Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

When will it all end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

bubblypop wrote: »
    There is a massive power plant outside the city I lived in, burning dirty brown coal. In the winter the smoke would lie about a metre off the ground and cover everything and everybody in thick smelly smoke.
    It also caused people, including me, to hack up big black sh1t from your lungs.
    Why would you think there is something wrong with someone wearing masks?

No thats different obviously. As a student I used to work in a body shop (many years ago). Had a mask on me several hours each day.

But you know what I mean. Summer in the city, sightseeing, (precovid) next you see a bunch of tourist walking around with masks. I wouldnt say I'd be the only one thinking 'wow'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

No thats different obviously. As a student I used to work in a body shop (many years ago). Had a mask on me several hours each day.

But you know what I mean. Summer in the city, sightseeing, (precovid) next you see a bunch of tourist walking around with masks. I wouldnt say I'd be the only one thinking 'wow'.

I would think wow as well.

I think me and you are gonna get called teenagers very soon. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I would think wow as well.

Well I did make a bit of an arse out of the conversation with Duderino. I wouldnt hold it against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,047 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

True that. As fas as I'm concerned people can bunker up and walk around in space suits if they like.

They will want you to wear a space suit as well.

Shame on you not wearing your spacesuit, science shows unequivocally that wearing space suits protects us all, people like you not wearing your space suit are the reason we need space suits in the first place.

I'm just assuming ye are!!

My gut feeling says thats on top of their daily job.

So would they do something extra, overtime essentially, for probably no extra pay? I would say they wouldnt do that, unless like super hard working or something. :pac:

what gibberish is this? Gardai get paid to attend court, if its during their normal shift, then no extra pay obviously. If its on their day off, then they get paid overtime. Again, I would have thought that was obvious.

They are also subject to discipline if they fail to attend court as its a mandatory requirement

They will want you to wear a space suit as well.

Shame on you not wearing your spacesuit, science shows unequivocally that wearing space suits protects us all, people like you not wearing your space suit are the reason we need space suits in the first place.

Dont be giving people ideas...

I have a question to all big rule followers out there, have you been triple masking? Triple masks reduce transmission more than single mask. You essentially put 3 masks on instead of just 1.

CalamriFritti must be getting a heart attack ;)

Teenagers dont get heart attacks :)

And funny enough - in the mask thread (shivers) they were talking about double layering and whatnot.

Teenagers dont get heart attacks :)

And funny enough - in the mask thread (shivers) they were talking about double layering and whatnot.

If you wear 9 masks then you reduce transmission by approx 98.23%. You may find it difficult to breathe but that doesnt matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Dont be giving people ideas...

I have a question to all big rule followers out there, have you been triple masking? Triple masks reduce transmission more than single mask. You essentially put 3 masks on instead of just 1.

CalamriFritti must be getting a heart attack ;)

Fauci in the States is advising double masking...it's just science!!!

Florida dropped mask mandates (and lockdowns) last Sept, doing just fine, better than the more compliant states...

Fauci in the States is advising double masking...it's just science!!!

Florida dropped mask mandates (and lockdowns) last Sept, doing just fine, better than the more compliant states...

Masks are the one thing that really dont seem to make a difference. And yet I fear they are the last thing to go in many countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

Masks are the one thing that really dont seem to make a difference. And yet I fear they are the last thing to go in many countries.
    I could see them being worn simply out of habit, particularly here in Ireland, months after they are no longer required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

If you wear 9 masks then you reduce transmission by approx 98.23%. You may find it difficult to breathe but that doesnt matter.

"Wouldn't it be worth it if we can save just 1 life?" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Bigfatmichael

Leave Dublin at level 5 and the rest of the high number counties and let the rest of us back to Level 3 to f*u*c*k.

Whats the point of all of us suffering.

Leave Dublin at level 5 and the rest of the high number counties and let the rest of us back to Level 3 to f*u*c*k.

Whats the point of all of us suffering.

Because many people travel INTO Dublin for work, socialising and college and then back out again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Because many people travel INTO Dublin for work, socialising and college and then back out again?

I was in Dublin today, it was like the twilight zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Risteard81

Dickie10 wrote: »
    off licences need to be shut asap, before Easter especially. madness having pubs shut and still people can fuel up on durt cheap alcohol. need to ban sale of drink outright to stop house parties
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Risteard81 wrote: »
    No.

why not? stop house parties just til after easter

bubblypop wrote: »
    There is a massive power plant outside the city I lived in, burning dirty brown coal. In the winter the smoke would lie about a metre off the ground and cover everything and everybody in thick smelly smoke.
    It also caused people, including me, to hack up big black sh1t from your lungs.
    Why would you think there is something wrong with someone wearing masks?

