Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Also anyone planning properly will not be leaving much in their will, it will be long transferred over while everyone is living.

Oh I just bet you have that all arranged, in your favor of course.

Be a damn shame if covid interrupted your plans before it was all signed over.

Oh I just bet you have that all arranged, in your favor of course.

Be a damn shame if covid interrupted your plans before it was all signed over.

I have no idea of the point of these totally off topic nonsensical digs at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Indeed. Imagine having to explain to future generations that we failed to fight the pandemic effectively because a significant minority couldn't go a couple of months without a feed of pints.

I hope they judge us kindly.

Imagine having to explain to future generations that they have to pay tens of billions of our debt back because a load of hysteria-merchants were too scared to come out from under their beds all because of a virus that is harmless to the vast majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

On a more serious note - has anyone been to Dublin city centre lately? My friend went yesterday and tells me its like a ghost town, is this true? Good few social welfare people out and about though, but seemed like unusually a lot of them.

Just worried Dublin may become new New York with the crime and poverty etc. Very worried as I live in Dublin north (that isnt a good area to start with)

I was in the cc today, just like a busy Tuesday, people shopping, having coffees, lunch, pints outdoors, it has not been burned to the ground yet.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

On a more serious note - has anyone been to Dublin city centre lately? My friend went yesterday and tells me its like a ghost town, is this true? Good few social welfare people out and about though, but seemed like unusually a lot of them.

Just worried Dublin may become new New York with the crime and poverty etc. Very worried as I live in Dublin north (that isnt a good area to start with)

Don't worry, it'll bounce back.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,859 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Imagine having to explain to future generations that they have to pay tens of billions of our debt back because a load of hysteria-merchants were too scared to come out from under their beds all because of a virus that is harmless to the vast majority.

If only the hysteria merchants would kindly do that it would be fantastic.
    Unfortunately they are everywhere, front and centre of all media attention and when they’re not they’ll be tweeting in faux outrage about one person they supposedly saw with a sacred mask down around their mouth “endangering lives”.
    Covid virtue signalling has become an addiction that these fanatics aren’t too fond of letting go of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    If I had a euro for every time a HSE/NPHET official was "very concerned"....

We’re reaching a critical point now. The next two weeks are crucial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭facehugger99

We’re reaching a critical point now. The next two weeks are crucial.

Should we redouble our efforts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    If I had a euro for every time a HSE/NPHET official was "very concerned"....

We said exactly the same here watching the news . They use the word “ concerning “ so much now that its lost its meaning . Its like white noise now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I think lads ye are all being played like a piano.

Edit
    Me also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We said exactly the same here watching the news . They use the word “ concerning “ so much now that its lost its meaning . Its like white noise now

Yep and that's the biggest issue at this stage. They have beaten the "deadly virus" drum so much despite minimal hospitalisations and deaths in a country of 5 million that people have become not just desensitised to it now but increasingly angered by the impact the restrictions are having on their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

I think lads ye are all being played like a piano.

Have to agree here I got sucked into responding to that poster too and it's exactly what he wants.

Probably bored off his head so he comes into the relaxation of restrictions thread to wind everyone up telling us we need another lockdown and more restrictions because a few experts said so. While there are plenty of other experts that are being ignored because they aren't sticking with the doom and gloom narrative that is being pushed at the moment.

The sad thing is he probably won't be the last either more will pile in here as the cases rise and blab on about how we need to implement a level 5 national Lockdown.

Have to agree here I got sucked into responding to that poster too and it's exactly what he wants.

Probably bored off his head so he comes into the relaxation of restrictions thread to wind everyone up telling us we need another lockdown and more restrictions because a few experts said so. While there are plenty of other experts that are being ignored because they aren't sticking with the doom and gloom narrative that is being pushed at the moment.

The sad thing is he probably won't be the last either more will pile in here as the cases rise and blab on about how we need to implement a level 5 national Lockdown.

He had me too until I remembered a post on a thread where he tried to argue it was ok to drink an alcoholic beverage and drive once you were under the limit. Says it all.
    The rest of his claims I file under the Walter Mitty syndrome.

He had me too until I remembered a post on a thread were he tried to argue it was ok to drink an alcoholic beverageand drive once you were under the limit. Says it all.
    The rest of his claims I file under the Walter Mitty syndrome.

Well it is, saying it’s not makes you look like a fool to be honest. If you can point out exactly what law is broken or what is wrong with it in anyway then fire away I’m all ears.

You're grand lad I've indulged you enough. That gem earned you a thread ban from what I recall. Others might interact further with you but I know better now. Take care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

What's that supposed to mean?

