Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

prunudo wrote: »
    I've heard De Gascun on the radio over the last few weeks, I'd sooner take his opinion than that of the condescending head master.

Depends who has more influence I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭almostover

SusieBlue wrote: »
    The fact that certain posters are implying that those of us who would like to see restrictions eased are simply looking for a few pints and for the pubs to be open is absolutely pathetic and extremely disingenuous.

I don’t recall anyone on this thread saying their number #1 priority in reopening services is getting the pubs & clubs back open. Not one.
    I did however see many, many posts about people wishing to see their friends and family again, people wanting to go back to work, people wanting to avail of basic services and appointments and people wanting to have the freedom to drive more than 2km from their homes.
    No one whinging about wanting going on the lash whatsoever, and no one insisting we go back to total normality & a free for all.
    Just people who are struggling wanting a bit more access to the basic human privileges we’ve come to know and depend on.
    Not a lot to ask for after 7 weeks of doing as we’re told, making personal sacrifice after personal sacrifice and completely flattening the curve.

The problem is that the purpose of the restrictions wasn't to appease Leo, Simon and Tony. The purpose was to slow the spread of the virus so our health system could cope. The knock on effect of that flattening of the curve is that the COVID-19 situation will last longer but with fewer deaths overall. Were in this for the long haul and people need to recognise that. Theres no going back to normal here, not in 2020 at least. Any relaxation of restrictions will be minimal on the 5th. This is a novel coronavirus, I.e. new. Therefore we don't know what the outcome will be of relaxing restrictions. The best approach is a conservative one. Yes the economy is hurting but relaxing the restrictions too soon resulting in uncontrolled spread will be far more damaging to our economy that the current situation. There's no easy option here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,680 ✭✭✭Penfailed

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I thought the r0 is well below zero in Ireland at this stage? Didn't they say that community spread is non existent?

So what exactly would be the point of an even stricter lock down? The first one worked just fine. This virus isn't just going to disappear if the military are patrolling the streets

Well below zero? That's not even possible.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

Idbatterim wrote: »
    This is exactly what I feared weeks ago, a bunch of incompetence morons who run the health service and politicians, destroying the country. There is never a plan here, no urgency ...

They would rather destroy lives in other ways and jobs, businesses than have one extra corona related death on their hands. The same morons who lost a ton of seats in an election, during a boom.

Why was landscaping shut down when many work alone? Building is also too important and massive figures employed directly and indirectly by it , or is building housing etc no longer necessary?

DIY stores, need to reopen asap, get building back, possibly drop this 2km bull****, allow small social gatherings like 4-5 people. We will be waiting months and months for anything good to reopen , possibly longer. Give us something you pr*cks. They are signing their own death political death warrant at this stage.

Lad just so you know Tony Holohan has your best interest with regards to public health driving his decision making. He isn't some pr*ck who gets sadistic pleasure from curtailing your movements. Have a think about a healthcare worker who has been working non stop risking their own health to care for those who are most sick. That's who we are sacrificing a little bit of enjoyment in our lives for. It's worth it.

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Is this fake? If genuine don't see anything about construction going back.

It's not fake...but it's not a real announcement either. It's taken from a questionnaire/survey to gauge people's opinions.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭prunudo

Gael23 wrote: »
    Depends who has more influence I guess

True, but they don't always produce the best advice.

Without derailing the thread. Can anyone fill me in or link me to why De Brun resigned, I missed the details on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Not just the manpower, but the consent of the people wouldn't exist either. I know consent isn't an issue if the state adopts the jackboot tactics advocated by some on here, but any Irish government that inflicted that kind of treatment on the public would be rightly punished in future elections.

It's time to start gently easing the restrictions - extend the 2km limit, start allowing more shops and businesses to reopen with mandatory social distancing measures in place, allow people to go to their local beaches and parks, as long as social distancing guidelines are followed, get rid of the mini checkpoints in towns and villages, but keep the big checkpoints on main roads.

I'm still working and putting myself in harm's way, but I consider myself a hell of a lot luckier than those stuck at home. The boredom would kill me - I dread my days off now as it is. There's only so much Netflix I can watch. I'm 100% sure I'd end up finding ways of breaching the restrictions, or at least stretching them to their limits.
    I'm working from home and I love it. More flexibility, no commute, saving loads on petrol and pet sitter, can take a walk or just sit in the garden at lunch time. Really do not miss 3 hours a day sitting in traffic. Enjoying the peace and quiet around too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

prunudo wrote: »
    True, but they don't always produce the best advice.

