Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dr. Leo Varadkar rejoins the health service

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Rosita

KiKi III wrote: »
    Isn't he doing that too?

But you cant really do both can you? Be head of government at a time when the country is in crisis and a doctor in a hospital? Unless it really is just for a photo-op before he heads back to his real job.

I'd have assumed that being Taoiseach was a full-time role right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Dorakman wrote: »
    I know someone who went to college with him who says the opposite. Very pleasant, extremely hardworking, slightly aloof, but friendly.

All politicians are pleasant and friendly on the surface ;) :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

growleaves wrote: »
    Disagree. That's like when people worry that speaking the truth might encourage complacency.

Given that people are too sophisticated to fall for obvious propaganda, why do they seem to demand it anyway?

Morale, I suppose.

That's up to u. I think people that can should volunteer. Especially if not working

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

The level of flack Varadkar gets for having PR people is mental considering every single Taoiseach no matter their party has exactly the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Queue the Photo Opportunities... He has been out of Health Care so long he will be more of a hindrance than a help. Still, lots of lovely selfies to be taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Rosita wrote: »
    But you cant really do both can you? Be head of government at a time when the country is in crisis and a doctor in a hospital? Unless it really is just for a photo-op before he heads back to his real job.

I'd have assumed that being Taoiseach was a full-time role right now.

He's doing it in addition to his work as Taoiseach, not instead of it, I would have thought. I don't know for sure but I would guess he is doing a shift at the weekend. He could just take those eight hours to try and relax if he wanted to.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭no.8

So am sure this is solely done to help his political career as opposed to it satisfying his need to "help"

So in other words B.A, you know sweet f**k all about him first hand. Zero evidence.

I'm not happy about the Irish political system or our overall party options, however, however, during this emergency i believe that leaders in power have stood up and dealt with this emergency as best we could have hoped for (following the initial missed opportunity to lock the virus out via a shutdown).

Fair play to Leo, he is demonstrating leadership and boosting morale, which is badly needed for the most part.
    What are most of us doing? Probably nothing

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

He was asked a couple of weeks ago would he reregister and he didn’t answer it.

Just last week Ciara Kelly said he should consider doing so.

If that IT piece is correct, he was already registered by then.

Sounds like Leo didn’t want to make a song and dance about it, but hey let the cranks rant and rave from their sofas while the Taoiseach advises people on whether or not they should self-isolate/get hospital treatment or whatever.

Fair play to him. Him doing one shift a week means one doctor can get a break.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Leo has joined the game 'Ward of Warcraft' as a Level 20 Doctor.

matchthis wrote: »
    Wish my previous managers got stuck in. He knows what he’s going into and still he’s going. He will see people die and will suffer abuse from frustration. Maybe if he were to catch it and succumb fatally, it would also be seen as a PR stunt. With all the crap going on, people still have to have a dig at people trying to help out.
    Imagine gasping for air, thinking that there is a chance you are going to die, surrounded by strangers equally scared. Tired, exhausted and wanting to see someone Special just one more time. I would be glad, maybe relax a little for a minute of medical attention from a doctor that has been freed up, directly as a result of his intervention.
    Why would you think it’s good and helping to have a dig at someone practicing what they preach on top of everything else they are dealing with. It’s the same as other having a go at the script for putting on a free concert because the poster didn’t like them, but hey, that could also be a PR stunt. Maybe if everyone that is helping out, just didn’t, cause that could be seen as bragging rights or looking for favours returned in the future.
    Some people say that you should measure a person how they perform under pressure, I think, looking at other bigger nations, he’s doing better and more. A lot more than me and everyone I know, but then again, some posters might say it’s because I don’t need the PR now.

He has never preached that everyone should join the health service. He happens to be a doctor that's all.

As for managers getting stuck in...………...well, managers manage. The manager of Tesco is not a great manager because he stacks the shelves. His job is to ensure that there are shelves to be stacked and people to stack them.

The Taoiseach presided over an administration which had record numbers on trollies in hospitals. He didn't go back to work in a hospital then to help out because that wouldn't be solving the problem. What he's doing now won't solve the problem either. Instead he'll just bring a whole lot of fuss, photographers, and security around when he arrives at a hospital.

