Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

I know someone who pulled two people out of a burning house, neither of the people he pulled out survived unfortunately, and he wasn't a firefighter. This was over ten years ago on the northside of Dublin.

I find the health and safety attitude very worrying. Even if you could die yourself so what?

Bureaucracy, whether its health and safety or other departments, is not the fundamental unit of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    It needs to end. Those who actually are at significant risk need to continue to take precautions, limit their interactions, be supported by their local community and so on, and everyone else should continue to observe good hygiene, distancing where practical, masks if they feel it necessary - but we cannot continue to put the well-being of everyone else and the country "on hold" when the evidence increasingly shows no grounds for it.

Such people are taking precautions, that is why there is not a large increase in hospitalization. However, society is not divided into two mutally exclusive sections, the two thirds who are not at risk and the one third who are. These groups do interact, and any large increase in cases will eventually lead to increased hospitalisations and deaths. The issue is not only the number of cases, but the growing trend.

And the point of masks is to stop you spraying Covid around the place, so masks are needed whatever your views on whether it is necessary or not, you do not have the right to make that decision for others.

I reckon Hmmm might actually be a member or linked to NPHET in some way. Certainly has the same kind of tunnel vision that Covid is the only issue in the country.

It’s almost sad watching him clutch at straws at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,338 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Such people are taking precautions, that is why there is not a large increase in hospitalization. However, society is not divided into two mutally exclusive sections, the two thirds who are not at risk and the one third who are. These groups do interact, and any large increase in cases will eventually lead to increased hospitalisations and deaths. The issue is not only the number of cases, but the growing trend.

And the point of masks is to stop you spraying Covid around the place, so masks are needed whatever your views on whether it is necessary or not, you do not have the right to make that decision for others.

There’s no point explaining the situation to anyone on this thread, I’ve tried over the last few weeks and everyone ignores my posts because they don’t want to engage in reasonable discussion. It’s a thread for ranting and raving and that’s fair enough I suppose. Any attempts to explain the logic behind the decisions being made will either be ignored or dismissed In favour of feelings and emotions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Its going to be a **** film when they make it.

How will they write the plot to keep it exciting?

Median age of death in Ireland 84, 163 over the age of 65 died in ICU, the rest weren't healthy enough for ICU care.

Maybe the plot of the film could be about the influence of social media, which is much more frightening

Be lucky if we get more than a couple seconds mention, on a map showing worldwide cases, like in Contagion... be mostly based in America, it's the makings of a great film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

MadYaker wrote: »
    There’s no point explaining the situation to anyone on this thread, I’ve tried over the last few weeks and everyone ignores my posts because they don’t want to engage in reasonable discussion.

Or they engage in debate with statistics which rubbish my argument so I'll take this route instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

There’s no point explaining the situation to anyone on this thread, I’ve tried over the last few weeks and everyone ignores my posts because they don’t want to engage in reasonable discussion. It’s a thread for ranting and raving and that’s fair enough I suppose. Any attempts to explain the logic behind the decisions being made will either be ignored or dismissed In favour of feelings and emotions.
    Could you please explain the reasoning behind pubs that serve food being open and pubs that don’t serve not allowed be open?
    Could you please also explain why masks don’t need to be worn in a place serving food but do need to be worn while sitting outside on a passenger ferry?

Could you please explain the reasoning behind pubs that serve food being open and pubs that don’t serve not allowed be open?
    Could you please also explain why masks don’t need to be worn in a place serving food but do need to be worn while sitting outside on a passenger ferry?

Yes I could.

I’m not ignoring your posts and am available for a reasonable discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Yes I could.

The vintners association called out this behaviour during the week

It’s been explained a million times. This thread just goes around in circles. You can read any 5 pages in a row and the posts will basically be the same. At this point anyone who doesn’t understand is either too dumb, or doesn’t want to understand.

Sophisticated answer to the reasonable discussion you were searching for. Thank you for taking the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭acequion

Restrictions for the sake of restrictions. And ya you're right,posted by people like you a million times over, 5 pages in a row with your one track scary agenda. It's very clear who's dumb and who can't /won't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

https://www.thejournal.ie/1500-cases-liked-to-meat-plants-5189065-Aug2020

1115 of the new cases since 15th August are linked to meat processing plants, which were given a free pass to ignore the guidance. This is out of around 1500 since that day total.

