Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí: Provo Army Council oversees PIRA & SF

• Registered Users Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭PressRun

Is this not the most transparant sh*te ever? FF and FG want to go into coalition together but they need to make it palatable to their grassroots, so they're going to sell it as "if we don't go in together, the RA will take over the country, we have to do this in the National Interest".

It's fake outrage orchestrated by two parties who don't even seem to fundamentally understand the Good Friday Agreement, among other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

What should concern FF/FG is that those who will vote probably don't give a hoot either.

Of bigger concern to FG/FF is the prospect of another election and being left to face even more SF candidates. FF/FG are tired political entities and lacking in inspiration. SF are young and dynamic. How capable they are beyond rhetoric remains to be seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,261 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Faugheen wrote: »
    Well this just isn’t true.

More lies and hysteria to mask the real issues here. We’re in Trump territory alright, but between O Broin essentially calling the Daily Mail liars for the report on Violet Anne Wynne’s rent debacle and the bull**** that SF supporters are calling accountability as ‘propaganda’, it isn’t FG.

Housing, health, tax and the climate. There’s a lot of hysteria trying to avoid talking about these issues alright. Full on panic and hysteria.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Faugheen wrote: »
    Well this just isn’t true.

More lies and hysteria to mask the real issues here.

He said "why doesn't McDonald disband the army council". The army council is a terrorist organisation. How could she disband it if she isn't involved in it as he insinuated. He is calling her a terrorist.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,177 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

smurgen wrote: »
    I still can't believe the outgoing taoiseach called the most popular leader of the most popular party in the country a terrorist.

To be clear Varadkar has not said that. He has implied it though. But its nowhere near to issuing a proper statement on it.

Its his opinion and he is entitled to it. The back and forth in the Dail and the balaclava comment is banter as far as i am concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

They should ask him for all the information he has and what or who promoted him to say what he said. There seems to be seriously shadowy back channels between fine Gael and Garda commissioners e.g Noirin O Sullivan and Martin Callinan two disgraced commissioners.

On what grounds is Noirin disgraced?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

He said "why doesn't McDonald disband the army council". The army council is a terrorist organisation. How could she disband it if she isn't involved in it as he insinuated. He is calling her a terrorist.

He isn’t calling her a terrorist.

That’s one giant leap to clutch at straws there.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,129 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

holyhead wrote: »
    On what grounds is Noirin disgraced?

Well Drew just disgraced her because she was running the Gardai under the belief that the IRA was defunct.

Where would that be on Drew's scale of incompetence?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

SF are the political wing of the IRA, they'd be disbanding her.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Let's say a former Provo now has a flower arranging business and looks after a couple of his former comrades by helping them out with their bills. Does that qualify as 'IRA business'? At what point to some oul fellas who were involved in the conflict stop being IRA men and start becoming just 'oul fellas'?
    randomspud wrote: »
    Terrorists don't get to just decide to stop being terrorists because they got old.
    FTA69 wrote: »
    Nah mate that’s literally exactly what happens. The conflict featured many protagonists. Now they’re retired and doing other stuff. Which is good.

I think the above is where people differ. I reckon it's a bit of a stretch naming the remnants of the former PIRA an 'Army Council' when there is no army.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,923 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Insomnia bites, so here I am.

To me the Army Council is the shadowy equivalent of Dominic Cummings in UK Brexit.

We at least know who he is though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭efanton

I think the above is where people differ. I reckon it's a bit of a stretch naming the remnants of the former PIRA an 'Army Council' when there is no army.

Totally agree.

What I dont get is we heard nothing but accusations of SF using jingoism's and 'populist' soundbites from FF and FG right through the election and now the results are in, the ones both parties don't like, they themselves are resorting the the very same thing (and have been right through the election if the truth be told).

Did they not learn that trying to tar SF all through the election actually lost them votes. Now they come out with a stunt like this to try justify themselves and this too is likely to backfire on them.

It seems there's a good few politicians that need to consider retiring. If they cant learn from their mistakes how is any government formed that involves either FG or FF going to be any different from the ones we have had over the last ten years. If they cant learn and change on the obvious mistakes how are they actually going to change on the important things like government policies and a program for government that will actually deliver what was demanded in the general election

I would almost hope that FF and FG form this so called grand coalition, just so that they can prove once and for all both parties are incapable of change, and are becoming more and more irrelevant to what the people of this country were hoping for. I said almost, but I think if they do it it would be both the worst thing they could possibly do for both the country and their respective parties.

