Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

16 family members given vaccine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

silver2020 wrote: »
    so throw the remaining doses in the bin then?

Or measure correctly in the first place and guessing the 2 kids dont live within 5k of the Coombe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,416 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Or measure correctly in the first place and guessing the 2 kids dont live within 5k of the Coombe

So vaccinate less people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

It says 2 people then goes on to say 37. Which is it?

This a case of a misleading headline. When they realised there was extra vaccine they called the local GPs, some of whom attended or nominated someone and that used up 35 and then two relatives in the vulnerable category were also vaccinated.

Bit of a non story.

Bambi wrote: »
    Are we all saying that there arent any cleaning or catering staff in the Coombe with multiple categories for Covid vulnerabilities that they couldnt have jabbed before Billy Big Balls brought in a selection of relatives in for a family pack shot?

Are we f***k, pure nepotism, an example needs to be made to nip this in the bud or it will be open season. You'll have every cute hoor with pull in the HSE rocking up to a hospital with their aul pair.

How do you know who did or didn't get vaccinated? How many catering staff would be hanging around a hospital at 9.30 at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,541 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Because they measured correctly, there was excess vaccines.

The 2 adult "kids" work in the Coombe.

Faux outrage nothingburger being used as a political and point scoring football to get one over on the 'other side'. All of a sudden we have a bunch of armchair hospital coordinators telling everybody how their administration is substandard and they should have done x, y and z. The same bunch of slack-jawed yokels who
    1. wouldn't have been able to tell you yesterday what a "master of a hospital" was and
    2. would have been frothing at the mouth if the excess doses had been thrown in the bin

Par for the course in this modern world, as we spin ever more dangerously close into becoming USA version 2.0

And what's the final, bottom line from all this? We've people telling us now that they actually SHOULD have binned them instead of giving them to........*checks notes*..........people who worked in the hospital but happen to be related to one of the top brass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

hynesie08 wrote: »

You're stating you believe that there was no cleaner, no porter, no one else that was higher priority than the boss' sons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

silver2020 wrote: »
    I bet the master wishes he fuc ked the spare vaccines in the bin to please all the covid police and the snowflakes

Will those who are olympic gold medal standard whining (roisin "whine at everything" shortall in particular) understand that there was probably a window of 30-45minutes to use these last doses. They can't just be put back on the shelf for tomorrow or refrozen. They HAVE to be used within a few hours of coming out of the -70 freezer. Its not a "best before" it's a use it or lose it ticking clock.

And the top mans mammy and sproggs just happened to be on the premises or within spitting distance at the time that window suddenly opened, how fortunate.

I'd say the "last doses" had been earmarked for them long before any vial was pulled out of a freezer. :D

How do you know who did or didn't get vaccinated? How many catering staff would be hanging around a hospital at 9.30 at night?

Yes if there was a vaccine appointment they would hang around. Why wouldn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

This wasnt a mistake, it was a calculated act, the guy has to consider his position,you are defending theft

astrofool wrote: »
    Because they measured correctly, there was excess vaccines.

The 2 adult "kids" work in the Coombe.

Part time and on a voluntary basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

Faux outrage nothingburger being used as a political and point scoring football to get one over on the 'other side'. All of a sudden we have a bunch of armchair hospital coordinators telling everybody how their administration is substandard and they should have done x, y and z. The same bunch of slack-jawed yokels who

would have been frothing at the mouth if the excess doses had been thrown in the bin

Par for the course in this modern world, as we spin ever more dangerously close into becoming USA version 2.0

And what's the final, bottom line from all this? We've people telling us now that they actually SHOULD have binned them instead of giving them to........*checks notes*..........people who worked in the hospital but happen to be related to one of the top brass.

This reminds me of the posting in the summer when big Phil Hogan got himself in bother, plenty of posting on here about there being "nothing to see here " and "we can't afford to loose him"

Bambi wrote: »
    Are we all saying that there arent any cleaning or catering staff in the Coombe with multiple categories for Covid vulnerabilities that they couldnt have jabbed before Billy Big Balls brought in a selection of relatives in for a family pack shot?

Are we f***k, pure nepotism, an example needs to be made to nip this in the bud or it will be open season. You'll have every cute hoor with pull in the HSE rocking up to a hospital with their aul pair.

I'm out of Ireland for many years now but I think those defending nepotism won't change their tune until they're the victim of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

In public life an apology is more closely tied to what's prudent vs what's justified.

He apologised because it was politically worthwhile to do so. Whether or not he also happens to think it was warranted, we've no way to know.

He could come to regret it as the government and HSE hold him up as whipping boy to distract from bigger failures over his head.

See Jill, I'm old enough to have seen this type of behaviour go on in the past. Cute hoorism, cronyism, call it what you like but there are now more of these cases in the Rotunda, and in others front line staff are being overlooked by admin in other hospitals. In fact I actually expected this type of carry on to go on in the branch of the PS I'm working in prior to all of this hullabaloo.

