Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tina Satchwell *Mod note in op*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

A claim of being pregnant is a trump card to trot out for getting off without a custodial sentence.

Or another one is expressing an intent to get pregnant in the near future and that going to jail would prevent that, and goes against the right to found a family. So the court is stuck, they might have to leave her off no matter what vile crime she's done.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭corks finest

A claim of being pregnant is a trump card to trot out for getting off without a custodial sentence.

Or another one is expressing an intent to get pregnant in the near future and that going to jail would prevent that, and goes against the right to found a family. So the court is stuck, they might have to leave her off no matter what vile crime she's done.

Murder is custodial manslaughter sometimes not, irrespective of circumstances

• Registered Users Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭corks finest

To be honest I would have the greatest of sympathy with cases where a woman was tormented and bullied and abused with years to the point that she would snap and kill him.
    I think no woman in that situation should be imprisoned. They suffered enough cruel degrading treatment during their marriages.

Equally a man on that situation?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,613 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Cona wrote: »
    Ya...the point I was making was that the guards would have to of exhausted other areas for her going missing before spending €€€ on a huge dig operation. That leads me to believe the is zero CCTV evidence etc of her leaving on bus/taxi/car etc. Personally I think the guards suspect the worst but have very little evidence.

Its a really bizarre feature of this case that despite them living in Youghal town centre there is no CCTV of her movements after she is supposed to have left the house. It was 4 days before Richard reported her missing but AFAIK most businesses keep their CCTV recordings for about a month before they record over it. It definitely seems strange that no CCTV footage of her seems to exist, if it did Gardai would be including it as part of their appeals to the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭tara73

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Its a really bizarre feature of this case that despite them living in Youghal town centre there is no CCTV of her movements after she is supposed to have left the house. It was 4 days before Richard reported her missing but AFAIK most businesses keep their CCTV recordings for about a month before they record over it. It definitely seems strange that no CCTV footage of her seems to exist, if it did Gardai would be including it as part of their appeals to the public.

thinking the same. there's so much strangenes in this case regarding behaviour of AGS. Starting with, according to Richard, searching the house without his permission. Who knows if this is true, but they should defo have searched the house. Examining the boot of his car after 6 month when he was about to sell it. As you said, obviously no single CCTV footage secured. There might be an explanation for all this, but never heard any. Did they really just considered her disappearance as suspicious after 6 month of her missing without any trace? Mindboggling.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

tara73 wrote: »
    thinking the same. there's so much strangenes in this case regarding behaviour of AGS. Starting with, according to Richard, searching the house without his permission. Who knows if this is true, but they should defo have searched the house. Examining the boot of his car after 6 month when he was about to sell it. As you said, obviously no single CCTV footage secured. There might be an explanation for all this, but never heard any. Did they really just considered her disappearance as suspicious after 6 month of her missing without any trace? Mindboggling.

I think we can take a lot of what was said in various interviews fairly lightly tbf.

From various AGS reports it would appear the house was searched early on. With the investigation from that time and which is still ongoing. . I believe the issue of cctv coverage came up previously. Afaik the adjoining credit union was reported to have a cctv camera but I believe it may not have been working at the time of Tina's disappearance.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/no-cctv-on-possible-route-of-missing-wife-satchwell-9l7tr0n6f

You would still have thought though that if she was on foot as claimed there is no way she could have left the town of Youghal without being picked up on CCTV somewhere. To me either the Gardai did not secure this CCTV in time before it got recorded over or else the claim she left on foot is not true.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

You would still have thought though that if she was on foot as claimed there is no way she could have left the town of Youghal without being picked up on CCTV somewhere. To me either the Gardai did not secure this CCTV in time before it got recorded over or else the claim she left on foot is not true.

But another possibility is that she was taken away by some person or persons unknown. Perhaps someone called to the house while Mr Satchwell was out, and Tina was overpowered in a struggle, and dragged away. So she left in someone's car and that's why she was never seen!

PS Just one, absolutely speculative theory to possibly explain that apparent "disappearance"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Day Lewin wrote: »
    But another possibility is that she was taken away by some person or persons unknown. Perhaps someone called to the house while Mr Satchwell was out, and Tina was overpowered in a struggle, and dragged away. So she left in someone's car and that's why she was never seen!

PS Just one, absolutely speculative theory to possibly explain that apparent "disappearance"

With no signs of a struggle in the house? That doesn't even classify as speculative.

• Registered Users Posts: 853 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

JeffKenna wrote: »
    With no signs of a struggle in the house? That doesn't even classify as speculative.

And no one saw or heard anything? .....................next!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Day Lewin wrote: »

Jesus Christ in Heaven.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,198 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Red FM are highlighting some of their great interviews on Facebook and they are after sharing Richards!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Red FM are highlighting some of their great interviews on Facebook and they are after sharing Richards!

One of Prenderville's finer moments, but the bar was set low to be fair.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

foxyladyxx wrote: »
    And no one saw or heard anything? .....................next!

No one saw or heard anything, anyway. Whatever happened!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

One of Prenderville's finer moments, but the bar was set low to be fair.