Without derailing the thread. Can anyone fill me in or link me to why De Brun resigned, I missed the details on that.

Have a read of what he said, it's a long piece give it 15mins.

Covid 19 mismanagement in Ireland
    https://sway.office.com/PwTN7GCvJWDgn9yd?ref=Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

The Belly wrote: »
    Corona lives on plastic for 3 weeks. Unless your in a space suit and walk through a decontamination unit each time you step in and out of tesco your probably exposed.

Or simpler still, just don't pick all the plastic and wipe it down when you get home?

In the authors opinion, nothing is set in stone right now. Listen to the guys leading this not click bait from the sindo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

Tony Holohan has nothing but his own interest at play here
    This is a game to him - he is trying to exit this crisis to make up for cervical check and stuff like the below
    He wants that senate seat he wants those seats on the boards

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/explanation-needed-for-appalling-treatment-of-patient-advocate-says-labour-1.3995456%3fmode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

almostover wrote: »
    Lad just so you know Tony Holohan has your best interest with regards to public health driving his decision making. He isn't some pr*ck who gets sadistic pleasure from curtailing your movements. Have a think about a healthcare worker who has been working non stop risking their own health to care for those who are most sick. That's who we are sacrificing a little bit of enjoyment in our lives for. It's worth it.

You thi I it's worth it, far better run countries than Ireland are easing restrictions . The same idiots calling the shots now are the same idiots that have given us the farcical hse, governance etc.

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Is this fake? If genuine don't see anything about construction going back.

It's unsourced material and shouldn't be circulated.

I don't know why this muck gets spread about, same as other misinformation like the famous army WhatsApp voicemails.

You thi I it's worth it, far better run countries than Ireland are easing restrictions . The same idiots calling the shots now are the same idiots that have given us the farcical hse, governance etc.

You mean they can ease restrictions because they are better run or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The timing of the change in testing criteria is well done so there will be a surge in new cases on Thursday and Friday to allow Holohan get his way

Tony Holohan has nothing but his own interest at play here
    This is a game to him - he is trying to exit this crisis to make up for cervical check and stuff like the below
    He wants that senate seat he wants those seats on the boards

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/explanation-needed-for-appalling-treatment-of-patient-advocate-says-labour-1.3995456%3fmode=amp

Your user name is appropriate. If you want to believe that nonsense then that is your choice. The rest of us will pay heed to the guidance from experts like Tony for the sake of public health. Take a long hard look at yourself and rethink the drivel that you're posting.

kenmm wrote: »
    You mean they can ease restrictions because they are better run or what?

I think you'll find the HSE is of our own making. We elected the government that created it and those that sustained it. We are the electorate who wants a Scandinavian style healthcare system but not their personal taxation approach. If we are truly invested in upgrading our health system after this we are going to have to make some tough decisions. No such thing as a free lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Are they? Do you mean countries like Italy - where people could not go out to exercise at all or like Spain which was much much more heavily restricted than here?

How about the UK which unilaterally has stated that "Lifting lockdown early would 'risk a second major outbreak". Are they 'idiots' too?

https://www.cnn.com/videos/world/2020/04/27/boris-johnson-uk-coronavirus-covid-19-pandemic-lockdown-restrictions-nhs-intl-ldn-vpx.cnn

Funnily enough I was talking to my six year old niece on Skype the other day and she told me that we couldnt meet up because we still needed to protect each other and stay at home.

If a six year old can understand what the issue is here - wtf is wrong with those 'idiots' who are demanding that restrictions be lifted and that 'we have to live with it' so they can go do what they like and fuk everyone else?

People need to get a grip and stop pushing the usual party political bandwagoning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

This is exactly what I feared weeks ago, a bunch of incompetenct morons who run the health service and politicians, destroying the country. There is never a plan here, no urgency ...

They would rather destroy lives in other ways and jobs, businesses than have one extra corona related death on their hands. The same morons who lost a ton of seats in an election, during a boom.

Why was landscaping shut down when many work alone? Building is also too important and massive figures employed directly and indirectly by it , or is building housing etc no longer necessary?