Because he is a total moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dublin_paul

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    I was in Dublin today, it was like the twilight zone.

I drive into Dublin to pick up my gf every so often and it's been pretty damn quiet since Christmas, drive along south william street and it's been nice to see the steps be empty after the semi-permanent session on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Dickie10 wrote: »
    why not? stop house parties just til after easter

Yeah, let's punish the majority of drinkers who enjoy a few drinks at the weekend after a long week at work because of a few teenagers having house parties. :rolleyes:

There's some people who won't be happy until everyone in the country is sitting at home 24/7 staring at a blank wall drinking water and eating bread until our embarrassment of a government ease restrictions.

Because he is a total moron.

24 posts in 7 years. And this is one of them. I dont think boards is for you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Why not just wear as many as many masks that you can fit on your face. Maybe we should all compete with each other to see who can wear the most masks. With a big fat blue peter badge going to the person who can wear the most masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

GT89 wrote: »
    Why not just wear as many as many masks that you can fit on your face. Maybe we should all compete with each other to see who can wear the most masks. With a big fat blue peter badge going to the person who can wear the most masks.

Look at the state of the thread. 9 masks, imaginary stats, masochistic fantasy about government never letting go of lockdown power, ignoring or rubbishing the actual good news that’s coming out. Sad to see people show such faux outrage and trivialise such a serious question.

But in relation to the thread question, here are some indications about when we should see some changes.

“Tight restrictions could remain until early May, a Cabinet committee has heard, but some primary school pupils and Leaving Certificate students are on course to return to school in early March.”

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0218/1197991-cabinet-schools/

The news is pretty positive. The people who are most pessimistic and only want to whinge about the situation seem to be totally disinterested by the actual news about the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Woke up the other day and before I could even boil the kettle, our clown act of a Taoiseach had already casually extended lockdown by a month in a radio interview. Drops another month on us tonight via an interview with a tabloid rag as we are about to go to bed, most of the country oblivious.

Fcuk off, honestly.

Lundstram wrote: »
    Woke up the other day and before I could even boil the kettle, our clown act of a Taoiseach had already casually extended lockdown by a month in a radio interview. Drops another month on us tonight via an interview with a tabloid rag as we are about to go to bed, most of the country oblivious.

Fcuk off, honestly.

Who told you it would end in March or April?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Look at the state of the thread. 9 masks, imaginary stats, masochistic fantasy about government never letting go of lockdown power, ignoring or rubbishing the actual good news that’s coming out. Sad to see people show such faux outrage and trivialise such a serious question.

But in relation to the thread question, here are some indications about when we should see some changes.

“Tight restrictions could remain until early May, a Cabinet committee has heard, but some primary school pupils and Leaving Certificate students are on course to return to school in early March.”

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0218/1197991-cabinet-schools/

The news is pretty positive. The people who are most pessimistic and only want to whinge about the situation seem to be totally disinterested by the actual news about the situation.

A return to normality should be expected by the people immediately not in March not in May but NOW. There should be pressure from the people in order to get the lockdown lifted and not just lift the 5km restriction and open some businesses but open all businesses remove the mask and social distancing guidelines and get on with life as normal vaccine or not.

Allow us to fill our football stadiums, our pubs and our workplaces just like Florida where there are zero covid restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,511 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Why do you keep posting this condescending exaggerated nonsense? Show me posts where some have said “ in a few weeks”? Or do you post this shyte to make you seem more relevent on here or something?

There are plenty here who are and were adamant that vaccinating some old people would be enough to open up the country completely.

We had posters try and claim that 30,000 cases a day would be ok, so long as we had ICU capacity!?

It is the prevailing mood among many that we should open up sooner rather than wait.

You even dismissed a poll on the matter, because of your own 'lived' experience.

The posting history of users is there to all to see.

GT89 wrote: »
    A return to normality should be expected by the people immediately not in March not in May but NOW. There should be pressure from the people in order to get the lockdown lifted and not just lift the 5km restriction and open some businesses but open all businesses remove the mask and social distancing guidelines and get on with life as normal vaccine or not.

Allow us to fill our football stadiums, our pubs and our workplaces just like Florida where there are zero covid restrictions.

Sure. Sure.

Meanwhile, back in reality...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Micky 32

markodaly wrote: »

You even dismissed a poll on the matter, because of your own 'lived' experience.

Once again the random poll you posted painted a different picture than the picture I’m experiencing out there. I dismissed it because i think it’s shyte. It’s simple you stick with your poll and i’ll stick with real life experience.

Most posters on here don’t want “ open everything now” most posters would like restrictions eased in correlation with vaccinations and numbers/hospital cases dropping. You seem to like to mock them posters, i guess it makes you feel almighty or something.