Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three dead as woman beheaded in France

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

What's too many though?

2. That's too many. A token one might be fine, in a zoo or something. Put 2 of the bastards together though and they'll start hatching plans and campaigning for more bloodthirsty barbarians to be let in to join them.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Frankie Machine

Strazdas wrote: »
    Such a referendum now would be deeply, deeply divisive and would provoke strong anti-immigrant sentiments. The atmosphere would be toxic.

There were reports of Polish people and others being verbally abused on the streets in Britain in the wake of the Brexit vote and being told to "go home" : and that wasn't even supposed to be an immigration referendum.

A referendum on leaving the EU might provoke such a reaction to Poles and other EU citizens who can live and work here freely, though I doubt it.

However, the Irish people can easily distinguish between the concept of EU freedom of movement in an EU of which we are part, and on the other hand, the foisting of Direct Provision centres in remote parts of the land.

Your post stinks of the very pusillanimity which has us where we are.

You're making feeble excuses for the status quo.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,054 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

A referendum on leaving the EU might provoke such a reaction to Poles and other EU citizens who can live and work here freely, though I doubt it.

However, the Irish people can easily distinguish between the concept of EU freedom of movement in an EU of which we are part, and on the other hand, the foisting of Direct Provision centres in remote parts of the land.

Your post stinks of the very pusillanimity which has us where we are.

You're making feeble excuses for the status quo.

Nothing good would come from such a referendum in the current period. There would be no 'mature and intelligent debate' ; instead, it would be tribal and toxic with immigrants / asylum seekers getting the fall out (which would probably seen as a desirable outcome by some of the actors in the campaign).

What do you mean by 'the current period' ?

When/why will it ever be the 'right period' ?

It isn't enough to say that 'nothing good would come from such a referendum', just because the campaign or the fall out would be unpleasant, or because some people would actually wish to see that unpleasantness.

A good result for the long-term future of the nation might come from such a referendum.

Are you a democrat or not ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,098 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

What's too many though?

All returning Irish = welcome

All EU immigrants = welcome

Non-EU immigrants = severely restricted

Genuine refugees = welcome

Bogus asylum-seekers = not welcome

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

It's not the belief that the Irish people want more immigration... It's that our political elite, and various government bodies have been hellbent on pushing the immigration line for decades now, regardless of what the population actually wants. It's the weakness of Irish democracy. When most of the parties like to show their virtue by importing low skilled labor, voting a party out doesn't make much of an impact. We also have a very vocal segment of society/media who want more immigrants to relieve us of our white guilt, and justify their needs for self-flagellation over racism and privilege.

The political parties are very good at doing what they want once they get into power (irrespective of the desires of the Electorate), and Irish people are very good at forgetting or forgiving what they did after a few years (FF remaining as a active party shows that....)

This raises the question ......Why the feck do you keep voting the same old old people/parties back in?

You want change, you have to vote for change. Something the islamic countries cannot do, but people living in a democracy can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭46 Long

• Registered Users Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

46 Long wrote: »

These are the same clowns that sent around a memo stating the people should capitalize black but not white.
    “We agree that white people’s skin color plays into systemic inequalities and injustices, and we want our journalism to robustly explore these problems,” John Daniszewski, the AP’s vice president for standards, said in a memo to staff Monday. “But capitalizing the term white, as is done by white supremacists, risks subtly conveying legitimacy to such beliefs.”

What's the world coming to when "credible" new outlets read like student union blogs.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 16,299 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Would it be any more toxic that RTE wheeling out people like Ali Selim and Ebun Joseph so they can browbeat the native Irish on how we are all big bad racists.

Of course the South Dublin lefties will agree with all they say but it pisses off the rest of the country no end when both these people arrived here begging to be let in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

But our diversity is our strength!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭eggy81

never said it was ok wibbs perhaps read what i actually said,
    and no the comparison is that of a child or a buffoon.

