Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I am advocating strongly however, and will not let up in my push for this proposal, that restrictions on society and socialising be reduced dramatically.

Why do you continue to pretend that you have any influence in these matters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Think the new negative comments from dr holohan last night and Dr favier this morning on the radio have put paid to the wet pub's reopening. If anything I'm getting the feeling they want level five to continue will into the new year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

I think if anything last saturday in Dublin city centre has shown that people really have had enough,if you continually demand people stay indoors except for "essential" reasons , which is effectively just stop living life, then there is always going to be a backlash and this will only intensify further should these draconian lock downs continue with this dictator Holohan, jesus how can one man have so much influence and power in a country.

Think the new negative comments from dr holohan last night and Dr favier this morning on the radio have put paid to the wet pub's reopening. If anything I'm getting the feeling they want level five to continue will into the new year

Holohan would love this, not a problem for him to cancel christmas altogether,just so he can take the credit when cases do finally get down to a trickle in January, then blame everyone and anything else when cases do rise a few months later, and repeat and rinse ,while the spineless government sit on the sidelines and do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,969 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

SB71 wrote: »
    I think if anything last saturday in Dublin city centre has shown that people really have had enough,if you continually demand people stay indoors except for "essential" reasons , which is effectively just stop living life, then there is always going to be a backlash and this will only intensify further should these draconian lock downs continue

You're making it sound like principled civil disobedience. The guys drinking on the streets in groups are just doing it because they can get away with it. If the Gardai clamp down they will go back to stocking up in the off licence and having discreet at-home drinking sessions. Irish people don't do 'backlashes' of the kind you envisage...

so you think they all just decided ah lads lets go drinking on the street because we can get away with it, not that people are lonely and bored to tears sitting in with nothing to do and nothing to look forward to which can have a detrimental effect on many people, many people are drinking outdoors all the time just because it's not in the gutter mainstream media doesnt mean it's not happening.

If last saturday has shown us anything so people wont congregate in the street or have house partys, it's that pubs need to fully reopen without compromise, Holohan has used pubs and foreign travel as a scapegoat since the very start and doesnt look like he's letting up on this either, he has to have some agenda here, you could understand if huge clusters originated from pubs and travel but the figures are very low,absolutely zero justification whatsoever for this.

Holohan will only decide himself what opens and what doesnt in this country anyone who thinks the government (asides from that one time ) are calling the shots here are deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Dr. Hush wont like that... level 6 until March

copeyhagen wrote: »
    Dr. Hush wont like that... level 6 until March

Yep Holohan and NPHET have continually ignored Professor Lambert and other highly qualified medical professionals because they dared to challenge them and call them out, it's clear that any dissenting voices are ignored by NPHET, they call the shots and no one else, if this lunacy keeps up we are doomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭MelbourneMan

Yep Holohan and NPHET have continually ignored Professor Lambert and other highly qualified medical professionals because they dared to challenge them and call them out, it's clear that any dissenting voices are ignored by NPHET, they call the shots and no one else, if this lunacy keeps up we are doomed.

One should hardly be surprised by this surely?

By definition, dissenting voices are not in agreement with the large group of experts that is NEPHT. NEPHT is hardly going to ignore its own analysis and act according to someone they disagree with. That would be completely irrational

Given the members assembled to form NEPHT, it is far more likely that they are correct - and the dissenters incorrect.

NEPHT is tasked with calling the shots. They would be remiss if they did not.

People finding the medicine unpleasant should not be tempted by others offering an alternative one simply because it looks more palatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

By definition, dissenting voices are not in agreement with the large group of experts that is NEPHT. NEPHT is hardly going to ignore its own analysis and act according to someone they disagree with. That would be completely irrational

Given the members assembled to form NEPHT, it is far more likely that they are correct - and the dissenters incorrect.

Please bring back the Hello at the start. Your posts just aren't the same without them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭MelbourneMan

ShyMets wrote: »
    Please bring back the Hello at the start. Your posts just aren't the same without them

Best expert opinion is that it is not recommended. I am happy to follow this advice.

Hello bejaysus. NPETH are experts in alarmist conjecture, nothing more substantial than that. Feel free to draw your own conclusions, you have my permission as a card carrying member of NHEPT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

People finding the medicine unpleasant should not be tempted by others offering an alternative one simply because it looks more palatable.

Are nepht the super secret double probation health group you work for, that even NPHET don't know about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

I don't think the pubs will open for xmas. In my opinion it would be crazy.

