If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭rogber

Skygord wrote: »
    Just sharing my experience of travel to the UK this past week...

Essential travel to visit my dying Mum, who I haven't seen for 17 months. I got there in time to spend her last 2 days with her before she passed.

Sorry for your loss and fair play to you for doing everything properly.

And if Ireland opens a travel bubble with the UK imminently while maintaining restrictions with the rest of Europe it'll be an absolute disgrace. The variant will spread here and that'll just ensure things open up more slowly than they already are.

Btw will you get tested on day 5 and if so where? It doesn't have to be another private test, I presume you're allowed go to a covid testing centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Why are the UK so panicked about the Indian variant ? Why is Germany now talking about enacting a effective ban on UK visitors ?

The vaccinated nursing staff in India who are directly treating Indian variant covid patients are absolutely fine. These nurses don’t even have symptoms never mind illness or deaths. So based on scientific cause and effect it’s 100% conclusive that the Indian variant is NOT more deadly than the original covid infection.

For a country (UK) so far ahead of Europe on vaccines administered its all a bit absurd tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭VG31

dalyboy wrote: »
    Why are the UK so panicked about the Indian variant ? Why is Germany now talking about enacting a effective ban on UK visitors ?

The vaccinated nursing staff in India who are directly treating Indian variant covid patients are absolutely fine. These nurses don’t even have symptoms never mind illness or deaths. So based on scientific cause and effect it’s 100% conclusive that the Indian variant is NOT more deadly than the original covid infection.

For a country (UK) so far ahead of Europe on vaccines administered its all a bit absurd tbf

It's the same situation as the UK variant back in December. The UK make a big deal of it, countries stopped flights from the UK. In the end it made no real difference, it still spread everywhere anyway.

What happened to the South African variant? It seems to have been forgotten about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Skygord

rogber wrote: »
    Sorry for your loss and fair play to you for doing everything properly.

And if Ireland opens a travel bubble with the UK imminently while maintaining restrictions with the rest of Europe it'll be an absolute disgrace. The variant will spread here and that'll just ensure things open up more slowly than they already are.

Btw will you get tested on day 5 and if so where? It doesn't have to be another private test, I presume you're allowed go to a covid testing centre?

Before I travelled I turned up at one of the HSE pop-up test centres without an appointment and got the free test then. It was the 1st thing I did after getting the call from family before even researching the protocols I figured I'd need one, so went and got it. Turns out it wasn't needed by the UK to arrive.

The one in the UK I paid for.

For the next one, on quarantine day 5 (today is day 2), the text I got from GOV.IE says
    You must self-quarantine for 14 days after travel. You can exit quarantine early by taking a PCR test with a 'not detected' result at least 5 days after arrival. Visit www.hse.ie/cvdtest for details of how to arrange a free test

That site is down due to the hacking right now, so it sounds like I just book one there. If not, I may just arrive at the pop-up test centre without an appointment again, or phone my GP for a referral. Anyway it'll be free it says.

I'll have to do all this again in a fortnight, but at least my vaccination last week will have kicked in, so I'll have more immunity by then.

Many thanks for your sympathy, and recognition - that 17 months was heartbreaking being away from her as she slowly deteriorated. My siblings live close by her care home, so once visiting was allowed again 6 weeks ago, she'd had some family visits again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Before I travelled I turned up at one of the HSE pop-up test centres without an appointment and got the free test then. It was the 1st thing I did after getting the call from family before even researching the protocols I figured I'd need one, so went and got it. Turns out it wasn't needed by the UK to arrive.

The one in the UK I paid for.

For the next one, on quarantine day 5 (today is day 2), the text I got from the HSE says

That site is down due to the hacking right now, so it sounds like I just book one there. If not, I may just arrive at the pop-up test centre without an appointment again, or phone my GP for a referral. Anyway it'll be free it says.

I'll have to do all this again in a fortnight, but at least my vaccination last week will have kicked in, so I'll have more immunity by then.

Many thanks for your sympathy, and recognition - that 17 months was heartbreaking being away from her as she slowly deteriorated. My siblings live close by her care home, so once visiting was allowed again 6 weeks ago, she'd had some family visits again.

Did the free test at the pop up centre work for travel into UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,991 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

They are far progressed on vaccination but with a lower relative uptake in the BAME community which is where the variant is being found. This taken with festivals such as Eid, crowded living and working settings makes them worried that it will multiply through those areas even if it does not escape the vaccines. The statistical projections look very scary but I take a huge bucket of salt with those. It does show up a bit of rush with Varadkar’s U.K. travel bubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭brickster69

Yeah you are right. Maybe they should stop all that surge testing and that Genome sequencing rubbish which is finding these variants in the first place.

Even worse announcing it to the rest of the world.Surely it would be better to just keep it quiet.

“Wars begin when you want them to, but they don’t end when you ask them to.”- Niccolò Machiavelli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Skygord

Did the free test at the pop up centre work for travel into UK?

All covered in my original post:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=117170107#post117170107

Sorry for your loss.

Yeah you are right. Maybe they should stop all that surge testing and that Genome sequencing rubbish which is finding these variants in the first place.

Even worse announcing it to the rest of the world.Surely it would be better to just keep it quiet.

