Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toxic Masculinity harming MEN

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Skippyme wrote: »
    It is well framed isn't it; it should be put on a plaque as the dumbest comment of the whole debate - a beacon for a dumbed-down explanation of the ' toxic ' element of ' toxic masculinity '.
    And yet again, you completely miss or avoid the actual points raised. :D The lack of awareness is genuinely staggering.

Though as is also common with such dug in like a tick worldviews they tend to up reminding one of a one trick pony with a blind and deaf jockey holding the reins.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Skippyme

Calhoun wrote: »
    No to being on the side of men. Also if you inferred anything from my post on feminism and your place in the world that is on you.

... Hmmm, wonder where I possibly got the " wrong impression "
    ...Toxic Masculinity is the language of the Radical Feminist, just because the term has been normalised doesn't mean a person should take it seriously.
    ...The term Toxic Masculinity has been around a few decades, normally consigned to the fringe radical feminists or limp wristed self help movements...if either of those is your bag have at it.
    silverharp wrote: »
    ...I hate to break it to you but the male feminist dream that you can be a house husband to an up and coming professional woman on the rise is a fantasy. woman are far more judgemental about men then men are about each other.
    The number of women killing themselves in the UK has hit its highest level in a decade, while the male suicide rate has fallen, according to new official statistics.
    MEN ARE AT HIGH RISK INTERNATIONALLY DUE TO TROUBLE SPEAKING ARTICULATELY AND OPENLY ... THEY GROW UP UNABLE TO DEAL WITH THE REALITY OF SEEKING SUPPORT AND BEING ABLE TO COMMUNICATE
    Wibbs wrote: »
    ...It's a "recognised term" in third wave feminism and has leaked into the wider narrative and yet another stick to beat men/masculinity/the "patriarchy" with. Oddly enough suicide rates among men have been going steadily up since the days of "toxic masculinity" and the "stiff upper lip"...
    Hell, one can barely watch the telly, listen to the radio, read the interwebs without coming across some man or other talking about their feelings, while usually peddling the same feminist "toxic masculinity" bullsh1t.
    It reads like a set of cliches of men from the unabridged and nuttier Feminist Handbook(TM). As if they(I suspect she) don't know any men, or know them only by some remove.
    Sleepy wrote: »
    You've allowed third wave feminists to indoctrinate you into their "women victims, men villains" bullshit and have internalised their misandry along with their language.
    the_syco wrote: »
    Sounds like feminist crap.
    My point is that you're adopting the language of feminism
    You didn't invent the phrase "toxic masculinity", nor pick it up from other (non feminist indoctrinated) men. You adopted it from a group whose sole purpose is to identify men as the perpetrators of every problem a woman could possibly face ..
    ...Your whole rhetoric sounds like a weird mish mash of feminist and PUA theories - it’s completely disjointed nonsense
    ...well it seems only the "feminist" angle on it
    Feminists may focus more on male chauvinism than on toxic masculinity affecting men themselves, perhaps?

I keep saying women and feminism don't feature except in the case of male chauvinism. I kept steering to try to focus on men, their behaviour and interaction with other men.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

MEN ARE AT HIGH RISK INTERNATIONALLY DUE TO TROUBLE SPEAKING ARTICULATELY AND OPENLY ... THEY GROW UP UNABLE TO DEAL WITH THE REALITY OF SEEKING SUPPORT AND BEING ABLE TO COMMUNICATE.

Apart from your own obvious difficulties with communication, it’s speculative and one might even say convenient for you to have come to the conclusion that men grow up unable to deal with the reality of seeking support and being able to communicate. Men are generally perfectly capable of articulating themselves openly in an attempt to be understood. You aren’t yet prepared to listen.

You appear to be unwilling to understand the concept that in just the same way as I pointed out in the beginning of the thread that it was like you were speaking a different language, you’re not prepared to attempt to understand people who don’t speak your language. Effective communication goes both ways. That’s why you’re getting nowhere.

I keep saying women and feminism don't feature except in the case of male chauvinism. I kept steering to try to focus on men, their behaviour and interaction with other men.

How’s your own interactions with other men working out so far? If the majority of your interactions with other men have been negative, do you think that’s something you might wish to examine before you start writing off other men as cavemen and purveyors of toxic masculinity? If that’s your idea of supporting men, I’m relieved I don’t have to rely on your support for anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

I'll say it so.