Your talking absolute cobblers in this thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

old_aussie wrote: »
    This raises the question ......Why the feck do you keep voting the same old old people/parties back in?
    Because we're lost for credible alternatives is the long and short of it. The alternatives that exist are all tiny parties with daft polices and that goes for the right and left. The only mainstream "alternative" in play currently are the Greens and we're back to quite the number of daft policies headed by a charisma bypass generally only loved by a pocket of Dublin suburbanites who think they're great because they fill their green and brown bins, while otherwise consuming like piranha. I know a few Green voters, nice people, but nouveau hippies for the most part, at least in their politics.
    TomTomTim wrote: »
    These are the same clowns that sent around a memo stating the people should capitalize black but not white.

What's the world coming to when "credible" new outlets read like student union blogs.
    I capitalise Black, White and Yellow as it describes groups of people. It's called good manners and I'll not shift in that view.

And yet again here's the big problem with much of Western society; constantly apologising for what it is and the people that made it and mired in self doubt. Even though by just about every metric the West is and has long been the yardstick by which much of human progress is measured. It's like the pale descendant of a once great family going rogue, declaring their ancestors all fascists and opening up their grand home to squatters. No wonder external groups smell blood in the water.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭eggy81

I can guarantee you I am not justifying any violence or murder I made that pretty clear.

This was your response to on page 1 to initial op.

"it's awful, but then i completely disagree with showing pictures of Mohammed when it's a clearly a very personal and upsetting thing for any muslim to see. Why purposely try upset people, it's only one image and plenty of ways around it.
    Does it mean it's ok to murder, of course not but it's looking for trouble imo"

Its awful, you really got into the meat and bones of how heinous a crime it is with that analysis. The rest of the post is excuses for it.

You want change, you have to vote for change. Something the islamic countries cannot do, but people living in a democracy can.

You missed the point that I raised where all the political parties are interested in the same virtue signalling and importation of migrants. So.. you have your vote,. Wonderful. Where do you place your vote when all parties want more immigration?

A democracy only gives that choice, when there are choices to be made. When the political parties all dance to a similar tune, democracy isn't partly effective of representing the peoples wishes.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

eggy81 wrote: »
    but then i completely disagree with showing pictures of Mohammed when it's a clearly a very personal and upsetting thing for any muslim to see.
    Christians in Ireland and worldwide takes offence every time a "gay Jesus" is shown by the progressives.
    But they have learned to live with it because this is a free society.
    Brazil's Supreme Court has overturned a ruling that TV streaming service Netflix must remove a film depicting Jesus as gay.
    So will radical Muslims have to do about depictions of Mohammed.

unnamed.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭jmreire

Were you following the last election, by any chance? If the results of that was not a strong desire for change, I don't know what is. For sure people want political change in the Country, and next election will prove it. Islamic Countries can and do change their politicians in elections. The problem is that Islam in itself IS their politics. Non-Islamic party's trying to get elected in Islamic Countries get short shrift. In Pakistan, the only Catholic Minister in the Government, a Mr.Bhatti, who was an outspoken critic of Pakistan’s blasphemy law, which makes it a crime to utter any derogatory remarks or insult in any way the prophet Muhammad, the Koran or Islam. His bodyguard killed him, and most of the Pakistani Lawyers offered their services free of charge to defend the killer.

I didn't even post the prophet. Do I win?

Geuze wrote: »
    All returning Irish = welcome

All EU immigrants = welcome

Non-EU immigrants = severely restricted

Genuine refugees = welcome

Bogus asylum-seekers = not welcome

how about genuine refugees & immigrants who follow islam get redirected to islamic countries.

Its pretty simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

how about genuine refugees & immigrants who follow islam get redirected to islamic countries.

Its pretty simple.

Absolutely. Islam is incompatible with european values

• Registered Users Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

There is no alternative, all main parties are in favour of immigration. Only other parties are Gemma O Doherty nutters.

It's hardly useful to disinguish alternatives to 'all main parties' as being 'nutters'.

