Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

amandstu wrote: »
    Can I meet one person outside for a walk if I am within my 5 kilometre area but they are not (they are elderly )?

Or do we both have to be within our 5k radius?

My understanding is that there is no restriction regarding them visiting any grave within a 5km radius of you.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/covid19/living_with_covid19_plan.html
    "To visit a grave"

It's not illegal if you both happen to visit the same grave at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Alot of the debt is so far down the line we can handle it over a long term.

Once out of this, we should do the following:
    1) Cut the unemployment/dole after 12 months
    2) Everyone that works should pay tax.
    3) Increase tax on alcohol, let alcohol pay for its own drain on the healthcare
    4) Any visit to A&E without consultant with GP should have a higher charge. This will free up A&E for the real emergencies.
    5) Promote a healthier life style from grassroots up, back the sports clubs.

I'd add to stop the Operation Transformation bullshít. It's only ever morbidly obese people, they go through horrible, unsustainable diet/exercise regimens and are reprimanded if they don't lose a few pounds the following week.

They often end up regaining the weight too, just like the Biggest Loser crap in the UK and US.

We need a radical change in the media's handling of health. It's only ever extremes, and lifestyle changes only ever apply to those who are in a bad way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

funnydoggy wrote: »
    I'd add to stop the Operation Transformation bullshít. It's only ever morbidly obese people, they go through horrible, unsustainable diet/exercise regimens and are reprimanded if they don't lose a few pounds the following week.

They often end up regaining the weight too, just like the Biggest Loser crap in the UK and US.

We need a radical change in the media's handling of health. It's only ever extremes, and lifestyle changes only ever apply to those who are in a bad way.

And they bloody block the footpath with their walking in Jan when I am out running:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Can I meet one person outside for a walk if I am within my 5 kilometre area but they are not (they are elderly )?

Or do we both have to be within our 5k radius?

You can cross the country if your going for a take away meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

And they bloody block the footpath with their walking in Jan when I am out running:mad:

Why don't you find a running track instead of trying to take over footpaths created for those who walk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭amandstu

You can cross the country if your going for a take away meal.
    That is within the restrictions?Or are you being sarcastic?(some people will take you seriously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭amandstu

5km radius though and not a driving distance of 5k.

So that might cover both ye
    It doesn't (although there are other areas within the 5k radiuses that would work -just not as nice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

It doesn't (although there are other areas within the 5k radiuses that would work -just not as nice)

Ah here.

We'll let you bend/interpret the guidelines/rules for practicality but not for aesthetics :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Turned on Primetime this morning. Was only on a short while when i heard some politician say 'clothes are not allowed.' I burst out laughing to myself, knocked the tv off straight away and headed out for a walk. Now we know why the emperor has no clothes: their not bloody essential! The lunatics have taken over the asylum. Truly pathethic carry on.

When we look back in 10 years it's going to look like a massive over reaction here

When we compare 2000-2030

We probably will have no excess death this year

If we compared 2000-2030

Hospitals were always busy

In Jan/Feb when we get the figures that less died this year than the previous years and hospitals were no busier than previous years it's going to be strange

We can easily live with level 3 and hospital's won't collapse, maybe even level 2+ until vaccine's are out next year

Why don't you find a running track instead of trying to take over footpaths created for those who walk?

Because footpaths are for runners also.

In fairness I would just go for the walk. Too many people broke the rules in Level 3 doing far worst. So go for your walk, hope you get the weather to enjoy it.

josip wrote: »
    Ah here.

We'll let you bend/interpret the guidelines/rules for practicality but not for aesthetics :)

Rules were bent backwards in level 3. So if breaking the 5k gives them something worth while then go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I'll wear my mask, use sanitisation and keep social distance. I'm trying my best and sick of seeing people break the rules with no repercussions and then the doom and gloom around in the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I'll wear my mask, use sanitisation and keep social distance. I'm trying my best and sick of seeing people break the rules with no repercussions and then the doom and gloom around in the media

The rules are stupid and penal. Some I get the rest are just taking the piss. Break them you'll feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

Alot of the debt is so far down the line we can handle it over a long term.

Once out of this, we should do the following:
    1) Cut the unemployment/dole after 12 months
    2) Everyone that works should pay tax.
    3) Increase tax on alcohol, let alcohol pay for its own drain on the healthcare
    4) Any visit to A&E without consultant with GP should have a higher charge. This will free up A&E for the real emergencies.
    5) Promote a healthier life style from grassroots up, back the sports clubs.

