Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭showpony1

There's 456 Countrywide cases so now Tony is concerned by a picture of what looked like 30 odd people standing on South William Street outdoors as if this is the root of problems and now justification for more restrictions over pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

When they opened pubs on 29 June, we had around 250 active cases in the country. At this rate we'd be doing really well to have only ten times that number at the start of December. There is no way indoor service will or should resume in that context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

St.Spodo wrote: »
    When they opened pubs on 29 June, we had around 250 active cases in the country. At this rate we'd be doing really well to have only ten times that number at the start of December. There is no way indoor service will or should resume in that context.

So, at 450 cases today down from 1300 2 weeks ago, we'd be doing well to only have 2500 cases in 2 weeks......

You learn maths at trump University?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I am surprised anyone is even debating this.

I cannot see them opening until the vaccine rollout. Probably February. Although I do think that the Gards are starting to turn their backs on publcans showing a bit of initiative ( and rightly so too )

And no, 200 people hanging around South William street are not to blame ,or in fact are they doing anything wrong. They are just more mileage for the outrage brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,516 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So a few tweets about a few people on the street drinking is enough to base government policy on now. This is all just a circus at this stage.

showpony1 wrote: »
    There's 456 Countrywide cases so now Tony is concerned by a picture of what looked like 30 odd people standing on South William Street outdoors as if this is the root of problems and now justification for more restrictions over pubs.

They're the fault of all of this. Not all the classrooms of 30+ people every day. Tony is right to be worried about these 30 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭PommieBast

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I cannot see them opening until the vaccine rollout. Probably February.
    I suspect they'll only open after the rollout rather than during it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

They're the fault of all of this. Not all the classrooms of 30+ people every day. Tony is right to be worried about these 30 people.

I don't get how people do not understand this. It's like just following simpleton logic without any cognisant or critical thinking. Do we want schools to remain closed indefinitely? No - so if they're open does that mean we should have a free-for-all for everyone - no.

Some people still seem to only see black and white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So, at 450 cases today down from 1300 2 weeks ago, we'd be doing well to only have 2500 cases in 2 weeks......

You learn maths at trump University?

I'm talking about total active cases, not daily cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

absolute throwing my arms up bet right now.

50/50 any pubs are allowed to open on 1st december
    100% Dublin non food pubs are staying closed till after new years, the government loves punishing Dublin. If food pubs are allowed open there will be a drink amount cap.
    80% takeaway pints will be completely banned
    40% closer to Christmas if street drinking continues, Dublin offo's will be curtailed in some way.
    If other pubs are going to open, you'll have every dub trying to dodge the checkpoints to go spend Christmas with some uncle and aunt in the arsehole of nowhere just to get a pint, everyone looking forward to a lovely Christmas Eve in their local town is going to have to contend with Charlene from coolock and her 5 kids running round.

40% closer to Christmas if street drinking continues, Dublin offo's will be curtailed in some way.

Don't even tempt fate with that, that would be the last straw for me with the nannying. Surely the f*cking saloon doors into the booze section is enough for the holy joes for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

One should hardly be surprised by this surely?

By definition, dissenting voices are not in agreement with the large group of experts that is NEPHT. NEPHT is hardly going to ignore its own analysis and act according to someone they disagree with. That would be completely irrational

Given the members assembled to form NEPHT, it is far more likely that they are correct - and the dissenters incorrect.

NEPHT is tasked with calling the shots. They would be remiss if they did not.

People finding the medicine unpleasant should not be tempted by others offering an alternative one simply because it looks more palatable.

At least get yourself informed if you want to comment on a forum with other intelligent and informed contributors. For your information NPHET is the National Public Health Emergency Team. Would you like to share with us what NEPHT is as its a new term to me. Perhaps you are on the wrong forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Don't even tempt fate with that, that would be the last straw for me with the nannying. Surely the f*cking saloon doors into the booze section is enough for the holy joes for now.

ohh they've been exploiting this for their war on drink the whole time. Absolutely 1000000% guarantee the minimum unit pricing is the first tax in to pay back the debt.

It's not a tax, the supermarkets get the profits, not the Gov. If it was a tax on alcohol, publicans would suffer too. Clever huh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭redarmy

Word from Government is that proposals going to Cabinet tomorrow will NOT amount to a complete ban on takeaway alcohol sales - as in some rural areas, a pub also acts as an off-licence - but rather targeted measures against de facto outdoor drinking outside a pub
    @VirginMediaNews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

redarmy wrote: »
    Word from Government is that proposals going to Cabinet tomorrow will NOT amount to a complete ban on takeaway alcohol sales - as in some rural areas, a pub also acts as an off-licence - but rather targeted measures against de facto outdoor drinking outside a pub
    @VirginMediaNews

So...... Gardai doing their jobs? Cause if this effects me getting growlers I will moderately complain on the internet......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

@VirginMediaNews

As I mentioned earlier its easily done under existing legislation.

From the independent,

"However, Government sources said that an expected Cabinet discussion on the matter would more likely focus on enforcement of existing rules surrounding on street drinking.

