Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

They are out in force this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

jusvi2001 wrote: »
    Looks like no sign of opening schools soon. school send us a note about the mid term holidays. congratulations teachers union. kids are the only losers here.

Hard to imagine all the subs money we've paid to unions went to cooking up covid varients to beat vaccines, who'd have thunk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭deiseindublin

Take my advice and ignore each and every poster that registered after March last year. Your mental health will be a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

Gradius wrote: »
    Yes, months, since before Christmas.

What country are you working from?

If it wasn't specifically stated " in the circular", you shouldn't be worried about declaring that you're working from a beach in the Mediterranean, right?

Cos I bet you just so happened not to choose working from a bog in roscommon instead :p

Aka taking the pisss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

This is great. One bloke refusing to accept that teachers are off abroad getting paid full time, and then here you are...

Where are you so?

For me to know and you to wonder about.

16-17° in Magaluf this week

I'm sitting on the beach while teaching.

Living the dream

For me to know and you to wonder about.

I already know some teachers are off abroad in the sun pretending to work.

That you might or might not be doing it means little to me.

However, for those that refuse to accept that such a thing is happening, now all they need do is look at your posts.

It is happening, and if it were to "come out", so to speak, it would rightfully be scandalous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Unless I start naming names, no, no evidence. Believe it or not.

I know literally hundreds of teachers, fair few in my family too, they are all in the country. Most of us have to tip in and out of school to drop things to kids, give them extra resources, drop food etc I was on an in-service with a few dozen teachers all day on Tuesday, literally every teacher in several dozen schools was on this. I teach half the day live, I have at least 3 hours of live classes every day.
    Ahh c'mon.. Pull the other one..

Half the classes are YouTube videos or PowerPoints, no real homework to speak of... Its easy street...

Again, most schools I know are teaching at least half their classes live. How many schools are in the survey you carried out?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,406 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Gradius, tone down the hyperbole please

I know literally hundreds of teachers, fair few in my family too, they are all in the country. Most of us have to tip in and out of school to drop things to kids, give them extra resources, drop food etc I was on an in-service with a few dozen teachers all day on Tuesday, literally every teacher in several dozen schools was on this. I teach half the day live, I have at least 3 hours of live classes every day.

Again, most schools I know are teaching at least half their classes live. How many schools are in the survey you carried out?

Ah c'mon, man. Can you not see the posts on this very page?

I'm not saying all teachers are taking the mickey but look at the bloody posts above. Pretending to work while breaking every restriction the n the book by doing it from sun holidays?

And that's just a rough indication, not counting the ones I actually know for a fact are laughing their heads off at the gullibility.

Sweet jaaaayyysus :p

I already know some teachers are off abroad in the sun pretending to work.

That you might or might not be doing it means little to me.

However, for those that refuse to accept that such a thing is happening, now all they need do is look at your posts.

It is happening, and if it were to "come out", so to speak, it would rightfully be scandalous.

Ring Joe. Be the whistle-blower.

They are out in force this evening.

Only a bit of craic, wudnt take this place seriously.

I can barely concentrate. The DJ is playing some serious songs at this beach party.

Ah c'mon, man. Can you not see the posts on this very page?

I'm not saying all teachers are taking the mickey but look at the bloody posts above. Pretending to work while breaking every restriction the n the book by doing it from sun holidays?

And that's just a rough indication, not counting the ones I actually know for a fact are laughing their heads off at the gullibility.

Sweet jaaaayyysus :p

Sweet jaaaayysus is about right.

Necro wrote: »
    Mod:

Gradius, tone down the hyperbole please

What hyperbole?

I stated, truthfully, that I know some teachers are off on sun holidays while getting paid to "work".

Then a few people chime in basically confirming what I'm saying.

There's only hyperbole if you refuse to accept that this happening.

I can barely concentrate. The DJ is playing some serious songs at this beach party.

Thank god for voice to text. Both hands full.

Jaysus I'm in the middle of a city and my internet is sketchy.......can't imagine it'd be any good on a beach in marbella or wherever we are meant to be

I'm not usually one for beach holidays but I'd take anything resembling a holiday now!

"She's a maniac, maniac on the floor
    And she's dancin'
    And she's dancin' like she never did before..."

We all had the CAO boys....... laser lights an' all.

