Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were in Templebar last night..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I don't know who caroline flack is and tbh nor do i care, i fail to see how it is online abuse to point out that this particular bouncer stepped outside of his role, was threatening and passively abusive (by using strobe effect on led torch, a defensive mechanism) to a pedestrian who was taking a video in public.

:confused: where was the threat?

Ironicname wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. The pub was increasing the chances of spreading coronavirus. Why wouldn't the man say it?

You don't seem to care or realise how serious this is. If you don't care, then fair enough but if you don't realise, then educate yourself for **** sake.

The reason this pub is being spoken about is because we have video footage and because the pub owners in temple bar all agreed to close and this one went rogue as far as I know. (Open to correction)

I feel the same about any bar that opened last night to gouge the last few sheckles from arseholes willing to put people at risk for the sake of one last night out.

who said they werent keeping 1 meter apart in the pub? the video was taken outside the pub.

I was one of the people who was disgusted by Caroline flacks treatment by the media.

Her actions were a private matter which concerned her and her partner. As she was in the media spotlight, I agree the facts should have been printed as it was somewhat of interest to the public as she was a celebrity.

The speculation was disgraceful.

However this does not prevent me for holding people accountable for their actions.

The bouncer deserves condemnation for his actions as do the people who crowded the pub.

This is not a private matter. This is a very very serious public health risk. The bouncer stated that the camera man shouldn't worry because he wasn't going to catch it because he wasn't in there.

The bouncer, the punters and the establishment deserve to be held accountable for their actions.

To compare this and to say that we should #bekind to them because of Caroline flack is pathetic

I didnt say that so why try to make out like I did?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

KiKi III wrote: »
    I flew out to Dubai last Thursday. I checked the position of both governments, my airline and my travel insurance company before I left and none advised against travelling.

Now it looks like I might not be able to get back in.

People being judgemental of those who have recently gone on holidays (to places where the infection isn’t widespread) should remember most governments only introduced drastic measures over the weekend.

I followed the best advice available. It’s not my fault it was bad advice.

You chose to leave Ireland while Covid 19 is spreading geometrically across the planet.
    You are responsible for your actions, not others.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

pgj2015 wrote: »
    :confused: where was the threat?

His unwarranted aggressive posture and nature, making demands of the person who took video to stop what they were doing quoting it was illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Pkiernan wrote: »
    You chose to leave Ireland while Covid 19 is spreading geometrically across the planet.

I’m responsible for the decision I made. The government is responsible for the information I based my decision on.

His unwarranted aggressive posture and nature, making demands of the person who took video to stop what they were doing quoting it was illegal.

There was no threat in that video, nothing you could ever bring the bouncer to court for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

pgj2015 wrote:
    who said they werent keeping 1 meter apart in the pub? the video was taken outside the pub.

The see through walls (otherwise known as windows) show inside the pub. They weren't keeping one meter apart.

pgj2015 wrote:
    I didnt say that so why try to make out like I did?

You mentioned Caroline Flack to insinuate that people should not be giving the bouncer or the establishment abuse.

If that wasn't your intention, why did you mention Caroline Flack?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MOR316

Dublin City Council are still packing out their petri dish offices with non-essential work being carried out.

friend in there said there's only sanitiser at the main doors and then just "good luck to ya" in the office.

way more than 100 people in close proximity doing completely non-essential stuff, yet they closed the motor tax office down which is clearly way more important than the conservation of old buildings or the running of events that arent happening or the parks department worrying about trees....

they're thinking wtf about being there when everywhere else is being responsible and closing down.

i wonder is it just civil servants that are left in pointless offices now, or what?

the pubs would be empty and safer than an office environment like that..

Said that earlier as I am in the same position but, was ridiculed for it by someone who was trying just too hard

Raconteuse wrote: »
    That's another line that that crowd like to throw out to discredit people.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    And only millennials are critical of the dangerous anti vaccinations movement?

C-658VsXoAo3ovC.jpg

You mentioned Caroline Flack to insinuate that people should not be giving the bouncer or the establishment abuse.

If that wasn't your intention, why did you mention Caroline Flack?

we should #bekind = your words.

maybe that knob who recorded the video should be at home in a bunker so he doesnt infect anyone himself if he is so so concerned.

That is all I am going to say on the matter.

