Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you bring back or bring in if you were the Taoiseach of the Country?

I'd get rid of the current shambolic thing we have going on in the Dáil - 100s on the gravy train and each doing nothing constructive.
    I'd have one person voted in to do the job.
    I'd have affordable rent to buy properties for people who are working and need it.
    I'd have better ameneties for children in every town.
    Id stop automatic signing on for dole at 18.
    I'd overhaul the whole immigration choas and have a points based system--and have the economic migrants removed within the week.
    I'd suspend social welfare and rent allowance for parents of teens or kids who break the law.
    I'd have more access to any course/upskill any individual wanted to do.
    And last but not least id kick all those as#holes out of Leinster house with pleasure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Tonnes of info available that show US states with the death penalty have higher murder rates than those without death penalty. Worth a Google if you're interested

• Registered Users Posts: 33,256 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I bet in the countries with the death penalty the recidivism rate is 0%, that works for me.

I don't think a recidivism rate of 0% exists in any country on the planet...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Congratulations, your reading is 100%. Top of the class. Hence the sentence, “ For the likes of Joe Reilly or Graham Dwyer, that would mean life without parole rather than death.”

So, you're post doesn't make sense.
    With DNA we can prove who is a murderer? Well, not necessarily because we can prove murder without DNA, not all murders rely on DNA testing, so you think we should kill murderers who are convicted using DNA evidence, but not murderers convicted without?
    Basically, you believe DNA is magic and any.convictions without it are shakey?

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭COVID

Genuine racial and gender equality, based on equality of opportunity. (no quotas or reserved places for genders)

No preferential treatment for any gender or racial group. (removal of special status for Travellers)

Genuine equality in the courts, and sentencing of offenses. Extension of sentences to truly be punishing for serious crime.

Capital punishment for gun related crime, and murder.

Cut out all payments to NGOs related to gender, racial, or immigrant agendas.

Deportation orders carried out for every single undocumented migrant, and any migrants/refugees who have been denied access but remain in the country.

Political accountability for all politicians and public administrators, with serious jail time for negligence, or corruption.

Abolish the current political parties, and call for new parties to be formed by people with no previous experience as politicians. A new clean slate.

You left out 'making the trains run on time'!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ban rugby for U18s

So they start playing at 18 with no concept of how to make a safe tackle? I mean, if you want to ensure the game is more dangerous, sure.

COVID wrote: »
    You left out 'making the trains run on time'!

So you think I'm Mussolini? Can't say I'm too bothered by that.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭COVID

So you think I'm Mussolini? Can't say I'm too bothered by that.

At least you're honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They barely agreed on anything. Probably would have gone to civil war if they had succeeded.

They weren't democratic genii. There's a few good statements in there alright but like any politicians they could have argued them this way and that.

Some good individuals, but some nutters, dreamers, failed poets, socialists (that won't wash in Holy Catholic Ireland).
    They'd have fought with each other if they weren't fighting British forces.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Interest rates in the high teens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I don't think a recidivism rate of 0% exists in any country on the planet...

Pretty hard for a dead lad to murder anyone. Impossible i'd say.

bubblypop wrote: »
    So, you're post doesn't make sense.
    With DNA we can prove who is a murderer? Well, not necessarily because we can prove murder without DNA, not all murders rely on DNA testing, so you think we should kill murderers who are convicted using DNA evidence, but not murderers convicted without?
    Basically, you believe DNA is magic and any.convictions without it are shakey?

I'll explain slowly for you.

When there is conclusive DNA evidence that person A murdered person B (blood, semen, GSR, hair, skin etc) we can put them to death.

When it is circumstantial evidence, beyond a reasonable doubt, we can give them life in prison. I believe we'll soon find out how shaky Graham Dwyer's conviction was.

No magic, we can only use the evidence we have at hand. A criminal won't always leave DNA.

When there is conclusive DNA evidence that person A murdered person B (blood, semen, GSR, hair, skin etc) we can put them to death.

When it is circumstantial evidence, beyond a reasonable doubt, we can give them life in prison. I believe we'll soon find out how shaky Graham Dwyer's conviction was.

No magic, we can only use the evidence we have at hand. A criminal won't always leave DNA.

No, that doesn't make sense.
    You are treating DNA like it is magic, perhaps you don't understand how evidence works.
    Just because there is DNA evidence, it does not mean person A murdered person B, there must be other evidence.
    Graham Dwyer being released on data protection issues is a technicality.