Skippy. The persona you portray online (which I presume is either a cry for help or a wind up) is odious. You, and people like you, are evidence of toxic masculinity. You don't like masculine men. Because you aren't one.

That's ok though. Nobody expects you to be. It just means you aren't going to get the benefits that come with being a masculine man.

Gay men get very little vagina. That's ok. Because their gay. It doesn't mean that all men need to stop ****ing women so they feel included.

People who are good at running shouldnt be expected to slow down so slower people don't feel excluded. It's ok for slow people not to be good at being fast.

You aren't very good at feeling like what you think a man is. It's ok to not fit in. That doesn't mean that we all have to pander to your pathetic attempt to make us feel toxic.

Either realise the world isn't against you and your biggest barrier is yourself, or continue your pity party. Nobody is stopping you being yourself, the problem is the person you have become is simply unlikable, not only to others but to yourself.

Truth hurts man, but you bring it on yourself. Too many people have been too nice to you here and it's been thrown back in their face.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Aufbau

Fair play, Skippyme. You started a discussion on toxic masculinity harming men, and the lads who think they're disagreeing with you put on a textbook display of schoolyard bullying ��

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

The poor bullied soul, you got a shoulder to cry on?

Aufbau wrote:
    Fair play, Skippyme. You started a discussion on toxic masculinity harming men, and the lads who think they're disagreeing with you put on a textbook display of schoolyard bullying

Pathetic.

People have been sympathetic up to a point.

There comes a time when telling harsh truths to someone is inevitable.

It's not bullying. It's just not capitulating to idiocy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭lalababa

Just some examples of toxic masculinity from 'down my way' ,now it is as I regard a monocultural backwater, but probably no different than any of rural Ireland.
    Real men don't use umbrellas. If you use or are seen with an umbrella , you will know all about it.
    Real men don't wear shorts when not engaged in sporting activities.
    Real men don't cry, if you cry you are having a mental breakdown.
    That's just off the top of my head. There are literally hundreds of other examples and ways you are meant to behave as a 'real man' in certain situations.
    Alot of it stems from a visious circle of poorly educated working class of both sexes university of hard knocks kind of gob****ery where any 'abberation' is mocked. It's also in the upper classes but to a lesser extent and mostly confined to men.
    You are singled out and bullied until you conform. If you don't laugh at the mockery you are 'no craic'. If you don't return the 'digs' you are 'no craic'
    My own father (and alot of his generation)could literally not say hello, can you believe that, he'd have to come up with a dig. Alot of Irish esp. men can only communicate through digs/slights/put downs.
    And alot of these slights would emminate from the well of non conformity to the 'real man' ideal.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

lalababa wrote: »
    Just some examples of toxic masculinity from 'down my way' ,now it is as I regard a monocultural backwater, but probably no different than any of rural Ireland.
    Real men don't use umbrellas. If you use or are seen with an umbrella , you will know all about it.
    That's just off the top of my head. There are literally hundreds of other examples and ways you are meant to behave as a 'real man' in certain situations.
    Alot of it stems from a visious circle of poorly educated working class of both sexes university of hard knocks kind of gob****ery where any 'abberation' is mocked. It's also in the upper classes but to a lesser extent and mostly confined to men.
    You are singled out and bullied until you conform. If you don't laugh at the mockery you are 'no craic'. If you don't return the 'digs' you are 'no craic'
    My own father (and alot of his generation)could literally not say hello, can you believe that, he'd have to come up with a dig. Alot of Irish esp. men can only communicate through digs/slights/put downs.
    And alot of these slights would emminate from the well of non conformity to the 'real man' ideal.

some of that seems more like toxic Irish behaviour

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Aufbau wrote: »
    Fair play, Skippyme. You started a discussion on toxic masculinity harming men, and the lads who think they're disagreeing with you put on a textbook display of schoolyard bullying ��

I would take issue with throwing the "bullying" accusation around willy nilly. If that's bullying it's a bloody low bar for it. However a large part of the reaction is because of this:
    You can't really usefully debate such worldviews and the tendency for the larger group with questions is to double down often out of frustration and actually play into the worldview holder's narrative, which in turn causes them to double down. Stalemate. Again QV much of this thread.

