Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Digs

Supervalu delivery have just rang to cancel my weekly order (due between 2-4 today) because they are totally out of stock, she said they’re closing the store early (Templeogue). FFS, people are absolute cretins.

Just my usual weekly shop, no bulk or stockpiling. Myself and my husband are now arguing over who will have to physically go to the shops now, the kids need feeding.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,370 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I went to Tesco to get bread for somebody.
    Apparently it was sold out in town. Tesco had a good enough bit of it left.
    Milk,toilet roll, handwashing, etc were all in stock.
    Some people are desperate to likes online from what I can see locally.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,757 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Thats a balls, Digs but be thankful you can. How many elderly and immunocompromised people will have to do without now because of the selfish behaviour being shown around the country?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

enricoh wrote: »
    Went past the Aldi beside me n it was jammed, if it was half decent I would have got a few bits.
    5 minutes away is a big Centra, all the shelves were full. Plenty of good value special offers on n didn't see anyone overloading trollies.

Some people love drama, let them at it!!

People are hitting the "big" supermarkets because, well, they reckon they have the most stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Looks like the breadmaker I bought years ago is going to get a few run outs.

Who's laughing now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Digs wrote: »
    Supervalu delivery have just rang to cancel my weekly order (due between 2-4 today) because they are totally out of stock, she said they’re closing the store early (Templeogue). FFS, people are absolute cretins.

Just my usual weekly shop, no bulk or stockpiling. Myself and my husband are now arguing over who will have to physically go to the shops now, the kids need feeding.

Whoever of you will go prepare to fight the crowds only to end up queuing for an hour to pay for whatever leftovers you managed to grab - possibly a bunch of parsley or a sea salt mill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

an old lad in tescos with a mask and rubber drain gloves on passed me in the aisle
    going on about the madness for toilet rolls, ' crazy idiots , CRAZY ' he was muttering out loud

his trolley had 3 slabs of guinness in it and nothing else .

check mate , old lad

CHECKMATE

Thats a balls, Digs but be thankful you can. How many elderly and immunocompromised people will have to do without now because of the selfish behaviour being shown around the country?

Absolutely! We are fortunate that’s the height of our problems. I dropped into an elderly neighbour earlier to see how she is fixed. She said she went to our local Supervalu yesterday and she’s not the better for what she witnessed. It’s so unnecessary. There seems to be a certain faction who get excited by the drama.

Dr Strange wrote: »
    Whoever of you will go prepare to fight the crowds only to end up queuing for an hour to pay for whatever leftovers you managed to grab - possibly a bunch of parsley or a sea salt mill.

My husband is going. He just doesn’t know it yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

They are both Tescos distribution centres Donabate is the 2nd largest in Europe and Ballymun is the largest chill in Ireland. Worked in both of them

Tesco's distribution centre in Donabate is the , it is the 11th-largest building by volume in the world.

It's about half the size of NASA's Vehicle Assembly Building, by volume.

It's big folks. Lots of stuff in it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Supermarkets are all restocked and fine today.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I did a shop in MaxiZoo for dog food. Plenty on the shelves of everything.
    My Jack Russell must have the liver friendly stuff as she is basically wrecked.
    My two dogs are on their "holidays" in the countryside as I was in hospital.
    The owner of the dog stay place told me this morning of many cancellations as the dog owners are cancelling holidays.

Good idea keeping the dogs well fed.
    They might come in handy if the old food runs out.

Just find a Korean website with recipes.

And how many of us were laughing at the preppers on tv a while back.
    Who is laughing now. :(
    If you are stockpiling and everyone knows it, surely you are putting yourself at risk as those without will be making for your doors or windows if supplies run out

Remind me how long it takes to get a gun license.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭eastie17

_Brian wrote: »

There will still be access.

Correct, Italy as bad as its been has still never stopped people going to grocery stores or pharmacies

• Registered Users Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Off for the next two weeks at least. Recently started playing the drums so loads of time to practice. Kinda feel bad for the neighbours.

I went in to Tesco Extra in Drogheda this morning at 7:15am to pick up something just for today's dinner. It was due to open at 7, but the door was still closed and there was a queue of about 50 waiting outside with trolleys.

I waited in my car until the doors opened at 7:30am, and by the time I went to the tills at 8am this was the sight I was greeted with...

tO9j17o.jpg?1

Those empty shelves on the left are...
    toilet paper!

Never saw the likes of it before in all my years going to this Tesco (basically since it first opened in the early 00s) and it was a bit eye-opening. People just emptying shelves of multipack items, bread and meat into their trolleys, surely this isn't necessary for everyone who is doing this?

The scarcity on the shelves and overall hassle of shopping prompted my to buy food for 3-4 dinners, rather than just today's which I went in for originally. Panic buying has a knock on effect on people who had absolutely no intention of doing so in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm no philanthropist however I would always leave something for the next person.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Coronavirus has certainly highlighted the selfish streak in some people - going off to Cheltenham and on their holliers to Spain despite knowing the risk of bringing more cases back into the country, still refusing to wash their hands regularly and thoroughly despite every medical expert saying this is the most effective way to stop the virus spreading, and hoarding food, sanitisers and antibacterial wipes at the expense of other people, including the elderly and vulnerable.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,696 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I've spent my time shopping
    Seeing how many trollies I can fill in a day and then try to break that record

• Registered Users Posts: 19,620 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I get the sense that horse racing is a rich man's sport, financed by poor people.
    Sad but true. Some of the horse racing goers won't like to admit it, but this is how it is. We saw this last year when certain racecourses suspended race meetings due to an Equine Flu outbreak. The horses are more important than the punters.