There will be no lockdown number 3. When it eventually opens again we'll be trying to make our low numbers last until the vaccine is operational. The next few weeks will tell us when the vaccines will kick in. My guess is April/May.

Can we Level 2/3 until then? Not if we go mad at xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If only we didn't already have evidence that NEPHT had not only been incorrect, but dangerously incorrect:
    However, when asked on March 10th about the visiting restrictions, the chief medical officer, Dr Tony Holohan, said they should be lifted because they were premature and impacted on residents’ social interactions.
    Healthcare workers were advised they were not required to wear personal protective equipment (PPE) if they could avoid physical contact and stay at least 1m from the patient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭UI_Paddy

Yeah, a large number of people (maybe the majority) of people in this country's way of celebrating is hitting the pubs.

The desire to celebrate the pubs reopening combined with the hectic Christmas party season would just be a recipe for disaster.

Sometime early summer when the vaccine's starting to be rolled out would be my guess as to a realistic reopening timeframe.

UI_Paddy wrote: »
    Yeah, a large number of people (maybe the majority) of people in this country's way of celebrating is hitting the pubs.

The desire to celebrate the pubs reopening combined with the hectic Christmas party season would just be a recipe for disaster.

Sometime early summer when the vaccine's starting to be rolled out would be my guess as to a realistic reopening timeframe.

Another poster who has never heard of social distancing in pubs. Early summer as a realistic timeframe? Would you ever get a hold of yourself, another six months closure would bury most pubs altogether. When was the last time you had a pint? Some people haven't got a clue.

So are you trying to imply that someone as qualified as Professor Jack Lambert should be ignored completely, or indeed any other highly qualified medical professional who i may add have come out in numbers questioning NPHET's outdated irrational approach they have taken to all of this, and you expect people to just blindly accept this.

I dont think that's the way it works my friend,from what i'm seeing now compared to 5 months ago is a serious amount of anger and bitterness levelled against NPHET by a lot of people, and you cant blame them either, NPHET have lost the trust of the people it once had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

I noticed on Parkgate St in Dublin at lunchtime signs of life in a couple of the pubs.

Looked like cleaning was going on. They must be getting ready to open if they get the nod for the 1st week in December

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,761 ✭✭✭✭rob316

They are on about opening the pubs for 2 weeks? It shows how out of touch the government are that they think that's worthwhile for any publican, ridiculous really.

rob316 wrote: »
    They are on about opening the pubs for 2 weeks? It shows how out of touch the government are that they think that's worthwhile for any publican, ridiculous really.

Exactly, completely out of touch and deluded,the worst government in my lifetime and ive seen many others state the same.

What did we do in a past life to have to contend with FFG and NPHET destroying the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Another poster who has never heard of social distancing in pubs. Early summer as a realistic timeframe? Would you ever get a hold of yourself, another six months closure would bury most pubs altogether. When was the last time you had a pint? Some people haven't got a clue.

Might I be so bold as to suggest that "some people" is you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,652 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,131 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

LOL. Publicans seem to be fierce worried about the social and physical damage done by drinking... unless they're selling it. Then there's no discernable harm at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I'm feeling good vibes about the possibility of pubs reopening in December. From talking to few people who run/work in pubs expectations are rising over last week or so that we'll get to have some social interaction when this lockdown is over. Once we get the green light (hopefully for Dec 2) i'm going to have a right good session that day. And the day after. Possibly the one after that. I'm ready to let loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,761 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I'm feeling good vibes about the possibility of pubs reopening in December. From talking to few people who run/work in pubs expectations are rising over last week or so that we'll get to have some social interaction when this lockdown is over. Once we get the green light (hopefully for Dec 2) i'm going to have a right good session that day. And the day after. Possibly the one after that. I'm ready to let loose.

Its back to level 3, I'd say no chance they open the pubs but I admire your optimism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

rob316 wrote: »
    Its back to level 3, I'd say no chance they open the pubs but I admire your optimism.

I'm hoping for a little better than that. Perhaps level 3 with some consessions for the hospitality industry. Even so if it goes back to how it was in Level 3 i'll be having a few on Dec 2. I had a fairly good session in three pubs the day before we went into lockdown.

I knew what was coming the day after so felt why not have a wander around town and see whats happening. It was a pretty miserable day and cold and not everybody's idea of fun but i rolled into town bout 2pm. Met couple lads soon after. Drank outdoors in two pubs and half in/half out in a hotel bar in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,166 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

No way there opening the pubs, they've got their outrage now with the hole in the wall, SS officer Donnelly banning take away pints. If the pubs are opening they need to be told this week.