Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Tandey

easypazz wrote: »
    Cars would need to be totally redesigned.

That could pose a massive safety hazard if just retrofitted.

Bit of a safety hazard alright with only one half of the gears on the driver side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The Belly wrote: »
    Perfect cant wait to see the time this takes when the next budget comes around and we get a new USC for the ones left with an income. Should work as smoothly as the supply of PPE gear.

What do you disagree with in the post you quoted from me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Polar101

That’s without even mentioning all the people that have currently had important medical appointments cancelled.

Restrictions are fine. Lockdown is not.

They really need to get the medical services back to "normal" as soon as possible. The backlog for operations and appointments will be huge, and I assume there are loads of people who can't wait forever. Not to mention people who can't get diagnosed because services are not available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

kippy wrote: »
    Agreed.
    Reduce the risks by doing what it takes to reduce numbers on Public transport and improve conditions for those that are taking public transport.
    1. Work from home where possible. A number of companies have told their employees to WFH indefinetly.
    2. Stagger shifts/work patterns.
    3. Agreed on the masks. I am assuming the issue is currently with supply and training. This is something that should be changed.

WFH and stagger shifts are doable.

But there are so many areas where it is unworkable that I am not sure it will make much difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

What do you disagree with in the post you quoted from me?

Break if down for me. Whos going to pay for this transition?

But there are so many areas where it is unworkable that I am not sure it will make much difference.

As I said, if you say it's unworkable, you need to make it workable or at least reduce the risks to those involved. That's the whole point of this as well as handwashing.

It makes a massive difference. Physical distancing and handwashing makes a massive difference. There's no "unsure" about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Because absolutely no evidence exists to suggest 1 death was prevented in this country using the current restrictions, implemented under an approach used in countries with vastly differing demography

Okay, in that case, show me the evidence that shows that restrictions haven't halted the spread of the virus and saved additional lives.

Break if down for me. Whos going to pay for this transition?
    What transition are you talking about?
    The poster advised that social distancing on public transport wasn't possible (or words to that effect) and provided some ways to mitigate the risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

ixoy wrote: »
    So here's one - for those of us who can't drive, how are we going to learn to drive as we'd need to be in close proximity to a professional instructor? There's going to be cases like this where social distancing cannot be done so there'll need to be plans to work around it.

I’m a Learner driver. I’ve been driving alone to get to and from work and anytime I’ve been stopped I’ve told them that the fully licensed driver I usually have beside me is cocooning (which is true, it’s my dad and he’s 75) so I have no option other than to drive alone. They’ve let me through every time. Mostly they don’t ask for your license though, they just ask where you’re going and if you’re going home straight after.

If you haven’t done the theory test yet you’re screwed though.

What transition are you talking about?
    The poster advised that social distancing on public transport wasn't possible (or words to that effect) and provided some ways to mitigate the risk.

Your suggestions. Is that not a transition to a new way of doing things. And break down the numbers costs etc. Last time i checked we were importing masks from china that didnt work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Smegging hell

I’m a Learner driver. I’ve been driving alone to get to and from work and anytime I’ve been stopped I’ve told them that the fully licensed driver I usually have beside me is cocooning (which is true, it’s my dad and he’s 75) so I have no option other than to drive alone. They’ve let me through every time. Mostly they don’t ask for your license though, they just ask where you’re going and if you’re going home straight after.

If you haven’t done the theory test yet you’re screwed though.

I passed my theory test shortly before the restrictions were imposed but didn't go to the NDLS in time to turn the pass certificate into a learner permit, guess I'll have to wait.

Your suggestions. Is that not a transition to a new way of doing things. And break down the numbers costs etc. Last time i checked we were importing masks from china that didnt work.
    everyone pays
    whats the alternative? everyone pays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Zx6rdub

Iv been on boards most day. An have seen you post constantly every page or so.

Calling people nazis earlier and part of the lockdown brigade.

What do you suggest we do?
    You were called out earlier to reply to one of your silly comments and you bypassed it.

So just humour me. What are your suggestions

everyone pays
    whats the alternative? everyone pays.

And thats the flaw. It doesnt work like that here in real life. Wish it did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I passed my theory test shortly before the restrictions were imposed but didn't go to the NDLS in time to turn the pass certificate into a learner permit, guess I'll have to wait.

I’d just use the cert in lieu of a license if it’s a necessary journey. It’s basically the same thing. Has your picture on it and all.

And thats the flaw. It doesnt work like that here in real life. Wish it did

It's not a flaw - it's real life as you call it.

The risk has to be managed, if it's not more people die. At the moment it's that simple.

People pay either way.

What is the alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Irish Times reporting 'lock down' expected to continue beyond May 5th with new orders mandating extension to be signed off at the weekend. Any changes minimal or not at all.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/coronavirus-lockdown-expected-to-continue-beyond-may-5th-1.4239396?mode=amp

This was inevitable and we have to make do with the facts as they are, not as we would like them to be.