Its an industry built on exploitation, 'sport of kings' where serfs are needed as stablehands who have to work 19 hour days and sleep in the stables with the horses they tend to
    Instantly there was unquestioning celebration. In fact with the €4.1m behemoth of a race now already in his nascent CV, he was quick to thank those often forgotten within the game too. "All the lads at home and the lads that have been down here have done an unbelievable job," he beamed. All the while his father was lurking in the paddock, exuding a pride rarely seen for his own second place in the event. But while Irish racing cheered, there was a troublesome twang.

At the time, O'Brien the elder was busy challenging a Workplace Relations Commission ruling against his Ballydoyle stable which said that employees worked 19-hour days and 28 days on the bounce. His retort wasn't that they didn't, rather it was an insight into the mindset. He argued training racehorses is exempt from working-hour rules because it is classed as an agricultural enterprise; Robbie Manton, head of the yard, talked of a telepathic bond with animals meaning it was hard for staff to stay away; Clem Murphy, the bloodstock consultant added, "They can have a rest, read a book, lie down [in the bunks in horseboxes]. There's plenty of downtime".

Racing had long traded on such attitudes and excuses. Somehow it still does."It's not just racing either," says a former stable worker who got out to become a farrier. "There is one prominent show-jumper - and this isn't uncommon in any equine field - and his staff start at six, get 20 minutes of a break where food is bought in for them as if to say this makes it okay, finish at 11 that night, and head up to a room above the stable with mold on the walls and a stink in the place before starting at six again. Lads at the bottom, they might have a claim, they want to be jockeys for instance. They are told that if you do this and then you do that, you'll get this ride but they don't. Next thing they're in their 40s, alcoholics, still chasing the dream.
    https://www.independent.ie/sport/horse-racing/ewan-mackenna-the-sport-of-kings-built-on-elitism-and-wealth-but-why-does-it-come-at-a-cost-for-staff-37839298.html

My parents built their house in the 80s with a bidet to some hilarity and merriment from the yocals. Shortage of bog roll not a problem.

Who is laughing now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Hopefully these people stockpiling all the toilet paper will also stock up on condoms, to ensure that they don't breed and spread more stupidity.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,427 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

an old lad in tescos with a mask and rubber drain gloves on passed me in the aisle
    going on about the madness for toilet rolls, ' crazy idiots , CRAZY ' he was muttering out loud

his trolley had 3 slabs of guinness in it and nothing else .

check mate , old lad

CHECKMATE

If anyone needs toilet rolls, it’ll be him.

I have admit I have never seen the attraction with horse racing.

I just see a bunch of underweight little boys and girls clinging for dear life to a domesticated animal runnning around a field. Just don't get it. I must have some sort of gene missing.

As for betting? No chance- I work to hard for my money to squander it on matters I cannot control.

Speedsie wrote: »
    Tesco's distribution centre in Donabate is the , it is the 11th-largest building by volume in the world.

It's about half the size of NASA's Vehicle Assembly Building, by volume.

It's big folks. Lots of stuff in it

Id like to see a look, any chance you could put up a google maps link of the location

Digs wrote: »

Yep reports are that Supervalue cancelled loads of online deliveries last night, this happened even as their rep was on the news saying the supply chain is fine.

Meanwhile the army are gearing up to hit the streets. From an Irish Mirror hack

statusred.jpg

army.jpg
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/03/13/whats-status-red/#comments

Sh1ts getting real folks

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Id like to see a look, any chance you could put up a google maps link of the location

Yep reports are that Supervalue cancelled loads of online deliveries last night, this happened even as their rep was on the news saying the supply chain is fine.

Meanwhile the army are gearing up to hit the streets. From an Irish Mirror hack

statusred.jpg

army.jpg
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/03/13/whats-status-red/#comments

Sh1ts getting real folks

A "snugpak" is not very manly is it?

Did John Rambo have a snugpak I wonder.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,757 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Thats been debunked already, the army thing. You'll hear plenty of BS over the weekend.

https://www.thejournal.ie/whastapp-defence-forces-debunked-5044990-Mar2020/
    https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/government-quashes-rumours-of-plans-to-bring-in-status-red-emergency-over-coronavirus-39042445.html

We don't have the numbers in the army or the Gardaí to enforce it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

My parents built their house in the 80s with a bidet to some hilarity and merriment from the yocals. Shortage of bog roll not a problem.

Who is laughing now.

Will you go over there to wash your arse?

Lol, sorry that sounded awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

Binning what? Sure that’s what a good ol American fridge freezer is for.

First time ours has been full. Feels great. No need to go near a shop for months!

I pity the fools with small fridge freezers!

Better hope we don't suffer power outages if esb staff are self isolating as well