Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

All of this being said, that is 100% an irresponsible abdication of responsibility by the media. Their job was never to publish stories which don't earn them any criticism from the public or the government, it was never to pick a right and wrong "side" in an issue and report only the voices from one of those two sides - the media is supposed to provide a balanced viewpoint no matter what the issue under discussion, and in this particular case, on this particular issue, they have fundamentally and entirely chosen to sh!t all over that principle of journalistic integrity.

If you listen to the radio or watch TV you'll see and hear HSE ads 24/7.
    Even while programmes are on 'Stay At Home' is plastered on the top right corner of the screen.
    They are spouting that narrative because it's paying their wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

...which is exactly what is wrong.

That's a nonsense.

Of course we will, in time.

Moderator Graham is right; pandemics don't decide employment levels in a post-pandemic future - consumers do.

Been alive for the aftermath of many global pandemics have you?

Lundstram wrote: »

No, but neither have I lived for eternity - and neither have you, for both of these things.

The idea that < 10% is impossible is absurd. It's simply absurd, it really is. It's an assertion, not a likelihood. It's not objective; it's cynicism.

And I say this as someone highly critical of Commandership NPHET and the pandemic handling in question.

Most people underestimate the capacity of the population to adapt and bounce back.

Perhaps it's some ingrained cynicism, I don't know.

But I don't share it, I really don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I was alive for the 2018 pandemic, a year when Ireland had more deaths than 2020

The problem with RTE and indeed most of the mainstream media in Ireland, and it would appear more and more also our politicians, is that they have abdicated this idea of balance entirely. The entire political and media establishment has united around the medical lobby as the ultimate arbiters of good vs bad policymaking in this pandemic, and seem absolutely intent on silencing, ignoring, or even shaming any other voices which would normally form part of a balanced public debate during a gigantic, seismic event such as this one.

The problem is that this lobby is being listened to, to the absolute exclusion of literally everybody else. All other voices are apparently unwelcome in the mainstream debate at the moment (hence why their only recourse is the likes of Gript) and therefore these mypoic, one dimensional actors are commanding the entire stage. Why this happened is anyone's guess, personally I reckon the post-Christmas spike led to a sentiment of "Ah, you see, NPHET was right! We should defer to them in every way on every issue from now on" in both government and media circles. And I still reckon that the media is partly hamming it up a la Claire Byrne's frankly ridiculous "new normal" gimmicks
    it contributes to organic viral exposure - in other words, clickbait.

All of this being said, that is 100% an irresponsible abdication of responsibility by the media. Their job was never to publish stories which don't earn them any criticism from the public or the government, it was never to pick a right and wrong "side" in an issue and report only the voices from one of those two sides - the media is supposed to provide a balanced viewpoint no matter what the issue under discussion, and in this particular case, on this particular issue, they have fundamentally and entirely chosen to sh!t all over that principle of journalistic integrity.

One of the best posts I've read here recently, a brilliant deconstruction of the incredibly one-sided narrative inflicted on the populace for months. Journalists abandoning all principle and integrity in their fundamental role of impartial observers, thus being no more than compliant vessels of NPHET/the Government. Doubling down on this betrayal of the public by hounding dissenting voices, establishing what is for all intents and purposes a stifling echo chamber. Fortunately we're not all undiscerning lackeys dazzled by the besuited PR offensive, "we're all in this together" has been exposed as a banal crock designed to ringfence sheep and the herd is scattering to the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭growleaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I was brought up by someone who was alive for 1918 flu and then the asian and hongkong ones..just saying cos I feel like sayin :D

ingo1984 wrote: »
    Not concerned with severe disease but that they are vectors for transmission of the disease.

Cases determine easing of restrictions. 1,400 children tested positive in past two weeks. Schools are now back open. Number of cases is only going one way now. Look forward to MM speech start of April.

Cases falling 10 to 20% per week, 100k vaccines rolling out per week, why would 10% of the population returning to a controlled environment result in a explosion of cases?

We will never get our unemployment level below 10% again...is what I meant!

Ever?

And NPHET et al are accused of doom mongering

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Careful now, curtain twitchers are always watching. You know it's a death sentence for you and your friends if you have that gathering. Make sure you put on a garda costume or some islamic style clothes so you're ok.

Mod:

Threadbanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Ever?

And NPHET et al are accused of doom mongering

It is anyone's guess how many jobs will not return in Retail, Pubs, Local Services industries.

Small, Medium, Large towns and cities are all going to feel the effect very quickly.

Anybody who thinks we are going to go back to normal employment levels after what our Government has done here is not paying attention to what is happening, Small business owners across the country (barbers, retail shops, hair salons, pubs etc) have all lost market share they will never get back.

Many are being compensated for now...but for how long?