Either you believe in the death penalty for murderers or you don't. Having the death penalty reliant on what type of evidence convicted someone is ridiculous and most definitely not just.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭atilladehun

But why? The death penalty increases the murder rate in the USA. It's the opposite of a deterrent.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I hate these threads. They bring out the grumpy old man in everyone so they do

• Registered Users Posts: 29,071 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I hate these threads. They bring out the grumpy old man in everyone so they do

What happens if you like being a grumpy young man, i want a tread for that!

Wealth taxes, and fast, particularly related to property and land!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

Why doesn't the woman sort her financial and employment situation out? Why are you holding the man solely responsible when this is clearly a two way street?

Lots of women are forced into it and trafficked here to service clients. Even in NL where it is legal a lot are doing it against their will and are victims.

Teachers to have to work during the summer holidays.

Who else gets to lol around on taxpayers money for the best 10 weeks of the year.

Have them out doing community work/adult education etc. Make it part of the job for secondary teachers to correct the Junior and LC not getting paid extra as a nixer for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    What happens if you like being a grumpy young man, i want a tread for that!

Wealth taxes, and fast, particularly related to property and land!

Taxes are great when they're for other people to pay

Mimon wrote:
    Who else gets to lol around on taxpayers money for the best 10 weeks of the year.

What's the Craic with some none teachers And their attitude towards the profession, were they rejected from the profession or something!

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    What's the Craic with some none teachers And their attitude towards the profession, were they rejected from the profession or something!

Proably just jealousy of the perks of the job on my part :pac:.

Know teachers that have had 4 years off on full pay as they took maternity leave that ended just as the summer holidays began, then a couple more pregnancies nicely timed.

I have to be content with statutory minimum of holidays and I had 2 weeks of paternity on feckin 240 a week and the government were a smug about how great they were paying for paternity now!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Funny how women have been putting up with that payment for mat leave for years, but it only suddenly becomes an issue when men are entitled to it and realise how little it is......:rolleyes:

shesty wrote: »
    Funny how women have been putting up with that payment for mat leave for years, but it only suddenly becomes an issue when men are entitled to it and realise how little it is......:rolleyes:

Nice whataboutery :rolleyes:

Not if you work for the government. You get full pay for multiple months!

Public floggings.

Taxes are great when they're for other people to pay

some other people and businesses have decided themselves, its not for them to pay, and use their positions to guarantee it

But why? The death penalty increases the murder rate in the USA. It's the opposite of a deterrent.

In what way does it increase the murder rate??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Mimon wrote: »
    Teachers to have to work during the summer holidays.

Have them out doing community work/adult education etc. Make it part of the job for secondary teachers to correct the Junior and LC not getting paid extra as a nixer for it.

To be fair to teachers, the money they get during holidays is taken out of their salary during school term and paid to them throughout holidays so its not 'tax payers money' its their own money that they worked for.
    Teachers already correct JC & LC exams, who else do you think corrects them? They get paid very little for it, like not even worth doing the pay is so ****e.

As for adult ed, there are already fully qualified adult ed teachers to fill those roles and from what im told, its difficult even for qualified professionals to get full time employment in the adult education sector, to add to that, most adult education services have the same holidays as secondary schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,256 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Pretty hard for a dead lad to murder anyone. Impossible i'd say.

You specficically said "countries" not individuals.
    I bet in the countries with the death penalty the recidivism rate is 0%, that works for me.

So yeah: no such country.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

In what way does it increase the murder rate??

There's research showing that the numbers of murders decrease (not all crime, the focus was on murder and similar crimes) when capital punishment has been removed from a country. In some cases, the drop is significant, in others not so much, but there's only one country where the rate actually increased (Georgia, I think).

This research is used to show that capital punishment doesn't work... although, I don't see much in the way of anything else that works either. As long as capital punishment isn't working, everything else is better, even though, their lack of success in reforming criminals, especially violent criminals is telling.

All the same I'd still be in favor of capital punishment for repeat offenders of violent crimes. It might not be a deterrent, but then, obviously nothing else is a deterrent, if someone has a number of convictions under their belt. Still.. that won't be accepted by most of those who are against capital punishment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭riddles

Wibbly wobbly wonder ice creams, the country seems to have lurched from crisis to crisis since they were taken off the market. Perusing the ice cream fridge is simply not the same. I know there’s still maxi twists and ice bergers...... but they didn’t need to go!