He'd be better served doing the very onerous and time-consuming job that he was appointed to do instead of trying to pretend that he can take on another onerous and time-consuming job at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I am not sure if this is the wisest action and only he knows his motivation but he is putting himself in the 'bearna baoil' so must be due some credit.

I am not and won't be a FG supporter.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,481 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Maybe Boris will be ringing Leo from his hospital bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭anewme

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/coronavirus-varadkar-returns-to-practising-medicine-to-help-during-crisis-1.4221463

He really has come in to his own as a leader. He really is a great example. Especially when you compare him to other world leaders.

I'm sure the usual "bots" who can't see pass their nose for hatred of FG will be along to cry PR stunt or whatever, but thats just par for the course with the men who have all the questions and none of the answers.

I have to just say, fair play leo, hope you inspire others to do what they can.

Hi there OP, your post does not really add up.

A couple of weeks ago you were whinging about your family trip to Milan. You were prepared to go. You were prepared to go to to Milan and even let your children return to school even though there were warnings about Northern Italy. Your flight were cancelled so you could not go.

You then stated that it had worked out better and you boasted about traveling to Cheltenham and mocked people who were concerned about working alongside those who returned from Cheltenham. You said that anyone going to HR complaining would get short shrift and were looking forward to getting two weeks off work and getting paid. I remember others expressing concerns at your selfishness.

Given the fact that you went to Cheltenham with a fck you attitude and back out into the Community, your post now praising Leo Vradkar comes across as insincere and fake and quite frankly a bit weird.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Could he f*ck off out of leadership while he's at it.

s1ippy wrote: »
    Could he f*ck off out of leadership while he's at it.

Why should he?

Put Mary Lou in charge for competent leadership, is it?

Or Martin?

Hope a new election is called.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Why should he?

Put Mary Lou in charge for competent leadership, is it?

Or Martin?

Hope a new election is called.
    We can vote from home.

Put in Éamonn Ryan for all i care. The absolute swine in there at the moment are reprehensible. How many billion have they signed off on already and several of them didn't even get reelected. How can they be trusted to make good decisions when they've been told by the public that we don't want them? I'm talking the likes of Shane Ross and where the f*ck has Eoghan Murphy been? Absolute showeracants

• Registered Users Posts: 21,518 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I was told many years ago by someone close to me that Leo wasn't a nice guy. They were helping his party handing out flyers and other random stuff. The word "bollocks" was used ;)

So am sure this is solely done to help his political career as opposed to it satisfying his need to "help"

Well, that piece of anecdotal evidence from the someone close to an anonymous online source has made me change my mind on Leo.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Think people in general who complain about this move would complain about anything at all he did. Id guess many are just the typical begrudgers or else dedicated supporters of other parties. I understand having a negative attitude to politics and politicians in general and I understand people who will say its a photo opp but to be fair hes not going into a covid hub in a hazmat suit, he's going in answering phones at a level appropriate to his lack of recent experience.

The business of government is mostly done by civil servants, I'd imagine they will do fine with Leo doing a gp shift. I'd also imagine he will learn more about how the HSE is responding and what might be changed doing this for a day each week than most briefings. Fair ****s to him takes balls to put your head above the parapet and do something like this not knowing how it will be received.

Easy to ask of others without putting yourself forward, doing so will give encouragement to those who have and who are considering it.

Never found him likeable but hes risen in my esteem massively.

no.8 wrote: »
    So in other words B.A, you know sweet f**k all about him first hand. Zero evidence.

I'm not happy about the Irish political system or our overall party options, however, however, during this emergency i believe that leaders in power have stood up and dealt with this emergency as best we could have hoped for (following the initial missed opportunity to lock the virus out via a shutdown).

Fair play to Leo, he is demonstrating leadership and boosting morale, which is badly needed for the most part.
    What are most of us doing? Probably nothing

Person in question is a family member. Told me it years ago.
    But please you're clearly an adult so please stop being naive. It's pathetic. We're talking about a politician here. You know, the dirty game of politics?

Show me an honest, salt of the earth politician and I'll show you the tooth fairy.
    Well, that piece of anecdotal evidence from the someone close to an anonymous online source has made me change my mind on Leo.

