Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 9)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Cooking. Glass of bailey's. The Stone Rose's. All in my kitchen.
    Have weird cigarette cravings.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

I'm oh so proud of you all....I feel like a proud father waving his children off to their first day at big school!
    Smut and innuendo abound!

Has Panda has been reduced to a mere voyeur ?

( Heh )

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Thank fcuk, I managed a pretty decent sleep. Grateful to you guys for putting up with my grumbling, covid mood swings on top of usual mental health issues is a strange experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Nobody "puts up" with you Grem, you are very popular here and for very good reason. You're totally sound. You are Grem the Great as far as I'm concerned.

I'm just back from my second walk of the day but it lasted about five minutes, social distancing was impossible with the amount of people out so close to each other. I checked the news when I got back and it's grim, we'll have over 1000 confirmed cases by tomorrow and it's getting even worse in Italy. I am signing off for the night to watch shyte on Netflix et al and am social distancing myself from any food that is even remotely considered healthy until I'm in work tomorrow.

I am a ponce which is why I'm leaving this Emily Dickinson poem here, all people have now is hope and each other. We just need for others to take it as seriously as it demands. Talk to you all tomorrow.

Hope is the thing with feathers
    That perches in the soul,
    And sings the tune without the words,
    And never stops at all,
    And sweetest in the gale is heard;
    And sore must be the storm
    That could abash the little bird
    That kept so many warm.
    I've heard it in the chillest land,
    And on the strangest sea;
    Yet, never, in extremity,
    It asked a crumb of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

Just back from a walk near the aviva. Not too many out so social distancing was fine. Going to cook some dinner and now and keep rewatching breaking bad. Trying to get some spanish learning in as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

At home, sure where else now in this day and age. Honestly the more all this goes on the more I realise what a solitude life I live and how much I am content in my own company.
    Ive pulled back a lot from social things in the last few months and am lucky to WFH, so I could easily go days without seeing anyone anyway.
    I do miss having a browse around the shops and I miss the luxury of doing whatever I wanted to do even if I never wanted to do it. But the life I’m living the last few days isn’t so different to the life I lived anyway. Makes me wonder what people got up to that was so interesting :pac: That could all change now I weeks to come and as we move into the summer I think I’ll notice the loss of freedom a lot more.

Had a nice day today. Went for a long walk by myself and now my boyfriend is making us dinner. Thinking of my lovely mam today and also thinking of anyone who can’t see their mam today for whatever the reason.

Also happy Mother’s Day to my Boards mammy Mamof4 xx the best about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

And to read your Emily Dickinson
    and I my Robert Frost

( showing my age here I guess :o )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Just home after a walk with my 2 kids, and giving an almighty loud earful to 2 groups of lads who were playing soccer on a nearby pitch. Probably 12 of them in the first gang, and another 6 or so in the other. And our kids can't see their friends.
    So angry.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Thinking of my lovely mam today

*hugs*

tenor.gif

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Guy, aww thank you, also Emily is one of my favourites :)

Work trundle here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Echo above! Grem you’re one of my absolute favorite posters ever, always kind to everyone, pm box is always open for middle of the night dramas. Anyway, rear end licking done, :D I am ...

Knee deep in laundry. HOW does it build up so fast lord. Had a nice day today, FaceTime calls and a fresh clean house. Back is still mostly better. A little twingey now and then but so much better

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Partner's birthday today. He had Sunday lunch with us and we watched a very grim film on Netflix. As I haven't been going out he had no card or even a box if choccies from me. Very anti-climatic for him. The only thing to mark the occasion was me putting on my new dress. All agreed it's very nice. Don't know when I'll get to wear it out.

A more worrying development is a nasty headache I've had all day. It's not my usual migraine. Finally caved and took nurifen + but feeling a bit spooked. No walk while my head is bad. Time to change out if my lovely frock and settle down to Netflix, alone.

I watched the 6 o'clock news. That's enough of that for one day. I'll re read that Emily Dickinson poem Guy (you are NOT a ponce!)posted probably more than once. I need it.

Thanks for the lovely cat gif Seph. Sorry if you thought I was genuinely offended earlier. I love the banter, no offense ever taken.

