Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

EDit wrote: »
    Why was the protest in Dublin necessary? What did it actually achieve?

Sweet Fanny Adam's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

So in reality the only thing thats hindering us in opening up it seems is plain and simply the HSE and health/hospital sector in the country is quite simply a shambles to begin with!

But apparently all these people associated with making sure the health service isnt a shambles ie: the HSE, King Tony, Simon Harris, government etc are doing a fantastic job and if everyone just stays the fcuk at home and doesnt go near a hospital with anything other than Covid we will be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Those calling the shots are the same incompetent morons , who have failedctbis country for years. What plants have you been living on? They get away with this **** because of the apathy or ignorance of people!

Potatoes, mostly potatoes. ;-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Martin Luther king.
    Jame Earl ray shot him and when he died he didn’t want to be buried in the us coz of the way they treated him. So his ashes were flown to and scattered in Ireland. That’s our connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

the kelt wrote: »
    So in reality the only thing thats hindering us in opening up it seems is plain and simply the HSE and health/hospital sector in the country is quite simply a shambles to begin with!

But apparently all these people associated with making sure the health service isnt a shambles ie: the HSE, King Tony, Simon Harris, government etc are doing a fantastic job and if everyone just stays the fcuk at home and doesnt go near a hospital with anything other than Covid we will be grand!

At the start they could only do 2000/3000 tests per week and had to wait 2 - 3 weeks for results.

Now they can do 105,000 tests per week (only 35,000 been taken up 2 out of 3 last weeks) and results are 98% within 2 days, most of time within 1 day per HSE CEO.

Yet we still havent heard any announcements of accelerating restrictions being lifted.

Flattened the curve, improved testing capacity and speed of results greatly, empty hospitals, 80%+ empty ICU beds, yet we have doctors coming out warning against lifting restrictions early.

Just getting to that hopeless stage. :mad:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

the kelt wrote: »
    You know I'd be a bit more content if Tony, or Simon, came on and said:

"Look, I'll be honest. You the public are doing a pretty good job and really, we should be able to open up sooner but we've completely fscked up the health service and we've no confidence we can handle a surge. Other countries have a better system, that's why they're opening faster, but we've made a complete mess of ours. Mea culpa, mea culpa - sorry guys!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Sheep_shear

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Martin Luther king.
    Jame Earl ray shot him and when he died he didn’t want to be buried in the us coz of the way they treated him. So his ashes were flown to and scattered in Ireland. That’s our connection.

Good story but not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,457 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

So I presume the League of Ireland and regional GAA games are allowed go ahead now? Since gatherings of a thousand people outdoors are allowed as evidenced yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Does anyone know if the lockdown is still in place today? I see it was lifted yesterday. I was thinking of taking a carload of girls to Tramore. It’s all a bit confusing if your watching the RTÉ news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

At the start they could only do 2000/3000 tests per week and had to wait 2 - 3 weeks for results.

Now they can do 105,000 tests per week (only 35,000 been taken up 2 out of 3 last weeks) and results are 98% within 2 days, most of time within 1 day per HSE CEO.

Yet we still havent heard any announcements of accelerating restrictions being lifted.

Flattened the curve, improved testing capacity and speed of results greatly, empty hospitals, 80%+ empty ICU beds, yet we have doctors coming out warning against lifting restrictions early.

2000 a day actually. How exactly would anyone have heard anything seeing as the Cabinet has yet to meet on it?

splinter65 wrote: »
    I was thinking of taking a carload of girls to Tramore.

Epstein alert :pac:

is_that_so wrote: »
    2000 a day actually. How exactly would anyone have heard anything seeing as the Cabinet has yet to meet on it?

so 14,000 tests per week - week 1.

105,000 tests per week - this week.

Yet we are "not there yet"?

Actual numbers dont matter, if person has no symptoms they have 0 reason to do a test, unless have nothing to do or been informed they came in contact with a covid case. Hence 35,000 take up the test per week now and 98% come back negative because they dont have covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

It’s all over now. How Leo can stand up there on Friday and have the gall to tell us what we still can’t do for another month or so, while green lighting a protest that broke a myriad of rules, is pathetic and farcical.

I'd ask for a link to where he green lighted a protest but you will show me his tweet which shows nothing to support your claim.

People are twisting that tweet to suit their agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

NDWC wrote: »
    So I presume the League of Ireland and regional GAA games are allowed go ahead now? Since gatherings of a thousand people outdoors are allowed as evidenced yesterday?

Yep it will be fine , they just need to hold a banner and chant something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,023 ✭✭✭growleaves

I'd ask for a link to where he green liggted a protest but you will show me his tweet which shows nothing to support your claim.

They are able to make a connection between his positive support for the cause for which the protest was organised and his simultaneous non-condemnation of the lack of social distancing at the protest.

It tells people everything they need to know. Its like the dog that didn't bark in the Sherlock Holmes story.

I doubt if anyone is going to fall for your spin but valiant effort all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I'd ask for a link to where he green liggted a protest but you will show me his tweet which shows nothing to support your claim.

A bit like people who choose not to see the wood from the trees to suit their agendas too.

growleaves wrote: »
    They are able to make a connection between his positive support for the cause for which the protest was organised and his simultaneous non-condemnation of the lack of social distancing at the protest.

It tells people everything they need to know. Its like the dog that didn't bark in the Sherlock Holmes story.

I doubt if anyone is going to fall for your spin but valiant effort all the same.

I'm just stating nowhere have I seen him support the march.

He did state we all need to come together against it.

Now yes you could take it both ways from that.

He did or he didn't.

All depends on what side of the fence you're on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Why do people cite others as justification for their behaviour - if you are a rule breaker then that's what you'll do - don't look for cover.

so 14,000 tests per week - week 1.