If FG and FF are so keen on SF stepping forward then why don't they offer a deal where either would not put forward or support a no confidence motion for 2 years and let SF form a minority government with the 60 or 70 seats that they could definitely muster. Surely that would be the winning combination. Both parties can sit it out for two years, lick their wounds, get back in touch with reality and come up with some policies that might actually work and if SF do the horrible job in government that they predict then after two years they will be ready for another general election, one that SF could not possibly win. The problem with that scenario is that SF probably will not be near as bad as they predict. They know it, but will not admit it, and they are terrified that once SF have been in government the flood gates will be open to SF gaining even more votes at their expense in any subsequent election

Its getting to the point where they are simply embarrassing themselves in their ploys to justify a FF/FG coalition.

Checked twitter and the usual rags still No sign of Mary Lou's arrest.strange!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Checked twitter and the usual rags still No sign of Mary Lou's arrest.strange!

She hasnt sued either...
    Do you get any sleep or are you more than one person?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭quokula

efanton wrote: »
    There are clear boundaries between the polticial functions of the state, the courts and judiciary, and the press.
    Its the same in all functioning democracies.

When these boundaries are removed, or eroded they usually end up badly.
    Would you like to live in a state where the government controls the media, where the police and courts can ignore government or the laws created in the Oireachtas

I’m very glad we don’t, but I fear that’s where we could end up under SF. Their supporters are already talking about removing the Garda commissioner for daring to speak the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

McMurphy wrote: »
    Without boring myself going through another Sinn Fein bashing thread, let me see if I can get this bit correct?

Ex member of the RUC (an armed force who were found to have colluded and conspired in the murder of members of the nationalist community both north and south of the island) who is now the commissioner was asked for his opinion on a now five year old report?

Five years ago, I doubt Drew Harris envisaged the reality of him possibly facing being the commissioner under a Sinn Fein govt.

Did I mention he was once a member of the RUC a British State police force who were found to have been involved in collusion of the murders of members of the nationalist community in Ireland, including Sinn Fein members and activists?

Drew wouldn't be getting a squeaky arse would be?

Actually, has me convinced. /Sarcasm.

Get a grip folks. FFS. :D

What a load of paranoid nonsense.

The shinners can't stand that a Protestant man is in the top job. Drew Harris has more integrity and backbone than SF-IRA has in its entirety. For a man who's father was shot by the thugs in the IRA he carries himself with great dignity and never lets his emotions get the better of him.

Thankfully the shinners seem desperate not to go in to government again so it will be up to the adult parties to step in and form a government soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

quokula wrote: »
    I’m very glad we don’t, but I fear that’s where we could end up under SF. Their supporters are already talking about removing the Garda commissioner for daring to speak the truth.

They’ve never liked Harris. Imagine a dour Ulster Presbyterian heading the police forces of the Free State? Nightmare stuff for some of the mouth-breathers from the border counties.

The dude is doing an excellent job and was perfectly entitled to say what he said. I’m sure the security services are collaborating with their UK and other intelligence services on this matter as well. All perfectly standard procedure.

But we drew Harris doesn't speak the truth.he is purposefully withholding information on the Dublin/Monaghan and McGurk's bar bombings.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

But we drew Harris doesn't speak the truth.he is purposefully withholding information on the Dublin/Monaghan and McGurk's bar bombings.
    Do you each have actual proof or evidence of this?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

"Would you like to live in a state where the government controls the media"
    I think we already do, if not controlled by FF pals and cronies. Did you watch RTE or pick up a newspaper in the week coming up to the election?
    This thread is full of hypocrisy

"Would you like to live in a state where the government controls the media"
    I think we already do, if not controlled by FF pals and cronies. Did you watch RTE or pick up a newspaper in the week coming up to the election?
    What about the week before?

is_that_so wrote: »
    What about the week before?

I'm not going to spell it out. It has been discussed at length on boards.

I see. I'm guessing your post implies that everyone sees they world as you do.

Actually no, Ok ill entertain you.
    The exclusion of SF from the debates which was only rectified because of public uproar, endless propaganda in the newspapers in the weeks before the election that became more intense after the latest polls put SF in a strong position.
    Bringing up a 10 year old murder to further their propaganda campaign. Pictures of men wearing balaclavas on the front page of the Irish Times 3 days before the election.Further stories on page 2 and 3 of the same newspaper. I watched all the single interviews by Dobson on RTE and his attitude and demeanour while interviewing MLM compared to the others was disgraceful, he didn't even try to disguise it. Now this is all a fact nothing to do with anyone seeing the world as anyone else. It didn't work though, I would argue it did more harm than good as most rational people seen right through it. Aren't the media supposed to be impartial? It doesn't matter who you vote for if you don't see anything wrong with the way they behaved I give up.
    SF popularity has put a spanner in the works and has a lot of people a little hot under the collar and I am absolutely loving it. Long may it continue, just what this country needed. It's a win win, SF get into power and sort out the mess left by the other gang or the status quo continues and they are forced to sort the bigger issues out because they know if they don't the next election will see SF walk away with 60+ seats. Wouldn't that be wonderful

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

What a load of paranoid nonsense.