DIY stores, need to reopen asap, get building back, possibly drop this 2km bull****, allow small social gatherings like 4-5 people. We will be waiting months and months for anything good to reopen , possibly longer. Give us something you pr*cks. They are signing their own death political death warrant at this stage.

Landscapers have always been legally allowed to work. They are on the Essential Services List.

DIY/Hardware stores have always been legally allowed to open but the big ones like B&Q chose not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The other alternative is to implement an actual lock down like in Italy with army and Gardai on the streets for 2 weeks. Everyone confined to their homes and 1 person allowed from each family to obtain supplies every 2 days.

Prison and fines for anyone breaking the quarantine.

Had those type of measures been taken in the beginning we would be opening up already.

If people want a really speedy outcome that is an option.

Avoiding tough choices means prolonging the situation for everyone.

How would those measures of stopped the huge death tole in Care Homes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭prunudo

Discodog wrote: »

Landscapers have always been legally allowed to work. They are on the Essential Services List.

DIY/Hardware stores have always been legally allowed to open but the big ones like B&Q chose not to.

Landscaping is not on the essential list. Growers and nurseries maybe but not landscaping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Penfailed wrote: »
    What's ridiculous is someone who is high risk saying they won't continue with the restrictions. Y'know, those restrictions are in place to protect you. FFS.

I know someone with a compromised immune system and they're working part-time out of goodwill for their employer. I know people in their late 60s and 70s who are aging by the day because they're not allowed to work, some of them are lucky that they are still able to work. Not everyone thinks it's a thrill to be told here's €350, now sit down, shut up and watch Netflix.

Gael23 wrote: »
    The timing of the change in testing criteria is well done so there will be a surge in new cases on Thursday and Friday to allow Holohan get his way

They need the deaths up to justify extended lockdown, looks like it's spread to more nursing homes though, 18 isn't a huge number as we've about 90 deaths a day on average. I'd like to see the total number dead per day along with Covid just to make sure we're not still at the average daily deaths but some now being classified as Covid when they might have been classified as heart disease, cancer etc in January.
    Very surprised no Journalists has crunched those numbers yet. Are people dying as a direct result of Covid or dying with Covid and would be dead anyway.

GazzaL wrote: »
    I know someone with a compromised immune system and they're working part-time out of goodwill for their employer. I know people in their late 60s and 70s who are aging by the day because they're not allowed to work.

They shouldn't be working and it's very irresponsible of their employer to even entertain the idea. I had a staff member in the same situation and they were the first to go and will be back as soon as i'm satisfied it's safe for them, I wouldn't dream of taking any chances with their health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

They need the deaths up to justify extended lockdown, looks like it's spread to more nursing homes though, 18 isn't a huge number as we've about 90 deaths a day on average. I'd like to see the total number dead per day along with Covid just to make sure we're not still at the average daily deaths but some now being classified as Covid when they might have been classified as heart disease, cancer etc in January.
    Very surprised no Journalists has crunched those numbers yet. Are people dying as a direct result of Covid or dying with Covid and would be dead anyway.

Yeah it's all a giant conspiracy so it is

Both Sweden and the UK have also experienced significant issue with rates of infection in care home settings.

All those countries including Ireland are attempting to deal with this issue.

One of the major problems now is we have vulnerable people grouped together - and staff who are moving in and out. It only takes one infected presymptomatic person for the infection to spread like wildfire.

In the authors opinion, nothing is set in stone right now. Listen to the guys leading this not click bait from the sindo.

It doesn't read like an opinion piece though. It sounds pretty emphatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Fair frustrating to see people openly flouting the restrictions.

Took the dog for a walk yesterday and there were 6 young lads holding their own little training session on the green.

The mad thing was everything they were doing they could easily have done on their own.

I didn’t have the heart to tell them they are wasting their time, there will be f*ck all hurling played this year.

Penfailed wrote: »
    It doesn't read like an opinion piece though. It sounds pretty emphatic.

It contradicts what was said last night on newsnight, there is nothing decided we have 7 days, it'll be down to the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Fair frustrating to see people openly flouting the restrictions.

Took the dog for a walk yesterday and there were 6 young lads holding their own little training session on the green.

The mad thing was everything they were doing they could easily have done on their own.

I didn’t have the heart to tell them they are wasting their time, there will be f*ck all hurling played this year.

Guessing it is more for their mental health than anything else.