Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Angry men on the Internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

Nah man that's hilarious!!!

Much Ike the Budweiser "whasssaaaaaaaaaap" and the Crazy Frog, it will be around forever

Maybe in the right context but the way it so badly used here by those teenage types lacking an argument is just frustrating.

(Not a boomer btw)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I always seem to want to bring the converstaion around to pyscho women killers .....my brain just works this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

As a cyclist, I find the angry men on social media so easy to wind up when cycling stories appear. Todays story on €2.5m being spent on cycling facilties was particularly amusing.

i_surge wrote: »
    I'm not following you sorry?

The actions are usually lamentable but i can understand the source of frustration that leads to them. Just that.
    Ah i understand you now.

I can't understand the frustration. I don't know men well enough I think. I haven't walked in their shoes. :o

I always seem to want to bring the converstaion around to pyscho women killers .....my brain just works this way.

Supposedly the fairer sex are disproportionately attracted to stories of this sort on netflix.

Might explain why you mistrust us so much sometimes.

Personally those things freak me out, i know deranged weirdos exist but i like to pretend as if they don't.

Hang on... psychos who kill women or psychos who are women???

Supposedly the fairer sex are disproportionately attracted to stories of this sort on netflix.

Might explain why you mistrust us so much sometimes.

Personally those things freak me out, i know deranged weirdos exist but i like to pretend as if they don't.

Hang on... psychos who kill women or psychos who are women???

PSYCHOS KILLERS WHO ARE WOMEN!:D

Also female vampires!

Ah i understand you now.

I can't understand the frustration. I don't know men well enough I think. I haven't walked in their shoes. :o

I think that's why I know women so well. Every second Wednesday night, I wear their shoes

PSYCHOS KILLERS WHO ARE WOMEN!:D

Also female vampires!

Sounds sexy somehow. I guess that's how they get you.

Skippyme wrote: »
    Racism is applied to groups of people.

Such as? Apart from organisations which are intentionally racist, I can't think of a significantly large group that would be labelled that way.

Avoiding all the other possible genders, Male/female are the two primary ones. Toxic Masculinity is something applied to a rather significant portion of humanity, because it applies to manhood.
    Is it any fairer that an area may be portrayed as racist or any demographic ? Certain people due to age, location, wealth or experience with interacting with a diverse range of people may be more or less likely to be racist, same thing.

Now, you're going far beyond what we were talking about...
    Toxic femininity isn't spoken about as much, must be less women irked by it. There's no point in saying let's not talk about Toxic Masc. as men based on that. It's more dangerous to be anorexic in the short term than the opposite of piling on the pounds initially but different ends of spectrum. Like I said we calling out Toxic Masc. does not mean women can't do same their end.

You missed my point completely.
    It only calls out the negative hence the Toxic term. We don't say new born toxic male. We don't say my toxic brother or son. We don't call Domestic Violence a quarrel and remove domestic because we can't confuse or add home to the mix - it could have happened anywhere or why not say assault instead but they were known to each other, don't say they lived together for example!!!

Huh? I have no idea where you're going with this, or the relevance to what I posted.
    I never mentioned men being the cause of disbelief. It was expected and thought of as odd long ago for the accusation to occur because they were married. By the same token men can't suffer at the hands of Toxic Masc. just because like Rape in marriage we apparently know it is a null point -NO

Ahh, so your examples have nothing to do with the gender of the participants? Um. Maybe, I'm tired, but your paragraph above makes little sense to me. Men can't suffer at the hands of Toxic masc? What?

You have lost me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

I think it's like restaurant reviews. You're only compelled to write one if you really loved or hated the food/service otherwise you wouldn't bother.

Comments on the internet are that 0.5% of people who are reacting cos they're wound up today.

Of course you can click on someones profile and find they're furious all the time but that's probably just performative or something. Surely you can't genuinely be angry 24/7 unless it's a mental health issue. Twitter is a frustrating platform in that you get no feedback most of the time. It's like you're talking to yourself. This drives a fair amount of agitating behaviour.

