Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

Vague, arbitrary and ultimately ignorant, self-righteous nonsense.

You are talking about covid? The pretty harmless virus that only actually impacts a small portion of people in a noticeable way, as reflected in the data though not reflected in the media. Your posts are insane.

I think he is on a wind up at this stage surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,242 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Harmless virus :D
    Asymptomatic virus :D

Give me the 'old normal' when people either felt sick or were healthy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    We've always been a nation of curtain-twitchers and begrudgers - either about what our neighbours have, or are "getting away with" that we aren't.

It's not helped by our parochial me-fein outlook and tribal nonsense like the GAA, which ultimately results in the politics and politicians we have. All about what's in it for me. We still admire the cute hoor and lament when he gets caught ("Shure have they nothing else to be at"), many privately admitting we'd do the same if we had the brass neck/balls.

Alongside that we have an instinctive "need" to be liked and approved of ("everyone loves the Irish", "look at our young mixed-race gay Taoiseach - aren't we progressive" etc). It's why we soak up the worst influences of social media's divisive identity politics and jump on every crusade (WTF relevance have the racial issues in the USA to Ireland?) and so on.

So Covid and the response has indeed been ideal for such people who are obsessed with the behaviours of those around them. They get to advertise how compliant they are for the "likes", and attack those who question the consensus - "Why should my neighbour "get away with" not wearing a mask?"

It's always been this way unfortunately. The Celtic Tiger years exposed it, the Recession exposed it, and the CV-19 event has magnified it ten-fold through both the constant fear and negativity from mainstream media, and the absolute hysteria and confrontational aspect of social media.

I've been on boards for years and this post is one of the one's I have seen with least connection to reality. The mutiple thanks for it reflect the dysfunctional boards bubble that have taken over these threads.

Civilised societies do not allow people randomly attack each other, and neither should they allow you wantonly give other people a possibly fatal virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I've been on boards for years and this post is one of the one's I have seen with least connection to reality. The mutiple thanks for it reflect the dysfunctional boards bubble that have taken over these threads.

Civilised societies do not allow people randomly attack each other, and neither should they allow you wantonly give other people a possibly fatal virus.

I've read this post a few times and I haven't a clue what you are on about.

Hopefully someone can explain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

I've read this post a few times and I haven't a clue what you are on about.

Hopefully someone can explain

In your case haven't a clue is right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I've been on boards for years and this post is one of the one's I have seen with least connection to reality. The mutiple thanks for it reflect the dysfunctional boards bubble that have taken over these threads..
    This thread seems to have collected all the Boards posters who think that this virus is trivial, and they are somehow helping by repeating this "fact" over and over again. When the reality is that more than anyone else in society they are the ones who would most contribute to us having to go back into lockdown, because they refuse to even do the basics to try and stop spread - and worse, they are now actively trying to sow distrust of the vaccines which will ultimately get us out of this entirely.

So it's interesting in one sense, particularly when you have posters with 20 and 30 posts to their name who registered about a week ago telling you to get off their thread. I'd be interested to know if Boards.ie are happy to provide a platform for what is being said on here, or perhaps they are just happy that these posters are largely corralled in their own little thought bubble here where they can backslap each other as to how enlightened and intelligent they are. I suspect the latter as it's easier to manage rather than having to continuously police the reregs and bans.

hmmm wrote: »
    This thread seems to have collected all the Boards posters who think that this virus is trivial, and they are somehow helping by repeating this "fact" over and over again. When the reality is that more than anyone else in society they are the ones who would most contribute to us having to go back into lockdown, because they refuse to even do the basics to try and stop spread - and worse, they are now actively trying to sow distrust of the vaccines which will ultimately get us out of this entirely.

So it's interesting in one sense, particularly when you have posters with 20 and 30 posts to their name who registered about a week ago telling you to get off their thread. I'd be interested to know if Boards.ie are happy to provide a platform for what is being said on here, or perhaps they are just happy that these posters are largely corralled in their own little thought bubble here where they can backslap each other as to how enlightened and intelligent they are. I suspect the latter as it's easier to manage rather than having to continuously police the reregs and bans.