They do acknowledge that some restrictions could be lifted in phases through the summer.

It's not a flaw - it's real life as you call it.

The risk has to be managed, if it's not more people die. At the moment it's that simple.

People pay either way.

What is the alternative?

No its not that simple. People have unfortunately died for years due to lack of resources in hse and this came down to budgets.
    And as redhot as this covid crisis is the same stands true.
    If you suggestions were that simple we would all have a box of PPE gear post to every household in the country.
    A month ago

Alternative.

If your in the at-risk catogory then stay home as the rules currently stand until the risk passes.

Resources can be put into those that are at most risk.

If your not then back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84

Irish Times reporting 'lock down' expected to continue beyond May 5th with new orders mandating extension to be signed off at the weekend. Any changes minimal or not at all.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/coronavirus-lockdown-expected-to-continue-beyond-may-5th-1.4239396?mode=amp

This was inevitable and we have to make do with the facts as they are, not as we would like them to be.

They do acknowledge that some restrictions could be lifted in phases through the summer.

Ffs, this is ridiculous, I was obeying but if it continues I won’t anymore, countries much more affected are opening up. High risk myself but sick of it and at the edge of breaking down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

Good to see, its about life after all. Hopefully the Gardi get increased powers to arrest the non conformers with immediate effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Once they remove the 2km limit, then they can keep all other restrictions.

Good to see, its about life after all. Hopefully the Gardi get increased powers to arrest the non compilers with immediate effect.

Dangerous move power is easy to give away and hard to take back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Podge201

uli84 wrote: »
    Ffs, this is ridiculous, I was obeying but if it continues I won’t anymore, countries much more affected are opening up.

You go girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Zx6rdub

uli84 wrote: »
    Ffs, this is ridiculous, I was obeying but if it continues I won’t anymore, countries much more affected are opening up.

Its not ridiculous. People are dying. I work non stop since this began and not home 5 nights a week.
    My mother is dealing with cancer. Can't see her. Can't see her grand kids.
    It is how it is, we need to get on with it.

The way some going on in this thread ye swear Leo built the Berlin Wall down the south circular

It is what it is. We ain't in concentration camps ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

If they extend all restrictions as they stand beyond 5th May they better hope their plan is nailed down and clear or I think they will lose widespread public support.

I think most people would accept it if the outline the stages for relaxing the restrictions with a start date and schedule for the following stages.

If they just throw another 2 or 3 weeks on without a plan it could backfire badly on them.

I'd wait for the announcement though because I think a lot of these leaks are kite flying to judge the public reaction and to try keep people inline before the announcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

RoryMac wrote: »
    If they extend all restrictions as they stand beyond 5th May they better hope their plan is nailed down and clear or I think they will lose widespread public support.

I think most people would accept it if the outline the stages for relaxing the restrictions with a start date and schedule for the following stages.

If they just throw another 2 or 3 weeks on without a plan it could backfire badly on them.

I'd wait for the announcement though because I think a lot of these leaks are kite flying to judge the public reaction and to try keep people inline before the announcement

If they extend all restrictions beyond 5th May they'll lose it regardless imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

NDWC wrote: »
    If they extend all restrictions beyond 5th May they'll lose it regardless imo

Maybe but if they outline a proper plan they may keep the majority in check, if and it's a big if they have clearly defined stages and a timetable.

RoryMac wrote: »
    Maybe but if they outline a proper plan they may keep the majority in check, if and it's a big if they have clearly defined stages and a timetable.

Why would they? They have the country scared ****less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

The fact that certain posters are implying that those of us who would like to see restrictions eased are simply looking for a few pints and for the pubs to be open is absolutely pathetic and extremely disingenuous.

I don’t recall anyone on this thread saying their number #1 priority in reopening services is getting the pubs & clubs back open. Not one.
    I did however see many, many posts about people wishing to see their friends and family again, people wanting to go back to work, people wanting to avail of basic services and appointments and people wanting to have the freedom to drive more than 2km from their homes.
    No one whinging about wanting going on the lash whatsoever, and no one insisting we go back to total normality & a free for all.
    Just people who are struggling wanting a bit more access to the basic human privileges we’ve come to know and depend on.
    Not a lot to ask for after 7 weeks of doing as we’re told, making personal sacrifice after personal sacrifice and completely flattening the curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

On my commute to work the last 4-5 days I've defiantly noticed an increase in traffic on the roads around Dublin, this morning was particularly busy.
    I understand the frustrations of people who just want to get out but there is so many Sunday drivers on the roads it's not even funny, you can pretty much tell these are the ones with no purpose to be out.

If I was a gambler I'd be betting the restrictions will be kept in place after the 5th due to the extra volumes the last few days. Not that it will make much of a difference, people are still going to go out and possibly become more disobedient the longer this goes with a possible never ending prolonging of these restrictions.