I don't know who caroline flack is and tbh nor do i care, i fail to see how it is online abuse to point out that this particular bouncer stepped outside of his role, was threatening and passively abusive (by using strobe effect on led torch, a defensive mechanism) to a pedestrian who was taking a video in public.

How do you know if the guy filming didn't say anything to provoke the response from the bouncer?

Very easy to edit it out.

*Devil's Advocate btw.

Pkiernan wrote: »

Eh hang on...Trying to to make someone feel like **** or point scoring is not what is needed now in such a situation

They followed the advice of The Government and the HSE and they're right, they only introduced drastic measures here on Sunday. What more is the person supposed to do?

Wouldn't be the first person who followed bad advice...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭chrissb8

MOR316 wrote: »
    But, it's OK for me to go to work in a building of over 100 people, with people coughing, whilst commuting on a packed bus? Shall I stop getting butthurt over that?
    Comparing going for a drink in a place that is empty to swimming in a storm ffs

Watch your tone!

Well firstly, reading your posts you seemed annoyed that you have to be out and about during this time and are aware being in densely packed spaces is not ideal.

So my original post wasn't even an attack on you? Just on those who, inside of their own control, still are out and about like nothing's happening.

Secondly I'm saying the empty place to drink is empty because most people are following official advice. Those who are going to the pub and noticing this are the same sort of people you'd find happily swimming in the sea in a storm. It's the whole "it won't happen to me" thinking.

As if these people are somehow above or away from a given situation, forming stupid conclusions on their limited information and ignoring those who know best.

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Well firstly, reading your posts you seemed annoyed that you have to be out and about during this time and are aware being in densely packed spaces is not ideal.

So my original post wasn't even an attack on you?

Also I'm saying the empty place to drink is empty because most people are following official advice. Those who are going to the pub and noticing this are the same sort of people you'd find happily swimming in the sea in a storm. It's the whole "it won't happen to me" thinking.

As if these people are somehow above or away from a given situation, forming stupid conclusions on their limited information and ignoring those who know best.

Actually it was aimed at me as I said there were only 5 people in the bar. Apologies if I came over aggressive, sat in work, listening to people cough, whilst bored is not a good mix

I wouldn't have gone near a crowded bar at the weekend for obvious reasons. I picked that bar because I knew it was quiet, spacious and I had about as low a risk of getting any virus there than I did at home.

No one is going to guarantee you're not going to get it. It's all about doing one's best and I understand that totally and have done everything possible whilst not completely disrupting my daily life. I have and am following the Government's and HSE's advice and that is all anyone can do.

But, coughs and the like are common this time of year. I have a very little one currently and loads in my office have them. Members of the public came in last week and I could hear some of them coughing...Normally, no one cares but, with what is currently happening, it does cause a degree of paranoia and it's ridiculous that pretty much everywhere is closed except meaningless offices

pgj2015 wrote:
    maybe that knob who recorded the video should be at home in a bunker so he doesnt infect anyone himself if he is so so concerned.

He was away from the bouncer. Nobody is asking people to sit in 24 hours a day (yet) but we are also asking that people don't make stupid, selfish decisions to socialise.

The fact that you can't distinguish between the two is amazing.

Grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Apparently there's a joke going around that Cheltenham will now be renamed ' Only fools and.....'

Except fools is a very kind description of the people from Ireland who travelled there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Eh hang on...Trying to to make someone feel like **** or point scoring is not what is needed now in such a situation

They followed the advice of The Government and the HSE and they're right, they only introduced drastic measures here on Sunday. What more is the person supposed to do?

The HSE are not the sacred cows and guardians of the medical system. Some times you have you use your own judgement. Remember these are the guys responsible for blood scandal, cervical cancer, two dodgy batches of both swine and avian vaccine, HIV in the 1980's. Its like asking the Catholic Church about child protection.

As for asking your TD, which TD was it ? The Healy Rae's shure gwan 'twill be grand. A TD would never lie to you especially if he was going for re-election the end of the summer.

What is a person supposed to do? Compare and Contrast. This is what happened in China 2 months ago, this is what is happening in Italy today, What do you think will happen in Ireland in two weeks time?

Would you like to some magic beans? they grow into trees that have money instead of leaves, guaranteed!!

