Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

They were quoting a journalist or economist for sure, but they all seemed to be in consensus that he was right.

Fair enough...wasn't listening closely enough.
    The arrogance of the panel this morning is something else. People need to understand that some jobs just aren't viable and we will have to have a reset which will be painful? So all the poorest working class in society lose their jobs, but this is just something they have to accept. Well maybe we need to start shutting down some overheads, like RTE and many of the universities. Throw Brendan O'Connor and Gary Murphy out of their jobs and see how they accept it.

As someone who works in the university sector, I can tell you that there are many who are very worried about their futures. Many already on precarious contracts and with the whole online/blended learning being seen as perhaps having lower overheads for the unis in the future, these people are feeling more precarious.

Shutting down universities? Removing one avenue for some (of all 'classes') who may want to change careers/up-skill doesn't seem like the cleverest idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭Mav11

Cole wrote: »
    That could have been another cringe interview by BOC, but I thought it was good...enjoyed it.

In general I thought that BOC was better today. Less interruptions or maybe better timed. I wonder did somebody have a word in his ear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,137 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Mav11 wrote: »
    In general I thought that BOC was better today. Less interruptions or maybe better timed. I wonder did somebody have a word in his ear?

I'd be surprised if they didn't.

A radio show is a joint effort of the production team.

I'd say BOC is long enough on the road to accept a bit of advice.

Whatever about that I agree it was an easy listening Sunday show today.

Mav11 wrote: »

I agree. One of his better shows since he started....hopefully he (and his team) will stay on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Will Yam wrote: »
    It’s more of RTÉ interviewing RTÉ and they thinking the rest of the world is riveted by it.

And as for them moving around from one job to another, is it really earth shattering news that a newsreader is going to read the news at 9oc instead of 6oc (or vice versa)?

It’s only reading the news for gods sake. It’s not up there with finding a Covid vaccine that works.

One Rte show plugging another Rte show.
    It isn't much more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

imme wrote: »
    One Rte show plugging another Rte show.
    It isn't much more than that.

Give em bread an circuses innit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,384 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Interesting stuff from Mary. 30 grand a year, less than 200 quid a week from her live shows. And she's not complaining, just telling it like it is. Spotify is a disgrace.

Would you believe her....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Would you believe her....

On reflection....yes, no problem believing it at all tbh.

:cool:

Uhmmmmm.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

:cool:

Uhmmmmm.......

Cpold be right there Bendar...no sense in spooking Gladney an the lads from Ashtown Gate

Keep it on the down low ......

Cpold be right there Bendar...no sense in spooking Gladney an the lads from Ashtown Gate

Keep it on the down low ......

Always wonder about all this travel and gigs these folk do.

Seem to be ‘just back’ from somewhere every time they appear on the media or are heard on the airwaves.

Strange it only adds to 30k.

But... hey... who am I to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Always wonder about all this travel and gigs these folk do.

Seem to be ‘just back’ from somewhere every time they appear on the media or are heard on the airwaves.

Strange it only adds to 30k.

But... hey... who am I to know.

Sure you have your opinion, like anyone else. Lets break it down - she's a successful artist, very respected, but she's not Enya. She makes records, nobody buys records anymore. The streaming companies make billions and pay peanuts. She gigs in fairly modest venues and when you take out manager fee, band, crew expenses etc, i wonder how much is left. Then there's royalties, doubt that much of a cash cow.

So to sum up, it's not necessarily true, just believable. It doesn't astonish me. Maybe 30k was a bad year, maybe she has other source of income. Maybe she's making millions, burying it in her back garden and making a fool of the taxman by broadcasting her income on national radio. We can all have our theories on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,137 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There is an article about MC in the Saturday edition of the Irish Times.

She tells how her PUP was reduced from €350 to €203 calculated on her Irish income.

Given that the DSP is working from Revenue data we can surmise that her Irish income is indeed at a low level.

elperello wrote: »
    There is an article about MC in the Saturday edition of the Irish Times.

She tells how her PUP was reduced from €350 to €203 calculated on her Irish income.

Given that the DSP is working from Revenue data we can surmise that her Irish income is indeed at a low level.

Irish income... yeah......perhaps perhaps...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

What's the betting Stephanie Prizner , (sp?), will be on this week.

They have been addicted to her in recent times.

Reading the headlines, I can’t determine whether he’s being ironic, sarcastic or some other form of -ic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Louise O'Neill on now, best line so far,

I'm kind of trotting behind these great writers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Yet another author being trotted out, literally 20 minutes after one on the previous programme. And, wait for it, shocker, essentially opens up with this book is better than my last - imagine that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

"The betrayal of the guards by portraying them as fumbling"
    They lost a f**king five bar gate, fitted up the wrong man, bribed witnesses!

Certainly does seem like she is capitalizing on the West Cork podcast, first thing that came to my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,014 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

its like ****ing rattle bag

Just shoot all men at birth. Simples.

Interviewed by BOC's wife, wtf???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Shelga

I cannot stand when she goes on her “the patriarchy has traumatised me, I like all women am only coming to terms with that now, blah blah blah” spiel- speak for yourself Louise, don’t speak for me.

By all accounts, Louise had a happy childhood in a rich and prosperous country. Her desperation to be a victim is so embarrassing to listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Shelga wrote: »
    I cannot stand when she goes on her “the patriarchy has traumatised me, I like all women am only coming to terms with that now, blah blah blah”- speak for yourself Louise, don’t speak for me.

She made reference to "how I have been objectified". Why is Brendan not challenging her on such statements. Who objectified you Louise? I'm guessing her partner does not challenge her much on this sort of nonsense she talks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Suprised boc didnt seize upon that paul mescal mention

Is this one of the Kardashians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Character Building

She's only 28, sounds more like 45

TikTok hise...absoluuuutely

From TikTok to Randy Newman...covering all bases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Jizique