The shinners can't stand that a Protestant man is in the top job. Drew Harris has more integrity and backbone than SF-IRA has in its entirety. For a man who's father was shot by the thugs in the IRA he carries himself with great dignity and never lets his emotions get the better of him.

Thankfully the shinners seem desperate not to go in to government again so it will be up to the adult parties to step in and form a government soon.

giphy.gif

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Actually no, Ok ill entertain you.

And I’ll entertain you.
    The exclusion of SF from the debates which was only rectified because of public uproar, endless propaganda in the newspapers in the weeks before the election that became more intense after the latest polls put SF in a strong position.

So the broadcasters changed their minds to reflect the most recent opinion polls? The absolute horror of that.

Sinn Fein had councillors wiped out in the locals while they lost two of their three seats in the Europeans and they also ran 42 candidates. None of that transpired as any ambition for Mary Lou McDonald to be Taoiseach, which is what the head to heads were based on. Even Mary Lou knew that, but she saw a gap and she exploited it absolutely brilliantly. People bought into it, and the surge began.

When opinion polls had SF as the largest party, RTE had to act. There was no reason to keep them off the debate because even if they didn’t win the most seats, being the largest party would have given Mary Lou a claim to be Taoiseach.
    Bringing up a 10 year old murder to further their propaganda campaign. Pictures of men wearing balaclavas on the front page of the Irish Times 3 days before the election. Further stories on page 2 and 3 of the same newspaper. I watched all the single interviews by Dobson on RTE and his attitude and demeanour while interviewing MLM compared to the others was disgraceful, he didn't even try to disguise it. Now this is all a fact nothing to do with anyone seeing the world as anyone else. It didn't work though, I would argue it did more harm than good as most rational people seen right through it. Aren't the media supposed to be impartial? It doesn't matter who you vote for if you don't see anything wrong with the way they behaved I give up.

The media didn’t bring up Paul Quinn’s murder. His mother did. Why did it take an election campaign for SF to engage with the Quinn family?

Like I said earlier, if you want to sit at the grown-ups table then prepare for accountability. Mary Lou was caught lying.

And don’t give me that ****e about Dobson treating her differently to anyone else. He gave Micheal Martin the complete runaround and absolutely rattled him. Of course Shinners won’t acknowledge this because it’s all a conspiracy against their party. Fake news, I believe it’s called.
    SF popularity has put a spanner in the works and has a lot of people a little hot under the collar and I am absolutely loving it. Long may it continue, just what this country needed. It's a win win, SF get into power and sort out the mess left by the other gang or the status quo continues and they are forced to sort the bigger issues out because they know if they don't the next election will see SF walk away with 60+ seats. Wouldn't that be wonderful

Sinn Fein has absolutely put a spanner in the works, but like I said if you want to sit at the adult table then you need to be held accountable for your actions, or lack thereof.

If you don’t want to be held accountable, then it’s back to the kiddies table where you can shout and bitch and moan all you like.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,668 ✭✭✭corks finest

They should ask him for all the information he has and what or who promoted him to say what he said. There seems to be seriously shadowy back channels between fine Gael and Garda commissioners e.g Noirin O Sullivan and Martin Callinan two disgraced commissioners.

Gardai are FG/ FF puppets at times of party stress in the polls, same state control of certain media platforms ( BBC)in the 6 counties went on for decade's,indeed still does,let's not be silly and deny these facts, establishment parties in every country are backed up by state and RTE shows this week in / out

Do you each have actual proof or evidence of this?

He doesnt
    He just threw that in there
    Says on one side of the mouth they're a voter that doesn't care about the troubles they're in the past
    And out of the other brings up nefarious troubles related concerns
    Bit of an agenda giveaway

Gardai are FG/ FF puppets at times of party stress in the polls, same state control of certain media platforms ( BBC)in the 6 counties went on for decade's,indeed still does,let's not be silly and deny these facts, establishment parties in every country are backed up by state and RTE shows this week in / out

Conspiracy forum ---->