Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭skaface

DJ foran, Thomas Douglas also added

Do we know of anyone that hasn't been asked back from this year's panel

• Registered Users Posts: 37,799 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Deise_abu wrote: »
    Anyone else suspect that Cahill told socky that Nolan would be no.1 next year and he is taking the year out until there is a new management team in place?

Cahill is cut throat, we all know that now, Nolan might offer something differnt

Got to love the 'Waterford rumours/gossip' not just in GAA but everything

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

blacksuir wrote: »
    Might be better off playing someone there that actually plays there the whole time for their club. Goalkeeping is a very specialised position.
    Eoin Murphy

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

thesultan wrote: »
    Fitzgerald from Clashmore looks a good prospect
    He looks like a strong and sticky defender. Let’s be honest, he and Kiely are both very young and are under 20 again next year??
    I assume management will bring in nine or ten new lads for a look and probably cull the squad during the middle of the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Eoin Murphy
    Nickie Quaid too

Wishing everyone here a happy new year

My moment of 2020 is beating Kilkenny in the AI semi final, jesus it would of been game to be at

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

A little surprised with Tonto being called up. He has ability so it's not that surprising me. More that he doesn't seem to have the athleticism that all the other forwards would have had. So it begs the question if he can get in, should the same opportunity have been afforded to Maurice?

Shane Bennett would be an addition if he gets back to top form. He wasn't anywhere near that for Ballysaggart this year.

I'd hope that Paddy Leavy comes in as I'd see him as already being a step above Shane Ryan, Ciaran Kirwan, Kieran Power and those on the extended panel and his ceiling would be higher also. I haven't seen a lot of James Power but he played very well against Tipp in the under 20 so maybe worth a shot. Sam Fitzgerald has been mentioned here too and certainly looks like he has potential. Whether it's a year early for him would be my only question.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Deise_abu

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Got to love the 'Waterford rumours/gossip' not just in GAA but everything

Not sure where the gossip / rumour comment came from

It was a personal comment asking the question if anyone else suspects it could have been a forced break

Socky has been amazing when compared to the keepers over the past 20 yrs, just think for all the great shot stopping you were always only a heartbeat away from a crazy moment

Obviously the risk is that billy isnt as good but he may also be better and more accuate on short puck outs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

A little surprised with Tonto being called up. He has ability so it's not that surprising me. More that he doesn't seem to have the athleticism that all the other forwards would have had. So it begs the question if he can get in, should the same opportunity have been afforded to Maurice?

Shane Bennett would be an addition if he gets back to top form. He wasn't anywhere near that for Ballysaggart this year.

I'd hope that Paddy Leavy comes in as I'd see him as already being a step above Shane Ryan, Ciaran Kirwan, Kieran Power and those on the extended panel and his ceiling would be higher also. I haven't seen a lot of James Power but he played very well against Tipp in the under 20 so maybe worth a shot. Sam Fitzgerald has been mentioned here too and certainly looks like he has potential. Whether it's a year early for him would be my only question.

More departures from panel include.....

Jamie Barron
    Fives x 2
    Fagan gong back to meath
    Prunty heading to Oz to try out Ozzie rules for a couple of seasons
    Callum Lyons taking a year out
    Kevin Moran retiring

On the plus side....

Noel Connors coming back as well as Maurice shannahan

Asdfgh2020 wrote: »

Jamie Barron
    Fives x 2
    Fagan gong back to meath
    Kevin Moran retiring

On the plus side....

you forgot about Mullane making a comeback...

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

He's finally got permission to ride the horse naked while playing so he's giving it one more year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Motivator

Just watched the 2004 All Ireland Semi against Kilkenny on YouTube. They were there to be beaten that day, that year was the real opportunity missed for us under Justin.

If Mick Jacob hadn’t got the winner against KK with the last puck of the game in the Leinster Final we’d have played Wexford or Clare in the semi and Cork would have played KK in the other game. Also, I know the players at the time referenced the balls up made by Justin and the Co. Board over the travel arrangements on the day. It was a disaster of a day from start to finish. I remember Ian O’ Regan got unfairly blamed for a good while afterwards.

Asdfgh2020 wrote: »

Jamie Barron
    Fives x 2
    Fagan gong back to meath
    Kevin Moran retiring

On the plus side....

Heard Aussie is retiring and moving to a career in break dancing

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Times must be tough lads. Get your orders in for runners up mugs..

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

garv123 wrote: »
    Times must be tough lads. Get your orders in for runners up mugs..

Fairly sad stuff.

Who is Tonto

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭upthedeise16

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Who is Tonto

Thomas Douglas of De La Salle

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Thomas Douglas of De La Salle

Surprising call up. Talented underage player but flattered to deceive since he was about 17. Attitude and commitment issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭blacksuir

John Galvin, Mossie Walsh and Jim Greene also said to be making a come back.

Growler Daly also and ‘Lay Lay’ Barry dusting off his Camán with the departure of Stephen O’Keeffee

Motivator wrote: »
    Just watched the 2004 All Ireland Semi against Kilkenny on YouTube. They were there to be beaten that day, that year was the real opportunity missed for us under Justin.

If Mick Jacob hadn’t got the winner against KK with the last puck of the game in the Leinster Final we’d have played Wexford or Clare in the semi and Cork would have played KK in the other game. Also, I know the players at the time referenced the balls up made by Justin and the Co. Board over the travel arrangements on the day. It was a disaster of a day from start to finish. I remember Ian O’ Regan got unfairly blamed for a good while afterwards.[/quote

I remember KK got three goals but can’t recall if O’Regan was at fault did any, Kk were well ahead due to the goals at half time, a bit similar to the first half of this years semi.

Mullane’s absence was the real killer, Flynn had a great day also think he scored something like 0-13.........

The subsequent 2004 Cork v KK final was an atrocious game. The langers ran away with it in second half, think Kk only scored 2 pts in second half........0-17 to 0-9 was final score......

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭skaface

Anyone got the link to Joe Brolly article in the Indo over the weekend.. Not very complimentary to Waterford in it I believe regarding their performance in the All Ireland

skaface wrote: »
    Anyone got the link to Joe Brolly article in the Indo over the weekend.. Not very complimentary to Waterford in it I believe regarding their performance in the All Ireland
    Don't think Waterford supporters should be too concerned about anything that man has to say...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,819 ✭✭✭deisedude

I wouldn't be too complimentary over his punditry performances either. One trick pony, says something controversial, who cares how true it is once people are talking about Joe and his enormous ego

He rightly got sh1tcanned from RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭JD60

Whatever he is being paid for these kind of articles, it’s too much. Likes to attract attention to himself ; maybe he needs help.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

JD60 wrote: »
    Whatever he is being paid for these kind of articles, it’s too much. Likes to attract attention to himself ; maybe he needs help.

I don't think he believes himself half the stuff he says, only trying to stay relevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭carq

He just points out the physical disparity between the teams, says waterford were beaten up like a pub team against the all blacks. Says limerick have a half rugby half hurling style.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

carq wrote: »
    He just points out the physical disparity between the teams, says waterford were beaten up like a pub team against the all blacks. Says limerick have a half rugby half hurling style.

Sounds like he was on the money to me

Shane Bennett making himself available for the coming season according to the Examiner.

Good news