Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wokeism of the day *Revised Mod Note in OP and threadbanned users*

• Registered Users Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Invidious wrote: »
    What ridiculous article. We start off with the scaremongering lede:

Oooh, sounds worrying. The far right is on the rise! You can almost hear the Darth Vader theme playing in the background...

And yet, 9,000 searches over six months boils down to fewer than 50 searches a day, across the entire 5 million population.

Furthermore, even that figure is inflated. The period they chose to study was September 2020 to February 2021, which spanned the US election and aftermath. The article does acknowledge that:

In other words, they categorized as far-right extremists people who had been searching certain topics in the context of learning more about the US elections. The fact that searches for these topics have since tapered off shows that this so-called "study" is nothing more than disingenuous scaremongering.

Also:

In other words, they don't even know how many people were carrying out searches? Even if ten people had each searched five topics a day for six months, that would amount to the headline total of 9,000 searches.

Complete nonsense, all of it.

Does googling a subject mean you support it? If I google communism does that make me a supporter of gulags and mass extermination?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Does googling a subject mean you support it? If I google communism does that make me a supporter of gulags and mass extermination?

Exactly. You could be googling Q anon because you are hearing loads about it. Doesn't mean you are remotely far right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

Exactly. You could be googling Q anon because you are hearing loads about it. Doesn't mean you are remotely far right.

Exactly. I myself googled the "Proud Boys" after the media furor about them, just to find out who they were. I'd never heard of them before and want nothing to do with their beliefs. But that was probably classified as a "far right" search term, and I may have got myself tagged as an extremist :eek:

Does google review your search history before a job offer?

"I see you like large breasted women and hitler"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I have had to google (for example) what nonce, bell end and bukake meant. :eek:
    If they classified me by my google searches I would be in serious trouble.

Gruffalux wrote: »
    I have had to google (for example) what nonce, bell end and bukake meant. :eek:
    If they classified me by my google searches I would be in serious trouble.

Maybe you are just interested in cryptography, worcestershire and noodles.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Mr Pyke wrote: »
    I'm really starting to hate America and the fcuked up racial obsessions of the Americans.

A great example of this was a headline recently in the NYT about 2 rival candidates for the New Year Mayoral Election, both of whom are black. They described the rivalry as "a complicated story of race".

What they really mean by "complicated" is "There's no logical basis for crying racism in a rivalry between 2 rich black men. However, since it is our stance that everything is racist, we have to claim racism is involved anyway by claiming it's 'complicated'"

I'd be hesitant to label proud boys far right. A men's drinking group really who hate antifa and believe that western chauvinism is the best.

Led by a POC and set up by a Canadian comedian.

Hardly "far right"? Having said that, I don't know too much about them. I'd be glad to be educated

It's worth considering that not only the elections but also BLM was at play. For anyone interested or discussing the topic, would likely have searched for examples of far right groups, in seeking info that supported their stances on BLM, or the problems within the US (or Europe)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I'd be hesitant to label proud boys far right. A men's drinking group really who hate antifa.

What truly annoys me about this is that, regardless of what you think of him, Gavin McInness is not far right. I remember his specifically denouncing the alt right because he felt that there needed to be a home for black conservatives, something the alt right obviously wasn't offering. Part of the reason PB's were set up was to dissociate themselves from hardline right wingers. Gavin himself is married to a Indian woman, who he has a child with. One of the PD's who got arrested in NY was married to a black woman, and had two mixed race children. None of that matters to the mob though, they'll still call them a white supremacist group, regardless of all the counter evidence.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 13,482 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

biko wrote: »
    From The Guardian:

Should it really be a crime to look at child pornography?
    No matter how vile we may consider the sexual predilections of paedophiles, we should not be in the business of putting people in prison for simply looking at things.

https://amp.theguardian.com/society/2003/jan/14/childprotection.rodliddle

Moving the goalposts on child pornography

This isn't the first time that this old chestnut has been brought back.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I was the same. Proud Boys, Oathkeepers, Boogaloo Boys, various other groups and people that were coming up in the news last year, I googled lots them. I'm politically centre-right but socially liberal. However I like to be informed so I look up people and groups that are being discussed in the news. It is stupid to pigeonhole anyone based on their google searches.

Sorry but if an article about the internet contains "Over 9000" then it has to be a pisstake. It might as well have a soundbite from Leeroy Jenkins.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

What ridiculous article. We start off with the scaremongering lede:

Oooh, sounds worrying. The far right is on the rise! You can almost hear the Darth Vader theme playing in the background...

But let's break down the maths a little bit. 9,000 searches over six months boils down to fewer than 50 searches a day, across the entire 5 million population of Ireland.

Furthermore, even that figure is inflated. The period they chose to study was September 2020 to February 2021, which spanned the US election and aftermath. The article does acknowledge that:

In other words, they categorized as far-right extremists people who had been searching certain topics in the context of learning more about the US elections. The fact that searches for these topics have since tapered off illustrates the disingenuous scaremongering at play here.

Also:

In other words, they don't even know how many people were carrying out searches? Even if ten people had each searched five topics a day for six months, that would amount to the headline total of 9,000 searches.

