Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

BOC off to a smart arse rant...with the "demonising women" one being particularly ridiculous. Less of his personal views and more discussion would be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

omg, another expert to give us advice.

BOC: "Should I ask the person who arrives at the door to wash their hands"
    Mills: "Well it depends who the person is."

It is really beyond farce at this stage. Way beyond the Joe Jacob interview about the Iodine tablets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

BOC wikl ask should I wipe the toliet sit straight after the visitor is done...madness..

Brendan being inordinately silly with his questioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

DellyBelly wrote: »
    BOC wikl ask should I wipe the toliet sit straight after the visitor is done...madness..

And there is the question on the toilet...

It is really beyond farce at this stage. Way beyond the Joe Jacob interview about the Iodine tablets.

BOC is the farcical one here...embarrassingly stupid questions. A a bit of simple intelligence/cop on goes long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,742 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Cole wrote: »
    BOC is the farcical one here...embarrassingly stupid questions. A a bit of simple intelligence/cop on goes long way.

i actually thought it was right, it sounds silly but ive not had many people round but the odd neighbour that drops in we try and social distance.

im sure this is the sort of questions that are in peoples heads

might have to leave the toilet for a few hours anyway :D:eek:

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

i actually thought it was right, it sounds silly but ive not had many people round but the odd neighbour that drops in we try and social distance.

im sure this is the sort of questions that are in peoples heads

might have to leave the toilet for a few hours anyway :D:eek:

Sounds like you're listening to the public health advice and trying to apply it in a sensible way.

But BOC and his cup of tea vs a glass of wine hygiene protocols...ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

He's got to stop that "ahhhh ahhhmmmm ahh ahmmm". He's a professional broadcaster now supposedly, not just a stand in, so he needs to start presenting like one.

#DamienForever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Best practice would be to sanitise your hands btw

BOC has proven himself to be out of his depth time and time again presenting this show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Bring back Damo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,137 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The interview with the DS man and his friend was a rare moment in radio.

Three people with intimate knowledge of the challenges of DS discussing it from an ability and non-negative point of view.

Well structured and good to hear.

Ten Pin wrote: »
    "Tell us your earliest memory of sandwiches"

Well I once had a sandwich at 6am....

RTE scraping the bottom of the breadbin for topics at this stage.

And it was Joey Tribbiani who invented sandwiches...not some ancient gambling addict

I’ll be asking for a ham tribbiani in future now, heavy on the mustard. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Brendan obviously doesn't listen to Ray Darcy. Ray was eating banana and Tayto sandwiches live on his show during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Sorry now, but I really cannot warm to BOC at all. I did try but his drony voice is just so depressing of a Sat/Sun morning. No spark of enthusiasm towards me anyway.

So it's over to Gavan Reilly on Sundays. He is as sharp as a tack and it's fast moving, only problem is the sports segment when it's wall to wall sport the minute the show is over. But it's worth it not to have to listen to BOC.

It's not personal it is just his voice and lack of something or other, don't know what it is. Off switch for me anyway.

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Bring back Damo.

Indeed he was very good despite my thinking otherwise. Kept the momentum going and actually has a good voice for radio. Not sure about the face, but sure that doesn't matter. :P

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

It was a poor poor shown yesterday, I did giggle when podcasts loaded, as it reminded me how brutal it was. Sandwiches, a poet, a guy talking about his love for dogs, the usual covid slot. I ended up turning it off. He’s brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭plodder

I thought that was a great show yesterday. Rita Ann Higgins is a very interesting person, and he had a great rapport with Tom Inglis (the dog guy) despite his own scepticism towards the topic. And the sandwich thing was a good laugh too.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Yeah each to their own as ever. I didn’t enjoy any of her poems over lockdown, not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

No, simply no.

I am sick of presenters trying to catch out medical professionals.

It is as if they are trying to prove how much more clever they are than professionals.

Brendan was being a proper idiot interviewing professor Kingston Mills, was he channeling Louis Theroux,

Wash your hands, don't have loads of people visiting your home, is it really that difficult to understand :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,384 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

imme wrote: »
    No, simply no.

It is as if they are trying to prove how much more clever they are than professionals.

Brendan was being a proper idiot interviewing professor Kingston Mills, was he channeling Louis Theroux,

Wash your hands, don't have loads of people visiting your home, is it really that difficult to understand :confused:

That’s the problem I.... these coins with vested interest want to complicate things.

And the grunts who Dont g.a.f. will always back them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

imme wrote: »
    No, simply no.

They keep droning on about govt confused messaging. The only people who are confused are them.

Cannot even listen back at this stage. That whiny voice does my head in no matter what the subject is.

It is a prime slot but is being ruined by a slightly disinterested presenter with zero personality. Sorry now Brendan but thems the breaks.

Much prefer the zippy pace and content of Newstalk with Gavan Reilly. Just me I suppose.

RTE is gone to the dogs lately but hey we have to pay 13 quid a month license fee for this shyte. Sorry now, no more for me. D4rbs needs a wake up call also. But honestly I don't care anymore. There are so many alternatives on Tune in Radio app.

Mehole on, trying to explain what’s being done and why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

And why he formed another comitteeeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭Mav11

Restaurants giving out about the short notice they were given. I think most people saw this coming for the last 2 weeks?

I always think that the word “oversight” is a funny one to use. I know the context here but it always makes me think of something forgotten, such as, “I didn’t bring any underwear with me on holiday; it was an oversight”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

i think hes a very good presenter, its nice to have a presenter who is not from dublin, like 90 per cent of the presenters on rte radio.
    he has an easy going personality which reflects where he comes from.
    he does not pick out the topics for the show .
    Maybe once a month they could have a female presenter just as a change of pace.
    i,d prefer a presenter to be honest and sincere than one who pretends to be interested in everything .
    And he has a sense of humour unlike some rte presenters who sound like they are they are mainly concerned with sounding serious and important .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Not being able to leave your county is a lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭ax530

I find this easier to most of the interview with politicians which have been almost attacking or trying to catch out. The presenter following a line not letting conversation evolve
    Brendan giving Micheal time to talk