The Irish Independent understands there is concern among ministers that existing regulations banning on-street drinking in the capital are not being enforced.

Sources pointed to existing rules restricting the consumption of alcohol on the streets and suggested enforcement of the regulations should be “ramped up” given the ongoing pandemic."

In other words telling the Gardaí to do their job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

This is just the national government and local government in a bit of a stand off. Drinking on the streets legally is a matter for local council not the guys up in Dublin. The Dail say takeaway pints lads you're grand but local laws say otherwise in most places so the cops just dont bother. Typical case of the left hand not having a clue what the right hand is doing. Complete lack of communication between local and the state government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭PommieBast

This is just the national government and local government in a bit of a stand off. Drinking on the streets legally is a matter for local council not the guys up in Dublin. The Dail say takeaway pints lads you're grand but local laws say otherwise in most places so the cops just dont bother. Typical case of the left hand not having a clue what the right hand is doing. Complete lack of communication between local and the state government.
    Ironically it seems to be the same within Dublin. From the thankfully few times I have had any contact with them DCC are utterly useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

@VirginMediaNews

Any word from the government on the rates of people catching covid in hospital?

Outdoor drinking, just another bull**** red herring from the government helping them keep the narrative focus away from their ineptitude.

The bigger problem is how easy it is for them to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,131 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I am surprised anyone is even debating this.

I cannot see them opening until the vaccine rollout. Probably February. Although I do think that the Gards are starting to turn their backs on publcans showing a bit of initiative ( and rightly so too )

Ha. Nice to see you’ve changed your thinking. A couple of weeks ago you said you thought pubs would be reopened for normal business the day after a vaccine is approved. Nice to see you’re moving in the right direction even if you’re hopelessly optimistic.

The vaccine won’t even be given to all the people in nursing homes by February. It will have almost no impact on normal people and returning to normal life by February. Some medical staff might have had the vaccine by February but tv a impact on pubs will be minimal.

How do people see the vaccine working? Do they think the whole country will be vaccinated in a month and then the virus is gone?

How long do people think it will be until we return to 80,000 people in Croke Park and selling out big concert arenas like the 3 Arena (Point Depot in old money)?

How do people see the vaccine working? Do they think the whole country will be vaccinated in a month and then the virus is gone?

They should give it to the drinkers first as they seem to be the uncontrollable problem as per the anti booze brigade.

Sure. Back in the real world, they’ll be given to old and vulnerable people. They will probably never be given to young healthy people.

How long until an event like 80,000 people in Croke Park or normal Saturday night crowd packed into a pub without distancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,166 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I always thought you had to have alcohol concealed if drinking in the street, brown paper bag job. Was that only a rumour..?

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwi--t7924ntAhXOesAKHckfDoEQwqsBMAB6BAgIEAM&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D0YrWiwUM3FA&usg=AOvVaw3WOqHrpyBRxGCpfSA6_Oem

Bunny Colvin speech on the brown paper bag for drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭Dickie10

a woman on radio 1 morning ireland from HSE going about Irelands relationship with alcohol and how we need to change the way we live. these health crowd are going to give pubs the finshing kick to the head now they are down, they have waited for this for a long time, yer one this morning was mad for regulations into the future, wouldnt surpise me if they would be happy that pubs shut each november and into december or bring in drink tokens where you can only drink so much on a night out that sort of thing would give some medical heads a hard on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,969 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

It is against the law AFAIK. Guess it depends on how far Gardai want to enforce that law...

Dickie10 wrote: »
    a woman on radio 1 morning ireland from HSE going about Irelands relationship with alcohol and how we need to change the way we live. these health crowd are going to give pubs the finshing kick to the head now they are down, they have waited for this for a long time, yer one this morning was mad for regulations into the future, wouldnt surpise me if they would be happy that pubs shut each november and into december or bring in drink tokens where you can only drink so much on a night out that sort of thing would give some medical heads a hard on

I would be more inclined to blame the radio show for pushing the agenda.

All media are at it. Pushing different buttons on pedantic issues. They invite the people on the shows.

I would be more inclined to blame the radio show for pushing the agenda.

All media are at it. Pushing different buttons on pedantic issues. They invite the people on the shows.

Do they get “Open the pubs” kooks on too? Judging by these threads, it would be difficult to find someone whose pro opening pubs and can string two sentences together, let alone create a cogent argument.

I really wonder if there’s a connection between the terribly low level of argument and the pubs inability to successfully lobby government around covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

That's a US thing.
    Dickie10 wrote: »

I found it curious they decided to go ahead this week with new restrictions on how supermarkets etc sell alcohol, in the middle of a pandemic.

Definitely hard not to see this alongside the pub bashing as part of a wider push to curb drinking.

Whether that's justified is another discussion, but doing it in the middle of a pandemic definitely isn't. Shops have enough to do to try to operate safely for customers right now, without making arbitrary changes .

The irony is that I've always had a strict policy of keeping drinking to the pub, and not drinking at home. Now I'm having a few bottles of beer most nights. At home, on my own. Fail to see how that's not far a more unhealthy habit than a few pints in a social setting, be it with friends or even watching a match while interacting socially with strangers.