What I welcome most of all from this is that directives will now more than likely come down the line now reminding management to stay well clear of this kind of practice and stick to the guidelines.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    You're stating you believe that there was no cleaner, no porter, no one else that was higher priority than the boss' sons?
    Did I say that? There were 1100 people vaccinated that day, do we know that the cleaners and porters weren't included?
    Yes if there was a vaccine appointment they would hang around. Why wouldn't they?

Catering staff knock off after dinner, you want them to hang around for four hours in case there's extra doses? You paying them for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,746 ✭✭✭circadian

Gotta hand it to the IT this clickbait has generated some amount of posts.

This is where we are now in the pandemic. No longer are we arguing about people about following guidelines (it's a small ask in most cases) and we'll now fall into the "whys they get the vaccine before me?" conspiracy ****e.

People need to wise up a bit, I couldn't care less as long as front line, teaching, retail and vulnerable get the vaccine in a reasonable time then I'm good to wait. Most of us should be good to hold on a bit longer instead of falling out and getting outraged by some clickbait non story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Goes back to the saying its easier to ask for forgiveness than permission.

Id rather not see the vaccine wasted if given to family members, however more thought should have been given to get guards or fire crews in to take the shots to stop waste as they front line. There will always be nepotism however this isnt the worst use, could have been better thought out.

Catering staff knock off after dinner, you want them to hang around for four hours in case there's extra doses? You paying them for that?

In case H? You're being a bit naïve here. The guidelines for the vaccine said they could get extra doses.

The boss's sons are voluntary and part time. I don't believe they were the highest priority available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭quokula

Part time and on a voluntary basis.

Good of you to sit frothing at the mouth with your disdain for people who choose to volunteer in their local hospital.

This wasnt a mistake, it was a calculated act, the guy has to consider his position,you are defending theft

If this was a calculated act, and an extra 120 people got vaccinated so he sneak a jab into his 2 kids, then he should be running the whole hse....

Fann Linn wrote: »
    See Jill, I'm old enough to have seen this type of behaviour go on in the past. Cute hoorism, cronyism, call it what you like but there are now more of these cases in the Rotunda, and in others front line staff are being overlooked by admin in other hospitals. In fact I actually expected this type of carry on to go on in the branch of the PS I'm working in prior to all of this hullabaloo.

What I welcome most of all from this is that directives will now more than likely come down the line now reminding management to stay well clear of this kind of practice and stick to the guidelines.

Exactly. I knew this would go on as I worked there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Goes back to the saying its easier to ask for forgiveness than permission.

Id rather not see the vaccine wasted if given to family members, however more thought should have been given to get guards or fire crews in to take the shots to stop waste as they front line. There will always be nepotism however this isnt the worst use, could have been better thought out.

If people accept it.

quokula wrote: »
    Good of you to sit frothing at the mouth with your disdain for people who choose to volunteer in their local hospital.

Thanks Q. I worked there long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭SteM

Exactly. I knew this would go on as I worked there.

How long since you worked in the HSE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭quokula

Fann Linn wrote: »

Unfortunately this will likely happen and a lot of vaccine will end up in the bin as people are worried they'll have a braying mob calling for their head if they try to do the right thing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

In case H? You're being a bit naïve here. The guidelines for the vaccine said they could get extra doses.

The EMA guidelines about extra doses were just published literally the same day this took place, which I believe was pointed out earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

circadian wrote: »
    Gotta hand it to the IT this clickbait has generated some amount of posts.

This is where we are now in the pandemic. No longer are we arguing about people about following guidelines (it's a small ask in most cases) and we'll now fall into the "whys they get the vaccine before me?" conspiracy ****e.

People need to wise up a bit, I couldn't care less as long as front line, teaching, retail and vulnerable get the vaccine in a reasonable time then I'm good to wait. Most of us should be good to hold on a bit longer instead of falling out and getting outraged by some clickbait non story.

This was where it was always going to end up and why we need a very clear and transparent view on it. Its why the government and public servants should have had a plan to deal with such occasions.

If there is a clear and fair plan nobody can complain and get outraged. This just makes it look like if you know the right people you can skip the queue. Its why it needed to be highlighted and why people need to be outraged.

What is to stop any hospital administration having a "few spares" ready to go on a daily basis.

SteM wrote: »
    How long since you worked in the HSE?

About 7 years ago but I kept in touch with the biochemistry departments and I'm still friends with some of the frontline staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

quokula wrote: »
    Unfortunately this will likely happen and a lot of vaccine will end up in the bin as people are worried they'll have a braying mob calling for their head if they try to do the right thing again.

We've had people in this thread ask for that very thing. I expect to see some of them in a forthcoming "why is roll out taking so long?" thread, and wouldn't bet against seeing them in a "Omg they're just THROWING OUT VACCINE?" one in the meantime.

It's crazy to throw them out but it's also crazy to give it to someone at the expense of a higher priority person. I don't believe the boss' part time, voluntary sons were the highest priority available.