I have another idea. We should cut public servants pay by half and cancel their pension entitlements. I work in a private sector. No way I'm going to pay for failings of your mates in the Government and other unelected rulers of Ireland.

I see where you're coming from and like you, I wear my mask and do the rest and stick to every precaution I can to avoid getting it, but the doom spin by RTE et al won't end.

We had doom and gloom during the summer when we were getting 0 cases and 0 deaths some days. Once a vaccine arrives, we'll still hear of doom and gloom because we'll still have at least a few cases until herd immunity is reached.

Unfortunately, COVID is tasty to media outlets because it is bringing in some well needed attention and revenue.

Some people on here have tried to justify Ireland’s longest and harshest restrictions in Europe by saying we are not responsible and every other country is.

Record breaking traffic in Paris yesterday as people are trying to get out of dodge, get 1 last pint, 1 last meal, 1 last shop or piece of normality.

Think that and some of the other scenes from UK and Italy show that Ireland is not some country of degenerates. People just want to live their lives.

Luckily those countries have had months of normality compared to here and will be back to normality again before us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Fines are being introduced for such behaviour where one is outside 5km of their home without good reason.

Please don’t encourage others that the laws are unlikely to be policed, it could potentially be a hefty fine

Ah, the paragon of virtue is here to keep everyone in line.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Penfailed wrote: »
    Ah, the paragon of virtue is here to keep everyone in line.

We are all in this together

Brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭HBC08

I see where you're coming from and like you, I wear my mask and do the rest and stick to every precaution I can to avoid getting it, but the doom spin by RTE et al won't end.

We had doom and gloom during the summer when we were getting 0 cases and 0 deaths some days. Once a vaccine arrives, we'll still hear of doom and gloom because we'll still have at least a few cases until herd immunity is reached.

Unfortunately, COVID is tasty to media outlets because it is bringing in some well needed attention and revenue.

Do you have a source there for the days(s) with zero cases or is it sh1te talk?
    I suspect the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

It’s interesting the recent questioning/confusion by posters here.

Just to confirm, there are a whole rake of exemptions to the 5km limit.

You can drive from Dundalk to Dingle to collect animal feed, buy a bike or visit a grave etc.

But if you live in Kilkee yet jog to Kilrush for exercise, that is in breach of the guidelines.

The Guards are deliberately conflating the highly publicised 5km rule with ‘unnecessary travel’ on the roads. To be able to articulate one of the ‘reasonable excuses’ is all that’s required. Not justify that driving from Dundalk to Dingle for animal feed is reasonable.

Enjoy Lockdown as best you can.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,272 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Unless you're actually in the at risk category, I'd stop worrying so much. You'll be fine and you'll feel better too.

Around me no one is bothering with social distancing in shops etc and mask adherence is only because of the legal requirement I reckon - yet I still live in a county with a lower number of cases as has been the case all along.

The media bit of your post I agree with though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,463 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Most people are breaking the 5km to get some exercise. I wouldn't worry about it too much as long as you are exercising in a place that doesn't involving getting too close to other people. I live about 8 miles from a forest with loads of walking trails. The car park is fairly full but you hardly meet a soul on those 5km-10km trails.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,463 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

3xh wrote: »
    It’s interesting the recent questioning/confusion by posters here.

Just to confirm, there are a whole rake of exemptions to the 5km limit.

You can drive from Dundalk to Dingle to collect animal feed, buy a bike or visit a grave etc.

But if you live in Kilkee yet jog to Kilrush for exercise, that is in breach of the guidelines.

The Guards are deliberately conflating the highly publicised 5km rule with ‘unnecessary travel’ on the roads. To be able to articulate one of the ‘reasonable excuses’ is all that’s required. Not justify that driving from Dundalk to Dingle for animal feed is reasonable.

Enjoy Lockdown as best you can.......

To be honest the Gardaí aren't bothered. They know how futile the 5km restriction is. An empty Dunnes stores or Supervalu bag is your passport to anywhere.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

Yep. I agree.

HBC08 wrote: »
    Do you have a source there for the days(s) with zero cases or is it sh1te talk?
    I suspect the latter.

A source for what? We may not have had zero cases or deaths in a day together, I don't remember, but you know what I meant. Don't be pedantic.

They've been consistent with the doom and gloom. Even when things were great they had a problem with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,091 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

A source for what? We may not have had zero cases or deaths in a day together, I don't remember, but you know what I meant. Don't be pedantic.

They've been consistent with the doom and gloom. Even when things were great they had a problem with something.
    Thats Fintans whole shtick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

There actually was a few days here and there over the summer that had 0, 0 stats!

I knew I wasn't going TOTALLY crazy. :)