If someone, anyone comes into a group, online or off, and comes out with a singular statement and won't discuss beyond that and even deny any difference of opinion, then the group will tend to dig their heels in, Even yep to the point of aggression. It's part of human group dynamics. As is an attachment to the status quo of the group and "outsider" opinion.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

silverharp wrote: »
    some of that seems more like toxic Irish behaviour
    It's not even Irish, it's very common within small communities everywhere. The things considered socially and culturally acceptable and unacceptable tend to be written in stone and without a wider world influence and choice of social groups tend to become quite constricting. For men and women. Such pressures to conform in small communities are just as high for women. Ask any woman who grew up in such a community and they'll be only to happy to list them. Unless of course they "naturally" fitted into the acceptable behaviour side. Statistically young women are more likely to move out to more urban areas than men and a large part of that are the small town syndrome pressures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭S.G.M.

tritium wrote:
    No, that’s called being an asshole. Plenty from both genders subscribe to it. The stay at home dad trope is even the regular target of “hilarious†advertising aimed directly at women in many cases

I would call that toxic masculinity as well though. It is being an asshole as it's asshole behaviour but I don't feel it's called out near enough.

...The whole point from the start was that an average man does not exert ' toxic masculinity ' on others. The gang here seem eager to point out that they are all the manliest most normal non toxic bunch of lads, while also saying that any severe or nasty sides to them are just them being real proper men. The opinions coming forward are all displaying the consensus of follow like sheep, it's the only way - ain't we proper hard.

There seems to be a supremacy thing going on, not unlike racism.

What would you expect after this old chestnut ...
    ...the responsibilities that women have, such as taking care of the men in their lives being one example that you wondered was it still a thing. It is of course.
    iptba wrote: »
    I saw this today The annual report for 2018 for the HSE’s National Office for Suicide Prevention has just been published. There were 352 suicides in the year, down 40 on the previous year. 282 were male, 70 were female. The full report may be read here https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list...eport-2018.pdf
    Taken from thread " Suicide and men."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

No one has disputed there are a lot of social hang ups in society

No one is denying there’s gob****tery

You’ve admitted yourself it’s across both genders, so what the feck has masculinity got to do with it? If a man tells a woman she should be skinnier is that him manifesting toxic femininity by enforcing a social expectation ? Because that the direct analogy of your point

• Registered Users Posts: 1,721 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I'm from a rural area and have never given umbrellas, non sports short wearing a single thought. I've never in 45 years heard it commented on.

I suffered a terrible personal tragedy almost 3 years ago. Lots of people I knew where really awkward around me afterwards and since. The two best and natural reactions I got were from the two roughest most "red kneck" men that you could meet.

You can apply all the stereotypes you like from rural to your class designations but it's all a load of subjective boll0x.

I do things which many consider odd,
    *wear sandals all year round
    *sea swim all year round
    *cycle huge distances without food
    *bring my toddler son out walking when dark, cold and wet

Because it's not "normal" behaviour people comment all the time. It's not remotely toxic it's just what humans do when behaviour is outside norms.

The only thought I've ever had regarding umbrellas is independent of gender; KEEP THOSE FCUKING ABOVE EYE LEVEL.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

It's not even Irish, it's very common within small communities everywhere. The things considered socially and culturally acceptable and unacceptable tend to be written in stone and without a wider world influence and choice of social groups tend to become quite constricting. For men and women. Such pressures to conform in small communities are just as high for women. Ask any woman who grew up in such a community and they'll be only to happy to list them. Unless of course they "naturally" fitted into the acceptable behaviour side. Statistically young women are more likely to move out to more urban areas than men and a large part of that are the small town syndrome pressures.

For sure , generally speaking socialising people to conform to the local norms isn’t necessarily a bad thing and was a vital part coexisting when scarce resources were a matter of survival. If a factor of rural life is that there are more unattached males than females in a particular place that would lead to a certain amount of dysfunctional behaviour? much like ghetto culture in cities where more males cant get a useful foothold or build a stake in society.
    Essentially all I can see toxic masculinity is, being a sulk because men have a wider bell curve of behaviour both positive and negative which is heavily biologically influenced and will not be altered by the ramblings of some gender studies “academics”

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭littlevillage

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Speaking of changing the Topic ... can the OP please change the title of this thread to something like

So called "Toxic Masculinity" harming MEN

I second this suestion.

the term "Toxic Masculinity" is a Feminist construct used to belittle men.