Agreed, this was all discussed on the closed thread. It was a good interview, Prenderville was excellent and Richard was filtering the info claiming he couldn't say certain stuff as Tina wouldn't like it.

Handy.

Richard is smarter than I thought. He does the whole "Bertie" gormless act, but after looking at the Prenderville interview I'm thinking he's a bit of a cute hoer. The fact that he did time for welfare fraud in Ireland is telling. Realistically, in Ireland you have the be creaming it in and taking the piss to actually go to prison. Usually there's some sort of recompensation deal. Not sure if he refused a deal and went to prison instead. Whatever he did, it stinks of money hungry greediness.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,198 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Here is the interview if anybody is interested!

https://www.facebook.com/corksredfm/videos/10155468521002060

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Agreed, this was all discussed on the closed thread. It was a good interview, Prenderville was excellent and Richard was filtering the info claiming he couldn't say certain stuff as Tina wouldn't like it.

Handy.

Richard is smarter than I thought. He does the whole "Bertie" gormless act, but after looking at the Prenderville interview I'm thinking he's a bit of a cute hoer. The fact that he did time for welfare fraud in Ireland is telling. Realistically, in Ireland you have the be creaming it in and taking the piss to actually go to prison. Usually there's some sort of recompensation deal. Not sure if he refused a deal and went to prison instead. Whatever he did, it stinks of money hungry greediness.

I've stopped posting in this thread as genuinely confused what is allowed and isn't.

This post is hinting at possible Richard involvement.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I've stopped posting in this thread as genuinely confused what is allowed and isn't..

I don't think I've violated any rules.
    This post is hinting at possible Richard involvement.

Not at all. I'm just commenting on the interview that's out there in the public domain and his incarceration that's also well known. I think he's smarter than he lets on and claiming he wasn't fully transparent in the interview. Which he wasn't. I'm not pointing the finger, just highlighting the facts that are out there.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Here is the interview if anybody is interested!

https://www.facebook.com/corksredfm/videos/10155468521002060
    I’m just after watching that for the first time.
    Fair play to him for remaining so composed throughout especially how he says how he is so emotional that one of the dogs licks the tears off him every night!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,875 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Did she actually get back home I wonder on the day of the car boot sale?

That may explain the lack of sightings of her in Youghal.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Did she actually get back home I wonder on the day of the car boot sale?

That may explain the lack of sightings of her in Youghal.

That’s exactly what o was thinking. Might never have returned home after car boot sale hence why no sittings on supposed day she left.....

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭NutmegGirl

No clue how to add in a link but Examiner (news app) are reporting that after finding more skeletal remains on Friday it looks like it’s an older woman than TS , seems to be a near complete skeleton , waiting for DNA results now with no expected date at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

NutmegGirl wrote: »
    No clue how to add in a link but Examiner (news app) are reporting that after finding more skeletal remains on Friday it looks like it’s an older woman than TS , seems to be a near complete skeleton , waiting for DNA results now with no expected date at the moment

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40209380.html

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

The search of the site has now ended as the focus switches to the results of DNA tests on the remains.

The latest find on Friday was the third significant recovery of a collection of remains during the painstaking search of a site near Midleton since January 5.

While gardaí remain tightlipped on the details, it is believed this latest find has only deepened the mystery of who this person may have been.

They are working on the belief that all the remains found belong to the same individual, and while it was initially believed that the remains were those of a male, the various discoveries since have led gardaí to suspect that the remains are those of an older female, pending official DNA analysis.

Samples taken from various bones have now been sent for specialist tests at the Forensic Science Ireland labs.

So not Tina but as to who is a bigger mystery. Sounds like the bones are from someone not associated with the east Cork area at all and may have been moved there.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

From the link posted at the beginning of the thread:
    Gardaí believe the bones, some of which were found wrapped in cloth with a small piece of religious jewellery, are more recent than initially suspected. However, preliminary indications are that the remains do not fit the profile of any of Cork's major missing person cases.
    However, one source indicated all the preliminary signs point towards the woman involved being aged somewhere between 55 and 85 years. Fragments of disintegrated clothing found at the scene are also consistent with belonging to a much older woman.
    Gardaí said they are satisfied Tina never left Ireland.

However, preliminary indications are that the remains found in Midleton are those of a much older woman and that they have likely been in situ for longer than five years.
    Very strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod

Speculative comments deleted

Whoever this person turns out to be, it would be great to bring closure to a family, and possibly even justice to whoever put her there, if not accidental.

It’s a curious case- the media haven’t speculated or featured any “disappeared” from the last 30 years as far as I can tell- they seem to be pointing towards someone 55 or upwards of that age in recent articles - I wonder is it a non- national- they may not even be reported as missing in this country.

There was a strange case recently of a woman who was only recently reported missing even though her family knew she was missing for over 20-30 years- she was Irish but living in UK and Spain at the time so you never know how this story might develop- DNA might give an indication as to whether they’re mainly of Irish origin or European or somewhere else. The “nightclothes” is bizarre. May they get to rest in peace soon whoever they are .

• Registered Users Posts: 32 abitofcheese

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

To me this isn’t ruling anyone out just yet