If anyone wants to know how the magdalene laundries existed for so long in Ireland its attitudes like above.

Amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

This thread seems to have collected all the Boards posters who think that this virus is trivial, and they are somehow helping by repeating this "fact" over and over again. When the reality is that "more than anyone else in society they are the ones who would most contribute to us having to go back into lockdown, because they refuse to even do the basics to try and stop spread - and worse, they are now actively trying to sow distrust of the vaccines which will ultimately get us out of this entirely.

Maybe post in the feedback forum about how displeased you are at Boards allowing a different view to be aired on the virus. A view that is gaining more currency as each deathless day (Deaths from anything other than Covid seem to have no relevance) passes.

Be sure also to mention that some of the anonymous posters on the thread are
    more than anyone else in society they are the ones who would most contribute to us having to go back into lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭growleaves

Do you know what the word wanton means?

If you knew you were infected with Covid and you deliberately spit in someone's cup of tea when they weren't looking that would be wantonly giving someone a possibly fatal virus.

The debate is over theoretical methods for reducing droplet-transmission of a virus knowing that these methods take a huge toll economically, socially and mentally and may be unethical - especially the longer they are extended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

So...you want to silence people who do not share your views?
    You’re also encouraging the blame game which is destroying our society - ‘posters on here aren't following any of the new rules and are to ‘blame’ for the existence of Covid in the population’. Talk about making all sorts of assumptions there.
    And you brought up the vaccine - ‘anyone who doesn’t want to follow the current restrictions and then subsequently take the vaccine should be silenced’.
    I don’t think so.

So...you want to silence people who do not share your views?
    You’re also encouraging the blame game which is destroying our society - ‘posters on here aren't following any of the new rules and are to ‘blame’ for the existence of Covid in the population. Talk about making all sorts of assumptions there.
    And you brought up the vaccine - ‘anyone who doesn’t want to follow the current restrictions and then subsequently take the vaccine should be silenced’.
    I don’t think so.

As the push back against restrictions grows, some lads are starting to lose the plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭growleaves

When the reality is that more than anyone else in society they are the ones who would most contribute to us having to go back into lockdown, because they refuse to even do the basics to try and stop spread

Evidence for this statement? I haven't been throwing house parties or flouting restrictions.
    So it's interesting in one sense, particularly when you have posters with 20 and 30 posts to their name who registered about a week ago telling you to get off their thread.

Lol

Jackman25 wrote: »
    As the push back against restrictions grows, some lads are starting to lose the plot.

Clearly plenty lads here, about 10 is my guess, after reading posts. Could name them, but feck it, they gonna get tired over the time and disappear :D

I wouldn't be so sure.

I thought some would get tired hitting F5 in the main thread eventually

I wouldn't be so sure.

I thought some would get tired hitting F5 in the main thread eventually

Ah sh1t mate, no f5 on my phone. But doesn't matter I love reading that pile of bs some posting here. And as I said before, it's easy to find them by words they use.

Make sure and keep posting every brain-fart you have anyway. Its great getting a minute by minute update on your thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

... they are now actively trying to sow distrust of the vaccines which will ultimately get us out of this entirely.

If you want to trust a vaccine that has been fast tracked in terms of development and trials be my guest. Before you do so please research what a vaccine developed for a similar occasion (i.e. swine flu) has caused to a large number of people who took the jabs. Check what happened in Sweden - another thing that helps to understand Sweden’s approach to this problem.
    It is not a vaccine that is going to get us out of this but common sense and acting on information and evidence instead of on anecdotes.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭acequion

Wow but the insults, bullying and general control freak mania displayed by some posters in response to posts they don't like really proves the point some of us have been making.

Can you guys not just agree to disagree? Are ye completely incapable of accepting that there are other opinions? My way or the highway type of thing is it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,867 ✭✭✭✭road_high

acequion wrote: »
    Wow but the insults, bullying and general control freak mania displayed by some posters in response to posts they don't like really proves the point some of us have been making.