The position of 'all main parties' on this issue will yet turn out to have been far from sane.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭MFPM

Absolutely. Islam is incompatible with european values

Yet millions of Muslims live peaceful, happy and productive lives across Europe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Its pretty simple.
    Outside of notable exceptions like Jordan, none of them seem to want their "brothers" and "sisters". Turkey wants to move them on to the EU. The Gulf states don't want a bar of them. Kuwait took a few and then quietly moved them on once the press went away. If one was of a suspicious bent one could imagine a concerted effort to push Muslims and Islam into Europe. The Gulf state's spending on and seeming concern for Muslim refugees is minimal, their spending on mosques and other facilities in Europe is large...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

It's hardly useful to disinguish alternatives to 'all main parties' as being 'nutters'.
    Indeed, but people like Gemma O'Doherty fit the description extremely well.
    The position of 'all main parties' on this issue will yet turn out to have been far from sane.
    I would agree, but I would bet the chances of anyone getting wider support on this would be minimal. The EU want it and woe betide any politician or party who goes against that flow. Never mind the media organ of state RTE would roast any such candidate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

The Air France flight, flying from Paris to Tunis was diverted to Nice, after the flight attendant was loafed by a Muslim passenger who wanted to say his prayers in the corridor next to the cabin & toilets etc. The first video is of the in flight. The pilot decided to make an emergency landing after watching the video of the attack. In the second video, the individual was forcefully removed from the aircraft by four policemen at Nice airport.

https://twitter.com/JaviRodrigo11/status/1322546582982721536

The wants and needs of any person do not take precedence over the safety of many others especially when on a plane. Unfortunately, this display of arrogance and complete lack of civility and respect for others has been witnessed when Muslims are not accommodated in the way they see fit.

MFPM wrote: »
    Yet millions of Muslims live peaceful, happy and productive lives across Europe.

Yeah but when those rotten apples are left fester too long in the pile, you're going to have to play safe and Fcuk them all away.

PS: What hope have politicians got of voicing similar opinions , when the offscreen attempts at silencing (infractions/warnings) on here even are rampant.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The Air France flight, flying from Paris to Tunis was diverted to Nice, after the flight attendant was loafed by a Muslim passenger who wanted to say his prayers in the corridor next to the cabin & toilets etc. The first video is of the in flight. The pilot decided to make an emergency landing after watching the video of the attack. In the second video, the individual was forcefully removed from the aircraft by four policemen at Nice airport.

The wants and needs of any person do not take precedence over the safety of many others especially when on a plane. Unfortunately, this display of arrogance and complete lack of civility and respect for others has been witnessed when Muslims are not accommodated in the way they see fit.

Well he wont be getting on any planes for the foreseeable future. Moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

If left to their own devices they would still be wandering around the desert on donkey back. He should be grateful for access to the marvels of the western world such as aviation

Wibbs wrote: »
    Indeed, but people like Gemma O'Doherty fit the description extremely well.

I would agree, but I would bet the chances of anyone getting wider support on this would be minimal. The EU want it and woe betide any politician or party who goes against that flow. Never mind the media organ of state RTE would roast any such candidate.

Not disagreeing with you, but how many more times do we have to see the word 'nutter' appended to Gemma O'Doherty's name ? Even if we aren't smart enough to deduce it for ourselves, we got the message a long time ago.

It's just a cheap shot and it lets the establishment parties off the hook by giving them a gravitas that their self-serving cowardice does not deserve.

RTE - we have nothing to hope for there. An unaccountable platform for on-message mouthpiece 'academics'. In August 2018, I responded by email to some UL Sociologist's twaddle opinion piece on the RTE website about Islam. Still awaiting the courtesy of a reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

biko wrote: »
    Christians in Ireland and worldwide takes offence every time a "gay Jesus" is shown by the progressives.
    But they have learned to live with it because this is a free society.

Im Catholic. I haven't learned to live with anything. "Learned" being the operative word, which implies that my learned experience has been the result of past offense taken. From a young age, we are thought compassion, empathy and forgiveness. Not hate or of retribution. The thing that's aggravating is the double standards and the allowances made for other particular religions. People who rip into & mock Christianity and corporations like Netflix who portray Christ in a derogatory way etc, do so because they can, they know there will be no blowback or retribution. Retaliation in the form of terrorism has become almost like an accepted norm with Islam in the west. Something you will never see from Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism etc