But sure, the general public are to blame with their socialising, standing outside watching matches and eagerness to go for pints in pubs that aren't even open.

Ridiculous restrictions and I'm glad I didnt get sucked into the narrative after Germany and stay locked at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

I know a lot of people in Kildare. All are continuing to travel to Dublin, Liffey valley etc. Any that had. Holidays booked went on them. Ridiculous that hairdressers, nail bars and massage parlours are open while bars and restaurants have been forced to close. Farcical state of affairs and they know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

I reckon Hmmm might actually be a member or linked to NPHET in some way. Certainly has the same kind of tunnel vision that Covid is the only issue in the country.

I thought this earlier too and actually think this is very concerning...The cure will most certainly be worse than the disease, and for what?
    The view also that a vaccine is the ‘only’ way out of this is farcical. Trying to purchase the vaccine & get involved in that race while keeping our state draining away billions under restrictions is sheer lunacy. Great if a vaccine works, get it for those who need it. The rest need to return to life & revive our states income.
    We need a government to take charge of this situation and move on. The U.K. are trying to encourage people back into their offices & revive city centres, they’re also offering 50% off meals in restaurants as a stimulus, they’ve waking up to the economic cost of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

I agree, there are always a variety of pro government policy bots around here currently a few NPHET ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

Came across this quote: “Remember that the interest of civil servants is to survive and self-perpetuate - not to get to the truth. It does not mean that governments are useless, only that you need to keep a vigilant fee on their side effects”. Thought it summarises a lot of how the government are acting and why some people here are questioning their decisions.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,061 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Ah its always been great comic relief. They've got riled up especially the last few days.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ah its always been great comic relief. They've got riled up especially the last few days.

Thankfully people like you have become a minority on here as you don't have any actual arguments left to make. Other than "Pints" or some other nonsense.

Although Hmmm might be back to tell us that CPR should be banned as there is a tiny chance it could spread Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,864 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Thankfully people like you have become a minority on here as you don't have any actual arguments left to make. Other than "Pints" or some other nonsense.

Although Hmmm might be back to tell us that CPR should be banned as there is a tiny chance it could spread Covid.

That post you quoted in particular gives a great insight into the petty, vindictive nature of what you’re dealing with- taking active pleasure in the hardship and annoyance all these pointless restrictions put on people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Penfailed

The U.K. are trying to encourage people back into their offices & revive city centres

*England

Scotland, Wales and NI advice is to work from home if possible.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

Arguments were made in the first few versions of these threads. Now its just hysteria and comedy from the same 6 or 7 posters with no room for discussion as they whip themselves into a frenzy :pac:.

I see the Info giving Gerry Killeen a load of airtime today, basically scaring all parents into not sending their kids back to school. It’s feckin disgraceful fearmongering journalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I agree, there are always a variety of pro government policy bots around here currently a few NPHET ones.

Except the Minister for Health is more conservative than NPHET at this point in time. They are the ones sounding more reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Ignore the sad troll.
    He has about 40 posts on this thread alone about "the comic relief" he gets on reading this thread. Its his version of an argument when he has none.

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Ignore the sad troll.
    He has about 40 posts on this thread alone about "the comic relief" he gets on reading this thread. Its his version of an argument when he has none.

Dry your eyes mate. As I said the argument was had a few threads ago. Now its just running in circles as somehow ye still cant learn anything. I'm praising ye're dedication to the "cause".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

pjohnson wrote: »
    Dry your eyes mate. As I said the argument was had a few threads ago. Now its just running in circles as somehow ye still cant learn anything. I'm praising ye're dedication to the "cause".

You always know when you're rattled. On you come with the "comic relief" nonsense which takes the place of any logical argument when you don't have any.

More people than at any point in this pandemic are sharing the same point of view as this thread. Your just going to have to deal with it from behind your curtains I'm afraid.

You always know when you're rattled. On you come with the "comic relief" nonsense which takes the place of any logical argument when you don't have any.

More people than at any point in this pandemic are sharing the same point of view as this thread. Your just going to have to deal with it from behind your curtains I'm afraid.

This was first said in June iirc :pac:

Its adorable. Sorry I interrupted your cyclic schedule lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,864 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Ignore the sad troll.

On my ignore list- rarely bother putting anyone on it but for when someone has absolutely zero worthwhile to contribute or read.
    It’s obvious they don’t get any “comic relief” more so active pleasure in the annoyance of others. It’s pathetic but there are people like that out there