See above.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Great example to HSE management , many of whom are former clinicians, if the chief manager of the country can return to clinical practice, so can they.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭cms88

s1ippy wrote: »
    We can vote from home.

Put in Éamonn Ryan for all i care. The absolute swine in there at the moment are reprehensible. How many billion have they signed off on already and several of them didn't even get reelected. How can they be trusted to make good decisions when they've been told by the public that we don't want them? I'm talking the likes of Shane Ross and where the f*ck has Eoghan Murphy been? Absolute showeracants

What's your answer then? Seeing as you're very fast they say everyone else is doing it all wrong

Person in question is a family member. Told me it years ago.
    But please you're clearly an adult so please stop being naive. It's pathetic. We're talking about a politician here. You know, the dirty game of politics?

Show me an honest, salt of the earth politician and I'll show you the tooth fairy.

See above.

You're right, he should sit on his ass and do nothing despite his qualifications to prevent offending you.

You'd be happier then.

I did not vote FG

I am not a FG BOT/Shill/Blueshirt or any other variation.

I quite enjoyed the Black & Tans getting to No 1 on the back of Leo's ridiculous commemoration plans back, what seems like, another era.

I thought it was great that he was reduced to a count five before he got re-elected in Feb as I truly believed that he had lost touch with the heartbeat of this country.

These past few weeks I will defy anyone to say a bad word about him and the work that he and his team have done during this pandemic. I will not hear it because it is not true.

He is not without fault but this is his forte. his partner, sisters and brother in laws are all front line members in the Health Services, he is seeing this first hand and understands it better than most of us. His immediate family are putting their lives on the line and now he is too in whatever capacity he can. This is not a PR stunt, this isnt Trump flying into an Army Base to cheer on his cannon fodder before flying off again before any sign of danger. This is a man who is walking into ground zero whilst the place is still burning. I see Pearse Dohertys wife also returned to the front line. A woman with a family of four put herself in front also to fight this virus. Another example of extreme bravery from those who are trained to help others. If you can cheer on Mrs Doherty (which you should) you should bloody cheer on Leo too.

This is not a political issue, anyone that makes it so goes against everything this country stands for and you should be ashamed of yourselves. Credit where its due folks.

You have just given back the very line his speechwriter pulled out of the bag while assuring us it is not a PR stunt. Seriously?

You're right, he should sit on his ass and do nothing despite his qualifications to prevent offending you.

You'd be happier then.

Well if you love him that much to defend his honour why don't you marry him or something :pac:

Rosita wrote: »
    You have just given back the very line his speechwriter pulled out of the bag while assuring us it is not a PR stunt. Seriously?

To show how illogical your argument is that means he can do nothing because ANYTHING he does is a PR stunt.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

bunderoon wrote: »
    He is for sure.
    I support & am glad that he's doing it. But fully aware why he is doing it.

If the man is able to help someone on the end of a phone I frankly do not give one flying fcuk why he's doing it. Fair play to him and fcuk every one of the naysayers.

Well if you love him that much to defend his honour why don't you marry him or something :pac:

You're saying in this time of crisis in health a politician who happens to be a doctor should do nothing because it would offend you.

I'm just letting you know how rational your argument is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Mixed feelings on him doing this. Yes he's taking a lead and helping out where needed. Will he go into s hot zone or just free up someone else more specialised to do so..I don't know.

The civil servant in me says it's a publicity stunt and he needs something having disbanded his propoganda unit but history will tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I dislike Leo, his politics and his party. Will never vote for him or his party, however he has my respect by this one act. Do I suspect it's a PR stunt prehaps but it will inspire others to get involved and more importantly his actions may actually help some people.
    So well done Leo, respect to you but all is not forgotten or forgiven.

You had no respect for people who were concerned for their health about working alongside those returning from Cheltenham. You said they would get "short shrift" if they expressed concerns to HR.

Given the fact that those returning may have infected many people, do you think referencing helping people now is disingenuous and more like closing the stable door after the horse has bolted (pardon the pun).

You're saying in this time of crisis in health a politician who happens to be a doctor should do nothing because it would offend you.

I'm just letting you know how rational your argument is not.

Ha. I know pronounce you Kermit and leo.
    Now go.... Defend his honour against internet trolls and scum :pac: