Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst/Best Radio Ads rerun edition!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i really HATE that ad with the actor telling us hes a cat, he puts on a really weird lispy voice at one point wheres he states "its the cats pyjamas" as if hes mimicking the way a cat speaks, which is even more odd, to think someone would try to put on a cats "accent" why oh why would anyone even go down that road for an ad? seems a perfect ad for the likes of some fuddy duddy to do like mary kennedy or micheal lyster just spouting about it from a nice conservatory overlooking a well maintained back garden, the ones like Sun Life Assurance or Parkinson had

A very rapey sounding cat

The Kia ad that manages to sound condescending, "so you want to go electric...good for you."

• Registered Users Posts: 39,193 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

The Kia ad that manages to sound condescending, "so you want to go electric...good for you."

In the Kia Areshole.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

"Valsewagon finance, with free mainhinance"

Do they not listen back?

Also special mention for Rory, "naught naught naught naught naught naught"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I continue to be enraged by the amount of money squandered by the State on pointless Covid Ads - the latest being the one suggesting that people take up a hobby - ffs. How many millions are going into Denis O'Brien's stations alone? Absolutely criminal waste of resources. :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

The bonkers.ie ad with people shouting random Irish household stereotypes.
    Because people shouting in ads are never annoying...

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭irs

Del.Monte wrote: »
    I continue to be enraged by the amount of money squandered by the State on pointless Covid Ads - the latest being the one suggesting that people take up a hobby - ffs. How many millions are going into Denis O'Brien's stations alone? Absolutely criminal waste of resources. :mad::mad::mad:

Those ad's make local radio unlistenable. On every ten minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Quote Devil.ie, on about a hundred times a day. Infuriating.

Quote devil is soooooo easy...

irs wrote: »
    Those ad's make local radio unlistenable. On every ten minutes.

There's a small pool of ads being repeated constantly because there's less demand for ads due to lockdown I'd imagine.

Newstalk and today FM filling emply slots plugging their GO LOUD app. If I have to listen to that guy say "Go loud Jaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzz" one more time

• Registered Users Posts: 55,483 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Doddle doddle doddle, doddle doddle doddle, doddle doddle doddle, doddle doddle doddle...

On a separate note, I'd say that girl who says "purrrrrrrrfect" on cat ad has regrets. God, that ad has no redeeming features. :)

What the jaysus is going on that tax assist ad?

Usual stupid man rooting in bin/clever woman trope, but what's the deal with tax deductible carrier pigeons??

What the jaysus is going on that tax assist ad?

Usual stupid man rooting in bin/clever woman trope, but what's the deal with tax deductible carrier pigeons??

they had another gem with a guy stuck in a crevasse trying to find his accountant. They must put some serious brainstorming into these ads

• Registered Users Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

That RTE one about the arts with a bunch of painfully posh sounding kids.

Those preachy electric car ads with grunting dinosaurs.
    Doesn't mention the eye watering price of an electric car even with the "savings" taken into account.

Were there always this many health insurance ads on? Or are they just scaring people into buying insurance because of covid. Even though you don't need it to be treated.

crazy 88 wrote: »
    Were there always this many health insurance ads on? Or are they just scaring people into buying insurance because of covid. Even though you don't need it to be treated.

Medical advertorial porn and advertising have mushroomed in recent years and stations like Newstalk are wall to wall with medical/nursing home//insurance/funeral advertising and stories. Cradle to grave and utterly disgusting in my opinion. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭plodder

Janey Davey on Newstalk

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

That ad about mental health featuring Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh. I'm sure hes a lovely man but has such a depressing voice

The one with him an Sonia O'Sullivan is childlike and patronising and MENTALLY damaging in the equal quantities.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

Medical advertorial porn and advertising have mushroomed in recent years and stations like Newstalk are wall to wall with medical/nursing home//insurance/funeral advertising and stories. Cradle to grave and utterly disgusting in my opinion. :mad:
    I agree. Pharmacutical companies advertising directly to consumers is a huge thing in the US - they do this to influence joe/jane doe to demand certain treatments rather then take their GP's advice. I can see this becoming more prevalent here, and I don’t think this is a good idea (I’m not referring to such things as vitamins or headache pills and such).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭plodder

crazy 88 wrote: »
    The extremely annoying O'Meara camping ads are back.
    "tents for events"
    what events are on now and who goes camping in January?
    I like those:
    "Sir, you did not invent the sleeping bag"
    "That's what O'Meara Camping want you to think"

Himself and Sonia finishing each others sentences is annoying.

That fcuking "Keep Well" (sic.) ad that is on nearly every ad break. Go for a walk, wow, that never ever crossed my mind.

Every ad break on a loop of;
    health insurance company
    the "keep well" covid ad
    funeral directors

And rrrrright now, more than ever wecansaveyoumoneydotie...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

The one with him an Sonia O'Sullivan is childlike and patronising and MENTALLY damaging in the equal quantities.

It's funny the one thought I was left with after hearing that ad was "Sonia, what was the mental pressure like when you were at the Olympics". And I don't mean that in a mocking sense. Sonia was a star.

But the nonsense with the Chinese athletes appearing out of nowhere to take the medals at one Olympics, the changing of the gear in the tunnel before the race (Pat Hickey :mad::mad:), and then losing to Szabo. She must have been under some mental pressure herself during those years. I'd love to know how she coped with all of that under the public spotlight.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭depaor01

Ads that have different voiceovers in the same ad. One for each line of script. Why???

depaor01 wrote: »
    Ads that have different voiceovers in the same ad. One for each line of script. Why???

Nanny politically correct State, or just unknowingly patronising ****e which treat the listener like they are either -- 5 years old or senile.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

depaor01 wrote: »

Especially the covid19 ads, the "young fella" and the preaching grandmother seems to be the latest one

• Registered Users Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Trocaire ad - until love conquers fear.
    female v/o with a out of breath voice, as if she is getting stuck in to the dirty work in Kenya

• Registered Users Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Not radio but I'm truly sick of seeing "No screens at the table" Business McBusiness Mom.