Yeah , exactly. Great suggestions. Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Remember this? This speaks for itself, the same auld scaremongering especially from Sage:

https://twitter.com/blochairnbhoy/status/1393323830257635330?s=21

Rynaldo wrote: »
    Thats a bit of hope at least for him, thanks - would a letter from his GP explaining his mental health and isolation without any support bubble suffice, and where would he sent that letter to, or just show it at the airport? Sorry for all the questions, today was the first time I'd been in contact with him for a while and just hearing him sobbing I thought I need to find somewhere to end the hell he's going through

@Gozunda I'll have to do abit of research on that, but I dont think he'll mind trying to find a way around that as long as he can manage to get on Spanish soil, he's well on in years now and really just wants to see some family again. Not sure if that could be quantifiably differentiated from a lads trip to Benidorm etc

Thanks again for the responses lads.

Its sad that your unclde has been seperated for so long. mental health during these times is a genuine issue. Theres no reason why your uncle cannot travel as a Spanish resident. Either from Gardai or Spanish immigration.

PM me if you need any further advise that hasnt been covered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

VG31 wrote: »
    What happened to the South African variant? It seems to have been forgotten about.

My own take on it is that the more transmissible new varients (Kent, this India one) are outcompeting the SA variant. So the SA one just isn't "winning".

Micky 32 wrote: »

Once France is removed thats most holiday destinations removed.

France seem to be doing better now, cases are dropping. Probably be removed soon, time to stock up with a boot load of wine :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Rynaldo wrote: »
    Thats a bit of hope at least for him, thanks - would a letter from his GP explaining his mental health and isolation without any support bubble suffice, and where would he sent that letter to, or just show it at the airport? Sorry for all the questions, today was the first time I'd been in contact with him for a while and just hearing him sobbing I thought I need to find somewhere to end the hell he's going through

I've no idea bit I suggest you PM Niner who would know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 813 ✭✭✭ngunners

Micky 32 wrote: »
    France seem to be doing better now, cases are dropping. Probably be removed soon, time to stock up with a boot load of wine :pac:

Cases have dropped by almost 25% in the last 7 days and they have reached 20 million vaccinations today so they should be removed soon.

June 2nd (expiration of travel fine) and June 9th (Expiration of MHQ) really are key dates in the short term.

Have a funny feeling another month will be added onto the fine. Particularly if the CTA with UK is not set up due to Indian Variant.

ngunners wrote: »
    Cases have dropped by almost 25% in the last 7 days and they have reached 20 million vaccinations today so they should be removed soon.

Yeah. They’ve hit 20% + of their population jabbed now and proceeding very fast. It only makes sense for their mhq removal ASAP.

If France is taken off the MHQ that’ll leave only the 2k nonessential travel fine to tackle and a lot of families France summer 2021 is saved.

Considering the amount of carried credit for last year’s cancellations it’ll be a god send.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭skeogh82

I’ve a family member flying in from the UK on Monday morning and they have done their PCR test but they’ve just realised it will be 3 hours out of the 72 hour limit (i.e. they are due to land at 10am on Monday and the sample was taken at 7am on Friday) - do we think the airport will be strict about that because surely flights can be delayed etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,120 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

All the outdoor mask rules are putting me off travelling this summer.
    Maybe I shouldn’t let it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pouladuff_goal

skeogh82 wrote: »
    I’ve a family member flying in from the UK on Monday morning and they have done their PCR test but they’ve just realised it will be 3 hours out of the 72 hour limit (i.e. they are due to land at 10am on Monday and the sample was taken at 7am on Friday) - do we think the airport will be strict about that because surely flights can be delayed etc?

If a flight is delayed it is allowed but not taking a test outside of the 72 hours. They need to take another test as they risk being locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Gael23 wrote: »
    Maybe I shouldn’t let it

I'm in a country with masks outside, 4 cases today, 1 yesterday.. it's getting completely ridiculous enforcing it and naturally complience with it is dropping too.

The general assumption is that rule will be retired in June when tourists are officially welcomed for the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭mmclo

Corholio wrote: »
    But this seems to change from today right? No test needed travelling from Ireland.

Yes quite surprising, Belgium wants it to be 150/100,000 and there is talk of a Belgian, German Dutch bubble so we’re not the only ones trying to grapple with a CTA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭VG31

Gael23 wrote: »
    Maybe I shouldn’t let it

Same here, I really don't want to travel to somewhere with masks outside. I've always found it bizarre that you could be alone in the middle of nowhere and still technically have to wear a mask.

Although by the time I'm vaccinated they'll hopefully be gone anyway.

Yes, won't accept it. Might get past the flight staff but immigration here will reject it.

Better to get a second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭skeogh82

Yes, won't accept it. Might get past the flight staff but immigration here will reject it.

Better to get a second

Thanks for clarifying that - it was what I thought would be the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pouladuff_goal

Thanks for clarifying that - it was what I thought would be the case

It is also MHQ then as they will be arriving without a test. Definitely not worth the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Bellmeister

Not sure I understand why people think they shouldn;t open the CTA. The Indian variant is already in Ireland, there are too many cross border workers etc to prevent Ireland getting the same variants as britain. Ireland imposed MHQ on India travel later than the UK did, so is already more exposed. The Uk variant hotspots are areas with heavy south asian populations who have not taken the vaccine at the same rate as the general population, the suspicion is they have not been following the rules as closely and socialising during ramadan.

Infection rates overall in the Uk are around 1/4 of what there are in Ireland currently, even the Indian variant hotspots are less than 1/2 the infection rate Dublin has right now. If anything the Uk should be quarantining travellers from Ireland.

I know the populist view has been the Uk has been an infection hotspot compared to Ireland for the last 14 months but that is certainly not the current position. Ireland's Christmas reopening was a total disaster but this failure seems to have been ignored among all the 'we're bad but look at them' voyeurism of what has happened in britain.