Can you guys not just agree to disagree? Are ye completely incapable of accepting that there are other opinions? My way or the highway type of thing is it? :rolleyes:

Pretty much. If you can’t argue the points denegrate and ridicule them as Gemmabots etc
    The figures speak themselves though. Deaths, hospitalisation and ICU admissions are tiny and way out of proportion to the hysteria and no amount of finger waving will persuade me otherwise

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Make sure and keep posting every brain-fart you have anyway. Its great getting a minute by minute update on your thoughts.

Ah I'll pass on that one, enough is enough for one day. I'll leave it up to you guys, cuz you are the best at it. Love your "thoughts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

Micky 32 wrote: »
    This pandemic for me has been a real eye opener about certain cohorts of people. I’m not sure what’s worse, the virus or my realisations.
    Definitely the realizations. I’m still in a state of shock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

No deaths today which brings our 7 day total to a whopping 0 deaths due to this deadly virus.

Kildare still in lockdown. Pubs still closed and likely to be for the remainder of 2020. 200k claiming PUP. GAA fans banned from attending matches. Retail outlets decimated. International tourism non-existent. Vital medical screenings postponed.

Utter madness.

Lundstram wrote: »
    No deaths today which brings our 7 day total to a whopping 0 deaths due to this deadly virus.

Kildare still in lockdown. Pubs still closed and likely to be for the remainder of 2020. 200k claiming PUP. GAA fans banned from attending matches. Retail outlets decimated. International tourism non-existent. Vital medical screenings postponed.

Utter madness.
    Yes, zero deaths the last week but don’t forget “The coronavirus lottery - It could be you”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,867 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Yes, zero deaths the last week but don’t forget “The coronavirus lottery - It could be you”

Or “long Covid”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

growleaves wrote: »
    Do you know what the word wanton means?

If you knew you were infected with Covid and you deliberately spit in someone's cup of tea when they weren't looking that would be wantonly giving someone a possibly fatal virus.

The debate is over theoretical methods for reducing droplet-transmission of a virus knowing that these methods take a huge toll economically, socially and mentally and may be unethical - especially the longer they are extended.

Of course I know what wanton means. Spitting in your cup would be an extreme case, refusing to wear a mask would be more common wanton behaviour.
    road_high wrote: »
    Pretty much. If you can’t argue the points denegrate and ridicule them as Gemmabots etc
    The figures speak themselves though. Deaths, hospitalisation and ICU admissions are tiny and way out of proportion to the hysteria and no amount of finger waving will persuade me otherwise

This is a bit like sitting on the first class deck on the Titanic and noting that the water hadn't reached you yet and wondering why the waiters were not continuing to serve the champers.

road_high wrote: »
    Or “long Covid”
    Oh yes. Even if the situation improves right now, don’t forget to fear “long covid”. I’ve been trying to explain this to my Swedish friends. They politely pretend to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭firemansam4

hmmm wrote:

I've been more of a lurker on this thread, and I have been supportive of the restrictions so far especially when things were bad during the Spring.

But I have to say some of the posters here are making valid points, there does seem to be this focus on cases rising and now talk of more restrictions and a second lockdown coming form some people in government and NPHET, which seems like madness at the moment.

The fact that hospital admissions and fatality rate has been very low for many weeks seems to be just being ignored and not even questioned by anyone in the MSM

Yes I do realise it takes time for these figures to come through from when cases have been reported but we should be seeing a surge now since when cases started rising again.
    If you look at the first wave there was a 2/3 week gap between the surge in cases and then deaths.

Have to correct myself. 16 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The fact that hospital admissions and fatality rate has been very low for many weeks seems to be just being ignored and not even questioned by anyone in the MSM
    They have been very low because of the actions we took to get control of the initial outbreak. We (the country and the vast majority of people) took their responsibilities seriously and did a great job, unlike many of the so-called patriots here.

Hospitalisations are now rising. We need that to level off.

Deaths are a severely lagging indicator. If we waited to act until deaths started rising we'd been in a mess similar to Trump's America.

We won't get any further into relaxing restrictions, and risk going backwards, if we don't get control of the current rise in cases & hospitalisations. Thankfully most people are doing their bit (including businesses).