"You have to believe me I am catholic" Some dope on the the apprentice
    "I dont give a fupp and I am jew" Lord Alan Sugar.

Apparently there's a joke going around that Cheltenham will now be renamed ' Only fools and.....'

Except fools is a very kind description of the people from Ireland who travelled there.

I am telling you fast women and slow horse will break you. Truth be told my uncle lost three farms on the horse and dogs and the Bank came and collected the last one when the property was at an all time low in the early 1990's.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,619 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I flew out to Dubai last Thursday. I checked the position of both governments, my airline and my travel insurance company before I left and none advised against travelling.

Now it looks like I might not be able to get back in.

People being judgemental of those who have recently gone on holidays (to places where the infection isn’t widespread) should remember most governments only introduced drastic measures over the weekend.

I followed the best advice available. It’s not my fault it was bad advice.

Could you not see last week that the situation was very fluid and literally changing by the day? No way would I have risked heading away on holidays last week, it was obvious things were getting worse and worse as the week went on.

Irish govt is trying to get everyone home from Spain by Thursday so you're better off trying to get home now in case there is a travel ban. Otherwise you could be stuck out in Dubai for weeks or even months and foreigners wont be getting preference for medical treatment should it be needed.

The HSE are not the sacred cows and guardians of the medical system. Some times you have you use your own judgement. Remember these are the guys responsible for blood scandal, cervical cancer, two dodgy batches of both swine and avian vaccine, HIV in the 1980's. Its like asking the Catholic Church about child protection.

As for asking your TD, which TD was it ? The Healy Rae's shure gwan 'twill be grand. A TD would never lie to you especially if he was going for re-election the end of the summer.

What is a person supposed to do? Compare and Contrast. This is what happened in China 2 months ago, this is what is happening in Italy today, What do you think will happen in Ireland in two weeks time?

I never asked any TD :confused: I haven't been abroad since last May so I have absolutely no clue what you're talking about.

But, you seem to be telling to ignore The Government and the HSE. Fair enough so

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Could you not see last week that the situation was very fluid and literally changing by the day? No way would I have risked heading away on holidays last week, it was obvious things were getting worse and worse as the week went on.

Irish govt is trying to get everyone home from Spain by Thursday so you're better off trying to get home now in case there is a travel ban. Otherwise you could be stuck out in Dubai for weeks or even months and foreigners wont be getting preference for medical treatment should it be needed.

The day I left was the first day there was a big spike in cases here and community transition. Up to that it didn’t seem like we were heading in the same direction as Italy at all. No events had been cancelled, the pubs hadn’t closed, America hadn’t banned travel from Europe, Italy wasn’t in lockdown etc etc etc

Literally no one apart from my dad said don’t go. Not my mam, my housemate, my colleagues. People had not started to panic at all. You’re forgetting how much things have changed in a week.

Would I make the decision again? No.

Do I think the government should have provided better advice to people travelling? Yes.

Bear in mind, they’ve literally only come out *yesterday* and advised against all non-essential travel.

But, you seem to be telling to ignore The Government and the HSE. Fair enough so

I am not ignoring the Government, I am ahead of the curve. I knew about the Virus in late January and had realised there were going to be massive problems in early February. Four Weeks back I was buying before the Government realised something could happen and I had finished buying two weeks back.

Also I predicted a financial crash for this time 18 months back...... guess what is happening in the background?

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

I’m responsible for the decision I made. The government is responsible for the information I based my decision on.

Did you do any forecasting of potential scenarios when making your decision to travel?

Do I think the government should have provided better advice to people travelling? Yes.

Bear in mind, they’ve literally only come out *yesterday* and advised against all non-essential travel.

You are relying on the Government to warn you? The Government should have seen this in China 3 months back through the embassy and diplomatic channels.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭blockfighter

I had tickets for liverpool match on the Wednesday, and Thursday and Friday tickets for Cheltenham. Didn't go, took the hit. Not once did I think to myself I should contact my local TD. Things were changing drastically every day then. Any one who went put themselves and others at risk. Doesn't matter how careful you were.

Fair play to ye, That took a lot of courage. how far had you booked in advance?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Bet there wasnt an irish person in that pub, now 100+ potentially infected going to board planes to the uk and the states incubating covid 19 for the sake of a 7 euro pint