Later, wherers. ..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,129 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Guy Person wrote: »
    Nobody "puts up" with you Grem, you are very popular here and for very good reason. You're totally sound. You are Grem the Great as far as I'm concerned.

I'm just back from my second walk of the day but it lasted about five minutes, social distancing was impossible with the amount of people out so close to each other. I checked the news when I got back and it's grim, we'll have over 1000 confirmed cases by tomorrow and it's getting even worse in Italy. I am signing off for the night to watch shyte on Netflix et al and am social distancing myself from any food that is even remotely considered healthy until I'm in work tomorrow.

I am a ponce which is why I'm leaving this Emily Dickinson poem here, all people have now is hope and each other. We just need for others to take it as seriously as it demands. Talk to you all tomorrow.

And never stops at all,
    That kept so many warm.
    It asked a crumb of me.

Lovely poem Guy! Some people just aren't getting the social distancing even outdoors. Fooking morons! I have neighbours that haven't even changed their routine in the slightest. People calling into them every day.:eek: My Deathwish 3 plan has them at the top of the list!

Grem is a legend.

Still at work.. Here since 7am, long day.
    & it's like a train station, so many coming & going all day....
    Actually can't wait for Thursdays enforced laziness on couch day :)

bubblypop wrote: »

Enforced?? You mean your day off right?

Yep, but with social distancing I won't feel guilty about not leaving the sofa!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,873 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Thanks Retro , was thinking of you today . The "first" of everything without them is never easy I know , and you know you've always been my favorite , #britherersforlife x

Exciting night here , just washing up the dinner dishes , have to change the tea/coffee/sugar canisters , fecking keep dropping the sugar/coffee ones . Never the tea bags , oh no , that'd be too easy to clean up :p

bubblypop wrote: »
    Yep, but with social distancing I won't feel guilty about not leaving the sofa!

Ah yes. I'm just erm paranoid.

As you were!!

Guy Person wrote: »

And never stops at all,
    That kept so many warm.
    It asked a crumb of me.

That porn gives me the absolute fear because it was on the curriculum the year I did my LC :D but every now and again it pops into my head and I still remember it all word for word. Funny how they’re just words when you’re young but full of meaning when you’re older. Tis a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Watching How to Train your Dragon with the brat... she's watching Dermot Kennedy in half an hour...like it or not :D

That porn gives me the absolute fear because it was on the curriculum the year I did my LC :D but every now and again it pops into my head and I still remember it all word for word. Funny how they’re just words when you’re young but full of meaning when you’re older. Tis a good one.

Where did you go to school? !

Lol. Bit of a Freudian slip there, retro.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Where did you go to school? !

Lol. Bit of a Freudian slip there, retro.

Omg lol I never noticed! Sure I’ll fit right in around these filthy quarters :pac:
    So you’re telling me youse didn’t go to porn school??

• Registered Users Posts: 16,730 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Due to a lack of super noodles I was reduced to cooking an actual dinner. Time for alcohol to numb the dreary evening ahead.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Sardonicat wrote: »

Thanks for the lovely cat gif Seph. Sorry if you thought I was genuinely offended earlier. I love the banter, no offense ever taken.

Later, wherers. ..

*hugs*

I bet you looked great in that frock 😃 No need to be sorry at all, I had a suspicion you were joshing me 😜😜

• Registered Users Posts: 12,129 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Due to a lack of super noodles I was reduced to cooking an actual dinner. Time for alcohol to numb the dreary evening ahead.

Difficult times Leggie. Alcohol should be treated as a kind of enemy too. So easy for us to get consumed by it.:eek: Me too!

Big day tomorrow for me. Online early to sort stuff out for the next few months. Thankfully the UK has changed it's tune so makes it easier than it seemed last week. Hoping to have a career to go back to in some shape or form.

*hugs*

I bet you looked great in that frock ðŸ˜႒ No need to be sorry at all, I had a suspicion you were joshing me 😜😜

Phew.
    *hugs* back at ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I need to socially distance myself from the internet. Am reading way too many news sites. Obsessed.

There are only three bottles of plonk left in the house. It's a near crisis. Lots of spirits and beer though.

Quoted for posterity :pac:

Watching How to Train your Dragon with the brat... she's watching Dermot Kennedy in half an hour...like it or not :D

Is Kenedy live streaming somewhere? Mate of mine is a superfan