Who is going to step in with investment or willing to sign long terms leases to start up again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

He literally said there would be some easing of restrictions in April, yet it gets interpreted here as “no easing of restrictions in April”

Much the same as below- where the link makes no mention of "2,500 coronavirus cases have been detected in Jan / Feb"

But rather it details "No Covid-19 admissions to ICU in past 24 hours - NPHET" :confused:

There was a whole segment about the return to school on the main news.

Don't see the cause of the outrage tbh.
    aidoh wrote: »
    Pointed out by another poster in another thread but perhaps worth reposting here for perspective around discussions of reopening...

Today the schools go back and RTÉ website leads with a completely pointless report of approx. 2,500 coronavirus cases have been detected in Jan / Feb.
    I can only interpret this as fear porn for the sake of fear porn.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0301/1199998-covid19-ireland/
    Our media are absolutely outrageous.

It is anyone's guess how many jobs will not return in Retail, Pubs, Local Services industries.

Small, Medium, Large towns and cities are all going to feel the effect very quickly.

Anybody who thinks we are going to go back to normal employment levels after what our Government has done here is not paying attention to what is happening, Small business owners across the country (barbers, retail shops, hair salons, pubs etc) have all lost market share they will never get back.

Many are being compensated for now...but for how long?

Who is going to step in with investment or willing to sign long terms leases to start up again?

They haven’t lost market share. The market is shutdown. Once the market reopens the consumers will return. It will be slow, and some won’t recover, but new businesses will also emerge and in time things will return to normal. If I was a betting man I would forecast unemployment to drop below 10% sometime in late 22/ early 23

If RTE spent the same time talking about the state of the outlook for SME's in local economies as they do about Variants you'd wouldn't be so naive.

Why so obsessed with trying to paint everyone who disagrees as in thrall to rte? Do you believe it validates your views somehow? Do you think it is impossible for someone to form their own independent opinions?

Now, what do you have to say about Italy starting a third wave in springtime when we have been told the fall following winter peak was all down to seasonality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭growleaves

Employment might recover but wages won't as the deflationary millstone around people's necks gets even heavier.

Worst sign of things to come was Joe Biden's refusal to endorse debt forgiveness the other week. If the powers that never should be intend to enforce debt collection that will mean a collapse in the standard of living for the average person (but not for the asset-rich).

Ireland's price to income ratio for housing affordability is 7 point something. That number is going to increase in the decades ahead. Russia is at 29, part of the reason so many Russians drink themselves to death.

Edit: China is at 29, not Russia.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

pjohnson wrote: »
    Surprised to see you.

Seems like your own exit strategy changed. Thats why people/governments need to be careful with making big statements they can't follow through with.

Mod:

This has nothing to do with the thread whatsoever. Don't post in this thread again

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Bunch of whiney little gimps. Suck it up, buttercup.

Mod:

Another one who can't keep it civil and adds nothing to the discussion

Threadbanned

Don't bother, Boggles won't answer. What he will do is quote your post then cut out your question in his reply so he doesn't have to answer it.

Then he'll ask for links himself and spam the thread until he gets a response then he'll say he's won the arguement because you can't back it up. He justs selectively quotes parts of posts to suit him

He will then complete his post with a passive agressive :) emoji. Meaning Boggles is the good guy, you're the big bad man.

And he's been doing it for months now.

Mod:

And yet one more that cannot stay civil

Threadbanned

Why so obsessed with trying to paint everyone who disagrees as in thrall to rte? Do you believe it validates your views somehow? Do you think it is impossible for someone to form their own independent opinions?

Now, what do you have to say about Italy starting a third wave in springtime when we have been told the fall following winter peak was all down to seasonality?

Because people have become more educated about variants than they are about the massive damage being done to local economies all over this country...the economic consequences are already occurring, buying behavior is shifting?

I blame our media for ignoring the economic damage and the focus on variants.

I have no idea what the situation in Italy is, nor do I care, I don't know how their normal flu season behaves, we don't have the same climate as Italy, nor do we have the same sized urban areas, nor do I know what the state of their Vit D levels are, or how old the population is.

Why don't you ask yourself, how do you know more about the situation in Italy and know nothing of your own local economy?

I don't need Italian information, we have had one year of this and plenty of data ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Seen some dopey journalist asking Glynn earlier what was the idea behind the 5km limit.

"because we felt last year's 2km limit was overly restrictive".

Unbelievable.

Are most people still abiding by this nonsense restriction?

Most that I know are ignoring it and I have hardly seen a checkpoint in the last 3 weeks.
    Even my parents in their 70s drove 50 miles on Saturday to visit my brother and see their little grand child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

robbiezero wrote: »
    Are most people still abiding by this nonsense restriction?