Buenas Noches, my friends

Yeah, from stating "it isn't in the circular", to sweating you might be found out and playing it off as a joke.

Very believable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,434 ✭✭✭✭km79

jusvi2001 wrote: »
    Every other sector is working hard and taking risk to keep this country running with exception to teachers who feels they are at huge risk if the schools are open. Regarding payment and holidays ...there are not many who earn full salary & holidays and get to stay at home. so consider yourself lucky.

My earlier question is very pertinent now

There are not many workers earning full salary and annual leave benefits whilst working from home.
    I mean do you REALLY believe that .
    You surely don’t unless you have your head buried in the sand roaring at those dastardly teachers who have wronged you

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,406 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

What hyperbole?

I stated, truthfully, that I know some teachers are off on sun holidays while getting paid to "work".

Then a few people chime in basically confirming what I'm saying.

There's only hyperbole if you refuse to accept that this happening.

Mod:

Threadbanned

km79 wrote: »
    My earlier question is very pertinent now

There are not many workers earning full salary and annual leave benefits whilst working from home.
    I mean do you REALLY believe that .
    You surely don’t unless you have your head buried in the sand roaring at those dastardly teachers who have wronged you

Literally every college educated friend I have, who isn't in the medical or research field, is working from home. Every single one of them......data analyst, marketing execs, insurance, accountants, HR etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

16-17° in Magaluf this week

I'm sitting on the beach while teaching.

Living the dream

Rookie error. There are much nicer, and warmer, places to "work from home". Be careful at the airport on the way home. You don't want a fine putting a hole in your large salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,434 ✭✭✭✭km79

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0208/1195680-covid-ireland/

Teachers heading on their holidays to Northern Ireland as well . I mean it has to be teachers . All of them .
    I don’t have names or anything like that .
    Just my own evidence .
    They are all teachers .
    Bad , lazy, Ireland hating teachers

Necro wrote: »
    Mod:

Threadbanned

Absolutely ridiculous.

Talk about a biased thread.

Do you want me to forward you a list of names in pm? I'm being serious.

And then you can personally ring the schools and see where the hyperbole lies.

Yes or no?

Mod: Week off for breaching your threadban

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

the numbers are very low and have been for last week.

whats going to happen if schools dont open soon is the vast majority of parents are going to turn on their teachers -
    i know nobody with school age children who agrees with the schools being closed and some of the abuse i hear thrown around about teachers can be rough.
    one of my co workers wife is a teacher and he has to listen to it. he did try and protest but another colleague told him if he did not like it he should go home and hide like his wife.

the longer the schools stay closed the more stressful being a teacher is going to be in the medium term.

Neagra wrote: »

whats going to happen if schools dont open soon is the vast majority of parents are going to turn on their teachers -
    i know nobody with school age children who agrees with the schools being closed and some of the abuse i hear thrown around about teachers can be rough.
    one of my co workers wife is a teacher and he has to listen to it. he did try and protest but another colleague told him if he did not like it he should go home and hide like his wife.

the longer the schools stay closed the more stressful being a teacher is going to be in the medium term.

Cool story if any of that happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

I fooking well know so.

How many of these teachers are actually being checked in on to see where they are?

Not all of them, that's 100% fact.

There you go people, 100% fact teachers are live teaching from over in Spain literally :pac: ffs haha

The same begrudgers will give out about teachers and most people will simply and reasonably continue to believe, like in most professions, there are very good teachers, very bad teachers and a middle majority who do an adequate job. Saying teachers should go back in case people are mean to them is a strange angle.

Numbers starting to look more manageable, I really hope we are back shortly after midterm. I'd be worried about the number of other countries closing schools and seemingly keeping them closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Its government politicians where blame lies for no date for school reopening lies. There quite happy to see teacher's &unions taking the flak over this.

Its not unions & teachers we elect to form government & make laws & take decisions. Anyone reading this who is a parent of school going children & believes schools should have had a reopening date by now,please make contact with all your local elected representatives on this matter & let them hear it.

Posting on here alone won't make it happen any sooner.

Numbers starting to look more manageable, I really hope we are back shortly after midterm. I'd be worried about the number of other countries closing schools and seemingly keeping them closed.

Country to watch is Israel and what they are doing seeing as they are so far down the vaccination route.