Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus - Cheltenham

• 25-02-2020 4:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

This will drive Moron mad, and yes it's typical Roger, but, I worry!

I am genuinely concerned re the Coronavirus and Cheltenham going ahead, so I am asking, what about the rest of ye?
    Is it just me and one or 2 others worried about this??

I really really really really really hope I am wrong, but I can't see this ending well :(

Are you worried re Cheltenham going ahead 312 votes

Yes, its a very real concern
    64% 200 votes
    No, this is all being blown out of proportion
    23% 73 votes
    Not worried as yet, but starting to think about it
    4% 15 votes
    Will you relax to feck Rog, tis grand!!
    7% 24 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭mulbot

This will drive Moron mad, and yes it's typical Roger, but, I worry!

I am genuinely concerned re the Coronavirus and Cheltenham going ahead, so I am asking, what about the rest of ye?
    Is it just me and one or 2 others worried about this??

I really really really really really hope I am wrong, but I can't see this ending well :(

Why worry?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Kevin Blake
    @kevinblake2011
    We covered plenty of ground on the latest Weighed-In Podcast, but I suspect the potential impact of the Coronavirus on the Cheltenham Festival is going to be a big story in the coming days. I was in touch with Nick Rust and he gave us the BHA's current position on the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭maximo31

Second year in a row the anticipation has been destroyed by the like of this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Kevin Blake should probably stick to tipping 3 year old improvers. What did Nick Rust say exactly?

Blake should know better than scaremongering on Twitter.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Kevin Blake should probably stick to tipping 3 year old improvers. What did Nick Rust say exactly?

Blake should know better than scaremongering on Twitter.

Wish I shared your confidence lad

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

This is a very real risk to the festival unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭EICVD

Was looking forward to beating the Cheltenham blues heading away on holiday on the Saturday after it but today’s news has really pissed me off

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Kevin Blake
    @kevinblake2011
    We covered plenty of ground on the latest Weighed-In Podcast, but I suspect the potential impact of the Coronavirus on the Cheltenham Festival is going to be a big story in the coming days. I was in touch with Nick Rust and he gave us the BHA's current position on the issue.

KB generally knows so this is troubling

Simon Harris just said Ireland Italy has to be cancelled...............
    F**k it lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

The poll is a bit strange.
    "Are you worried re Cheltenham going ahead - Yes, its a very real concern"

It would be a real concern if Cheltenham went ahead if Coronavirus was rampant.
    Cheltenham happening is of little concern in a crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Simon Harris just said Ireland Italy has to be cancelled...............
    F**k it lads!
    Any game of that sport that doesn’t go ahead is a good thing.

The poll is a bit strange.
    "Are you worried re Cheltenham going ahead - Yes, its a very real concern"

It would be a real concern if Cheltenham went ahead if Coronavirus was rampant.
    Cheltenham happening is of little concern in a crisis.

On this forum we exist in a little cheltenham bubble
    I make NO apologies for that, oh righteous one!!

On this forum we exist in a little cheltenham bubble
    I make NO apologies for that, oh righteous one!!
    My mother was in her 90s before I learned from her that two of her mother's sisters died in England during the 1917 Spanish flu epidemic (40 to 50 million died).
    If this gets out of hand it could kill 100,000+ plus in Ireland.

My mother was in her 90s before I learned from her that two of her mother's sisters died in England during the 1917 Spanish flu epidemic.

Thanks for that side order of bullsh*t Sting

Your opening post if ambiguous.
    1) Are you worried about a coronavirus epidemic?
    2) Are you worried about Cheltenham being cancelled in an attempt to prevent an epidemic?

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

My mother was in her 90s before I learned from her that two of her mother's sisters died in England during the 1917 Spanish flu epidemic (40 to 50 million died).

Affs, go away for a few pints will ya.

Be great if you, sting and antieam all got on a plane TO italy tomorrow....ye would only need one seat.......

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Ruby Walsh was on the radio this evening talking about it. It wouldn't surprise him given the foot and mouth saga a few years ago that didn't affect equine animals.

I would be surprised if it was called off due to the threats of people mingling together, but not as surprised as I was that someone gave Ruby Walsh a radio slot on 2fm!

Sure they might as well start cancelling every major music/sporting event. Curfews next!

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Be great if you, sting and antieam all got on a plane TO italy tomorrow....ye would only need one seat.......

Tetrarch nothing to do with StingGoat in fairness now Roge.
    He’s a complete flat and bloodstock man and probably couldn’t give a toss if Cheltenham was cancelled, but unaffiliated with that other sh!tebag.

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Will racing go ahead market now up on the machine.

I will watch Cheltenham and the Grand National.
    Betting on the Grand National as a child and following a Grand National system was the start of my interest in form and analysis.
    Over time I found I could not spend twelve months a a year following racing, and have concentrated on the flat.

If Coronavirus takes off there will be no horseracing, jumps or flat, and no sporting meetings or other large gatherings.
    Cheltenham might take place before that.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

lemush wrote: »
    Will racing go ahead market now up on the machine.

What way have they that marked up???

Slattsy wrote: »
    What way have they that marked up???
    Cheltenham\Specials\Will Racing Go Ahead? Cheltenham 10th March

Only Euro 1,579 traded
    Decimal Odds - Yes 1.35 (1/3); No 2.76 (7/4)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Cheltenham\Specials\Will Racing Go Ahead? Cheltenham 10th March

Only Euro 1,579 traded
    Decimal Odds - Yes 1.35 (1/3); No 2.76 (7/4)

Thank you.

1/3? What a price! Get paid out before the supreme and there's your ice cream money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Slattsy wrote: »
    Thank you.

1/3? What a price! Get paid out before the supreme and there's your ice cream money.

I would say Kevin Blake is having a conniption, I am never letting him away with this.

No word on his convo yet with Nick Rust? How the BHA are not releasing a statement is disgusting. Particularly as the spreads are offering them an opportunity to get on. This is worse than the stewards having a few quid on a photo.

€ 1,579 traded. If that grows overnight.....

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭Croll

Now nearly €17000 traded and its at 1.39, worrying enough

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Will the trainers have declare the anti virus masks on the horses and jockeys ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Too early to tell yet.I’d say the next week will tell a lot of what’s to come. The rugby being cancelled and all soccer in Italy being played with no fans.hard to know what will happen
    If there’s many more people diagnosed especially Europe I’d say the whole lot could be off.