105,000 tests per week - this week.

Yet we are "not there yet"?

Actual numbers dont matter, if person has no symptoms they have 0 reason to do a test, unless have nothing to do or been informed they came in contact with a covid case. Hence 35,000 take up the test per week now and 98% come back negative because they dont have covid.
    No, it was far less than that. 2,000 a day was test processing capacity. The system quickly got bunged up with 20,000 hypochondriacs a day, a far too broad case definition and then we ran into the reagent issues. It took quite a while to get to that more ideal capacity and response time. Now it can do so according to the HSE. The positive rate was also very low initially at 3%, not much more than what we see now. What they are doing is getting the maximum time out of these restrictions in the agreed timeframe to push the virus close to zero.

I've had no issue with Phase 1 & Phase 2. The plan at that time looked well-considered, cautious but probably right. Now I'd expect some adjustments for those final 3 phases as our numbers go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

He did or he didn't.

Fine let's say for the sake of argument that he didn't necessarily support the gathering though I'm sure it is of no suprise to you that the vast majority of people here get the feeling he was, he still did not condemn it, which he obviously should have. There was not a hint of disapproval in his tweets, does that sit alright with you?

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Fine let's say for the sake of argument that he didn't necessarily support the gathering, he still did not condemn it, which he obviously should have
    In time for the 6-1 news yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,622 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

How do they expect to enact the 20km rule next week when they couldnt even enforce the 5km rule great.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Fine let's say for the sake of argument that he didn't necessarily support the gathering, he still did not condemn it, which he obviously should have

Yeah can't argue with that.

Definitely should and I expect it later.

If not it's disgraceful.

That Chinese green councillor on newstalk defending herself she attended it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

He did or he didn't.

No he hasn't supported the march but its his lack of condemnation of the large gathering that has people annoyed.
    He will no doubt be asked about it today and most will be interested to hear his answer considering there is another BLM Protest planned for Saturday 6th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Vicxas wrote: »
    How do they expect to enact the 20km rule next week when they couldnt even enforce the 5km rule great.

You can't.

This is all designed on the concept of the social contract - doing the right thing for the greater good. Not enforceable law

NDWC wrote: »

Well as I gather from the people here defending it, if the spectators threaten to turn violent if not allowed to attend then it's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Cafes and restaurants reopened across France today as the country took its latest step out of Covid-19 lockdown, with clients seizing the chance to bask on sunny terraces after 10 weeks of closures to fight the outbreak.

"I'm almost overwhelmed," Martine Depagniat, wearing a beige face mask and sunglasses, said at the Cafe de la Comedie in Paris, just across the street from the Louvre Museum where she works.

"Coffee on a terrace, that's Paris!," she said. "I think people really need a return to normal, even though there's still a bit of nervousness."

In the French capital and its suburbs, only outdoor seating and takeout is allowed, since dining rooms remain closed because of high contagion risks in the region.

But in the rest of the country cafes and restaurants are fully open, though with strict social distancing rules of at least one metre (three feet) between tables, and no standing at bars for drinks.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0602/1144884-daily-coronavirus-blog/

Restaurants at least 4 weeks away here

We're some joke

Glacial slow opening up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

So whats next?

We need to flatten the curve: Ok we done that, actually we done that ages ago, we obliterated the curve so we're good yeah?

Actually we need to get the r0 below 1: Ok fair enough, but hold on we had that achieved back in early May didnt we and its now around 0.4 to 0.6 so again we are good to maybe accelerate through the restrictions a bit, yeah?

Ehhm well ICU capacity, new case numbers and daily deaths, we need them reduced: Fair enough, makes sense, but since the 15th of May have we not been below 100 daily deaths apart from one day, active cases lowest since March 21st, daily deaths below 20 since May 12th, and 80%of ICU beds available, so good to go, yeah??

Well theressss emmm test turnaround times, they need to be reduced: Ok but thats on you but did you not admit we can now do 105k a week even now with a really good turnaround so alls good, took ye a while but ye got there so we are good to start moving quicker yeah?

Emm welllll, oh look we cant move on quicker because in reality the entire system is a shambles so everyone is just going to have to put up with it and oh yeah, our app isnt ready yet so just stfah but isnt Tony and Simon et all doing a great job everybody??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Yeah can't argue with that.

Definitely should and I expect it later.

If not it's disgraceful.

That Chinese green councillor on newstalk defending herself she attended it.

He probably will, once the useless, spineless, waste of space sees what way the wind is blowing on it.
    And it will be too little too late.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Cafes and restaurants reopened across France today as the country took its latest step out of Covid-19 lockdown, with clients seizing the chance to bask on sunny terraces after 10 weeks of closures to fight the outbreak.

"I'm almost overwhelmed," Martine Depagniat, wearing a beige face mask and sunglasses, said at the Cafe de la Comedie in Paris, just across the street from the Louvre Museum where she works.

"Coffee on a terrace, that's Paris!," she said. "I think people really need a return to normal, even though there's still a bit of nervousness."

In the French capital and its suburbs, only outdoor seating and takeout is allowed, since dining rooms remain closed because of high contagion risks in the region.

But in the rest of the country cafes and restaurants are fully open, though with strict social distancing rules of at least one metre (three feet) between tables, and no standing at bars for drinks.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0602/1144884-daily-coronavirus-blog/

Restaurants at least 4 weeks away here

We're some joke

Glacial slow opening up

Bars, dont forget bars, also opened. + Gyms.

People will tell you "ireland is behind france on infections and peaks"

Yeah but not bloody 2 months 10 days behind. 2-3 weeks at the most.