I think it's like restaurant reviews. You're only compelled to write one if you really loved or hated the food/service otherwise you wouldn't bother.

Comments on the internet are that 0.5% of people who are reacting cos they're wound up today.

Of course you can click on someones profile and find they're furious all the time but that's probably just performative or something. Surely you can't genuinely be angry 24/7 unless it's a mental health issue. Twitter is a frustrating platform in that you get no feedback most of the time. It's like you're talking to yourself. This drives a fair amount of agitating behaviour.

Anger like all emotions is fleeting and has a purpose.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

9/11......terrible stuff altogether

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Skippyme

Now, you're going far beyond what we were talking about...

You missed my point completely

I think I was quite articulate but you've simply dodged entirely what I said on purpose to deflect by saying you don't like what I have to say .... makes no sense etc. dirty vague technique

It isn't really about the internet.

Off topic sorry but been meaning to ask you, what is the attitude in Vietnam (you are there right?) towards how the western world have handled covid?

Laughing stock?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭worded

The title of angriest man in the world goes to

https://youtu.be/zSWUWPx2VeQ

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winnebago_Man

Out takes from an infomercial shot in hot temps with loads of flies attacking

Off topic sorry but been meaning to ask you, what is the attitude in Vietnam (you are there right?) towards how the western world have handled covid?

Laughing stock?

Difficult to answer without projecting my own thoughts. Definitely not laughing stock. In general, people don't care about Covid-19 or think about much. They wear their masks and get on with things. There's no scandal or debate. At the start, there was a lot of stuff about the UK and America but most of that was because so many young Vietnamese were studying there and it was through that lens. Now they've mostly been repatriated and the borders are closed so the West's response means nothing to the average person.

Anyways, let's not derail the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,079 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Lot of anger out there...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

They ARE overly sensitive. Its not a put down. Its an observation. I am not saying it to harm people. Being overly sensitive goes hand in hand with low EQ.

I mean this in many ways.

1. They are overly sensitive for their own emotional well being. Part of being emotionally intelligent is the ability to predict your reactions and moods and monitor them well. It is recognizing there are two people in a conversation and another person's perception of you doesn't have to be true or affect you. People tend to think being emotionally intelligent is being more emotional. That's not the case. Its monitoring your emotions around other people as much as anything.

Lack of emotional intelligence is linked to a lot of emotional and mental issues.

A lot of people both men and women who are angry a lot have low EQs.

You are correct they DO have mental and emotional circumstances that they are unable to monitor themselves.

I often hear men complain about .....women don't like nice men etc. Or they are unsuccessful with women. Whilst they might be good hearted people. In reality they have low EQ a lot of the time. Women tend to like men who are emotionally intelligent. In fact other men like men who are emotionally intelligent too. But its not a skill we focus on or teach in schools.

It's not just true of men.

I am female and i personally wish i had higher EQ. But i do think its something you can learn in adulthood too. So i am trying. :o

Low EQ affects mental health A LOT.

A high EQ is necessary for good mental health. It's probably much more important in your life and career than IQ tbh.

By the way its not just men. Its young girls too who are suffering.

A lot of anxiety in teens girls surrounding body image and things like depression and managing emotions can be traced back to low EQ its hard to spot in smart people though of both genders. People with a very high IQ can have low EQ. we see this when we say smart people make stupid decisions.

Interestingly emotional Intelligence is not always a positive attribute ie in that it may be used to manipulate others
    People who scored high on EQ and Machiavellianism scored remarkably high on the interpersonal deviance scale: They used their emotional skills to demean and embarrass their peers for personal gain. Among participants who scored low on Machiavellianism, EQ mattered little: They scored low in interpersonal deviance. The authors concluded that simply having high EQ doesn’t necessarily promote kindness and compassion. Having high EQ can be used to promote bad behavior.

For example those with sociopathic tendencies will use charm as a way to manipulate people and are generally quick to get a read on people's motivations and emotional vulnerabilities in order to exploit them.

