Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part II - Its arrived - We're Doomed!!! See OP for Mod warnings

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Cupatae wrote: »
    Imagine cancer got this sort of global reporting with death by death updates,maps, ect... imagine how dramatic it would look.

Cancer is not contagious.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭one armed dwarf

Beanybabog wrote: »
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/2020/02/28/i-have-coronavirus-so-far-it-isnt-that-bad/#click=https://t.co/28l5tiwLG8

This is the second first person account I’ve read today, I imagine there’ll be more

Fairly re-assuring to read but I still don't want to spread this fecking thing if I do get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

spurious wrote: »
    Cases are not deaths, some here seem to not quite get that.

It's a flu. Lots of people will get it, some will die. No different to many times before. Some years the flu kills more than others.

but it's not a flu

otherwise, great post

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

It's a flu. Lots of people will get it, some will die. No different to many times before. Some years the flu kills more than others.

Brace yourself.... lol having a realistic view like that is frowned upon in here:D

splinter65 wrote: »
    Cancer is not contagious.

Yeah no **** sherlock, i was saying if you highlighted every single case and death of it, it would look even more dramatic than Convid-19 the point was the media coverage is making it really dramatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Brace yourself.... lol having a realistic view like that is frowned upon in here:D

Comparing cancer to this is realistic I see.

Honestly the fact that you couldn't grasp the point i was making is hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,311 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Waiting for Trump to close all borders and ground all planes

• Registered Users Posts: 16,076 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

The spanish flu was a flu. It killed 20 to 50 million. No big deal...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,551 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's a flu.

Is it?

i was saying if you highlighted every single case and death of it, it would look even more dramatic than Convid-19 the point was the media coverage is making it really dramatic.

Understand yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Honestly the fact that you couldn't grasp the point i was making is hilarious.

You made a ridiculous point, everyone laughed at you.

Dry your eyes and move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Runaways wrote: »
    Lads give over. Folks are taking an interest. Nobody scaremongering. It’s information. People are tracking it it’s an unprecedented event. It’s news.

Sure what would you know anyway?

You have not spoken to the HSE.:D

I think you might have better luck waiting for ET to phone home.

I hope everything works out for you.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

SeaBreezes wrote: »

Jesus, you can’t stop that spread

BanditLuke wrote: »
    You made a ridiculous point, everyone laughed at you.

Dry your eyes and move on.

You and 2 other people, nice try though buddy.

If only you could turn back time eh, buddy.

Est fatality rates so far

US: 1.4%
    Iran: 7.3%
    Italy: 2.6%
    South Korea: 0.5%
    Japan: 2.1%
    China: 3.6%
    Taiwan: 2.6%
    France: 2.7%

The spanish flu was a flu. It killed 20 to 50 million. No big deal...

And we have arrived... oh look banditluke liked the post why am i not surprised lmao so over the top. but hey we arent scaremongering :D:D:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Boozybooze

80,000 infected across the world/
    Population of China is 1,400,000,000.
    Population of the World is 7,700,000,000

I think we'll be okay. Yes it seems to have a slightly higher death rate than the Flu but people freaking out about is mad. The media are absolutely loving this.

Wish now I got into the hand sanitizer business so gullible fools will buy it at ten times the cost.

Boozybooze wrote: »

Chairman Xi will be most pleased.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Interesting that a man in Surrey in the UK has tested positive for Covid-19 having NOT been outside the country.
    He appears to be a publican.
    His pub and the health Centre he presented himself at are being “deep cleaned”.
    It’s a boom time for the deep cleaning companies. Can you imagine?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Boozybooze

Do you have the statistics for the standard Flu? Pretty similar I would imagine.

Boozybooze wrote: »
    Population of the World is 7,700,000,000

I think we'll be okay. Yes it seems to have a slightly higher death rate than the Flu but people freaking out about is mad. The media are absolutely loving this.

Wish now I got into the hand sanitizer business so gullible fools will buy it at ten times the cost.

welcome to the "ah it ll be grand camp"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

The South Koreans are doing something right

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,139 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

gabeeg wrote: »

but it's not a flu

otherwise, great post

You're right, it's closer to the common cold than a flu, but carry on.

Cases are not deaths.

And we have arrived... oh look banditluke liked the post why am i not surprised lmao so over the top. but hey we arent scaremongering :D:D:rolleyes:

Rent free :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

splinter65 wrote: »
    Interesting that a man in Surrey in the UK has tested positive for Covid-19 having NOT been outside the country.
    He appears to be a publican.
    His pub and the health Centre he presented himself at are being “deep cleaned”.
    It’s a boom time for the deep cleaning companies. Can you imagine?

Yes

You're right, it's closer to the common cold than a flu, but carry on.

Cases are not deaths.

Yeah that's why governments are taking these measures :p common cold

Ah this thread is pure gold

• Registered Users Posts: 16,076 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

tillyfilly wrote: »
    The South Koreans are doing something right

And the Iranians must surely be grossly underestimating their number of cases...