Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

To be honest the Gardaí aren't bothered. They know how futile the 5km restriction is. An empty Dunnes stores or Supervalu bag is your passport to anywhere.

I just walked past the station on Anglesea St in Cork and there were a few lads heading into the station probably on night duty. One guy had a big bag of takeaway walking in and another nearly left his gearbag by his car.

Guards are wrecked and just wanna get on with things - you're dead right. They don't want to be filling in paperwork for something as stupid as 5km breach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭HBC08

funnydoggy wrote: »
    A source for what? We may not have had zero cases or deaths in a day together, I don't remember, but you know what I meant. Don't be pedantic.

They've been consistent with the doom and gloom. Even when things were great they had a problem with something.

I agree with you about the ridiculous RTE doom mongering.

You said there were day(s) in the summer with zero cases,i was asking if you have a source for that.Of course you don't because its not true ie youre talking sh1te.

Trying to excuse that by saying " i can't remember " or "you know what I meant" is like something a 5 year old would come out with.

There actually was a few days here and there over the summer that had 0, 0 stats!

No there wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I have another idea. We should cut public servants pay by half and cancel their pension entitlements. I work in a private sector. No way I'm going to pay for failings of your mates in the Government and other unelected rulers of Ireland.

Err the government are the elected rulers of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Err the government are the elected rulers of Ireland.

I sure as fcuk have never voted in any election for a “ruler”. I have voted for representatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

HBC08 wrote: »
    No there wasn't.

There was plenty, if your not arsed doing a bit of research to find the reports then I can’t help you

It's not me that needs helping,i didn't bring it up in the first place,there are no reports to find,it's a lie.
    I'm going purely of memory .
    There was no day(s) where there wasnt a case in Ireland in the summer.
    The lowest it got to was four or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

HBC08 wrote: »
    The lowest it got to was four or so.

Tony was deeply concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I sure as fcuk have never voted in any election for a “ruler”. I have voted for representatives.

You have voted for the policies of those representatives.

Present polices enjoy the support of a large majority, despite the endless whining from those who make a career of being grumps and mé féiners .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

You have voted for the policies of those representatives.

Present polices enjoy the support of a large majority, despite the endless whining from those who make a career of being grumps and mé féiners .

So that’d make you a ‘Sinn Féiner’ then? We’re all in this together......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

I have another idea. We should cut public servants pay by half and cancel their pension entitlements. I work in a private sector. No way I'm going to pay for failings of your mates in the Government and other unelected rulers of Ireland.

No problem with that but i would prefer just to.fire the useless ones

Tony was deeply concerned

There was a day with 4 cases and no deaths and less than 15 in hospitals across the country.

They still wouldn’t open pubs and let a decent number attend some sport events. They still wanted huge numbers out of work.

Then they act surprised about lockdown fatigue...

Other countries citizens might support a 2nd lockdown because they had lots of
    freedom between May - October .

There was a day with 4 cases and no deaths and less than 15 in hospitals across the country.

They still wouldn’t open pubs and let a decent number attend some sport events. They still wanted huge numbers out of work.

Imagine being under 25, living in Ireland, and listening to the cranks talking at them every day about staying home.

Pathetic way to talk to the ones who will pay for our care in later years, and likely pay the bill for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I remember being severely dismayed during the summer when they’d give the updated figures which were something like 9 new cases and 0 deaths, then cut to the press conference where Tony would be sitting there still finger wagging and stating we’re not yet where we need to be. Those figures were as good as it is ever ever going to be. Tumbleweeds were blowing in hospitals and community transmission was basically non existent, yet we were still being treated as prisoners and told off for having any kind of hope. It was just utterly depressing. While he is calling the shots we have absolutely 0 chance of any kind of approved normality any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

I remember being severely dismayed during the summer when they’d give the updated figures which were something like 9 new cases and 0 deaths, then cut to the press conference where Tony would be sitting there still finger wagging and stating we’re not yet where we need to be. Those figures were as good as it is ever ever going to be. Tumbleweeds were blowing in hospitals and community transmission was basically non existent, yet we were still being treated as prisoners and told off for having any kind of hope. It was just utterly depressing. While he is calling the shots we have absolutely 0 chance of any kind of approved normality any time soon.