I've met more than a few people with such traits tbh ...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Nah man that's hilarious!!!

Much Ike the Budweiser "whasssaaaaaaaaaap" and the Crazy Frog, it will be around forever

I'd happily forgotten about "Whasssssp" till it was revived recently. Hopefully I'll be no longer around the next time it happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Why are there so many angry men on the Internet, and what are they so angry about?

I visited Twitter this morning and was struck, once again, about how angry and hostile a site it is. A case in point is this harmless retweet by Simon Harris.

https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/1268165151783563264

You'd also see it here. Men lashing out at RTÉ presenters, female comedians, Greta Thunberg, social media influencers, poor people, rich people etc etc.

Where is all this anger coming from? Are they not getting the ride or something? Or is the internet itself making them angry?

How do you know they are angry? just because they voice an opinion that differs from your own or others, it just their opinion and thats how life is.
    It may be that the anger is in you? Also is it only men get angry? this is what your OP post suggests.
    Can you give us what you consider is a good example of what your talking about?
    For me i need to be in the presence of a person or be at least chatting on phone to make judgement of whether angry.

I had an istance here a couple of weeks ago where a poster put up a post about agressive drivers which i did not agree with what he was saying. They had became condesending and eventually asked the mod to close the thread as i was the (particular poster determined to derail thread)

Iassume this person thought i was angry but i was not but did not agree so they ran away from the discussion.
    Generally in any conversation the person that "loses it" will lose the discussion/arguement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

The irony of this thread.

*Angry man thread started

*Loads of giving out, in thread

Haha. Priceless.

Skippyme wrote: »
    I think I was quite articulate but you've simply dodged entirely what I said on purpose to deflect by saying you don't like what I have to say .... makes no sense etc. dirty vague technique

I didn't deflect. I simply didn't/don't understand your writing.

Dirty vague technique? Erm, nope. That's not and has never been my style of posting. Although I do think you should consider the first two posts we shared, then compare the last one, and ask yourself, how far have we moved away from the original point.....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Reminds me of the time a couple of years back, I replied to a post on Ye Booke Of Faeces on the topic of Travellers, something along the lines of not trusting the average Traveler for too long near a good gate, a comment in fairness only based half on experience and half in jest. Some earnest, bearded young geography teacher type then pipes up "WHAT YOU ARE SPEAKING IS PURE HATE, YOU FUCKING RACIST PRICK!!". Go figure... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,540 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I thought it was a portmanteau term for...

Involuntary Celibate.

That’s the “origin” of the term, alright, but not all involuntary celibates are “incels”. It really only applies to the ones who, really, hate women. Like on here.

It’s the same with the term “neckbeard”, you can get some young lads with the affliction of a weak moustache and bald, ruddy, cheeks who don’t play computer games or have an unhealthy obsession with Japanese cartoons.

I guess it’s easier explain with the old “adage”: it’s not the size of the fedora that counts, it’s how you tip it.

But with the “incels” it would be more a case of: it’s not the lack of attractiveness, or a healthy sex life, that counts, it’s how you rage and wail online against women and, normal, lads.

The tide is turning…

That’s the “origin” of the term, alright, but not all involuntary celibates are “incels”. It really only applies to the ones who, really, hate women. Like on here.

Eh?

Eh?

That poster seems to think that anyone he disagrees with is angry, and any criticism of women is mysogynistic.

I only wish to have a horse so high to ride in on when I get my white knighthood.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    As a cyclist, I find the angry men on social media so easy to wind up when cycling stories appear. Todays story on €2.5m being spent on cycling facilties was particularly amusing.

Personally i think cars should be completely banned, buses bikes and trains.
    We can have tuc-tuc and rickshaws on the WWW, be great crack.

You buy a nice bike for cost of taxing a car for a year, then government put tax on bicycles...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

"What" "planet" "are" "you" "on" "?"

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,079 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Lot of deep stuff here... old scores being settled, good digs under the table being delivered.

Obtuse is king.

My kinda thread......