If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

EireLemon wrote: »
    What makes you think it's from 7am?

Big brother is watching you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Skippette

Supercell wrote: »
    The European Commission website for the Digital Green Certificate doesnt make any mention of families, specifically children.

Even if we want to, we cannot vaccinate our children, does this mean if a family wants to travel , assuming the parents are vaccinated, that the children will have to take PCR tests at parents expense?, or will the cert only apply to adults/people who are currently capable of being vaccinated?

According to :
    https://www.europarl.europa.eu/doceo/document/TA-9-2021-0145_EN.html#title2

It looks like we will need to apply for a Digital Green certificate on behalf of our children. BUT an Antigen test taken within 24 will suffice according to the latest news.

Where relevant or appropriate, the certificates should be issued to another person on behalf of the vaccinated, tested or recovered person, for example to the legal guardian on behalf of legally incapacitated persons or to parents on behalf of their children.

(26) It is necessary to prevent any kind of discrimination (direct or indirect) against persons who are not vaccinated, for example because of medical reasons, because they are not part of the target group for which the vaccine is currently administered, or because they have not yet had the opportunity or chose not to be vaccinated, or where there is no vaccine available yet for certain age categories, like children. Therefore, possession of a vaccination certificate, or the possession of a vaccination certificate indicating a specific vaccine medicinal product, should not be a pre-condition to exercise free movement rights ▌ and cannot be a pre-condition to free movement within the Union and to use cross-border passenger transport services such as airlines, trains, coaches, ferries or any other means of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Children must have a green cert to travel, which in reality will be based on a test only (or proof of recovery from Covid) as they are not able to get vaccinated. The cert will be issued to parents/guardians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Ive just stopped listening to them all now - Leo says one thing, Donnelly comes along and says something else, Micheal then throws his opinion in - They havent got a clue between them - Id wager we`ll be open for international travel the first week in July - theres too much pressure being put on these idiots for them to keep digging their heels in. Parts of Europe starting to open today for tourists - we need to get some of that tourism business. Dining open from early June,Hotels opening the same time - its all lining up for a much earlier opening than august.

I agree with your assessment. It looks like they are hedging their bets and buying time at the moment to avoid making a firm decision. If the EU fully opens up with the cert by June and the UK effectively joins in, it's game over for travel restrictions in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Wallander wrote: »
    I agree with your assessment. It looks like they are hedging their bets and buying time at the moment to avoid making a firm decision. If the EU fully opens up with the cert by June and the UK effectively joins in, it's game over for travel restrictions in Ireland.

I would imagine - they are hoping to reach at least close to the target of 82% of adults vaccinated and achieving a high level of herd immunity before throwing the doors open. This target was originally given as the end of June but with the the issues to do with AZ and other vaccine supplies - that will likley be out by at least a few weeks imho. Not an illogical objective to hold till that is achieved or is as close as possible tbf. And with that we are much less likley having holiday makers coming back with things they hadn't planned to get and having to deal with the fallout ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pouladuff_goal

Skygord wrote: »
    Actually, I think I was wrong about taking a PCR test tomorrow. I landed in Ireland at 9am on Friday, and had been counting Friday as day 1 of self-isolation as it was. But 5 days after arrival won't be till 9am Wednesday - so I think I'll wait till Wednesday for the test (Thursday for the results, and therefore allowed to exit from self-isolation Thursday). That sound right?

I tried to get an answer to this and couldn't.

Before Christmas when the 14 day restricted movements were in place the day you returned was Day 1 even if it was just before midnight. You got a text on the morning of Day 14 and you were free.

If Friday is Day 1 you can test Tuesday morning and free when you get a negative result. I know somebody that made a few enquiries and kept getting a different answer. Your call really. It might depend if you really need to do something on Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

gozunda wrote: »
    I would imagine - they are hoping to reach at least close to the target of 82% of adults vaccinated and achieving a high level of herd immunity before throwing the doors open. This target was originally given as the end of June but with the the issues to do with AZ and other vaccine supplies - that will likley be out by at least a few weeks imho. Not an illogical objective to hold till that is achieved or is as close as possible tbf. And with that we are much less likley having holiday makers coming back with things they hadn't planned to get and having to deal with the fallout ...

I wouldn't say they'll be throwing the doors open. As they keep saying, individual member states can still control their borders. I'd be shocked if the home quarantine requirements went when they first open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

There are 2 different checkpoints.

a) Outside the airport on the road to dropoff points - normally avoided if you use carparks or arrive by bus.

b) Just before you scan your boarding pass at security - be prepared to be questioned here. Some have claimed terminal 1 fast track avoids this. I have not seen this contradicted but I wouldn't rely on it. I don't think this will work in Terminal 2.

By all means use fast track in T1 but be prepared to meet a guard and answer questions on where and why you are travelling.
    You do know you can use Terminal 1 to check in for T2? The two terminals are connected airside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

You do know you can use Terminal 1 to check in for T2? The two terminals are connected airside.