If this article is intended to stoke the "rise of the far right" narrative, it actually does quite the opposite.

Complete nonsense, all of it.

Conrad Gallagher, nuff said

Part of the new breed of activist journalists like Ellen coyne, shona Murray or Sorcha pollock

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Watched a Jonathan Ross clip earlier remember “4puffs and a piano” the house band , can they still do that ? :)

The insanity continues...
    A veteran Bronx educator claims she was fired in part because she refused to mimic a salute to Black power from the 2018 comic-book movie “Black Panther” during superintendent meetings.

At official gatherings of high-level Department of Education bosses, then-Bronx superintendent Meisha Ross Porter often asked the group to do the arms-across-the-chest gesture of solidarity from the mythical African nation of Wakanda. The salute is considered a symbol of empowerment.

When Rafaela Espinal — a Dominican-American who describes herself as Afro-Latina — declined to join in, she “was admonished and told that it was inappropriate for her not to participate,” according to a Manhattan Supreme Court lawsuit filed Feb. 3 against the city DOE, Chancellor Richard Carranza and some of his top-ranking lieutenants.

Espinal was one year shy of earning a lifetime DOE pension when she was abruptly fired from her role as head of Community School District 12 in Bronx without explanation, after repeatedly refusing to do the “Wakanda Forever” salute, according to the lawsuit.

You can now lose your job for refusing to mimic salutes from a comic-book movie to a made-up African country?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wakandan Meisha Ross Porter is on a mission.
    Incoming schools Chancellor Meisha Ross Porter has made it her mission to racially revamp the employment rolls as she moved up the ranks of the Department of Education — often at the expense of white and Jewish educators, critics charge.

The educator, tapped by Mayor de Blasio to replace Richard Carranza after the chancellor abruptly announced his resignation Friday, is accused in at least two recent lawsuits of discriminating against older, white and Jewish educators.

She is not named as a plaintiff in either action, but is accused of creating a hostile environment.
    https://nypost.com/2021/02/27/new-nyc-schools-chancellor-meisha-ross-porter-marginalized-older-white-women-suit/

biko wrote: »
    Wakandan Meisha Ross Porter is on a mission.

And she has just been appointed as the first black female Chancellor of the New York City school system, overseeing 150,000 employees and a $34 billion annual budget.

Many white and Jewish teachers must now be fearing for their jobs, and working to perfect their comic-book salutes to an imaginary black nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

And she has just been appointed as the first black female Chancellor of the New York City school system, overseeing 150,000 employees and a $34 billion annual budget.

Many white and Jewish teachers must now be fearing for their jobs, and working to perfect their comic-book salutes to an imaginary black nation.
    Don't forget!
    There are 'no real world consequences, none whatsoever. It's only online!' etc

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Wokeness weaponizes modern liberalisms pathological need to appease groups that it has classed as victumes

As soon as society stops appeasing, wokeness dies. If that kills modern liberalism in the process, no ****ing harm, it's done enough harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Bambi wrote: »
    Wokeness weaponizes modern liberalisms pathological need to appease groups that it has classed as victumes

As soon as society stops appeasing, wokeness dies. If that kills modern liberalism in the process, no ****ing harm, it's done enough harm.

Wow, more buzzwords than a middle management drone.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

So many I’m wondering is victumes a new thing

• Registered Users Posts: 11,905 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Sometimes it's better to be a crazy cat lady.

Cats are very intelligent, interesting and never play the victum.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭growleaves

Its a type of legume found only in South America.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,482 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Especially for the Jews, many of the Woke and modern Left increasingly see them as Capitalism in human form.

It's a new condition for those totally incensed by perceived woke-ism.

Its speaking normal words, but through clenched teeth.

An amazing metamorphosis occurs, I can only liken it to when Dr. David Banner transformed into the Hulk. Way back in the 70's.
    If not actioned, it could lead to foaming at the mouth.

VICTUMMSSS

Try it - it really works :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What a riposte! Ingenious!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Jeep Cherokee is next.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/jeep-owner-stellantis-is-open-to-dropping-cherokee-name-ceo-says-11614799301
    The head of Jeep’s owner said he is open to dropping the Cherokee name from vehicles after recent criticism from the Native American tribe’s leader.

Carlos Tavares, chief executive officer of the recently formed Stellantis NV, said the company was engaged in dialogue with the Cherokee Nation over its use of the name. Jeep has two models, the Cherokee compact sport-utility vehicle and larger Grand Cherokee, that it sells in the U.S. and beyond.

Well, at least it isnt "offended on behalf of" this time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Apache pizza will be next.....

inforfun wrote: »
    Jeep Cherokee is next.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/jeep-owner-stellantis-is-open-to-dropping-cherokee-name-ceo-says-11614799301

Well, at least it isnt "offended on behalf of" this time.

I thought this bit is weird:

We are ready to go to any point, up to the point where we decide with the appropriate people and with no intermediaries," he said. "At this stage, I don’t know if there is a real problem. But if there is one, well, of course we will solve it."

I would be interested to hear what the reasons are for the name being dropped.

I will say American Indians are very much discriminated against still and that's not being woke.