So then have we an out? it really looks like this time next year we wont be much further on. like i said before when you think of another lost year, paddys day, summer, festivals, concerts, matches,crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Tone and his band of merry men have become way too accustomed to the limelight at this stage. Turning up every day on tv telling us morons how bad we are and how to live our lives. Everyone knows now he’s only about protecting the HSE from being exposed as the useless charlatans they are. He’s an absolute disgrace.

Was talking to a friend in Sweden again this evening and he said yeah we’re in kind of lockdown in Stockholm now. We’re being told not to go to shopping centres or pubs and clubs. They’re still all ****ing open though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,204 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

UK to enter national lock down next week to prevent overwhelming of hospitals according to the Times. To be announced Monday.

297 deaths in the UK today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

do we have a list of countries we can go to on green list anymore? you would imagine people will be gone minute xmas holidays come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

BREAKING: Tony Holohan is 'deeply concerned' and he can confirm to the public he is 'concerned' - and RTE have received further confirmation that Tony Holohan is feeling 'worried' and 'concerned' and we have just received information stating that Dr. Tony Holohan is 'deeply concerned' today.

UK to enter national lock down next week to prevent overwhelming of hospitals according to the Times. To be announced Monday.

George Lee doesn’t have to emigrate to France for work after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Tony said that Community transmission was zero in May, yet we never saw a pub opened in Dublin. We weren't allowed to go on Holidays and the leaving cert was cancelled. We were being punished for HSE incompetence.

https://www.thejournal.ie/tony-holohan-community-transmission-5102798-May2020/

RobitTV wrote: »
    BREAKING: Tony Holohan is 'deeply concerned' and he can confirm to the public he is 'concerned' - and RTE have received further confirmation that Tony Holohan is feeling 'worried' and 'concerned' and we have just received information stating that Dr. Tony Holohan is 'deeply concerned' today.

We'll have to redouble our efforts now.
    The next 10 days are crucial.

What's that got to do with the relaxation of restrictions in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Tony said that Community transmission was zero in May, yet we never saw a pub opened in Dublin. We weren't allowed to go on Holidays and the leaving cert was cancelled. We were being punished for HSE incompetence.

And we're being punished again for HSE incompetence. They had 7 months to prepare for a second wave and they refused to. Heads should roll in this organizations. Its one scandal after another with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,519 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

What's that got to do with the relaxation of restrictions in Ireland?
    Hmmmm northern ireland maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

News breaking of England going into a national lockdown during the week, similar restrictions to ourselves. Their death numbers set spike around Christmas on current projections. The English won't be as complient as us, it'll be an interesting few weeks ahead to see what happens over there. I really hope they fight back.

This is not living, we are all just existing.

gmisk wrote: »
    Hmmmm northern ireland maybe?

Boris only Rules England in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭MelbourneMan

Hello to the forum in general. This level of criticism is both unwarranted and downright incorrect. The HSE, by international comparison, has been doing exceptionally well, and proving quite the envy of many other countries. Ireland ‘outperforming almost all European countries in controlling spread of Covid-19’. Credit where it is due here, and it is clear that the combined efforts of the HSE, NPHET, and both governments in office during the pandemic crisis are performing very well indeed. The carping and negative tone present in some postings here is unhelpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,519 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Boris only Rules England in this.
    The other poster said uk lockdown no?

Hello to the forum in general.

Why are you welcoming me to the forum?
    I've been here a lot longer than you.

And you're wrong, the level of deaths 'with covid' is not the envy of anyone given our young population and relatively high death rate having let the Virus run rampant in nursing homes ((65% of our total deaths).
    And the HSE is a shambles, cancelling all screening and non covid treatments during a time when we had no-one in hospital.

I haven't even gotten to our lack of hospital beds and ICU in general despite spending more per capita on health than almost anyone n the EU.