No man should ever give the term acceptance by using it in anything other than a quizzical way :mad:

Toxic Masculinity is a term reserved for men, and the way in which they mistreat and misjudge others - holding with their caveman attitudes.

It is a classification of bullying ... but it is distinct in 2 ways - (1) It only involves males involved in toxic Alpha / Macho mode and is more often against the same gender except male chauvinism etc. (2) The person doing it may not be fully aware of their toxic behaviour, though in most instances I believe there is some or indeed a total* level of awareness and intention. There is a similarity in the awareness of the approach but many may not realise or care enough about the resulting fallout.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

It is a classification of bullying ... but it is distinct in 2 ways - (1) It only involves males involved in toxic Alpha / Macho mode and is more often against the same gender except male chauvinism etc. (2) The person doing it may not be fully aware of their toxic behaviour, though in most instances I believe there is some or indeed a total* level of awareness and intention. There is a similarity in the awareness of the approach but many may not realise or care enough about the resulting fallout.

It’s also a get out of jail card for bad behaviour by women, by lumping certain behaviours into masculinity and hence removing any accountability when women or indeed wider society display those behaviours, as you have amply demonstrated in your contributions to the thread;

Female domestic abusers, bullies, narcissists and others all get a pass because it’s toxic “masculinity”; women doing this stuff is something different sure, and we’ll come back to it at some point in the (far distant) future. nothing to see here, it’s all about the boys don’t you know- sugar and spice here. We get to continue to pretend that men are the problem- women don’t abuse, mental health and suicide is all because “men just don’t talk or take an interest”

Frankly pathetic

Skippy,

Can you not see that what you are doing at the moment is essentially bullying? You are telling vast swathes of men that they are not legitimate and because they do not include people like you in their lives, they are wrong?

You do not identify with these people. Why do you think they should change in order to conform with the way you feel is the "right" way of behaving?

Why can't you just associate yourself with like-minded people and let others live life as they see fit? Is what you are doing not exactly what you are rallying against?

What in your mind is the right way to be? To be accepting of others? But... how can that be true when you don't accept people who are different than you?

Discussed this as well as other aspects regarding women, chauvinism and women's evolution etc.
    I believe in toxic femininity but it's been hard to steer men towards the topic on our masculine side due to everybody's attempts to firstly deny all knowledge, and then counter it's existence.

It exists in a similar opposite form in reverse.
    You are changing topic to other bullying already given their respective sub-classifying terms

I already answered as below

See BELOW Sleepy and again what is your point ? WOMEN harming others is NOT toxic masculinity. Attacking the elderly is NOT child abuse.

Is it racist when ..
    Is it homophobic when ...
    Is it ageist when ...
    Is it sexist when ...
    Is it cyber bullying when ...
    Is it socially unacceptable when ...

Enough said ...
    That's like saying shame on me for calling a racist; racist.

Isn't it bad of me to make the racist feel attacked ?

I was only calling out the end spectrum ' toxic masculinity '. I stand by that. Imagine saying what OneeyedJack had to say about women.

I've explained my point very articulately, and OneeyedJack backed me up unintentionally - yet it's ridiculously stupid how he did it.
    ...the responsibilities that women have, such as taking care of the men in their lives being one example that you wondered was it still a thing. It is of course.

Wibbs and co - You are twisting and purposely clouding over the legitimate points that I brought forth. The attempts to scupper the efforts made from my side to define and debate the issue are in vain because
    all it serves to do is illustrate your disingenuous sly but cack-handed effort at shelving the topic.

Enough said ...
    Oh I doubt it...
    You're also following the script here too. It's extremely common in these narratives where the worldview holder tries a Hail Mary attempt to gain traction and a vain hope to shut down the debate by focussing in on one comment as the perfect example and endlessly repeating it. It helps if it's framed as sexist/racist/phobic/whatever you're having yourself.

This shows you're a) predictable as any other one track position holder and b) are not reading people's posts, or c) are but aren't self aware enough to take anything on board.

You just keep asking the same questions pretending it never happened ...
    ... I addressed and responded to you with consistent detail, gave examples, countered arguments and asked open ended questions.