Knew that alright and could come in very handy in late June. Gives a few different points of entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

The August travel thing us ridiculous. Cases are dropping like stones here in Europe and by June it will be so low I expect everything to be fully open and fully functional. Ireland will look ridiculous if they isolate themselves when there is nothing really to isolate themselves from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

kilns wrote: »
    The August travel thing us ridiculous. Cases are dropping like stones here in Europe and by June it will be so low I expect everything to be fully open and fully functional. Ireland will look ridiculous if they isolate themselves when there is nothing really to isolate themselves from

I think (hope) it may just be waffle. Hopefully we'll have more information following tomorrow's cabinet meeting. At the moment they're trying to buy time with conflicting or mislead information to stop people booking, for two reasons;
    (a) to try and con people into booking staycations
    (b) to keep the numbers travelling down a little longer while the vaccinations are rolled out.

I hope that when they go on about travel in August, they mean travel without any form of home quarantine, not a complete travel ban.

That and Leo doesn't want to lose face after the big deal that he made about booking his staycation in Sligo earlier this year :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

So from the 24th may there are no restrictions between Belfast and Portugal? Just a PCR prior to boarding Belfast? I’m not fussed about the return, worry about that later.

Theres Gardai there as well, inside and outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Valhallapt wrote: »
    So from the 24th may there are no restrictions between Belfast and Portugal? Just a PCR prior to boarding Belfast? I’m not fussed about the return, worry about that later.

NI still haven't clarified their position on international travel. As of now it's just the CTA you can travel to non essential as far as I know. All the other countries in UK have announced their plans except NI. I don't know if there was a fine before if you went abroad? It's a bit grey at the moment in that area.

Can fly to England etc and on to Portugal no problem though. I'll be doing similar in a few weeks unless NI clarify their position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pouladuff_goal

Yes so it is possible to checkin in T2, walk to T1 and use fast track there. That is assuming there are no checks there.

You need to do airport checkin at the desk and show your negative PCR. I don't think too many will change terminals then before going through security. You can do it. The guards could be at either or both.

Despite all of that you really need to be ready to explain to a guard why you are travelling. If you really do not want to meet one then Belfast is a better option.

Yes so it is possible to checkin in T2, walk to T1 and use fast track there.

What would be the advantage of doing that? Go through in T2 and then when inside T2, walk to T1. They arent seperate buildings
    You need to do airport checkin at the desk and show your negative PCR.

Not wirh Ryanair or Aer Lingus when I flew. Both checked it at the gate.
    That is assuming there are no checks there.
    The guards could be at either or both.

Gardai are situated on both roads coming in and at both security areas. Beats are in both terminals. Meeting one depends on time, place, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,120 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The airport fines will be unenforceable once the CTA is open.

As you were after 1st July

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Corholio wrote: »
    Can fly to England etc and on to Portugal no problem though. I'll be doing similar in a few weeks unless NI clarify their position.

Have you looked into how this trip can work with locator form and testing requirements? I imagine once you get into Northern Ireland you might be able to indicate on the form you are heading straight to the Republic, but isn't there some requirement from the UK to have post-arrival tests booked before you travel from Portugal?

Gael23 wrote: »
    The airport fines will be unenforceable once the CTA is open.

As you were after 1st July

You are a broken record but have never explained why?

They may be easily avoided but they can still be enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,120 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

You are a broken record but have never explained why?

They may be easily avoided but they can still be enforced.

They would have to scan every passengers boarding pass at security. And some people will just book flights to the U.K. with onward connections anyway

Wallander wrote: »
    Have you looked into how this trip can work with locator form and testing requirements? I imagine once you get into Northern Ireland you might be able to indicate on the form you are heading straight to the Republic, but isn't there some requirement from the UK to have post-arrival tests booked before you travel from Portugal?

To be honest I haven't checked much yet on coming back as I'll be away for an extended time. Will hope to be going to an amber country (Netherlands) and then return to Ireland hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

Flight booked to London tomorrow from Belfast for 3 days. Will enjoy a few pints and a bit of shopping without being made feel like a criminal.

I despair for Ireland.

My Dad and brother are flying with Ryanair to the UK next week for a funeral. Flying out on Tuesday 25th, returning at 6:30am on Wednesday morning. How does that work for getting tested for the return? Thanks for any guidance.

Swaine wrote: »
    Flight booked to London tomorrow from Belfast for 3 days. Will enjoy a few pints and a bit of shopping without being made feel like a criminal.

I despair for Ireland.

Let us know how you get on and how it works in Belfast and if it's straightforward getting through. Will be very interested to know for my own travel soon.

Gael23 wrote: »
    They would have to scan every passengers boarding pass at security.

Yes, they do that already. Always have. Did you think you could go throw without scanning your boarding pass? And Gardai are before security
    Swaine wrote: »

I despair for Ireland.

You know its still essential travel until the 25th from Belfast as well even within the CTA?
    TheRealRuu wrote: »
    My Dad and brother are flying with Ryanair to the UK next week for a funeral. Flying out on Tuesday 25th, returning at 6:30am on Wednesday morning. How does that work for getting tested for the return? Thanks for any guidance.

If they get the express test in Dublin on the Monday afternoon, they could travel on that one test to cover both ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Have booked to fly from Dublin to London on 30th July.
    I presume the CTA will be up and running with no requirement for quarantining by then?

No one here can answer that question. We arent making then rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

No one here can answer that question. We arent making then rules

I'm asking for people's opinions.
    I'm not holding them responsible.

I'm asking for people's opinions.
    I'm not holding them responsible.

Well it depends. Different day, different opinion and different comment by Leo and Co.

I would assume that travel will still require tests and isolation at home. If not then bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Expect the worst and go from there imo. It might be grand but how much do you trust our government