If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Don2012 wrote: »
    Why don't you start a thread on a website, and let a group of people who seem to all be buddies attack you, see how you like it.
    t

Slightly defecting but yeah ill consider doing that, however i think thtas not really relevant is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Don2012

t

Slightly defecting but yeah ill consider doing that, however i think thtas not really relevant is it?

Sure you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Sure you will.

Well yes actually i have considered it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

"If the virus spares you" get a grip would you! Who exactly is my "puppet master"??

You tell me. The Illuminati, the shape shifting blood drinking Lizard people from another dimension that want to control all us with their evil vaccines? They are there ruling and controlling this planet. Your tinfoil hats provide some very limited protection from them but are not really that effective. Isn`t that what you and your cohort believe?

You tell me. The Illuminati, the shape shifting blood drinking Lizard people from another dimension that want to control all us with their evil vaccines? They are there ruling and controlling this planet, Isn`t that what you and your cohort believe?

I have not idea what you are talking about, who is the Illuminati?? Are you drunk tonight seriously??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

I have not idea what you are talking about, who is the Illuminati?? Are you drunk tonight seriously??

Sure you don`t. Pull the other one pal. Anyway I`m going to bed. Stay safe, securely fasten your tinfoil hat and beware of the pod people.

Sure you don`t. Pull the other one pal.

You really are an odd one. Explain to me what you mean, you use the most bizarre words, are you on the drink?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Pot, Kettle, Black!

I have just looked to see what the figures are right now, and almost 750,000, yes, seven hundred and fifty thousand people have died worldwide as a result of Covid.

Some of the comments made in this thread have been totally disrespectful of a very large number of people who six months ago would not have expected to be dead today. This pandemic is far from over, please stop demeaning the sacrifices that so many have already made to try and save as many lives as possible.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Pot, Kettle, Black!

I have just looked to see what the figures are right now, and almost 750,000, yes, seven hundred and fifty thousand people have died worldwide as a result of Covid.

Some of the comments made in this thread have been totally disrespectful of a very large number of people who six months ago would not have expected to be dead today. This pandemic is far from over, please stop demeaning the sacrifices that so many have already made to try and save as many lives as possible.

Yes, 750,000 souls have died, and may they rest in peace. You or I do not know if they died from this or not, you see people die everyday, but since this came about it seems to be the only cause of death. Numbers have been inflated and deaths marked as Covid, but believe what you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

You really are an odd one. Explain to me what you mean, you use the most bizarre words, are you on the drink?

Mod: @Don2012 - take 48 hours off from the thread. When you return, come back with something approximating a discussion or point of view.

@John O.Groats - quit it with the smartarsed replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

What "disease" this is a virus from the Coronavirus family. You've been watching RTE too long.

I used your terminology. Are you going to answer my question? Would you be willing to subject yourself and your family to the virus in the name of research?

Edit: posted before seeing mod note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Legal action now being looked at if pubs are pushed back after August 31 , the big drinks companys are getting on board. Heinken,Diageo and C+C. Public buy in is all but gone now. I would expect 80-120 cases to be fairly common from now on. deaths are low though. Life will go straight back to normal once schools open up. i think pubs actually wil open August 31, ironically cases will be about 4 times what they were on July 20th. government afraid of their lives the teacher unions will kick up about schools reopening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Pot, Kettle, Black!

Well a lot of them probably would have been expected to die soon enough six months ago to be fair. But that’s by the by.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Well a lot of them probably would have been expected to die soon enough six months ago to be fair. But that’s by the by.

Really?

What's a lot? Give me a % for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Dickie10 wrote: »
    Legal action now being looked at if pubs are pushed back after August 31 , the big drinks companys are getting on board. Heinken,Diageo and C+C. Public buy in is all but gone now. I would expect 80-120 cases to be fairly common from now on. deaths are low though. Life will go straight back to normal once schools open up. i think pubs actually wil open August 31, ironically cases will be about 4 times what they were on July 20th. government afraid of their lives the teacher unions will kick up about schools reopening.

Hoping they get to open soon and I get back to doing a few hours. At this rate my legs won't manage a 3 hour shift :) But I don't want to go back against medical advice because the drinks industry won a lawsuit. We should be trying as an industry to show we can excel at implementing the guidelines and maybe even going above and beyond the minimum, rather than showing a desire to open safe or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,765 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

tis sad what has become of a night out

Sometimes you might get away with having dinner and then few pints spanning 3/4 hours but others the guards could come along and shut the place down. Obv its the law but you know some pubs are getting away with it and feel others will from tomorrow on

guess its a case been in a place at the right/wrong time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

PTH2009 wrote: »

Sometimes you might get away with having dinner and then few pints spanning 3/4 hours but others the guards could come along and shut the place down. Obv its the law but you know some pubs are getting away with it and feel others will from tomorrow on

Went into a pub near me, met a few mates for our weekly club fundraiser lotto. In at 7 left at 10.30.

If they know you no food needed, Gardai walked past about 8.30 and didn't bat an eyelid.

Went into a pub near me tonight, met a few mates for our weekly club fundraiser lotto. In at 7 left at 10.30, last orders just after 9.30

If they know you no food needed, Gardai walked past about 8.30 and didn't bat an eyelid, said hello to a few people and walked back out again after a friendly chat with the staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Really?