It is well framed isn't it; it should be put on a plaque as the dumbest comment of the whole debate - a beacon for a dumbed-down explanation of the ' toxic ' element of ' toxic masculinity '.

Skippy, your problem, judging by your posts, is not that you are excluded because of masculinity, toxic or otherwise.

You are excluded because you seem to be simply not a nice person to talk to.

It's that simple.

I'm probably what you would class as an alpha male. I have friends who are effeminate, friends and a family member who are gay, an acquaintance who is trans and have never had an issue with including them in my life and likewise, I'm included in theirs.

If they spoke like you, regardless of their level of masculinity, I would disassociate myself with them immediately.

You act like a perpetual victim who isn't willing to bring themself up. Instead, you want to bring everyone else down so it's level.

That will not happen and I wish you no ill will but you really need to take a long look at yourself and realise, as others have said, you are the only one who is responsible for you.

It's not your right to be accepted.

I would take issue with throwing the "bullying" accusation around willy nilly. If that's bullying it's a bloody low bar for it. However a large part of the reaction is because of this:

If someone, anyone comes into a group, online or off, and comes out with a singular statement and won't discuss beyond that and even deny any difference of opinion, then the group will tend to dig their heels in, Even yep to the point of aggression. It's part of human group dynamics. As is an attachment to the status quo of the group and "outsider" opinion.

This is pretty much it and the attempts to shut down opposing views through accusation of bullying or toxic masculinity is ****ing disgusting.

Its the same ****e you see in echo chambers across the internet, if you cannot argue your point without resorting to cries of bullying then i think its back to twitter with you. Where i know they will welcome you with open arms.

I'm from a rural area and have never given umbrellas, non sports short wearing a single thought. I've never in 45 years heard it commented on.

I suffered a terrible personal tragedy almost 3 years ago. Lots of people I knew where really awkward around me afterwards and since. The two best and natural reactions I got were from the two roughest most "red kneck" men that you could meet.

You can apply all the stereotypes you like from rural to your class designations but it's all a load of subjective boll0x.

I do things which many consider odd,
    *wear sandals all year round
    *sea swim all year round
    *cycle huge distances without food
    *bring my toddler son out walking when dark, cold and wet

Because it's not "normal" behaviour people comment all the time. It's not remotely toxic it's just what humans do when behaviour is outside norms.

The only thought I've ever had regarding umbrellas is independent of gender; KEEP THOSE FCUKING ABOVE EYE LEVEL.

This is what has me puzzled, i also live in a rural area and have never encountered crap like this.

In actual fact i have encountered more of it in urban areas that are more deprived and that was generally more due to education.

Makes me laugh though thinking of the roving gangs of fellas on tractors looking for lads with umbrellas to beat the **** out of.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What would you expect after this old chestnut ...

I would expect you to be able to articulate your problem with what I said, beyond “that’s outrageous”, etc. You appear to think there’s something inherently negative in women being responsible for taking care of the men in their lives?

Taken from thread " Suicide and men."

You didn’t offer any explanation for that one either. You implied that “toxic masculinity” is responsible for male suicide, and went on to claim that women are free to show fragility, openness and compassion. I countered your argument by pointing out that the female suicide rate is rising, which directly contradicts any claim you had that women are more free to show fragility and so on.

How do you explain the rising female suicide rate if you’re suggesting at the same time that women are free to show fragility, compassion, openness and so on, yet the rate at which they are taking their own lives is rising?

Don’t come back and say you’re not talking about women, because you were.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭iptba

People have probably already said similar things but I think if men started talking about examples of “toxic femininity” in a similar way many would class it as misogyny. And if women talked it, it would be said to be internalised misogyny. Men should also be on the look out for misandry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭S.G.M.

I would expect you to be able to articulate your problem with what I said, beyond “that’s outrageousâ€, etc. You appear to think there’s something inherently negative in women being responsible for taking care of the men in their lives?

Imo the high level of female suicide rates are down to them being under so much pressure to look or a act a certain way due to the rise in social media and the 'Influencer age'. The amount of female friends I have that suffer from eating disorders cos they don't like how they look. They are very open about it but it still really affects them and they have to fight through it.
    I don't think a rise in female suicide rates discounts the fact that the high level of mens suicide rates is due to a society that doesn't allow men to open up and show weakness.