Agreeing with and abiding by expert advice and regulations and telling others to do the same during a deadly pandemic is now suddenly a terrible thing to have been brought up to do? Please, the nonsense on display in here is someting else.

deadly
    /ˈdɛdli/

adjective
    adjective: deadly; comparative adjective: deadlier; superlative adjective: deadliest
    causing or able to cause death.
    "a deadly weapon"

22 September
    The latest news as of 5.45pm on Tuesday 22 September
    334 cases confirmed:

the Health Protection Surveillance Centre (HPSC) has not been informed of any additional deaths among people with COVID-19 in Ireland

21 September
    The latest news as of 5.30pm on Monday 21 September
    188 cases confirmed:

the Health Protection Surveillance Centre (HPSC) has not been informed of any additional deaths among people with COVID-19 in Ireland

20 September
    The latest news as of 5.30pm on Sunday 20 September
    396 cases confirmed:

19 September
    The latest news as of 5.30pm on Saturday 19 September
    274 cases confirmed:

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/b6a9e-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus-from-july-september-2020/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

risteard7 wrote: »
    334 people diagnosed with a runny nose

19 people in intensive care, fighting for their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,274 ✭✭✭Allinall

What do social welfare people look like?

froog wrote: »
    19 people in intensive care, fighting for their lives.

Did you quote the Paul Reid number?
    It's actually 16. Hopefully they have a good outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

In fact, the most dangerous part of Covid to younger people in Ireland is the drive to the test centre.
    Brilliant. :D Totally stealing this.

They dont all have the dreaded runny nose.

Many are completely asymptomatic

Was here last night saying my 7 month pregnant daughter, her husband, their 15 month toddler and 60 year old mother in law (obese and unfit) all tested positive for Covid in the last week. No doctors, no hospital, no ventilators, all working from home, all up and about .....the worst symptoms for all of them are aches and pains and congestion (no taste or smell) . None of them have a cough .

Today the father in law (60) and sister tested positive , both as-symptomatic. NOBODY in a house of 6 has more than congestion and some aches and pains. All being treated with Lem Sip .

I honestly can’t believe people are calling for Dublin to go to Level 4 and the rest of the country Level 3.
    Having positive cases does not mean people are sick anymore !!!

You're grand lad I've indulged you enough. That gem earned you a thread ban from what I recall. Others might interact further with you but I know better now. Take care.

Good man, no come back to show a single thing wrong with the statement which you dragged into this thread even though it’s totally off topic. If you claim something is wrong with a statement you should really be able to back it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Good man, no come back to show a single thing wrong with the statement which you dragged into this thread even though it’s totally off topic. If you claim something is wrong with a statement you should really be able to back it up.

Someone's rattled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

So it's ok for people to drink & drive once they are under the legal limit?

But it's not ok for an older person that has been cocooning for 7 months to go to the pub for some pints with a few mates?

I'd say your moral compass needs a serious adjustment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

Was here last night saying my 7 month pregnant daughter, her husband, their 15 month toddler and 60 year old mother in law (obese and unfit) all tested positive for Covid in the last week. No doctors, no hospital, no ventilators, all working from home, all up and about .....the worst symptoms for all of them are aches and pains and congestion (no taste or smell) . None of them have a cough .

Today the father in law (60) and sister tested positive , both as-symptomatic. NOBODY in a house of 6 has more than congestion and some aches and pains. All being treated with Lem Sip .

I honestly can’t believe people are calling for Dublin to go to Level 4 and the rest of the country Level 3.

The more this kind of anecdotal story spreads the tougher it's going to get for the government.

Losing that window where effective curative measures can still be taken quite rapidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Yep, I know a family of 5 that had it it too. Ages 20-60. One of them was a bit sick and tested positive so they tested the whole family, all positive.

The sick one was fine 2 days later and none of the rest even had a sniffle all the way through their 2 weeks in Isolation.

Everyone back running and exercising as normal now (barring the light loss of fitness from being cooped up for 14 days).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

So it's ok for people to drink & drive once they are under the legal limit?

But it's not ok for an older person that has been cocooning for 7 months to go to the pub for some pints with a few mates?

I'd say your moral compass needs a serious adjustment.

No, nox is a good Catholic boy (who has wished disease on people who disagree with him)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

"Just a flu" comparisons really undersell the flu at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

"Just a flu" comparisons really undersell the flu at this point.

I'm convinced that Asymptomatic people can't possibly be contagious, it makes no sense.
    They must have somehow breathed in a bit of virus but beat it of at source, i.e. never become infected- but the PCR tests are so sensitive that they are picking up bits of dead virus in the airways...

ShyMets wrote: »
    Someone's rattled

Not in the slightest what ever is giving you that idea.