What's a lot? Give me a % for the craic

We will not know excess deaths for 2020 until January/February assuming there is not a second wave or an early flu season. My guess is that for Ireland it will be less than 500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,765 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Wish I would be as lucky

You must live in a rural village or be known. Its way harder for city folk to find somewhere comfortable for a few hours without been worried about a visit from the garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,610 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Wish I would be as lucky

You must live in a rural village or be known. Its way harder for city folk to find somewhere comfortable for a few hours without been worried about a visit from the garda

You're obviously a part time drinker. Build a relationship, build a reputation, and the perks come with it. 2-2 1/2 hours is normally my sweet spot if I'm solo pinting, and I've never been pushed to make it any less than that since the 29th.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Wish I would be as lucky

I'm in a busy suburb and its no bother at all get a good few hours of pinting in any number of pubs.
    I have to eat my dinner now before I got out as more than likely we end up not having a meal, suits me as I don't like mixing eating with pinting.
    Normal pinting shift is 5/6 hours and we have not once been told to move on before that and I haven't seen a guard poke a nose in the door of any of the pubs.

You probably need to find a place that isn't busy enough that they can move you on without losing money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Boulevardier

Just on a point of information: Do the Gardai (or any other authority) have the power to close a pub on the spot, at least for a day or 2, if they transgress Covid rules, or can they only object to renewing the pub's licence? If they do not have such a power, is it not time they were given it, and used it?

Wish I would be as lucky

Nope busy town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Legal action now being looked at if pubs are pushed back after August 31 , the big drinks companys are getting on board. Heinken,Diageo and C+C. Public buy in is all but gone now. I would expect 80-120 cases to be fairly common from now on. deaths are low though....

I wouldn't rely on the drinks company legal action to be about anything except looking after their own profit. It won't have any relation to safety of the punters or staff. Why should they care about people's safety?

Pubs should stay closed and schools should reopen (if it's safe). Both will lead to more transmission so if I had to pick one or the other then I'd go for schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

I completely agree with this sentiment. Mrhe virus is here to stay and distancing is here to stay. Lots of the old ways of doing things will change, including socialising. Men's sheds are a great idea and deserve support and men deserve encouragement to join up with their local shed.

Sitting around waiting for things to go back normal and pubs to reopen is only going to lead to prolonged loneliness. Go out and find new ways to meet up with people.

There's no way pubs should reopen any time soon. Little distancing and no masks. Terrible combination.

Excellent post.
    At the start of the lockdown I said we all need to be willing to adapt and compromise things that we all take for granted. Adapting can mean trying new things, embracing new hobbies, finding new ways to cope with the loss of usual routine and extra free time.
    It should be seen as an opportunity. Why can't elderly farmers be introduced to social media or the basics of using a laptop? Are they incapable of learning something new? It's something that should be encouraged at a community level.

Those of us unwilling or unable to adapt will suffer most. It doesn't matter if you have been doing X every day for 40 years. We are all in the same boat. Those of us who are simply unwilling to change due to pig headedness deserve little sympathy.

I dread to think what would happen if there was something even more disruptive to our lives, like a war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

I wouldn't rely on the drinks company legal action to be about anything except looking after their own profit. It won't have any relation to safety of the punters or staff. Why should they care about people's safety?

Pubs should stay closed and schools should reopen (if it's safe). Both will lead to more transmission so if I had to pick one or the other then I'd go for schools.

bull . ttheres no need to pick one over the other, get them open and get on with our lives, if theres a breakout, local lockdown. pubs, nightclubs the whole lot should be opened asap. like i say local lock down if neccessary .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

bull . ttheres no need to pick one over the other, get them open and get on with our lives, if theres a breakout, local lockdown. pubs, nightclubs the whole lot should be opened asap. like i say local lock down if neccessary .

Indeed it's not bull. Start by opening essential things and things where transmission is low. The last things to open should be the least essential and things where transmission is highest.

Pubs are not essential and they're a hight transmission place. So the choices are obvious. Your tongue might be hanging out of your head for the pubs to reopen, but luckily some people are thinking about the whole society and not just their own personal pleasure.

That attitude is really a problem with addressing the situation. The weak should perish so you can have your pints whenever you want. Dreadfully selfish attitude alltogether-so-it-is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Excellent post.
    At the start of the lockdown I said we all need to be willing to adapt and compromise things that we all take for granted. Adapting can mean trying new things, embracing new hobbies, finding new ways to cope with the loss of usual routine and extra free time.
    It should be seen as an opportunity. Why can't elderly farmers be introduced to social media or the basics of using a laptop? Are they incapable of learning something new? It's something that should be encouraged at a community level.

Those of us unwilling or unable to adapt will suffer most. It doesn't matter if you have been doing X every day for 40 years. We are all in the same boat. Those of us who are simply unwilling to change due to pig headedness deserve little sympathy.

I dread to think what would happen if there was something even more disruptive to our lives, like a war.

Scary ****. Its like something Stalin would have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Indeed it's not bull. Start by opening essential things and things where transmission is low. The last things to open should be the least essential and things where transmission is highest.

Pubs are not essential and they're a hight transmission place. So the choices are obvious. Your tongue might be hanging out of your head for the pubs to reopen, but luckily some people are thinking about the whole society and not just their own personal pleasure.

That attitude is really a problem with addressing the situation. The weak should perish so you can have your pints whenever you want. Dreadfully selfish attitude alltogether-so-it-is.

Hysterical rubbish.