Most that I know are ignoring it and I have hardly seen a checkpoint in the last 3 weeks.
    Even my parents in their 70s drove 50 miles on Saturday to visit my brother and see their little grand child.

The roads are packed, people are ignoring the 5km limit because it's beyond ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

The 5k only exists so the whole country doesn’t try to go to Dublin airport to get out of this kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Did anyone see the young fella on Claire Byrne just now who said he locked himself in a bedroom for a week paranoid with fear and anxiety after he hugged a friend in the summer?

The story was actually about vaccines and what he said was brushed over/ignored/laughed off but it surely shows what the big problem here is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Did anyone see the young fella on Claire Byrne just now who said he locked himself in a bedroom for a week paranoid with fear and anxiety after he hugged a friend in the summer?

The story was actually about vaccines and what he said was brushed over/ignored/laughed off but it surely shows what the big problem here is.

Very sad to see a young man in that much fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Is anyone surprised? There’s been an absolute witch hunt against young people all throughout this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

this will be over when the north and UK are out of restrictions in summer, mass exodus up north and england each weekend, as numbers plummet here , gardai will no longer go with border checks etc, there will be at least inter county travel then. so everyone going to belfast ,derry , newry each weekend as mostly everything will be open. prob a lot easier to travel to UK in June as well, Galway races may be gone here, but people will travel to Goodwood, Ascot etc. this will be over a lot quicker than some think, face masks will be a thing of the past by november.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

gozunda wrote: »
    Much the same as below- where the link makes no mention of "2,500 coronavirus cases have been detected in Jan / Feb"

But rather it details "No Covid-19 admissions to ICU in past 24 hours - NPHET" :confused:

There was a whole segment about the return to school on the main news.

Don't see the cause of the outrage tbh.

The link I posted was to an article which was front and centre on RTÉs website giving a tally of the numbers of kids testing positive for coronavirus over the past fortnight.

The link leads to a different story now, seemingly whatever story replaced that as the main one on the website.

I went looking for the original link on the website but it seems to have mysteriously vanished.

Maybe its archived in the 'Media Hysteria' thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

aidoh wrote: »
    The link I posted was to an article which was front and centre on RTÉs website giving a tally of the numbers of kids testing positive for coronavirus over the past fortnight.

The link leads to a different story now, seemingly whatever story replaced that as the main one on the website.

I went looking for the original link on the website but it seems to have mysteriously vanished.

Maybe its archived in the 'Media Hysteria' thread.

The story is just within the main article now

"The latest report on Covid-19 cases from the Health Protection Surveillance Centre shows that there were 1,403 cases in children aged 12 years and younger, in the two weeks to 27 February.

Of these, 28 were admitted to hospital, but none were in intensive care units.

There were 589 cases among those aged 0-4 years, with 814 cases in those aged 5-12, while there were 710 cases in the 13-18 age group."

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0301/1199998-covid19-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

I’ll be honest, I was similar from March to May/June. I’m in my mid 20s so little to no risk of it killing me but every horror story that came out from the media or Twitter, reddit etc sent me into a spiral. I remember the first week I started working from home and I woke with a sore throat (which is how my illnesses usually start) and I thought myself into a panic attack. Every symptom of covid, bar loss of taste and smell (which didn’t seem to be all that common at the start) I had. I was having awful chest pain, I’d be out of breath just walking, I had to speak to a doctor and it turns out I was so anxious I was constantly taking shallow breaths causing my chest muscles to be in a permanent state of tightness. I have hayfever too so mix that with anxiety and a pandemic and every day was torture. I used to regularly nap throughout the day just so I wouldn’t have to be awake, it was really grim.

I remember getting on a train in late June and for the first time since the start of March realising that my chest wasn’t tight when I was around others anymore. But even after that, I moved apartment in August and had a removal van pick up my stuff, the two lads were from Bolton which was the “covid hotspot” in Greater Manchester at the time. We shared a lift together and moved furniture in and out of hallways for the best part of 3 hours. I spent the next 14 days anxiously counting down until I was “clear” and being frustrated at myself for potentially exposing myself to it.

Even though I started questioning things before last August I was still struggling to get out of that “everyone is a carrier” mindset. I’m firmly out of that now thankfully, I still wear my mask where I have to, and I wash my hands every time I come home, but I no longer look at people like they’re a threat. I miss the cinema, I miss the gym, I miss gigs, I miss being able to do whatever I wanted on a whim and I know we all miss our everyday hobbies or desires, but if everything opened tomorrow, I wouldn’t be hesitant to go.

I fear for those who haven’t been fortunate enough to be able to pull themselves out of the hole or being able to detach themselves from the perpetual anxiety circle largely created by the media. Their actions throughout have been disgusting.