was told to go straight home from the supermarket despite being near home and supermarket prob 2km between all.

Citizen info is guidance - we know this.
    based on gov.ie which is spare enough in detail - citizens info provides that detail and if it was wrong it would be taken down or changed.

you're being obtuse on purpose - as always